Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accomodation Dilema! please help!!

• 14-11-2008 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭

right i knwo ye are all sick of answering these questions but please help!!
    im starting in galway next sept but dont know where to live. ive read all about corrib village and know its full of 1st years, but, #would i get sick of the parties and mess and chaos after a few weeks?? its about the same price to live there as to live i gort or cuirt and ive stayed in both b4 and they are much nicer than corrib! I'm not a killjoy by the way, i drink more and go out more than the majority of my class but im afraid ill live in corrib and get sick of it, or if i live elsewhere i'd be wishing i'd stayed in corrib??!! please please help!!

also would getting a house with 2 friends from school be a bad idea for 1st yrs or what other places would ye recommend for 1st years!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Anywhere in the city centre if you can afford it, or else look in newcastle that area..it all depends on your budget and how close you want to be to campus. Some people swear by living on campus for the first year but then others don't like it...so it's something you need to decide.

youre not moving here till next september? You have plenty of time to come down and spend some time looking around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Mallox

haha im a friend of the desperate english4490 haha ... ya im in the same boat .. my parents would prefer if i went to corrib cos its on campus but i tink i would enjoy the independence of a house with friends an the rules would be as strict too ... jus wonderin do ppl stayin in corrib village have friends to stay over often cos it says you cant but i imagine noone pays attention to that .. if i go to corrib i would be having friends to stay regularily enuf .. is dis possible in corrib or would i be better off renting??? tanx for your help :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I'm not 100% but 'on campus' doesn't actually mean on campus the way it does with other unis...could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

Some people swear by living on campus for the first year but then others don't like it...so it's something you need to decide.

hmm, are you living in corrib now??? if not do you regret it or vice versa??

Anywhere in the city centre if you can afford it, or else look in newcastle that area..it all depends on your budget and how close you want to be to campus. Some people swear by living on campus for the first year but then others don't like it...so it's something you need to decide.

youre not moving here till next september? You have plenty of time to come down and spend some time looking around!
    are u in corrib vollage this year? if not do you regret it or vice versa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

No, but was actually chatting to some friends yesterday who had mixed opinions..one said it was a great way to make friends but the other said she would have preferred to be off campus form the start. it's very mixed reactions

Personally, if i had to had moved away for college I would have gone oncampus for the first year and then out off campus for the rest of the years.

Hope you find somewhere.

No, but was actually chatting to some friends yesterday who had mixed opinions..one said it was a great way to make friends but the other said she would have preferred to be off campus form the start. it's very mixed reactions

Personally, if i had to had moved away for college I would have gone oncampus for the first year and then out off campus for the rest of the years.

Hope you find somewhere.
    ok thanks for your help!! still dont know what i will do! last question, would i be really stupid to live in gort, cuirt or dun nna coribe in first yr? or are they really just for 2nd and 3rds who want to live on campus??

So if you'd the choice to live in corrib village or any of the coiribes whuch wud ye pick?? is getting a house in 1st year a bad idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

Mallox wrote: »
    haha im a friend of the desperate english4490 haha ... ya im in the same boat .. my parents would prefer if i went to corrib cos its on campus but i tink i would enjoy the independence of a house with friends an the rules would be as strict too ... jus wonderin do ppl stayin in corrib village have friends to stay over often cos it says you cant but i imagine noone pays attention to that .. if i go to corrib i would be having friends to stay regularily enuf .. is dis possible in corrib or would i be better off renting??? tanx for your help :D

Eh corrib is unbelievably strict....the security guards check everyone coming into the place after a certain time, people have to have their Corrib Village ID cards or they wont be let in, they even stop taxis after that time and check the passengers for ID cards...I know people who have tried to bring friends over to corrib after a night out, hidden in the boot of a taxi, and they were still found.
    Used to work until security cottoned onto it.
    Seriously, if you want people staying over a lot, corrib village is a no-no.

jesus are things really that bad?? but is corrib the place to be for 1st years or could 1st years get on grand in cuirt or gort without being the only 1st years there???

