Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When are you too old to have a Bebo page?

• 16-11-2008 9:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭

Just wondering?

As an aside, a few months ago one of my workmates who's in his 50s was looking for a new mobile phone. He saw an ad for O2 phones which was offering free Bebo. He innocently asked "What's a Bebo?" After we'd picked ourselves off the floor from laughing, one of the others said that if he did sign up for Bebo and put his real date of birth on it, that the guards would be around to his house pretty sharpish.

So it's safe to say if you're in your 50s, having a Bebo page is a no-no. I'm in my early 30s and I feel I'm too old for such a thing. What's the cut-off point? 25?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

i'd say 12 or 13 is old enough anything over that ye might have few problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Well I think it'll grow older as the generation of first users grow older. I think it'd be a bit weird for someone in their 40s or 50s to have a bebo page, but in say 10 years that'll be a lot more normal...and I'm sure the youths in 10 years will have something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Conception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

25ish, I dunno...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

Anything over 13...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

35 I would say.....(gives me 5 more years of bebo stalkin' ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Anobody over 19 is probably a pervert.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

I had one and im nearly 40, all my friends have a bebo page too. I deleted mine because I didnt realy use it but my wife signed up just to keep an eye on what the kids are up to and now she loves it and has all her friends on it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I think if your older than the website you shouldn't have a page on it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rhapsody!

2qk4u wrote: »
    I had one and im nearly 40, all my friends have a bebo page too. I deleted mine because I didnt realy use it but my wife signed up just to keep an eye on what the kids are up to and now she loves it and has all her friends on it..

the day i'd add my parents to my page..
    :|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Anything older than -1

but having said that i must fess up to having one myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Bebo should be wiped from existence entirely and all associated networking sites like it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I was talked into it by one of the young ones in work and still feel guilty logging in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Not everyone on bebo uses it to pervert on others. Dunno if anyone actually realises but its a social interaction website.
    As long as you are interested in socialising with your friends i think there is no age limit.
    Thats not to say though that there are some sickos out there who do use it for kiddie fiddling! There is an option to make your page private tho so none of the people you have not confirmed as friends will be able to see your info!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

ntlbell wrote: »
    i'd say 12 or 13 is old enough anything over that ye might have few problems

I'd agree. Make 14 the cut-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Hogzy wrote: »
    Not everyone on bebo uses it to pervert on others.

Speak for yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Firetrap wrote: »
    Just wondering?

As an aside, a few months ago one of my workmates who's in his 50s was looking for a new mobile phone. He saw an ad for O2 phones which was offering free Bebo. He innocently asked "What's a Bebo?" After we'd picked ourselves off the floor from laughing, one of the others said that if he did sign up for Bebo and put his real date of birth on it, that the guards would be around to his house pretty sharpish.

So it's safe to say if you're in your 50s, having a Bebo page is a no-no. I'm in my early 30s and I feel I'm too old for such a thing. What's the cut-off point? 25?

So the 30 year olds were laughing at the 50 year olds about being on bebo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

good move there by the missus to keep an eye.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭controller

I'm totally appalled at how ageist some people are. You might as well just ask when are you too old to have friends? It's a social networking site to make friends, communicate with existing friends etc. Why do people think that a few 365days more and your all of a sudden too old to do certain things. That's just typecasting and pathetic. I'll do what I want until I want with or without anyones approval. You live once guys enjoy it.

controller wrote: »
    You live once guys enjoy it.

When the Lo-o-ord asks me what I did with my life I will sa-ay, "I spent it on Bebo"

I'm totally appalled at how ageist some people are. You might as well just ask when are you too old to have friends? It's a social networking site to make friends, communicate with existing friends etc. Why do people think that a few 365days more and your all of a sudden too old to do certain things. That's just typecasting and pathetic. I'll do what I want until I want with or without anyones approval. You live once guys enjoy it.

I don't think anyone said anything about older people being part of a social network...

They're other social networks that are aimed at people who are little bit more mature...

We're discussing bebo but thanks for making a stupid generlisation about people making stupid generlisations..

R0ot wrote: »
    Bebo should be wiped from existence entirely and all associated networking sites like it! :D

+1. It's so refreshing to see someone else who is not swept up in all this social networking crap.

I'm sure there are more like us on boards. We should start a social group or something for likeminded people so we can all keep in touch..... wait a minute. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭controller

I don't think anyone said anything about older people being part of a social network...

They're other social networks that are aimed at people who are little bit more mature...

We're discussing bebo but thanks for making a stupid generlisation about people making stupid generlisations..

