Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub regulars passing comments within earshot, why?

• 15-11-2008 1:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭

Ok, here's my fifty cents.

I was at a party for a work-mate recently in a large Dublin pub which shall remain name-less. Anyway, i was there with a number of work colleagues, six or seven of them who happen to be good friends of mine.

Anyway, the night was going swimmingly, everybody having a few scoops and generally having a good night. As i was heading off to go to the toliet during the night, there was another group of people (not in our company) at the corner of the bar, who i could hear, making various comments about some of the people in our group as they passed by them. Anyway, being as thick-skinned as i am, i heard what was being said, so i decided to ignore these people and continue with having a great night.

The atmosphere around my table changed somewhat, when a friend of mine from work came back to my group looking visibly upset. He told me that as he was returning back from the jacks, this other group of people had made reference to the fact that he happened to look like somebody 'on RTE TV'. Now, granted this mate of mine looks a bit like this person that they were refering to, but not exactly like him by any stretch of the imagination. In fact, he usually wears his hair short, and when he does he doesn't look like anybody in particular.

Here's my question...why do people have to be downright cruel to people in such a bad and obviously degrading manner, so much so that they have to insure that the person is within earshot, to get a quick jibe in?

Some people baffle me sometimes, with or without their beer googles on.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Kill all humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Jesus relax....could of said he looked like someone from TV3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

its the irish way. simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Haha, what are the chances?

I'm just in after getting a lift off a friend from a pub. When me (and 2 other lads) were getting into her car, some idiot barfly who was round the side having a smoke started giving the GIRL (the des. driver) abuse. Out of no-where like. About how shes a drunk, a dope etc.

What's he thinking thinks I?

Two of us are 6ft and one is a good 6-2''. we all had a brain and just got into the car, but then he squares up to the one slowest to get into the car... I ended up getting the bar men out to take him down. ****d if I was gonna get charged for lamping him around.

My only theory is that these idiots have nothing else. They haven't grown up since they finished school - they still hang around with the same band of men, acting the ****in' eejit because they can't achieve anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Dave5 wrote: »
    I was at a party for a work-mate recently in a large Dublin pub which shall remain name-less.
    Why not name the pub?

Wasn't the George or Front Lounge by any chance?

As an aside some of my best friends are gay but I have no intention of breaking my penis having sexual intercourse with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I love drunken posts on boards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Jessica4

kmart6 wrote: »
    Have you read what the topic starter has written?:rolleyes:

As another member has rightly said, some people are arseholes. Something simliar happened to a female friend of mine some time ago and simliarly she came back to our table visibly upset.

I find an attitude like yours baffling, it always 'Jesus, relax' or 'Don't worry about it' when it's not you who is at the end of the jibe. There's no need for people to go on with this type of ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I was tlaking to an off duty cop in a pub a few weeks ago and some fella I know started making comments about me been this and that. I heard him and was gonna puck the head off him but as usual, stand upto him and he backed down like a little bitch. Now Im barred haha. Ah well, least I showed all his mates how "big" he really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The atmosphere around my table changed somewhat, when a friend of mine from work came back to my group looking visibly upset. He told me that as he was returning back from the jacks, this other group of people had made reference to the fact that he happened to look like somebody 'on RTE TV'. Now, granted this mate of mine looks a bit like this person that they were refering to, but not exactly like him by any stretch of the imagination. In fact, he usually wears his hair short, and when he does he doesn't look like anybody in particular.

Your mate has had a charmed life if that kind of comment makes him upset. Unless they said he looked like Ryan Tubridy, in which case it would be appropriate to go "American History X" on yer man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Dave5

eoin_s wrote: »
    Your mate has had a charmed life if that kind of comment makes him upset. Unless they said he looked like Ryan Tubridy, in which case it would be appropriate to go "American History X" on yer man.
    Or Bryan Dobson.:D
    If they said you looked like Gerry Ryan, well then you know you're a fat bastard.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Too try and start a fight...

Sorry :/

Having an issue/confrontation/conflict with somebody in a social situation is in no way unique. It happens to most people at some point. How you deal with it is up to you, explaining how you dealt with somebody in an online forum is unnecessary and it nearly always makes you look like your bragging or saying something for the sake of it. If somebody is being an asshole, then they are being an asshole, it doesn't take much analysis if you have faith you are not inciting this behaviour.

