Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you dislike Howyas?

• 11-11-2008 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭

Well since us 'culchies' had a hate poll I wouldn't want Howyas like Des, Gummy Panda, Xavi, Denman and co to feel left out.

I can't stand scanger dubs.

Here's just a couple of the things I dislike about them to get the ball going...

1. Their accent makes cockneys sound posh - Sounds like nails scrawling down a blackboard and has the same effect on the senses.
    2. They look down on us culchies (in fact innane laughtter at even the mention of the word culchie is mandatory for them), even though they are from somewhere like the ar$ehole of Tallaght, have IQs <90 and work in jobs such as collecting trolleys or other such highbrow industries :p

Do you dislike Howyas? 116 votes

yes I dislike bleedin howyas
    0% 0 votes
    No, where can I get my I love Scangers sticker for my car.
    100% 116 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I dont get it? Are you just ranting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

luckylucky wrote: »
    Here's just a couple of the things I dislike about them to get the ball going...

You meant "rolling".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

"Howyas", such a culchie expression :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

What the **** is a Howya? Not heard of one before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

Well since us 'culchie's' had a hate poll I wouldn't want Howyas like Des, Gummy Panda, Xavi, Denman and co to feel left out.

1. Their accent makes cockneys sound posh - Sounds like nails scrawling down a blackboard and has the same effect on the senses.
    2. They look down on us culchies (in fact innane laughtter at even the mention of the word culchie is mandatory for them), even though they are from somewhere like the ar$ehole of Tallaght, have IQs <90 and work in jobs such as collecting trolleys or other such highbrow industries :p

3. They are never wrong

Thus the reason there is no point in arguing with them in this thread. Just see how the poll turns out!

4. They are a knowledge on everything and usually have not go the foggiest.

5. No matter how intelligent they are if you hear the accent, they always just sound thick.

Diddler82 wrote: »
    3. They are never wrong

Thus the reason there is no point in arguing with them in this thread. Just see how the poll turns out!

4. They are a knowledge on everything and usually have not go the foggiest.

5. No matter how intelligent they are if you hear the accent, they always just sound thick.

You're describing country folk, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm too busy hatin culchies to be dislikin howyas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

All culchies are liars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Well since us 'culchie's' had a hate poll I wouldn't want Howyas like Des, Gummy Panda, Xavi, Denman and co to feel left out.

Xavi is an aussie.

Me, well i don't speak with a "Howya bud" accent.

Don't know Denman.

And Des, well i'm sure Des will answer soon enough.

EDIT: you culchies are just jealous that you don't have a poor copy of the monolith from 2001: A Space Odessey outside your main post office.

Pighead wrote: »
    All culchies are liars.
    :confused: But being from Louth, doesn't that make you a culchie as well Pighead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I hate people from Portugal.

And cultchies who move to portugal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

OP is just jealous that people from Dublin have laces in their shoes and wear long pants.

I wonder if he wrote this in between ploughing fields?

:confused: But being from Louth, doesn't that make you a culchie as well Pighead?

You're a plastic Howya.

Yes, yes it does. Pighead's original statement was a paradox. If all culchies are liars, and the culchie told us so, then it cannot be true, but if it is not true that culchies are liars, then the statement stands, but then it is true that all culchies are liars, so it must be a lie.

What's your favourite paradox?

PLEASE IGNORE THIS POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Talking to yourself Pighead?

Insanity looms brother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Dragan wrote: »
    Talking to yourself Pighead?

Inanity looms brother.

Fixed that for ya

Kiera wrote: »
    You're a plastic Howya.
    There's absolutely nothing plastic about Pighead. Not one thing. Pighead is made up of many materials but not one of them plastic.

From his skull covered cranium, to his fleshy penis shaped todger all the way down to his mouldy, mushroomed feet this kid is a plastic free zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

So if you talk about yourself in the third person and then you start talking to yourself while referring to yourself in the third person, what the hell are you doing?

Do you add them to get 6th person or multiply to get 9th person?

Also how long is this new fad going to last Piggy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Mossy Monk wrote: »

Its what the culchie says to the Cowya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Guru Maith Agut

Funny enough the answer to this is on this same page! :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055416154

javaboy wrote: »
    Also how long is this new fad going to last Piggy?
    The definition of a fad is "A fashion that is taken up with great enthusiasm for a brief period of time"

So to answer your question javaboy, Pighead shall roll with this fad for a brief period of time. Sorry for the lack of specifics. It's all the dictionary's fault.

