Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Injury list.

• 13-11-2008 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭

In my 30 short years i have clocked up a reasonably impressive list of injuries.

Not in any particular order;

Broken nose X1
    Right leg broken X2
    Left leg broken X1
    Left foot crushed.
    Broken front tooth.
    Broken right arm X1
    Broken left hand X1
    Ruptured cartilage in right shoulder.
    4 back operations.
    10 stitches on my arse when me dog bit me.

What are your injuries?

And you cant count anything you were born with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've had over 600 hangovers, that's about it I'm not a klutz. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

In my 29 years. I’ve gotten away lightly.

Broken collar-bone (age 8) while doing handstand
    Broken ankle and cracked shin-bone (age 13) mess fighting

Does a broken nail count too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

All sports related. Only ever broken one thing -

Broken nose
    Torn groin
    Torn quad
    Torn hamstring
    Sprained wrist
    Around the eye split open which has left a nice scar

Not too bad really, though the groin kept me out for 9 months and the quad has been at me for the last 6.

I'm 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I have never broke a bone
    despite wrecking two bikes in collisions with cars being knocked down a hatful of times and a fall off a bridge while trying to prove i could fly while drunk.

Your bones are soft OP you should drink more milk it does a body good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

@ OP jasus :eek:
    • Twisted foot
    • dislocated fingers, different ones on different occasions
    • chipped the bone in my second toe
    • landed on a rotating bike wheel at speed........wearing shorts.........ripped a lot of the flesh off my inner thigh, thankfully no injuries to the family jewels :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Broken wrist.
    Twisted Ankle
    Right Arm amputated 5 inches below elbow.
    Large section of left skull removed and replaced with Titanium mesh.
    Intermittent bollock pain (A common work related condition).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

• Broke 8 of my fingers (including 1 thumb)
    • Broken leg in 3 places
    • Broken hand
    • Broken wrist
    • Knocked down 4 times
    • Face first into a concret step and broke a tooth
    • Broke 2 toes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Broken ankle when I fell off my bike - I was only 6. Still can't watch any ankle surgery without wincing. That was probably cos my mam tried to make me walk from the road to the front door after the accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Broke my right hand off a worktop when the boss was doing too much too annoy me..

it didnt help i punched the block wall and the metal door on the way out.

I dont let things put me into that type of temper anymore.

Not good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I've had too may injuries to list but here is what caused them:

Plane crash,
    Shot at
    Blown off my feet by a bomb
    Wire left as a bobby trap
    House collapse on top of me
    Bike run over me
    Fire
    Glass
    Sniper
    Blown up fire extinguisher
    Fall - being pushed
    Attemped drowning on me
    and so on...

Had a girlfriend whom refused to travel anywhere with me!
    (you can guess - the relationship didn't last long)

...and before you ask, I do Close Personal Protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

6th wrote: »

• Knocked down 4 times

Feck ya..

I have only been knocked down once. My head broke the cars windscreen but i was fine after it.

Indeed i was so fine after it the Guards made me pay for a replacement windscreen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

collar bone, left knee ligaments x 2(very ouch), cut to neck(very lucky), about a dozen stitches to head, sprained ancle x4(i'm a pony)

honourable mention - almost runover by a train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I died for 47 seconds when I was 14. Something silly like my heart stopped.

I was in an incubator when I was born. They told my parents I had polio then remarkedbly a week later they said "oh by the way it wasnt polio, we dont know what it was but he is fine".

Nice!

I had also had 87 stitches on one side of my face. Not all at once mind you.

I was also skewered when playing on a disused building site. The galvanise was in a sharp point and went through my left leg just south west of my testicles and came out the other side of my leg. I even cycled home to tell my parents, how strange because it never hurt until the fever set in. :D

Glowing wrote: »
    Broken ankle when I fell off my bike - I was only 6. Still can't watch any ankle surgery without wincing. That was probably cos my mam tried to make me walk from the road to the front door after the accident.

