Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men Are ye that shallow?

• 12-11-2008 8:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

Was in college today minding my own business heading towards the library when i overheard a conversation between a group of fella's
    '' You up to anything tonight?''
    ''Yeh heading to ......bar(student place), get pissed, get a girl and get home!''

Are ye men that shallow?
    Now i know i'm not naive in second year of college but i think i was astonished by the way this fella said it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Mountain_Surfer

It is wrong and misleading to paint all men with the same brush

but

yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

deise gal wrote: »
    Was in college today minding my own business heading towards the library when i overheard a conversation between a group of fella's
    ''Yeh heading to ......bar(student place), get pissed, get a girl and get home!''

Are ye men that shallow?
    Now i know i'm not naive in second year of college but i think i was astonished by the way this fella said it!

yes we are.
    Stop pretending you didn't know or that you're any better.

i see through your lies, woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

No doubt SOME men are like that, but does one overheard (ear wigging) conversation speak for all men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,467 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

minding my own business

are you sure... and no were not all that shallow, were all different... sounds like just talk, guys talk like that to each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Are ye men that shallow?

Im sure there are girls who would be equally shallow about getting the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Men like women, women like men.

You are fairly narrow minded to be hurt by one person's choice of words.

Also college people sometimes tend to lack the maturity associated with more decent men.

Just thought I'd tell ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

In a mans world that's the way men talk . They can be as flippent and as shallow in their chats as much as they like in the same way womon dont like men around for shallow girle talk .If you were really minding your business you wouldnt have took notice .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

If they are not like that, they're gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Im sure there are girls who would be equally shallow about getting the ride.

I have to agree with this.

I go to that same college in Waterford, I am a mature student of 23.

It takes a lot to shock me, but there are some terribly loose women attending that college!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Well if me man is going from past experiences then its fairly safe to say that there was obviously a like minded lack there, therefore men and women are that shallow yes. Not me though I'm great I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭xbox36016

yes we are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I suspect the OP is offended/jealous that she wasn't the target of that guys forecasted penetration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

Yes, ALL guys are the EXACT same. Just like girls, yeah?

Seriously, some guys are like that and then others (especially younger ones) just like to talk the talk in front of their mates.

I personally have never gone out with the express purpose of getting a girl. Too much pressure you see! But if one were to come along...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Are ye men that shallow?

You heard some of a conversation to start off with.

Its probably true that they want to get drunk and get a girl. Im confused, do girls not want to get drunk and get a man?

Here is something to think about:

Men go out hoping to get lucky, women go out knowing if they are going to get lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

m3llowship wrote: »
    but there are some terribly loose women attending that college!!

Where do i sign up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

l'd say OP finds the whole thing hard to swallow...

Damo9090 wrote: »
    Where do i sign up!

http://www2.wit.ie/StudyatWIT/UndergraduateCourses/

HERE YA GO BUDDY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭deise gal

l'd say OP finds the whole thing hard to swallow...

i really cant say that i agree with that comment ! oh and believe you me i didnt want to be the girl he aws bringing home! i have standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

i really cant say that i agree with that comment ! oh and believe you me i didnt want to be the girl he aws bringing home! i have standards.

Shoe is on the other foot. Now who is being shallow? Standards? You dont even know him.

You already know the answer to all of these questions OP.

First year guys will always be immature lightweight horn dogs.

And girls will always find them a bit gross.

We live and deal with these facts, losing sleep over it aint gonna change it.

You sound like a lovely girl, and if ever I find myself puking in the smoking area of rubies at 1:45 on a Tuesday night, point yourself out to me so I know not to put my totally smooth moves on you.

I am being general btw.......I hate that place...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

wimmins are the same, yis just talk in bitch code

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Men are no more shallow than women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Are ye men that shallow?

I'm not really seeing where "shallow" arrives in there. Lads like a few beers and sex. Thats the nature of the beast. Einstein had a few on the go, as far as I recall.

Do you not have brothers?

You do know you are posting in AH , where it is obligatory to take the piss out of all threads.;)

Maybe The Ladies Lounge would be a better place for your thread as they are really nice over there.:)

*You do need a sense of humor to survive AH *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Was in college today talking with a group of my mates.
    One asked "You up to anything tonight?"
    So I said jokingly "Yeh heading to ..... bar, get pissed, get a girl and get home!"

It's a big in joke with the lads cos they all know I'm gay. The running joke is that I pretend to be a dirty chauvinistic horndog when really I'm the exact opposite.

So anyway I get home and log onto boards only to find that some girl was eavesdropping on our conversation while claiming to be minding her own business. She heard a snippet of conversation out of context and jumped to the conclusion that I was being serious and am some kind of shallow sex mad pig.

So are ye women that nosey? Do ye women all eavesdrop and jump to conclusions like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

so you didn't head to the bar, get pissed, get a guy and get home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Watch out Javaby ,the stalking comes after the evesdropping .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Are ye men that shallow?