Anyway back on topic, Degsy's an awful eejit isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

Me, well i don't speak with a "Howya bud" accent.

In all likelihhod you're just delusional. I'm sure Deco from Neilstown thinks he sounds suave and sophisticated too :p
    OP is just jealous that people from Dublin have laces in their shoes and wear long pants.

6. Their infantile humour. It makes Blue Peter humour look advanced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

In all likelihhod you're just delusional. I'm sure Deco from Neilstown thinks he sounds suave and sophisticated too :p

Probably, at least my accent will never been confused for a traveller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I find how-a-ye to be much more agreeable and phonetically exact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Actually I never heard jackeens referred to as Howyas before.
    You learn something every day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Mossy Monk wrote: »

10 ways of reliably identifying a "Howya"

1.. Once you hear the magic "I done it" "I seen it" "He should have went back" etc you've got one.

2.. Male shave head usually plumber /white van driver/ taximan, tatts on the forearms irish flag, celtic/liverpool and names of various "ladies"

3.. Hangs outside" Beewkkies" shop early Friday afternoon suckin a tab and phoning the Missus to do the "Lottho"

4.. Female fat cow barrelling around shopping centres, never getting out of your way ignoring queues,calling shop assistants luuuve

5.. Calls complete strangers "Pal" "Bud" or "mate"

6.. Can afford 4 package trips to "de Bleeedin Kannaries" per year,and when there immediately decamps to the nearest Ooirish bar and never leaves.

7..Never arrives on time for anything, plane,coach, boat,revels in holding everyone else up and doesn't give a bollox

8..Drinks, smokes like fcuk ,never saves a cent and then expects the taxpayer to look after them in old age.

9.. Has an account in 3 local takeaways

10.. Has a car repair business going from the house and blocks the whole road. When checked on it will tell the complainant to "Fcuk off and shut yer mouth or I'll shut it for you."

Any of those should identify the local lesser spotted "howya"

10 ways of reliably identifying a "Howya"

1.. Once you hear the magic "I done it" "I seen it" "He should have went back" etc you've got one.

2.. Male shave head usually plumber /white van driver/ taximan, tatts on the forearms irish flag, celtic/liverpool and names of various "ladies"

3.. Hangs outside" Beewkkies" shop early Friday afternoon suckin a tab and phoning the Missus to do the "Lottho"

4.. Female fat cow barrelling around shopping centres, never getting out of your way ignoring queues,calling shop assistants luuuve

5.. Calls complete strangers "Pal" "Bud" or "mate"

6.. Can afford 4 package trips to "de Bleeedin Kannaries" per year,and when there immediately decamps to the nearest Ooirish bar and never leaves.

7..Never arrives on time for anything, plane,coach, boat,revels in holding everyone else up and doesn't give a bollox

8..Drinks, smokes like fcuk ,never saves a cent and then expects the taxpayer to look after them in old age.

9.. Has an account in 3 local takeaways

10.. Has a car repair business going from the house and blocks the whole road. When checked on it will tell the complainant to "Fcuk off and shut yer mouth or I'll shut it for you."

Any of those should identify the local lesser spotted "howya"
    You’ve just described every council estate in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

i love this country everybody hates everybody. culchies hate dubs and north side dubs hate south side dubs and vise versa. irish hate northern irish. cathloics Protestants and they all unite to hate foreginers. classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Irish are the blacks of Europe. And Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland. And the Northside Dubliners are the blacks of Dublin

biko wrote: »
    The Irish are the blacks of Europe. And Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland. And the Northside Dubliners are the blacks of Dublin

Are the Africans around Parnell street minus blacks then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Probably, at least my accent will never been confused for a traveller.

Ha ha - ooooh that's good....

A mediocre gag sounds a million times funnier in a thick dub accent. It's class!! Think Colm Meaney in The Snapper. It wouldn't be as funny in a culchie accent..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

God help me I hate that fucking film.

And howyas! That answers that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I wonder if he wrote this in between ploughing fields?

Or jumping ditches to get to school.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

''Which do ya prefer, oasis or bluurrr?''

''Err, blur''

''YA WHA!!!!!?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Be overkill now but going to start a thread asking the following, whats worse

A Culcie in the city?
    Or Howyas in the country?

Have great expirence with both as i'm from the country and am studying in Dublin. A huge change in latter years has been the massive expansion of the comuter belt around the city and the influx of Dubs to towns surrounding the Urban Center. Haven't really had too much to complain about, although many people I know have issues with this surge in new locals. I hate the "courtown effect" but thats a whole different story.