An aside: I broke my record having sexual intercourse with your mother.

ah yeah it does happen to everyone at some stage in all fairness. Im sure it happened to Dave before aswell but I dont think he was saying something for the sake of it. I think he asked a genuine question as to why do people act hard in front of their mates was all. It was probably talked about on this place loads of times before but sure tis only a forum anyways. If you find someone to be bragging or whatever and ya dont like it just ignore it, whats the point in saying ya bust yer langer trying to ride someones mother. The your mutha jokes are old boy. Think of something else. Could really scare him and say it was his father or something.

Well, I addressed the post like I saw it being written. I did not have an elaborate story about some moment in a pub, the other guy did.

Based on the assumption that I am joking.

An aside: I...

Fairly elaborate laright just to wonder why people are arseholes but sure some people like giving reasons for their questions. Feck it. Im dying here me chest is in bits so Im gonna dot he man thing and go to bed thinking Im the only person in the world to have this happen to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

anyone else think the op writes like yer man from RTE?

ClioV6 wrote: »

@OP. people are arseholes, welcome to Ireland.

ha ha ha thats answered that one anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

I would say forget about the whole thing. Irish people are, in general, idiots. Alcohol does not help people to act appropriately, Irish people act ridiculously when alcohol is involved, just look at any family gathering you have ever had (assuming your family drinks).

I'm oddly giddy tonight. My apologies if I overtly offended anyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I would say forget about the whole thing. Irish people are, in general, idiots. Alcohol does not help people to act appropriately, Irish people act ridiculously when alcohol is involved...

Couldn't agree more. Sadly its the nature of the beast. All we can do is better ourselves and rise above it.
    ...then come back the next week and shoot the scumbags!

I would say forget about the whole thing. Irish people are, in general, idiots. Alcohol does not help people to act appropriately, Irish people act ridiculously when alcohol is involved,
    You will find the same thing in Australia, the UK the United States and practically ever other country I have lived in and been too. Excessive alcohol turns most people into idiots. Its not exclusive to Irish people even though some like to piss it up harder than most.

Irish people drink more than any nation of people I have ever been in contact with and for different reasons. I am 100% Irish and I think Irish people are a ****ing joke.
    Binge drinking is so out of control here that its not funny.

Here's a list of the top consumers of alcohol per capita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Irish people drink more than any nation of people I have ever been in contact with and for different reasons. I am 100% Irish and I think Irish people are a ****ing joke.
    The polish also have a love for the drink. It's just cheaper over there.

OP: if you think you can take them on, look at one of them oddly on the way out off the toilet, and chuckle/smirk. Go over to the lads, and tell them to laugh hysterically, after looking at the person you looked at. Joke will be on them, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

What pub?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Honestly though, I'd have said nothing and carried on.
    Why stoop to their level? I know it might make you feel better for a minute or two - but afterwards, it would make you no better than them.

Rise above it all and frak them. Let them stew in their own insignificant small world lives.

Speaking of alcohol, there must be a few more drunks in here than usual, during the day.
    ...I noticed that more threads are getting locked!

...Get it? ...O' I give up! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Holsten wrote: »
    What pub?
    So your gaydar has picked up something too?

Most likely just a gaggle of gay guys acting like precious little princesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gikkerface

D'yuh know what they need?

A good kick in the gikker.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Rooster don't let the nay-sayers get to you, keep on breakin that penis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Your mate needs to grow a pair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If all they said was he looks like a TV figure, you need stop eavesdropping, or drink in a more convivial environment. Maybe bring some cans to a crèche?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

What I'd do in that situation is just go to the toilet and as you're passing them just smile and say hi.

They'd expect a confrontation so after saying that they'd be caught off guard and genuinely wouldn't know what to do. I've done it a few times before. It's funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yer friend got upset because someone told him he looked like someone from RTÉ...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Mark200 wrote: »
    What I'd do in that situation is just go to the toilet and as you're passing them just smile and say hi.

They'd expect a confrontation so after saying that they'd be caught off guard and genuinely wouldn't know what to do. I've done it a few times before. It's funny.

The best thing to do is say hi, start walking past them and then without warning, lamp the last ****er in line with an uppercut. If the others decide to join in, unwrap your plate of headbutt sandwiches and start handing them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

lol - i chuckled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Some people ar just arseholes.
    The thing to do in that situation is to find something funny lookin aBOut the other dicks and make sure they hear you laughing at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭book smarts

Project strength, to avoid conflict. Peace, through superior firepower!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Reminds me of a nightclub in Magaluf a few years back.

Myself and a mate were some of the first in, so the music wasn't too loud and without too much difficulty you could hear some chat.

