Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dance forum Off Topic Thread - Sports, Movies, TV + random stuff within

• 19-11-2008 8:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭

This has worked well on a lot of other forums on boards, so I thought I'd give it a go here. Any topic is up for discussion, comment et. The main boards rules still apply - no MCD related talk, and respect each other.

I'll kick things off with a clip of the Haka's from last night. What a game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

What you mean there are other things besides dance music, surely not:eek::pac::D

nah good idea, if your talking sport then im looking forward to the FAI Cup Final this Sunday in the RDS, my local team Bohs play Derry City,got my ticket last week should be a top day out and who would bet against Bohs after they ran away with the league title this season.:)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Jeasus, there is enough complete and utter f**king bolloxks talked on the rest of this site, at least this forum is a bit of a refuge from the mindless dribble you find in After Hours etc....

However saying that, I suppose most people on this forum would be of a similar type of person and mindset so perhaps there will be a higher quality of ****e talk on here hahhaahah

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Actually, this might be a good place for everyonwe to do a "introduce Yourself" post... There are so many people on this site that I have been chatting to for years, but we all know very little about eachother..... Or would that be better in its own thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Zascar wrote: »
    Actually, this might be a good place for everyonwe to do a "introduce Yourself" post... There are so many people on this site that I have been chatting to for years, but we all know very little about eachother..... Or would that be better in its own thread?

Hi, I'm DJ and I'm a tranceaholic.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

On the poker forum there is a big OT thread and it works really well, a lot of stuff about sport/TV/movies, also some good random discussions as well. Plenty of jokes and funny crap people stumble across on the net. I take your point that all this can be discussed elsewhere on boards, but it does help foster a sense of community on the board (sounds cheesy I know, but its true).

Good idea about introductions. I'll stick one up bout myself later.

Ah I'm only having a rant mate ignore me! Yeah it is a good idea, I think community spirit on here would do very well. Prepare for mounds of useless ****e coming from me cause I'm so dam bored in work these days I spent an innordinate amount of time surfing the web....

Ok some random stuff: I got NTL DVR in my new apartment and it rocks. I also bought a projector and can watch movies on a giant screen while in bed. It rules. Going to set it up with club style graphics int eh living room next time I have a party too

jonny68 wrote: »
    FAI Cup Final this Sunday in the RDS, my local team Bohs play Derry City

Cork City fan myself.

Missed the haka last night. Missed the game. I'm sure I'll catch Alone It Stands Part II when it comes out on dvd, after all they're still celebrating the last time they beat them in a friendly.

Any chance Bohs could bring out a play and a few books about the time they battered Spurs in a friendly a couple of years back? ;)

Oh god I hope this does not turn into a rugby/football thread!
    I hate them both!

Anyone with me or are you all fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I hate them both!

Rugby im a huge fan of. As regards the round ball I like Newcastle so im not sure if I would actually be classified as supporting a football team or not.

Good idea for a thread. Interesting bit of info about me is that my name is not actually Mike.

I hate them both!

Hurling>Rugby>Soccer>Cricket>Gaelic Football imo

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Rugby im a huge fan of. As regards the round ball I like Newcastle so im not sure if I would actually be classified as supporting a football team or not.

Newcastle FC of Co. Down? In the Northern Amateur Football League?

Fair play. Don't you just hate all those fellows who pick some foreign team like ManU and then pretend they have some great affiliation with that club - I mean, you selected that team, you can hardly crow when they win something? ;)

MikeHoncho wrote: »

Good idea for a thread. Interesting bit of info about me is that my name is not actually Mike.

Nice to meet you not actually Mike.

In keeping with the revelations, I can now tell you that my name is Kev.:D

Newcastle FC of Co. Down? In the Northern Amateur Football League?

