Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sniper, tactics/ advice?

• 17-11-2008 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

Just about to buy a sniper, jing gong bar 10 but wanted a bit of advice.
    Has anyone got any tips as to how to survive when one is out gunned?
    Let's just point out the obvious of hiding and camo, looking for practical advice tactics, quietness and moving.

I have been hit by snipers and when I take the hit I look for them but rarely do I find them.
    How the he'll do they do this???
    Some lads even manage to move and hit you from the opposite side!
    Practical tips, hint and products will be appreciated!
    Thanks fellow bb lovers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Keep moving. Don't stay in the same position too long or you will be made.
    Travel light. Rifle, couple of mags. Scope is optional.
    Keep your arse low to the ground.

If you are going to dig in, find a location with a good field of fire & more than 1 escape route. Working with a spotter is advised.
    If you are made, move or use your secondary if you carry 1.

There is nothing wrong with keeping your secondary right beside your firing position, just in case.

If you decide to use a scope, keep the lens clear of direct sunlight otherwise you can end up signalling your position to the opposition. If it comes with a lens cap, use it till you need to take the shot.

Natural stealth, luck & skill is all you should need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭captaindanwaldo

Keep moving. Don't stay in the same position too long or you will be made.

In my opinion thats bollox, movement is the best indication of enemy activity...if your going to snipe learn how to observe while being invisible.

Also I wouldnt go for a bolt action sniper rifle on a site like hrta or any other field bar woodland tbh, it has no advantage, not even the fact its dead quite...

In my opinion thats bollox, movement is the best indication of enemy activity

That's were the stealth comes in, but naturally you already know that!!
    Since airsoft is a team game, when a sniper begins to pick off targets, it is normal for the opposition to circle same, however if the sniper moves after every couple of shots, then he/she won't be found as easily.
    That's my opinion!! :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

if your going to snipe learn how to observe while being invisible.

Oh mighty know it all, please teach me how to be invisable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Shape-The human brain is designed to recognise shapes and patterns. If you can break up the humanoid outline of your profile you will be harder to spot.
    Shine - Ditch anything reflective or paint, ghillie or rag it so that the sun and flashlights wonts glint on it. Very little in nature is shiny.
    Sound - rustling, clinking of keys or the racket of loose web kit - evene the clacking made by sling hooks will screw you up if it gets heard. Limit as much noise as you can either by getting rid of the things you dont need that make noise or by mitigating the noise they make with dampenning (good old fashioned duct tape).
    Silouhette - This is an extention of shape, if you walk along the top of a ridge in front of a setting moon you'll stand out like a chinese puppet. Avoid crossing in front of any light source which will give you away by your silhouette.
    Shadow - Stick to the shadows. If you are in the shadows you dont cast a shadow (people have very distinct shadows if you are looking for them.

This isn't a standard version of hte five s's but "spacing" doesnt make much sense if you are a solo operator and the amount of noise you make will be even more crucial than usual if you intend to be staying put for an extended period.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Unlike the usual kind of gaming we play as riflemen etc, sniping is the complete opposite to the high adrenalin fast pace gaming of that end. its far more strategic, quiet and for some, boring.

Going in the first thing you should know is, its not gonna be like the movie's and in fact, you might not even get to fire a shot for whole games at a time. theres a lot of suspense involved in watching you enemy movements when they havent a clue you are there.

As a general rule i never take the first opertunity to fire on a target even if its a guaranteed hit, its a tactic thats worked a lot of times for me and i simply get dug in there and dont move a muscle. by letting them past me (if there's more than 1) they will continue down the path and get engaged by my team mates. then, with the noise and the firing i can fire on them if i choose to or i its necessary.
    That combined with being under fire from my team mates usually means there heading for a respawn pretty soon and since i kept shut and didnt give myself away, they will consider my location to be a safe point or "fall back point". they'll know that they only became engaged after passing this point and that it was the last "safe" location. this then gives me the element of suprise over them when they bed in there. its a tactic that works a lot for me and confuses the hell out of the other team, word spreads that there's a sniper somewhere and the confusion leads to other players being reluctant to take the risk (i know its a game and all but this still applies) since they have no idea where the sniper is. If you've got this far then you've done a good job as a sniper, you may only have fired a couple of shots yet you've upset the tactics of the other team and if you can separate them from working together as a team then you and your own team stand a much higher chance of over powering them.

