Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silks on a Friday

• 07-11-2008 1:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

im hearing alot of possitive feedback about the Fridays game in Silks. Has anyone here actually played it, and can anyone give an indication to the sort of numbers it might get(i.e. this friday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

great tourney with 2500 gtd. usually gets close to the guarantee with 20+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

Macspower wrote: »
    great tourney with 2500 gtd. usually gets close to the guarantee with 20+

+1 Loads of play in this tourney. Will try get in this evening. Tea in big cups, cant go wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,953 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

where is silks and whats the deal with parking and dress code?

Earlsfort Terrace, i got parking outside front door last week and was still loads of parking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I played it a few weeks ago and there was loads of play, and lots of value which was missing from CHL's plenty of new players, old players and the craic is generally very good there too. it doenst finish ridiculously late either which was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

I think im going to make the trip up there tonight.

Whats the deal with membership?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭e05bf05a

the website says a passport or drivers licence.

e05bf05a wrote: »
    the website says a passport or drivers licence.

Excellent thanks. See you there tonight then so :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

Excellent thanks. See you there tonight then so :)

think i might take the night off to play this
    looks like there might be plenty of value

strict dress code too

babymaker6 wrote: »
    think i might take the night off to play this
    looks like there might be plenty of value

Zing!!!!! Got me good, should be good night hopefully.

What time does this start at 8:30 or 9?

9 last week, were waiting round til had a few to play.

hiya danny
    due to start at 8.30
    great club well worth a visit good tournament plenty of play
    cute waitresses and great atmosphere with luke running the show
    c ya there later

hiya danny
    due to start at 8.30
    great club well worth a visit good tournament plenty of play
    cute waitresses and great atmosphere with luke running the show
    c ya there later

Sounds good, see you in awhile so. I had only seen Luke for the first time ever at Vera's bday bash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Ace2007 wrote: »
    where is silks and whats the deal with parking and dress code?
    Parking is varied depending on whats on in the concert hall...

Dress code is no tracksuits really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Macspower wrote: »
    Dress code is no tracksuits really...

where does Tommy get his poker fixes these days then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

37 runners for this tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Very nice game last night. I crashed in about 18th at 1am with plenty of play left.

very good game last night, loads and loads of play. 3 of us left at 4.30 so called it a night then. Long tourn from 9 o'clock. glad to see the numbers picking up.

Aces no good for me!

Really enjoyed the game, can defo see myself going back, any results?

Aces no good for me!

ul with the aces danny
    i managed to come back from 2 blinds with 11 left ,to chip leader with 3 left
    was then happy to do a deal and get home for some snooze
    great tournie enjoyed it

Aces no good for me!

myself G F Ste and chris were the last 3 left ,Vera made f table deal done everyone got $$

Congrats well done, better than a hard night's slog working.

very good game last night, loads and loads of play. 3 of us left at 4.30 so called it a night then. Long tourn from 9 o'clock. glad to see the numbers picking up.

What table where you at, would be nice to put a face to the name, i was in a grey hoddie blue NY baseball cap if you were at my table?

the bloke in your bb with monster stack

Had a feeling it was him, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

37 players and an even ten way deal , talk about playing with scared money . 700 for the winner which even then was chopped three ways. Good God

mickste wrote: »
    37 players and an even ten way deal , talk about playing with scared money . 700 for the winner which even then was chopped three ways. Good God

What??

What table where you at, would be nice to put a face to the name, i was in a grey hoddie blue NY baseball cap if you were at my table?

Yeah think i was to your left on the small table when there was still 3 tables, polka dot jacket. In regard to deal it was done cos we'd prob still be playing now the way it was looking like before the start of the final table!!! 1st idea was to give everyone there buy-in back and play on for the rest (2700 i think) but then someone came up with the other suggestion and a lot of the table jumped at it and altho wasn't ideal was bit wrecked by that stage so just accepted. Looking at it retrospectively i wouldn't agree to that type of deal again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

This has to be one of the most ridiculous deals ive ever heard of.
    37 runners 10 way chop ahahahahahahhaha why do these people bother playing? Obv to get your money back.
    The value at final tables like these is huge people are so busto skint in dire need of moving up aplace in the money you can walk all over them.
    Any final table i get to i straight away say no deals play stops all the wanna be negotiators making a mess of the prize pool.
    Were supposed to be in a recession but this takes the biscuit id personally eb ashamed if i partook in this joke.:pac:

sickpuppy wrote: »
    This has to be one of the most ridiculous deals ive ever heard of.
    37 runners 10 way chop ahahahahahahhaha why do these people bother playing? Obv to get your money back.
    The value at final tables like these is huge people are so busto skint in dire need of moving up aplace in the money you can walk all over them.
    Any final table i get to i straight away say no deals play stops all the wanna be negotiators making a mess of the prize pool.
    Were supposed to be in a recession but this takes the biscuit id personally eb ashamed if i partook in this joke.:pac:

i agree about the 10 way chop being a joke
    but not long ago you made a final table and a deal was done where everyone took 6K :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Your right ace im a total hypochrite.
    I mean a100 quid freezeout which youd pay into and a 75k sng which was free roll are very much a like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

That deal is disgusting! Lol at anyone who was involved in it!

I remember two summers ago in Ceasars there was a 32 way chop.... 500 runners $320 Freezeout. Puke:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭aceofspades.ie

bohsman wrote: »
    37 runners for this tonight.

I have to say, I really enjoy the Friday game in silks and I played in every one. I was delighted to see such a good turn out on.
    Shame it was spoilt by the 10-way chop.... I know there is lots of pressure on people when a deal is mentioned; nobody wants to look like a tight git....
    But a 10-way chop leaving €700 to play for from a €3,700 prize pool is ridiculous, I am glad I busted out with 2 tables left.

Hope this doesn’t have a bad effect on the numbers, just when it was starting to get going.....

Nice tourney... well done to the lads organising it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

LMAO @ the 10 way chop. ffs.... One of these fridays I am hoping to go play in Silks. There ll be no 10 way chop on my watch. Even if i'm knocked out i ll still object. Silly silly deal.

Too many students on that FT I reckon.

I'm not adverse to doing deals at all, i don't like being the guy that says no but in this instance i defiantly would not of agreed to it.

Anyone playing this 2ntie?
    just wondering does it start @ 8:30 on the dot - last week i meant to go but was running late so didn't bother....

but tonight i should make it in.

Should be able to get in till 10 anyway Donal, usually starts by 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Get In There

Will there ever be 20e sats introduced prior to the 100e game just like there was in CHL? The way the economy is, I cant afford to be spendin 100e a week on the Friday night game which was a lot of fun in CHL.. I loved CHL and havent developed the same affinity for silks cos I'm being priced out tbh. I've only been in silks once on a sat nite but I much rather play poker on friday nights and go out on the beer on sat night. Plus havin 20e sats on friday nights wud get a few extra runners for the 100e game and get a few exta ppl inside the casino?? :)

Good call Ciaran, its been discussed and will hopefully be in in the next couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

Jayminator wrote: »
    LMAO @ the 10 way chop. ffs.... One of these fridays I am hoping to go play in Silks. There ll be no 10 way chop on my watch. Even if i'm knocked out i ll still object. Silly silly deal.

Too many students on that FT I reckon.

One chance to retract this Jay!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

One chance to retract this Jay!!!

Except for students who recently cashed in a very well run tourny......