Passing a group of chic's and I noticed a few checking me out...

''Nah'', one said ''All those bodybuilders are gay'', to which my mate took offence .. "Here Martin, did you hear what she said" says Ollie... "Yea Ollie, but your not a bodybuilder - your a little fat cunt WITH a bodybuilder".. :D

At the foam party I had two of the chic's licking my nipples!.. Gay works :P

I'M STRAIGHT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Mairt wrote: »
    Gay works :P

I'M STRAIGHT.

It's ok to be gay for pay, we understand you have bills to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

If that's the biggest problem your friend has, he's got a pretty soft life

I'd be visibly upset if I was told i'd cancer, not if some cheap insult (maybe it was a compliment? who knows) was thrown my way by drunken strangers in a pub

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Ok, here's my fifty cents.

I was at a party for a work-mate recently in a large Dublin pub which shall remain name-less. Anyway, i was there with a number of work colleagues, six or seven of them who happen to be good friends of mine.

Anyway, the night was going swimmingly, everybody having a few scoops and generally having a good night. As i was heading off to go to the toliet during the night, there was another group of people (not in our company) at the corner of the bar, who i could hear, making various comments about some of the people in our group as they passed by them. Anyway, being as thick-skinned as i am, i heard what was being said, so i decided to ignore these people and continue with having a great night.

Here's my question...why do people have to be downright cruel to people in such a bad and obviously degrading manner, so much so that they have to insure that the person is within earshot, to get a quick jibe in?

Some people baffle me sometimes, with or without their beer googles on.:mad:

The other group are knobs,

but seriously?
    looking visibly upset
    he happened to look like somebody 'on RTE TV'

Was this an under 12s pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Mahou

It's a bit of banter and if you're quick witted enough the last laugh will be yours. He was visibly upset...who did they say Anne Doyle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Jesus, please. It's "could have" not "could of".

Sorry, usually keep it to myself but it's happening on here way too often now.

*grabs can of beer to release stress*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Mairt wrote: »
    Reminds me of a nightclub in Magaluf a few years back.

Myself and a mate were some of the first in, so the music wasn't too loud and without too much difficulty you could hear some chat.

Passing a group of chic's and I noticed a few checking me out...

''Nah'', one said ''All those bodybuilders are gay'', to which my mate took offence .. "Here Martin, did you hear what she said" says Ollie... "Yea Ollie, but your not a bodybuilder - your a little fat cunt WITH a bodybuilder".. :D

At the foam party I had two of the chic's licking my nipples!.. Gay works :P

I'M STRAIGHT.

Move this to the fantasy forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Move this to the fantasy forum

Oh, you can fantasize about being me here if you wish.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

sat beside a group of irish girls last night (dubs) and i have to say, even though i know what irish people can be like, i was slighlty taken aback. 6 of them, just sat there all night, sipping their drinks and the looked the most boring girls ive ever met.

however, their only topic of conversation was to poke fun/pass comments at every other girl that walked past. i mean, they just stared at everybody that walked past their table and then looked at each other after, laughing and joking. some of comments were terrible, especially towards "larger" girls. the stunning girls just got dirty looks, commenting on how slutty they looked. jealously was ripe anyway i tell you.there was an eastern european girl dancing in front of them, slim girl, dressed well and they were just looking at her in disgust, again, just pure bitterness, jealously and bitchyness.

one girl, literally pointed at every single girl in the place and past a comment. some lad stuck in her later, called her a dirty b@tch and the bouncers f*cked him out. they looked single and judging by their evident lack of personality, they will remain like that for a long long time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

People get upset if they hear they look like someone from the television? Good grief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Jessica4 wrote: »
    Have you read what the topic starter has written?:rolleyes:

As another member has rightly said, some people are arseholes. Something simliar happened to a female friend of mine some time ago and simliarly she came back to our table visibly upset.

I find an attitude like yours baffling, it always 'Jesus, relax' or 'Don't worry about it' when it's not you who is at the end of the jibe. There's no need for people to go on with this type of ****e.
    I'm just going to give you the benefit of doubt that you don't have a clue the way boards works! After Hours is not something seriously....and what I said was clearly in the form of a dig at TV3....which if you actually were aware of stuff on boards you'd know is a fairly common insult/jibe target!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Does your mate look like paudge or rodge???

Throw poo at these people, that will shut them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

maybe they were drunk and had on their drunken earmuffs....ya know when u think ur talking quiet but ur actually shouting? Happens to me a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Anyone ever throw poo at you? Or just the usual face licking?