Comms, although not vital in airsoft, they give your team a big advantage by being able to relay information on movements, objectives etc to team mates and allows you to better operate as a team. having good communication with the team will help you build a rock hard defence/ambush/attack etc.

Dont go in with the aim of coming back with 10 head shot kills etc, you'll most likely be disappointed and if thats your aim it kinda says your not the type for the role. your skills in the sniping role will be reflected in the teams performance rather than your kill count.

I suppose as a single piece of advice, the best thing to do is get out there and game, think before ya shoot, make mistakes and learn from them., theory is nothing without practice., :)

BDU's only do so much to assist, even Ghillie suits don't completely work, the best kit you can get is a sniper veil & add the natural growth of your surroundings to it. The best advantage a sniper can get is high ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭DisasterIRL

Another thing that should always be remembered is that if you are using a scope, don't go too far into the bush, it's better to have alot behind you and only a bit infront, that eliminates the shape and siloette while still allowing a decent line of fire and line of sight, height is also a large advantage(not physical height as I know that may be a problem for you:P)the height may will give you protection from bb arcing.

Try attack when there are other noises around, helps confuse them, and always let them pass, that confuses them even more. Motion is another big point, I know when I am looking for people I look for shape(not always obvious in Fingal) then if I am unsure I watch for any movement what so ever, if I see movement I shoot. I have been saved alot of times by keeping low and still.

I remember once, I held off 6 ATF lads who had the bomb simply because they could see my pellets but not me, I stayed low and still, I held them there nearly 20 minutes to move me, and I could have stayed there longer, only my battery on my AEG and clip on my GBB pistol went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭amaughan

the main thing any sniper will be doing is observing and throwing intel back to the main attacking force.Most of the time the first person(s) into battle will be the sniper (sniper team) to recky the area to see how many enemys there are where they are and if a rescue,mission where the VIP is.all this intel must be sent back to the team leader/control centre this is much more important than taking one or two targets out.once all the intell is gathered the sniper can give covering fire while the main attacking force can get into position where they can be most effective in extracting the VIP preferribly the main attacking force will be split into two,three or even four team's and will enter the main battle zone from all different angles confusing the enemy into chaos and thus leading to the safe extraction of the vip's.while doing all of this the sniper team must have the vip in sight to stop any enemys from moving them.snipers are part of a team alot of the time and even tho they do have the whole assasination thing going there main job is not this its is infact their main priority to gather intell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

fantastic tips
    its just great fun seeing people walking around an area not having any idea that someone is watching:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

It gets better, I've been stepped on...twice. Once at night and get this once in broad daylight in a wooded glade full of ferns. Many, many moons ago :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭SenDog

Hey gungun ive reactly dicded to start sniping.ive made a sniper veil during the week(cos ive got nothin else to do)i think veils are the best because they are light and small. its just a german cap with a camo net sewn in and burlap tied onto it.if you are going with a veil you should get a good camo like flecktarn or multicam.I got the burlap(sandbags biege type)and net from a little tree house at the end of my garden.A dude known as GhillieArnhem makes deadly movies about how to make ghillies on YouTube. just go on you tube and search How to make a ghillie suit and look for the one made by ghilliearnhem.thats whre i got the idea to make a sniper veil:D
    I also made a rifle wrap for ma sniper rifle its a black shoe lace with more burlap tied its as simple as that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭dunnaman93

Does anyone think I'd be a good a good sniper?Ive gone airsofting three times now(and I'm loving it:D)and I'll be getting a new AEG in the near future but I might go for a bolt action sniper,probably a vsr10(i hear its the best?)I usually play the assualt role sticking in a squad.But sometimes I find myself sneaking around the site finding enemy players then waiting for the right time and taking out one or two,obviously it doesnt work all the time but when it does you get a sensation of great.....you know what I mean;)!
    But I have one problem the noise of my AEG nearly always gives away my position and its really annoying!I kinda prefer the whole stealthy approach to airsoft.I use flecktarn BDU's and them very good in woodland.Oh I have one problem I dont have a sidearm....So whay do ye think!

