Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What shinpads?

• 17-11-2008 7:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭

In my krav maga club a lot of people complain abou their shin and instep guards.
    I think it's because we train in our runners, and a lot of these protectors are designed for barefoot sparring. I'm going to buy onee this week and was wondering if anyone had any reccomendations for a good guard, that's pretty strong (KM uses the lower leg to defend kicks a lot, so it can be quite heavy on the shins).

Cheers guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

tallaght01 wrote: »
    In my krav maga club a lot of people complain abou their shin and instep guards.
    I think it's because we train in our runners, and a lot of these protectors are designed for barefoot sparring. I'm going to buy onee this week and was wondering if anyone had any reccomendations for a good guard, that's pretty strong (KM uses the lower leg to defend kicks a lot, so it can be quite heavy on the shins).

Cheers guys.

If your training in shoes that probably rules out Muay Thai type shin guards as they also cover the feet, in which case I'd recommend you go for kickboxing type shin guards, they'll offer the same amount of protection for your shin's whilst leaving your feet free.

Kickboxing;

Leather-no-instep-large.gif

Muay Thai;

31P0yfQuxKL._AA280_.jpg

Or this type (which is what I wear, but for Judo so there's little impact compared to what your doing)..

ShinGuard.jpg

But these have the advantage of being exceptionally comfortable, they won't open or slide on your shin's and they'll probably cost a quarter of the price of the other two.

I'm not sure if MeaveD (I can't remember the name of her online store) sell any of the above but your instructors should be able to point you in the right direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Cheers Mairt, I'll go looking for some kickboxing pads.

Are the various different brands tougher than others? or are they all more or less the same?

I'd avoid 'Fight Rite' equipment from Mullins Sport on Capel St to be honest. Otherwise I'd found it all pretty similar.

If you have big shin's you might like to try the padded guard first (fight rite from Mullins are fine - I know, but these are fine). First off their very cheap, so if your still hurting they haven't cost you a packet and unlike the kickboxing pads, they won't open when the training intensity goes up a notch or two.

I have big shin's and used to have to tape up my shin guards straps with Duct tape, particularly in competition, but lads with smaller shin's didn't seem to put the same stresses on theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

So in Krav Maga you train in runners because that's more realistic but now you want to wear shin guards? I'm not attempting to troll but that sounds like a slight inconsistency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Why would we train in our bare feet?

People talk about other styles having a real life relevance, but still wear groin guards etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

(KM uses the lower leg to defend kicks a lot, so it can be quite heavy on the shins).

Cheers guys.

Thats because the founder of the system used Muay Thai as one of the foundations for the style.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Mairt wrote: »
    I'd avoid 'Fight Rite' equipment from Mullins Sport on Capel St to be honest. Otherwise I'd found it all pretty similar.

If you have big shin's you might like to try the padded guard first (fight rite from Mullins are fine - I know, but these are fine). First off their very cheap, so if your still hurting they haven't cost you a packet and unlike the kickboxing pads, they won't open when the training intensity goes up a notch or two.

I have big shin's and used to have to tape up my shin guards straps with Duct tape, particularly in competition, but lads with smaller shin's didn't seem to put the same stresses on theirs.

I'd agree with this, avoid fite rite equipment like the plague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭crokester

Hi Mairt

I thought Kickboxers (broad term i know) kicked with the foot? Why is the foot uncovered for there shingaurd? I thought they fought in those padded boots.

crokester wrote: »
    Hi Mairt

I thought Kickboxers (broad term i know) kicked with the foot? Why is the foot uncovered for there shingaurd? I thought they fought in those padded boots.

Its like one of those answer's we give a child, its just because :P

Just kidding you. So your question, why those over the Muay Thai style guards?.. I've no idea tbh, I'd rather fight in the Muay Thai stuff myself (when I was kickboxing) but them's dar da rulz!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Martin25

We use Fairtex leg guards which are good for kick boxing.
    We also use baseball catchers leg guards and ice hockey ones for hard contact JKD drilling. All the above are good and can save you getting a bad injury.