Fair play. Don't you just hate all those fellows who pick some foreign team like ManU and then pretend they have some great affiliation with that club - I mean, you selected that team, you can hardly crow when they win something? ;)

Well if its the Newcastle of the English Premier League, he's unlikely to be crowing anytime soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

I might just make a dance remix of that haka...you heard it first here on boards.ie :D

Not really a football fan, but dont mind seeing our boys in green play...the game tonight should be good! :cool:

Keeping stuff off topic...has anybody else seen the movie "No Country for Old Men"? And like me, feel like kicking the director in the nuts for that ending?

Holla haka baka y'all!
    Acman

I have it at home and have been meaning to watch it. Is it any good or does the ending spoil it?

I saw that new cohen brothers movie the other day, that was pretty good, weird - but worth watching.

Any other good movies out right now? I hear the new Bond is pants

acman wrote: »
    Keeping stuff off topic...has anybody else seen the movie "No Country for Old Men"? And like me, feel like kicking the director in the nuts for that ending?

Great film, but can kinda see what you mean about the ending.

Still, I've seen worse endings. You see Boxing Helena?

Zascar: No country for old men was a great movie, but the ending really is pants...keep breakables away from you towards the ending :P

What is the new Cohen bros movie called?

I saw Burn after Reading just lately...thought it was really good (Black Comedy). Max Payne was utter sh**te on the other hand.

Conor: Nope, aint seen boxing helena...any good?

acman wrote: »
    aint seen boxing helena...any good?

Not at all, but essential viewing when I was a teenager.

Just like Roadhouse.

It was soft porn and violence for the teenage or prisoner community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

The new bond movie isn't that good in my opinion..Oh im a fan of gaa soccer rugby and countless types of sport:)
    Terminator movie coming out in 2009
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKygxKvpl7g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Entec

funniest thing ive seen in a while..... "kick da burger man":D

Speaking of kicking...check this out :D

Is anyone else as hangin as I am?Got very little sleep last two nights, smoked my brains out Friday night, locked on cocktails lasts night. Dying.

How's your weekend boys?

(lets not let this thread die lads!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

Is anyone else as hangin as I am?Got very little sleep last two nights, smoked my brains out Friday night, locked on cocktails lasts night. Dying.

How's your weekend boys?

(lets not let this thread die lads!)

Had a few last night as well leaving me with a bad hangover combined with the thoughts of starting new job tomorrow morning which makes it worse :mad:
    May go for the hair of the dog soon :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,112 ✭✭✭✭L1011

What you mean there are other things besides dance music, surely not:eek::pac::D

nah good idea, if your talking sport then im looking forward to the FAI Cup Final this Sunday in the RDS, my local team Bohs play Derry City,got my ticket last week should be a top day out and who would bet against Bohs after they ran away with the league title this season.:)

And you bet them, thank feck. Can't stand the greyhound fanciers being able to lord it up over anything other than their favourite mickey mouse cup...

Harps fan, in case you didn't guess.

What about super Bohs yesterday winning the cup on penalties,great day out although fuc**ng frozen alive in the RDS, serious session last nite in Phibsboro (strippers the lot:pac::D) im bleedin dying here today:o

What about super Bohs yesterday winning the cup on penalties

Entertaining game. Though thought Derry shaded it overall. Ref was a bit iffy.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I am having a can of Heineken. :pac:

bumpity bump

KevIRL wrote: »
    bumpity bump

Patience Kev, not even a minute had passed since my post :D

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Patience Kev, not even a minute had passed since my post :D

HAHA! Great minds think alike sir *nods*

Lads I just downloaded Windows 7 and it rocks. No idea if it will work with my Xponent yet, but I have a dual boot going with xp so it does not really matter...

I dont have any clue what you are talking about Zascar, sorry.

I do have 2 questions though...

Can I replace Vista with Windows 7?
    Is Windows 7 very buggy/still in beta
    How much does it cost?

Hang on thats 3 questions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Yeah, I thought it was still in testing and not out til the end of the year?

Vista didn't last long though did it.

Windows 7 is the new OS coming out late this year. It replaces Vista, which was a pile of sh1te which no one liked. 7 seems way better and really nice.