I walked home on one of my broken legs, but i was very, very drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Biggins wrote: »

Plane crash,
    Shot at
    Bike run over me
    Fire
    Glass
    Sniper
    Fall - being pushed
    Attemped drowning on me
    and so on...

He got you with the butt sekz didn't he?

Biggins wrote: »

Plane crash,
    Shot at
    Bike run over me
    Fire
    Glass
    Sniper
    Fall - being pushed
    Attemped drowning on me
    and so on...

Either your James Bond or you have a very active imagination..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

ive broken other peoples bones, does that count on the list?

I was in an incubator when I was born.

That must have been a difficult birth .... :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Either your James Bond or you have a very active imagination..

No, just part of the job over many years.
    (got the ruddy scars to prove it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

CIMG1250.jpg

14 Stitches ^^^

8 stitches behind my ear
    6 staples in the back of my head
    3 stitches on the top of my head
    2 stitches over my eye
    2 stitches in my chin

All of these on seperate occasions and never received any stitches below my chin.

Bent my right forearm, it didn't break, still had to wear a cast
    Made ****e of ankle ligaments playing football

They are the only ones worth writing about really

Onkle wrote: »
    CIMG1250.jpg

14 Stitches ^^^

What the feck happened there? :eek:

Edit: You should really re-organise those shelves ... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Broken Foot
    Broken Wrist
    Dislocated my hand ( put it back in place myself)
    Torn both hamstrings

About it and all sports related.

I fell... while sober and glassed myself. 3 stitches in the eyelid, 9 in the forehead and 2 in the cheek and 2 days in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

That must have been a difficult birth .... :pac:

Huh wait that was no incubator. It was a test tube. Damn!!! :mad:

snyper wrote: »
    ive broken other peoples bones, does that count on the list?

Snyper, what you do with other men's bones is your own business.

I broke my penis having sexual intercourse with your mother.

oh oh! I broke my banjo string too!! Forgot about that one, comes with the territory when you have an extra large penis :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Jaysus Onkle I think I died a little inside when I read that post...

Lemmie see...

Right Wrist - 5 breaks 10+ sprains/fractures

Left Wrist - 7 breaks 10+ fractures

Right Foot - Broken growth plate, 3 broken toes (one of which is broken at the moment, stubbed it 4/5 times in one day, swelled up like a cnut).

Right Leg - 2 very deep gashes leaving some monster scars and one break.

Left Leg - 2 breaks

Collar bone snapped in half resulting in it breaking through the skin (healed arseways cause I didn't do physio after, still poking out only hidden by skin)

Thrown through a green house as a child resulting in a scar the entire way down my right arm.

Clipped a guys boot trying to stop him at the 5m line in rugby, his boot came back and sliced my face open while he went head first into the post and was knocked out cold for a good 30 mins. I have NEVER seen so much blood in my life, I thought I was fine but when I got up one of the lads on the team goes "HOLY **** LOOK AT ALL THE BLOOD!" I though he was messing until my vision went red haha. walked back to the dressing room not a bother on me till I looked in the mirror. Hostel 2 was a kids movie compaired the the amount of blood pumping out of me, as soon as I saw it i broke down like a girl haha, fun times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Broken toes X 2
    Torn Ligaments in ankle X 2
    Twisted ankle on countless occasions..
    Sliced finger open with a razor aged about 6.

I injure myself mildly so often that I tend to ignore it when I do actually have a proper injury, assuming it'll just work itself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

I have a friend like that, fell about 3 story onto his head/shoulder, we were gonna call an ambulance but he wanted to wait it out and see what happens...

He's very prone to broken fingers aswell, done it some many times that hospital seems pointless... Funny but a little sick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

No broken bones evah! *touches wood*

I pity the fools who keep breaking they bones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Onkle wrote: »
    CIMG1250.jpg

14 Stitches ^^^

Edit: You should really re-organise those shelves ... :p

Notice the blood on the wall :pac:

Let me see;

4 broken ribs
    Fractured wrist (L)
    Fractured ankle (L)
    Fractured heel (R)
    10 stitches on my forehead
    Stitches on my right hand
    Stitches on my left hand
    Stitches on my right leg (Thigh)
    Stitches on my lower left leg

I think that's it as far as injuries go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Viral infection when born. Still with me today.
    Dislocated kneecap, left
    Torn Ligaments (MCL), left knee
    Very bad righ knee sprain (doctor said something about 'draining' my leg. Pfft to that.)