I have the vsr g-spec and its bloody fantastic:) seriously quiet and very accurate ( . use .28s ) its light enough so it wont kill you over a day but heavy enough to let you know it isnt cheap:D
    as a side arm i use a kwa glock 18c and its really great:cool:
    I find it very accurate and has the full auto incase you're in deep crap:pac:

U should clean ur barrel of your gun wit a cleaning rod and silicon oil, it keeps up the accuarcy.I put cotton pads on it and the silicon oil sprayed onto it.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Single Malt

SenDog wrote: »
    U should clean ur barrel of your gun wit a cleaning rod and silicon oil, it keeps up the accuarcy.I put cotton pads on it and the silicon oil sprayed onto it.;)
    This is good practice for any airsoft barrel. Just don't use cotton. Natural fibres tend to lint, and leave debris in the barrel. Man made fibres such as a bit of jcloth are far more suitable.

Thanks Ill keep it in mind;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭flashinbluelite

dunnaman93 wrote: »
    Does anyone think I'd be a good a good sniper?Ive gone airsofting three times now(and I'm loving it:D)and I'll be getting a new AEG in the near future but I might go for a bolt action sniper,probably a vsr10(i hear its the best?)I usually play the assualt role sticking in a squad.But sometimes I find myself sneaking around the site finding enemy players then waiting for the right time and taking out one or two,obviously it doesnt work all the time but when it does you get a sensation of great.....you know what I mean;)!
    But I have one problem the noise of my AEG nearly always gives away my position and its really annoying!I kinda prefer the whole stealthy approach to airsoft.I use flecktarn BDU's and them very good in woodland.Oh I have one problem I dont have a sidearm....So whay do ye think!

Hey Dunnaman,
    I have been sniping for quite a while now. Ill be gaming on sat in HRTA if you wanna try out my vsr g-spec for a bit before you decide to buy your own.

cant miss me 6foot5 sniper,amazing shot and bogman's b1tch

Hey Dunnaman,
    I have been sniping for quite a while now. Ill be gaming on sat in HRTA if you wanna try out my vsr g-spec for a bit before you decide to buy your own.

cant miss me 6foot5 sniper,amazing shot and bogman's b1tch

I'd love to try the vsr out except I have one problem......I go airsofting down here in Cork and I dont think I'll be going to Dublin anytime soon(even though i'd love to go to a few airsoft sites up there)

Ya know not all airsoft sites are up in the big shmoke(no spelling mistake there:D)

I've seen a vsr in action before and its amazing to be honest
    ..............Thanks for te help though!!!!!!;)

gungun wrote: »
    I have the vsr g-spec and its bloody fantastic:) seriously quiet and very accurate ( . use .28s ) its light enough so it wont kill you over a day but heavy enough to let you know it isnt cheap:D
    as a side arm i use a kwa glock 18c and its really great:cool:
    I find it very accurate and has the full auto incase you're in deep crap:pac:

Thanks for tips.Ya I always wanted a machine pistol and I think a glock 18c would be fairly cool!!!!!!!:D and like the fact that you can get extended mags too!!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

I'd love to try the vsr out except I have one problem......I go airsofting down here in Cork and I dont think I'll be going to Dublin anytime soon(even though i'd love to go to a few airsoft sites up there)

Ya know not all airsoft sites are up in the big shmoke(no spelling mistake there:D)

I've seen a vsr in action before and its amazing to be honest
    ..............Thanks for te help though!!!!!!;)

fella , you could always ask someone in cork for a loan of their gspec ???

haha yeah i have 2 extended mags for mine and they make it just so much more fun (roughly 5 secs to empty on full auto):D
    some people think they look crap with the long mags but i think they look awesome:pac: (plus it gives you enough ammo per mag to be like steven seagal^^)

oh and btw sendog i checked out those vids on youtube about the ghillie suits.
    really great info im deffo making mine over the summer so thanks for pointing me towards them:)

gungun wrote: »
    haha yeah i have 2 extended mags for mine and they make it just so much more fun (roughly 5 secs to empty on full auto):D
    some people think they look crap with the long mags but i think they look awesome:pac: (plus it gives you enough ammo per mag to be like steven seagal^^)

oh and btw sendog i checked out those vids on youtube about the ghillie suits.
    really great info im deffo making mine over the summer so thanks for pointing me towards them:)

No problem man I aim to please! I enjoyed making my head veil hope u do to! Ill probly make a ghillie aswell:)

horgan_p wrote: »
    fella , you could always ask someone in cork for a loan of their gspec ???

grand so,are ya gona give me your own or make someone else hand one over in case I break it!;)..........just joking!