First of all, they are not men. They are still boys. Just like everyone else in college is still just a kid. I don't mean that in a condescending way but there's a lot more life to live before you can say you've truly grown up. On average, I'd say this happens mid to late 20's. For some it may be as late as 30.

Some mature more quickly than others, but did you take it up the right way? Maybe it was harmless banter?

Either way, don't try and say that girls never go to clubs to try and score a fella. To what degree you score is not really relevant. The issue here is intent.

so you didn't head to the bar, get pissed, get a guy and get home?

We didn't make it all the way home if you know what I mean. I couldn't keep my hands off him. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Just because women pretend they don't like sex, it doesn't mean men should!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

first of all Lol at asking people in the AH forum if Men are shallow. Like people here of either sex tend to be very deep :rolleyes:
    kraggy wrote: »
    For some it may be as late as 30.

Really... I know of septagenarians who are shallow as fook :)

anyways seriously a lot of it has to do with hormones plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I'm as shallow as a puddle of piss in the Sahara desert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭roberta c

Are we really taking this question seriously?!
    Nothing shallow that i can see in that... He was just being a normal(irish) human.. hes hardly gonna tell a mate "i'm gonna go out tonight and find my soulmate, i know shes out there somewhere!*swoon*"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What exactly were you expecting to hear OP?

"Yeh heading home...getting a bottle of wine, watching Desparate Housewives and trying on some of the other lads' clothes!"

Or perhaps:

"Yeh heading to the library...get stuck into some Nietzsche, gonna have a long think and then go home for a cuppa!" ?

They're lads in college...doing what lads in college do. It's only natural that alcohol and easy sex comes highest on their list of priorities...and it's only natural that they would want their mates to know this, and of course any eavesdroppers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭JoeTheDumber

roberta c wrote: »
    Are we really taking this question seriously?!

Roberta, that's the stuff.

How about I take you out for drinkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

What gets me is that I had a 'friend with benefits' that I was banging for a couple of months that started getting all heavy with me. One night we were doing the wild thing and she stopped me mid flow and asked me if I loved her. :eek: Of course I love you I told her I am roiding ya aren't I. Inexplicably she never came around again. I just don't understand why she would want to ruin a beautiful thing. :confused:

Roberta, that's the stuff.

How about I take you out for drinkies.

And how long has this been going on Joe? Hmm? So much for best friends forever. Friendship over. We could have had something beautiful Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭JoeTheDumber

javaboy wrote: »
    And how long has this been going on Joe? Hmm? So much for best friends forever. Friendship over. We could have had something beautiful Joe.

I don't watch them RTE drama's. Joe is firmly hetro. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP, you're basing your question about men in relation to a comment you heard by one guy??
    And what's shallow about it? Sometimes people just want an uncomplicated ****. Sex gets put on way too much of a pedestal at times.
    m3llowship wrote: »
    It takes a lot to shock me, but there are some terribly loose women attending that college!!
    ... as well as men I'm sure. Meh, nothing wrong with it. Some people enjoy college cuz it means lots of hassle-free sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I expect the women at the sh*tty student bar are there for the music and scintellating conversation. The difference I suppose is that whilst the guys are there for the roide, a lot of the girls are there for the attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Wertz wrote: »
    What exactly were you expecting to hear OP?

"Yeh heading home...getting a bottle of wine, watching Desparate Housewives and trying on some of the other lads' clothes!"

Or
    'Anyone want to go out tonight for a drink. I hope I meet somebody. and maybe talk about my emotions with them, and go for a walk, and maybe a cuddle'

Of course the big question has yet to be asked -What exactly did the OP do, to be thrun out of the enclosed order?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Are ye men that shallow?
    Yes, some are, and so are a lot of women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Are ye men that shallow?

Maybe when he's pissed he likes to read Poetry to Girls after cooking them a fine meal and then walk them home safely.

You never know. Don't judge people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I don't watch them RTE drama's. Joe is firmly hetro. :D

Are you also a tax cheat like the man who presumably inspired your username?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Are ye men that shallow?

No we are not. Just because one guy is doesn't mean we all are. I'm certainly not shallow anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Dudess wrote: »
    OP, you're basing your question about men in relation to a comment you heard by one guy??
    And what's shallow about it? Sometimes people just want an uncomplicated ****. Sex gets put on way too much of a pedestal at times.

... as well as men I'm sure. Meh, nothing wrong with it. Some people enjoy college cuz it means lots of hassle-free sex.
    You talk a good one Dudess I am starting to like you more and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Wertz wrote: »
    They're lads in college...doing what lads in college do. It's only natural that alcohol and easy sex comes highest on their list of priorities...

I am a guy and I finished college last year and this was not highest on my list of priorities. Please do not make us all out to be the same. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Yes all men are that shallow. If you have a boyfriend he didn't see you coming....He is the dumb gazelle that thought he was a tree.

Hardly the OPs fault / l blame the BF........