Bijoux wrote: »
    Eh corrib is unbelievably strict....the security guards check everyone coming into the place after a certain time, people have to have their Corrib Village ID cards or they wont be let in, they even stop taxis after that time and check the passengers for ID cards...I know people who have tried to bring friends over to corrib after a night out, hidden in the boot of a taxi, and they were still found.
    Used to work until security cottoned onto it.
    Seriously, if you want people staying over a lot, corrib village is a no-no.
    jesus are things really that bad?? but is corrib the place to be for 1st years or could 1st years get on grand in cuirt or gort without being the only 1st years there???

1/3 of Cuirt is first years, not sure about gort....

Yep corrib is really that strict.

I lived in cuirt in first year and it was grand, lots of other first years in gort and cuirt as well....of course corrib is generally 100% first years, and yes its good craic, but other than that its a dump and a rip off.
    Personally, if I was in your position, I would go for Gort....but you have to apply early to get it, places fly out!

Also:
    Cuirt has security, but theres only one guard, he barely works and its nowhere near as bad as Corrib Village.
    Gort has no security guards, as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Most people I know hate Corrib if they ever stayed in it. Visiting students especially as it seems to be filled with kids away from the folks for the first time.
    Corrib is meant to be grand at first (party, woo!) but you get sick of it really quickly due to incessant partying.

That said, I hate Gort, worst couches ever.
    Every time I'm crashing at a friends and am supposed to be sleeping on the couch I never manage to sleep. Have to stay awake all night or sleep on the floor.

My own reccomendation is move in with some friends if you can. Turns out better in the long run. Worked out for all my friends.

Most people I know hate Corrib if they ever stayed in it. Visiting students especially as it seems to be filled with kids away from the folks for the first time.
    Corrib is meant to be grand at first (party, woo!) but you get sick of it really quickly due to incessant partying.

That said, I hate Gort, worst couches ever.
    Every time I'm crashing at a friends and am supposed to be sleeping on the couch I never manage to sleep. Have to stay awake all night or sleep on the floor.

My own reccomendation is move in with some friends if you can. Turns out better in the long run. Worked out for all my friends.
    i see.... so stay away from corrib and if i can get a place with friends or something! thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Bijoux wrote: »
    Gort has no security guards, as far as I know.

It most certainly has. i was working with one of them during the summer, he had quite a few stories to tell about the place, and they weren't good.

Ha i can imagine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

i see.... so stay away from corrib and if i can get a place with friends or something! thanks!

It's up to you really. Some people find Corrib suits them fine as a good introduction to college life as first arts is so relaxed and then they can settle down in their second year.

But be warned that corrib is meant to be rotten if your one of those people who likes their own space at times.

It's up to you really. Some people find Corrib suits them fine as a good introduction to college life as first arts is so relaxed and then they can settle down in their second year.

But be warned that corrib is meant to be rotten if your one of those people who likes their own space at times.
    right by the sounds of all this i rally think i would tire of corrib really quick, so it'l be off to somewhere else for me!

I lived in Gort in first year, and second year, and I was definitely not the only one!

It's a nice place, and its easy to live there, you put money away for bills at the start and they handle them, there's craic around the place too, house partys and the like aren't too hard to find.

One point to make, IT'S CHOCK FULL OF AMERICANS! It was fun, feeling like a foreigner in Galway :)

I must say though, the Americans were great, we had fun, watching the superbowl and arguing the merits of rugby vs american football!

I'd def pick gort over cuirt anyway.

And in answer to another point, there is no On Campus accomodation in Galway, there are student villages gort, cuirt, corrib and dún, but they are all off campus.

I lived in Gort in first year, and second year, and I was definitely not the only one!

It's a nice place, and its easy to live there, you put money away for bills at the start and they handle them, there's craic around the place too, house partys and the like aren't too hard to find.

One point to make, IT'S CHOCK FULL OF AMERICANS! It was fun, feeling like a foreigner in Galway :)

I must say though, the Americans were great, we had fun, watching the superbowl and arguing the merits of rugby vs american football!

I'd def pick gort over cuirt anyway.

And in answer to another point, there is no On Campus accomodation in Galway, there are student villages gort, cuirt, corrib and dún, but they are all off campus.
    Thats sounds great, ya i think gort is looking like the place im going to be next year! so plenty of other 1st years around thats great!