Ya I saw....I think Jerry and Nigel using one at the last young guns day and it was fairly deadly!well I think it was them anyway,they were the lads who fighting alot!!!!:D

grand so,are ya gona give me your own or make someone else hand one over in case I break it!;)..........just joking!

Ya I saw....I think Jerry and Nigel using one at the last young guns day and it was fairly deadly!well I think it was them anyway,they were the lads who fighting alot!!!!:D

yeah , you can borrow my one if you like , soon as my airseal chamber and hop bucking come in then finally i can call that vsr done.
    basically i think the only stock item left is the stock and trigger assembly.

horgan_p wrote: »
    yeah , you can borrow my one if you like , soon as my airseal chamber and hop bucking come in then finally i can call that vsr done.
    basically i think the only stock item left is the stock and trigger assembly.

Do you have to do alot of modding to it to make it a good sniper or is it good in stock form?

its good in stock config but i changed :

Piston
    Cylinder
    spring guide
    spring
    inner barrel
    barrel spacers
    cylinder head

all i've left to change are
    airseal - ordered
    hop bucking - ordered

and i'm toying with the idea of changing to a zero trigger, would like to see one first though ( they are expensive - $190 + shipping)

Is a better overall gun now with all the mods?

Sorry for being such a dope:rolleyes:,Im fairly new to airsoft but what does a zero trigger do?

its a lot quieter , more consistent from shot to shot , both in terms of power and accuracy.

The zero trigger should ( from what i've read ) decrease the amount of pressure required to "fire" the trigger. as i say its an expensive upgrade ad i'd like to see one before i spend. i believe it would only really be beneficial when playing abroad at up to 500 fps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Rifle Scopes, possibility of them getting shot and damaged? Is that what the see through caps are for? Or are they purely for protecting the lens when not in use?

The caps on my new scope allow me to see through them with them on....
    Sorry for noob question, but I am a noob and I have a new toy! :p

The caps are mainly for scratch protection in transit. In the skirmish field, a bb is neither hard enough to scratch glass/surface treated polymer, nor has it enough energy to break the lens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

where do you people do this airsoft?with friend?in a tournament?sounds really good id love to get some info about this:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Naessens

marko91 wrote: »
    where do you people do this airsoft?with friend?in a tournament?sounds really good id love to get some info about this:)
    There plenty of info on boards, its the first option in the sport section.
    Everyone will be happy to answer your questions but youll find many of your questions already asked( i did anyway;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

The caps are mainly for scratch protection in transit. In the skirmish field, a bb is neither hard enough to scratch glass/surface treated polymer, nor has it enough energy to break the lens.

I've seen a bb crack a scope lens in a skirmish before along with an acog and red dot sights.

Did some research into this. Scopes and agog sights etc seem to get smashed real good in the warehouse all the time. :pac: Close Quarters indoor skirmishing seem to be there weak point.

I didn't think airsoft rifle scopes were that low a quality. Red dot lenses maybe, but rifle scopes. I'm shocked that a bb could break them.

Looking for sniper advice: What weighted bb's you guys use? Just got a TM VSR 10 Gspec and would like to know what ammo suits best. :) What kinda hop-up settings also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

GrumPy wrote: »
    Looking for sniper advice: What weighted bb's you guys use? Just got a TM VSR 10 Gspec and would like to know what ammo suits best. :) What kinda hop-up settings also

Anything under.25g is useless, not very accurate and no 'foliage penetration'

.25g's maybe a little less range, but accuracy is better along with foliage penetration.

With heavier weights the above applies.

.3g's I haven't used but I wouldn't recommend for range but someone might want to correct me.