Hm.... you might note the word "some" in my text to how can that be a generalisation? I too was discussing bebo and as far as I'm aware the moderators at bebo aren't ageist thankfully.

Oh and ps to the guy at the gates of heaven. I said enjoy your life I didn't say spend all of it on bebo. Ya anyone else fancy a bite back cause I'm entitled to my opinion. Finally some might call this a social networking site of sorts (grey area).

Chow.

I actually like bebo, I moved schools and thanks to bebo I keep in contact with all my friends. And I still keep in touch with people from primary school. And next year when I'm in uni (hopefully) I'll still be able to keep in contact with secondary school friends! :D

I don't reckon there's an age limit.

Bigger question is what is the minimum age that should be allowed, because my friend's sister is determined to join and she's about 10..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

on myspace its common for over 30's to have it, but then they are fairly gay.

I actually like bebo, I moved schools and thanks to bebo I keep in contact with all my friends. And I still keep in touch with people from primary school. And next year when I'm in uni (hopefully) I'll still be able to keep in contact with secondary school friends! :D

I don't reckon there's an age limit.

Bigger question is what is the minimum age that should be allowed, because my friend's sister is determined to join and she's about 10..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Closed mine the day before I turned 30. I would have felt a bit creepy being a 30-something on bebo. Joined facebook instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I'm totally appalled at how ageist some people are. You might as well just ask when are you too old to have friends? It's a social networking site to make friends, communicate with existing friends etc. Why do people think that a few 365days more and your all of a sudden too old to do certain things. That's just typecasting and pathetic. I'll do what I want until I want with or without anyone's approval. You live once guys enjoy it.

The OP here. I wasn't being ageist - just wondering when are you too old to be on Bebo? I consider myself to be too old to have a Bebo page - am I being ageist against myself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I'd say your wife has been watching a little too much Desperate Housewives. :eek: (The mother sings on a bebo like page and her son falls in love with her new hot younger alias!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Well, if 25+ is too old for bebo, is it not too old for boards?

How many friendships have been made through boards beers and the likes? Bebo is the same thing, granted you can do a lot more with a bebo page but you're still making/talking to friends.

Don't see what the big deal is. I've found that a lot of people who bitch about bebo will turn around and say they use facebook! :cool:

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Well, if 25+ is too old for bebo, is it not too old for boards?

How many friendships have been made through boards beers and the likes? Bebo is the same thing, granted you can do a lot more with a bebo page but you're still making/talking to friends.

Don't see what the big deal is. I've found that a lot of people who bitch about bebo will turn around and say they use facebook! :cool:

bebo is mostly aimed at schools and ex school friends etc up to "high school"

so it's aimed at young teenagers.

facebook is aimed more for college grads etc

one is full of mostly chavvy kids

the other mostly older educated folk

if you can't see the difference then maybe bebo is the best one for you

!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Posted in true AH style. :rolleyes:

I also take offence to:
    ''if you can't see the difference then maybe bebo is the best one for you''

Y'know, since it's for uneducated chavs and the likes..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

There is an age requirement for putting ****e on the internet?

Facebook is for the educated and bebo is for chav kids?

WTF! There is nothing educated about giving your marketing information to a "social network", stalking ex girlfrieds, posting pictures of you drunk, playing poker in work, recieving spam, being offered ****e products, leaving each other silly vacious messages rather than meeting your friends for a pint................

What utter muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

People think Bebo is childish...?
    (A random Bebo page) Conn Darcy says:
    "I would do anything for love but I won't do scat."

Oh. I see.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    People think Bebo is childish...?

Oh. I see.
    I wonder where you got that from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

for signing up; 20 i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I wonder where you got that from.

Some bloke in Sligo. It's probably cutting-edge satire out that way :pac::D!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Some bloke in Sligo. It's probably cutting-edge satire out that way :pac::D!
    He seems like a bit of an eejit to be perfectly honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

R0ot wrote: »

I could easily say that about Boards! When I was away all Summer, it was very handy for keeping in touch with people back home.

P.S You seem to have your own Bebo page:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

What a steaming pile of endometreum.

Kold wrote: »

Jaysus that's a big word. So you're a Facebook guy then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

javaboy wrote: »
    Jaysus that's a big word. So you're a Facebook guy then?

I believe myspace is the one for artists. It's good to know your place.

Kold wrote: »

i can has you has friend on teh bebo plz?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Um never, you can't check out people/help jigsaw stalk without a profile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i know a fella in his take 50s on it

seanybiker wrote: »
    i know a fella in his take 50s on it

I bet the cyber crime squad know him too ;)