Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever got a punch in the face?

• 18-11-2008 5:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

Maybe this one will fly?

I did, absolutly shocked i was.
    Didnt realise until my ear started ringing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yup, I love adrenaline :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Punched in face (accidentally) in a Gah match resulting in broken nose.
    Didn't actually realise until our keeper said 'eh...your nose is about an inch to the right of when it should be!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Orange69 wrote: »
    You walked into that one face first op..

The op's ma is so lose that xavi walked into that one too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes I've been punched in the face, but not one person has boasted about it afterwards :D

I've been kicked in the bollox twice, first time it crippled me but my buddies looked after the fvcker. Second time I seen it coming, contacted with a beautiful hook as the bitch's foot got me - knocked her clean out, but she still got me good :o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I haven't been punched in the head since an Under 16s hurling match a few years ago, when three dopey feckers off the other team tried to pummel me...

...through the grill of my helmet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No. I'm a lover, not a fighter.

No wait, I'm a pussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Ya heard about the dwarf that walked into the brothel?
    He got a box in the mouth and a clit around the ear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Only when I used to do Tae Kwon Do years ago. Even a padded jab in the face isn't a great experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Don't think I have actually... My last 'fight' was when I was 12 years old, and that mainly involved punching in the head. I don't think we wanted our ma's to know we were fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Many times. After the first few, you hardly notice.

Now ... a swift and unexpected kick in the widge ... that's painful :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

trout wrote: »
    Now ... a swift and unexpected kick in the widge ... that's painful :(

yes. A guy in work jokingly backhanded me in the bollox 2 yrs ago..

i dropped him on the spot with the sweetest hook to the chin. I bought him a pint later cause i felt bad for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Many, many times.

Doesnt really hurt unless its square on the nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Doesnt really hurt unless its square on the nose.

Nah, their just doing it wrong!:pac:

I've been hit plenty, some hurt, some don't, some kind of shock you, some don't and then you have the ones that make everything wobble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Have been on a fair few occasions, but not since I was about 22.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

stovelid wrote: »
    Have been on a fair few occasions, but not since I was about 22.

Your not trying hard enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Boxing and IRL
    Have had more pleasant experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Walking with two friends home after a night out. Car full of scumbags just stops, 4 lads get out and without saying a word punch each of us, get back in the car and drive off. We didn't even know what happened until a few minutes later. Fairly random. Only time I was ever punched as well. I heard they have done it a few times to others as well. Seems to be the new thing.

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Your not trying hard enough.

You're right.

What the fuck are you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

So many times that the cartridge and most of the bone in my nose is shattered. It now looks completely normal but just squashes into my face when I get hit. Quite handy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Only on the pitch in underage GAA. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I box so I've been punched in the face manys a time.

Last match was the worst. Fella could move like a greased leper and got me in the head repeatedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Lolz how exactly does a greased leper move??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

yes twice

once in a gaa match

once in a night club (totally random) just walking past and got a bang in the face. WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Lolz how exactly does a greased leper move??

Like a man covered in lard who is also afflicted with Mycobacterium leprae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Nope! My face is punch free :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Yup lots and lots of times, its not as bad as most think, its far more shock then pain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Yeah a fair few times. Most recent was in a strip club in Prague over the summer.

Went to the jacks and there was some lad in front of me who heard me speaking English. Conversation:

Guy: Glad to see someone else hear speaks English.

Me: Ah yeah. Where you from?

Guy: Sheffield.

Me: (now I'd like to point out I was hammered so this was all I could think to say) Ah Sheffield Wednesday, Sheffield Utd. Good footballing area!

Guy: Yeah Wednesday are top drawer. Where are you from?

Me: Ireland

Guy: North or South?

Me: South

Guy: *punches me in nose*

I didn't even realised what happened as he punched like a pussy but managed to burst my nose open fairly well. I cracked him one back just under his eye and he slammed his head back off the door frame.
    At this stage the lady your supposed to give like 20cent to before you go toilet starts screaming for the bouncers in Czech, I was fairly certain I was going to be kicked out but they dragged him out and let me get cleaned up and go back to my mates. Result!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

My mate was due a thump from some big lad he had been rising outside a night club.

Unfortunately he saw it coming, ducked and I got a nojous thump in the jaw.

It now clicks and moves kinda sideways when i open my mouth fully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

only once ...total randomer punched me in the face while I was sitting down talking to someone.

All I saw was a shadow, then there was an almighty bang, I saw stars in front of my eyes and the whole world wobbled for a while.

Was thinking about being all manly and get up and beat the shyte out of your man ...but there was absolutely nothing I could do but sit there and look stupefied, no signals were getting through to the rest of my body.

Thankfully the one punch was all he threw, otherwise he could have mashed me up fairly nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

punched straight in the nose a couple of tim,es
    the good ones don't hurt they make it feel like the middle of yer face is missing

at this point i normally go for the throat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 theprodigals0n

I've got punched in the face plenty of times. It hasn't happenened in years, seeing as I'm an adult now. The worst was probably when the punch I received caused my lip to get caught in between loads of my braces and it was stuck there for hours and really badly swollen.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Got a few punches over the years when playing basketball.. one guy was doing all he could to rile me up and get me to foul him, I wised up fairly quickly to what he was doing and didnt react just turned the tables a little bit.. kept talking to him, egging him on the usual trash talk.. in the end he snapped, punched me straight into the jaw, for some reason I saw it coming, but didnt move, just waited for it, didnt hurt as I thought it would..