I'm 18. Ha.

Oh, i forgot about pneuemonia and a belt of a chainsaw. A tree fell on me once too, minor things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Oh, i forgot about pneuemonia and a belt of a chainsaw. A tree fell on me once too, minor things.

Sure, a tree falling on you. That's minor. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Broken ankle, age like, 2?
    Fractured skull + fractured jaw, age 12
    Nearly lost an eye age 13
    Apart from that.. not a whole lot. Sprains here and there but.. Funny considering I do Martial arts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

In my 30 short years i have clocked up a reasonably impressive list of injuries.

Not in any particular order;

Broken nose X1
    Right leg broken X2
    Left leg broken X1
    Left foot crushed.
    Broken front tooth.
    Broken right arm X1
    Broken left hand X1
    Ruptured cartilage in right shoulder.
    4 back operations.
    10 stitches on my arse when me dog bit me.

What are your injuries?

And you cant count anything you were born with.

broke 2 noses 1 leg burst a finger and once opened a fellas eye from the side to the temple with a lucky punch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Tigger wrote: »
    broke 2 noses

I would love to see your face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Few stitches in my forehead once.

Sin é.

OP, how have you managed to not yet die? Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

broke 3 bones in right hand, didnt realise till after the match and it was still sore. broke foot when i was young too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Broken nose X1
    Left leg broken X1
    Broken front tooth.
    Broken right elbow X2
    Broken left wrist X1
    Broken left elbow X1
    8 stiches to head wound
    8 stables to another head wound
    broken fingers X lost count
    torn ligaments in right hand
    displaced tibia in right leg
    Ruptured right achillies tendon: surgery and nice scar
    Abdominal impact dislodged tissue causing a bladder blockage: surgery and even more impressive scar but hidden from "civil" view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Broke me thumb
    3rd degree burns on my feet
    Broke me cock Roidin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Lissoy

Age 29

Broken nose aged 4
    Sliced off top of my finger aged 7
    Dislocated one of my ribs off my breast bone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Sure, a tree falling on you. That's minor. :D

Could have been one of them Bonsai things.....

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Couple of stitches in my forehead
    Broken knuckle on right hand
    Ruptured patellar tendon - right leg x 3
    Ruptured patellar tendon - left leg x 2

I was doing pretty ok until I started fecking up my knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

fell off a 20 foot ladder and went right through a greenhouse in 1990. Was cut to ribbons but broke no bones.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ripped cheek open
    7 concussions
    Fractured collar bone
    Broken finger
    Crushed finger
    Fractured hip
    Trapped nerve in hip
    Twisted knee
    Twisted ankles (both)
    Cracked shoulder blade
    Bruised coccyx
    Sprained wrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Some people must have rubbish luck!

Nothing major for me. I pulled hot coffee on myself as a toddler and got skin grafts and have permanent scarring on my right arm and shoulder, and from under my chin to my upper chest.

But compared to some people that's nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭supertramp

Had a bad start to my life as a baby/toddler

parafin oil spilt on me,
    pram rolled down a steep street
    chased by a horse
    almost crushed by a collapsed building

but thankfully have only suffered a damaged muscle in my index finger and a bruised rib.

Of course tomorrow I am going to break my leg or something....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Broken Ankle.
    Broken Collarbone.
    Broken Thumb.
    Stitches above my eye.
    Nail stuck in sole of my foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

What are you all doing to sustain such painful sounding injuries?

I split my lip when I was 2. It involved 2 stitches. That is the only proper hospital requiring injury! After that all I've got is a few twisted ankles!!