As for culcies in the city. I find many people appify the fact there for the country for some unknown reason(the munster synidrome I call it) whilst in the city (and are deep down want to be S.I.T.C types, for the girls at least) I live with people who seriously believe the only nightclub in Dublin is Copperfaced jacks. We all know your/we're from Mayo or Offaly but don't shove it down our throats.

Whilst i'm here can someone explain why aalllllllllllll howyas absolutely despise all the british but come hell or water are CELTIC/MAN U/LIVERPOOL/ARSENAL TILL I DIE (A tattoo i've often seen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Whilst i'm here can someone explain why aalllllllllllll howyas absolutely despise all the british but come hell or water are CELTIC/MAN U/LIVERPOOL/ARSENAL TILL I DIE (A tattoo i've often seen)

Eh sorry bud but Celtic are bleedin' Irish.

G'wan the Hoops! Huns out

Whilst i'm here can someone explain why aalllllllllllll howyas absolutely despise all the british but come hell or water are BARCA/MAN U/LIVERPOOL/ARSENAL TILL I DIE (A tattoo i've often seen)

Sorry I concur!

Indie18 wrote: »
    i love this country everybody hates everybody. culchies hate dubs and north side dubs hate south side dubs and vise versa. irish hate northern irish. cathloics Protestants and they all unite to hate foreginers. classic.

whoaa getting a bit carried away there aren't we ;). And before you say I'm a fine one to talk... I don't hate Dubs - just a particular sort of Dub and even then hate is too strong a word.

Stop trying to glamorise them, they're just bleedin Howyas :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

This is something that puzzles me about Irish people in general especially ones who claim to be staunch anti-English Republicans.

You can actually be a Republican or Nationalist without being anti-English or be a unionist without being anti-Irish as well for that matter. I don't actually know many Irish people who are actually in reality anti-English per se.

Anyway let's not get OT -this thread is dedicated to the cream of Dublin - the Howyas :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Maybe they are democrats then not republicans

Change?????????????

Whilst i'm here can someone explain why aalllllllllllll howyas absolutely despise all the british but come hell or water are BARCA/MAN U/LIVERPOOL/ARSENAL TILL I DIE (A tattoo i've often seen)

Sorry I concur!

Are barca british now?
    I always knew there was something sneaky about those so called spaniards\Catalans

this thread is dedicated to the cream of Dublin - the Howyas :p

Isn't that premier dairies?

Rob_l wrote: »
    Are barca british now?
    I always knew there was something sneaky about those so called spaniards\Catalans

Was a joke, you pleb! Xaxi obviously a Barca fan

Something to do with them being thick cunts, I would imagine.

Was a joke, you pleb! Xaxi obivously a Barca fan

who is xavi?
    whats a pleb?
    obivously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Had an encounter with 2 drunken howyas in Dublin at the weekend. I returned to my hotel at about 3am and while walking to my room I see a woman (drunkish) trying to get into her room. She asks can I help her with the card so i oblige. Anyway card isnt working (I think she was at the wrong room ) I ask her a few times is she sure of the room number and if so to head to reception to get it sorted. Ya I not dat tick was the response. Next thing this guy gets out of the lift and starts shouting 'F*ck off, be off wit ya continuously. She said dont be so rude but he kept saying "I know where hes coming from" like I wanted to shag his missus. I walk away with him shouting F*ck off and her shouting "Sary". He was a real scumbag and I could just imagine him giving her a few slaps when they got into the room.

Rob_l wrote: »
    who is xavi?
    whats a pleb?
    obviously?

Xavi the poster who addressed the issue first. Post #39

Pleb short for plebeian: one of the common people

obviously unmistakably (`plain' is often used informally for `plainly'); "the answer is obviously wrong"; "she was in bed and evidently in great pain"; "he ...

Xavi the poster who addressed the issue first. Post #39

Pleb short for plebeian: one of the common people

obviously unmistakably (`plain' is often used informally for `plainly'); "the answer is obviously wrong"; "she was in bed and evidently in great pain"; "he ...

plebs http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plebs
    ah its all obivious to me now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Well since us 'culchies' had a hate poll I wouldn't want Howyas like Des, Gummy Panda, Xavi, Denman and co to feel left out.

Aaaa look it heeere, sure wha would you know, ye bleedin culchie!