So punched him straight back and got in about 4 more before we were pulled apart and subsequently we were both thrown out of the game..

meh, what can ya do!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Punched off a wall, opened my front door and got punched 2 seconds later, punched a fair few times in Bushido.

If its a proper fight, It's usually the head that gets the most digs, the face is usually only suseptable to headbuts.

Varkov wrote: »
    Punched off a wall, opened my front door and got punched 2 seconds later, punched a fair few times in Bushido.

If its a proper fight, It's usually the head that gets the most digs, the face is usually only suseptable to headbuts.

how do you mean a propper fight do you mean with a ref etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Tigger wrote: »
    how do you mean a propper fight do you mean with a ref etc

As in, we both know its coming and are squared off. Not just some ****er decking you when your not looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Here, to the people you run this website, could we get a thumbs down icon thing???

I started a thread in feedback looking for some more smileys.
    I think it got shot down though

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57903260#post57903260

slideways wrote: »
    and I got a nojous thump in the jaw.

It now clicks and moves kinda sideways when i open my mouth fully

Is that where you got your username from ? :pac:

Varkov wrote: »
    As in, we both know its coming and are squared off. Not just some ****er decking you when your not looking.

most of the "fights" i've been in are because i wasn't ready when one is ready there usually isn't a fight

but i know what you mean

I've been in a fight a day since I was born, although I beat up my placenta regularly in my wild, foetal days. I've actually had to get my head attached to my body with Hilti nails at one stage because it kept getting knocked off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Didn't actually realise until our keeper said 'eh...your nose is about an inch to the right of when it should be!'

...is your nose stuck in some sort of time-space paradox?

*THE HARD DRIVE IS CRASHING AT AN ALARMING SPEED!!!!!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yep, didn't even notice till I saw a **** load of blood comming from my nose haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

I got what can only be described as a concrete block to my face. Got up, gave a hook, then on the second hook, got an almighty wollop and bob's your uncle down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

me and me mate get bored sometimes and just punch each other . Thats about it really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Nearly got one of a garda a couple weeks back playing rugby:D it was more handbags than anything else, Then a couple years ago the ex gave me one nearly broke my jaw A total prick is all i'll say:mad:!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Yeah, many moons ago in sixth class. I was a bit of a nerd, but wanted to seem cool so I hung on the edges of the "cool" group. Ones day, some guy who, in fairness, is basically knack but not technically, shoved an empty capri sun carton down my jumper. I didn't like that so I taked it out and threw it at him. He didn't like that so he hit me a box. Wanker. He prolly forgot about it, but I didn't! The joke's on him because as I heard, he got 20 points in his leaving! :D

The same guy tripeed me up in the yard one day and I sprained my wrist. I didn't tell on him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

been digged in anger a few times, the last one was so weak the little scummer didnt even interrupt my sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 toolbox66

yes on many occasions!!!there seems to be alot of agro after the pub these days.ive also been kicked in the face repeatedly by about six guys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭smartypants

toolbox66 wrote: »
    yes on many occasions!!!there seems to be alot of agro after the pub these days.ive also been kicked in the face repeatedly by about six guys!!

with a name like that it wouldnt surprise me :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Me and a few mates got jumped by about 16 lads out at Suir Road luas stop, 10 of them chased 5 of my mates and then me and my mate got stuck with 6. Got about 20-30 digs in the face, so bad I couldn't open my eye for 2 days and not to mention the 10 or so kicks in the head (some chap jumped up on railings) then my mate helped me. Got away from him and had to get a taxi to the hospital with my mate, he was told he has a hair line fracture in his jaw but he hasn't got back to the hopsital to get it checked out.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Me and a few mates got jumped by about 16 lads out at Suir Road luas stop, 10 of them chased 5 of my mates and then me and my mate got stuck with 6. Got about 20-30 digs in the face, so bad I couldn't open my eye for 2 days and not to mention the 10 or so kicks in the head (some chap jumped up on railings) then my mate helped me. Got away from him and had to get a taxi to the hospital with my mate, he was told he has a hair line fracture in his jaw but he hasn't got back to the hopsital to get it checked out.:D

What did your mate help you do ? Why are you happy your mate was told he had a hair line fracture ? And why the hell **** didn't he go back to the hospital ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Domo230 wrote: »
    Was lying on the grass in Tymon park a few years ago. Had my eyes closed and when I opened them their was this group of scumbag offspring, none of them older than 12 years old around me. Before I knew what was going on one of them punched me in the face. I pushed him, he fell over and they all ran away.

I know it sounds wrong but I really would have loved to have kicked the **** out of that kid. Am I a bad person for thinking this.
    Nothing wrong with that ya should have bet the snot off him