It's only in Beta, but you can find it online.

its easy to set up so if you have another hard drive in your PC, or even just an empty partition, it installs a dual boot easily with xp etc.

Windows 7 is the new OS coming out late this year. It replaces Vista, which was a pile of sh1te which no one liked.
    I think we all knew that. ;)

Are you not wary of installed an untested version of an operating system?

I like to live Dangerously! ;-)

I have my hard drives set up so that one seperate hard drive holds all my personal data like music and files etc. Anotehr holds the OS's etc. I have most of it backed up too, so I'm pretty safe.

Anyone thinking of installing, beware of the MP3 problem: http://www.neowin.net/news/main/09/01/05/warning-windows-7-beta-could-corrupt-your-mp3s

This should be fixed with the official beta release today though

Edit: http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/01/08/fix-windows-7-mp3-cut-off-corruption-issues-in-wmp-12-with-kb961367-update-download/

So, anyone seen Pan's Labyrinth? Great movie...

http://www.panslabyrinth.com/

It's on my list of movies to watch. Been on the hard drive for ages now.

Only problem is the copy that I have has a problem with the subtitles, they show up in a very strange way.
    <<font=color: I'm a big scary goblin!! :color=font>>>>

Something like that. Puts me off watching it tbh.

Yeah I'm not much into the fantasy stuff really.

I've been really getting into watching Documentaries lately. Check out these two sites, some really great stuff on here:

Best Online Documentaries
    Free Documentaries.net

Thats the clever part of the film though... its not really fantasy as such, without getting in to the film in detail or ruin the story, think more 'imagination' rather than fantasy. A young child in a very difficult time (war) and how she deals with it. I loved it, a really fantastic film.

As regards films, i can definitely recommend this superb film http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0892255/ don't let the fact that it's in Spanish with English subtitles put you off, for anyone familar with Che Guevara this is a must see, it's probably best to know something about the man himself before watching this but it's not a prerequisite, ive read some Che books before so knew the score, fantastic film and a true story as well.

Cool! will deffo check that out Johnny. I'm also really looking forward to the movie coming out about Pablo Eskobar - supposed to be very good. Sonething along the lines onf "Medellin" if you watch the series "Entourage" - which all guys should cause it rocks!

wow i didn't know there was a film about Pablo Escobar planned, the book is brilliant, he was a vicious bas*ard all the same.

http://www.amazon.com/Killing-Pablo-Worlds-Greatest-Outlaw/dp/0871137836

just seen the link for the film too looks good.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0284236/

wow i didn't know there was a film about Pablo Escobar planned, the book is brilliant, he was a vicious bas*ard all the same.

http://www.amazon.com/Killing-Pablo-Worlds-Greatest-Outlaw/dp/0871137836

just seen the link for the film too looks good.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0284236/

That was a great book - absolute fckin lunatic of a man! Years since I read that, must dig it out again.

Look forward to that one, and also the Guevara one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

If you want a great read about a lunatc, have a read of "The Heroin Diaries", Nikki Sixx's (Motley Crue) autobiograpy.

One crazy bas**rd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

I love reading about absolute lunatics,I do read the Chopper books,very entertaining,although I think most of it is jackanory's

Anyone see Derren Brown - Mind reader last night on tv?

Absolutely unbelievebale.....

Watched it last night. Brilliant movie.

The Fantasy tag is a bit misleading as it's only really a subplot to an otherwise engaging story. The Fantasy bit is more about escaping from harsh realities. Great movie, I'd definitely reccommend it.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Watched it last night. Brilliant movie.

The Fantasy tag is a bit misleading as it's only really a subplot to an otherwise engaging story. The Fantasy bit is more about escaping from harsh realities. Great movie, I'd definitely reccommend it.

Good stuff... agree the fantasy line could definitely throw someone from watching this.

Tempted to watch it again which is rare these days for me with movies.