Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Borrowing from friend, Good Idea?

• 06-11-2008 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭

OK here's the story, I played poker online for the last month of the summer holidays(im in LC) after working for 2 months before that before getting layed off(recession etc)
    I deposited $600 into FT as I had a bit of money from the previous 2 months and had pokertracker already installed so i was ready. I made 3k$ playing mostly 50nl.

The weekend school began again I imeddiately cashed it all out and since then have managed to squander that 3k and work money(trip to tottenham matches,new laptop etc)

I am now completely broke and have no source of income as my parents will not allow me to work during the LC. My friend is also fairly low on money but has offered to stake me 600 euro to try my luck again as long as if i lose I pay him back 300

The deal anything I win excluding the 600 we half and he gets his 600 back also. He doesnt know anything about poker or variance and thinks il just automatically win. While I know this is not the case I feel tempted to do it and he wont pressure me into paying him back the 300 if i lose.

Get staked yes or no?

BTW If I do gothrough with it Can you use someone elses Credit card(my friends) to reg on FT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Forget about poker til after your exams,seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭nuts86

danny is right, if your parents wont let u work then surely they will fund u for the essentials, u could easily use the "u wont let me work" line for money.. but i would stay away from trying to build a roll during your exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

nuts86 wrote: »
    danny is right, if your parents wont let u work then surely they will fund u for the essentials, u could easily use the "u wont let me work" line for money.. but i would stay away from trying to build a roll during your exams

Ya, the fooking bare essentials. I get about 3euro a day and have no dosh for going out with my friends at the weekend. School is v.important to me but I figure that I get off at 4 and go to study till 6, Then play 3.5hrs of poker till 9.30 and then study till 11

Im not looking to build a huge roll and this is short term thing.
    All I need to win is say 700
    But ye're prob right
    ty 4 the advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Gotta say borrowing/lending between friends is usually a bad idea, unless its short term with a fairely guaranteed payback. Experienced this from both sides, and even if someone says pay it back when it suits, rarely works out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Take money -> say you lost it -> Give back 300 -> Your 300 up -> EASY

This recession is tough its dog eat dog ;)

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

The leaving Cert is one of the most important exams you will ever do in your life. (I only wish I took mine a seriously as i could have - I would have reaped the benefits after I left school). IMO you should put all your effort into your exams. Borrowing money to play cards is not the road you want to go down. If you get your LC then you have the right to choose which path you wish to go down. If you want to play poker for a wage then, then that's ok.
    Don't get staked. If you want to play cards then maybe play the odd live tourney. If you can't get rolled then accept it. It's only a few months of your life. Come the end of June you can play all you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,692 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

This is bad on 2 levels.

- Its your leaving cert year. Forget about poker for the next 6 months. 6 months may seem like a big deal now, but its nothing in the long run. You dont want to end up having to repeat.

- The loan sounds like it could lead to trouble between you and your mate

Thanks for all the advice
    I wouldnt even be thinking of this if I wasnt broke its just so depressing staying in on the w-ends and stuff having nothing to do because of the lack of funds!!!

Fooooking recession!!!!

Oh, and paying to see Tottenham Hotscum is just -EV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Yeah you won't do well in the Leaving if you concentrate on poker and vice versa. I dont see anything wrong with working one day a week during the year. It gives your life some balance and allows you to have some $ to relax aswell. Maybe try and explain that to your folks. Studying and nothing else isn't the way to do things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

newbie2 wrote: »
    The leaving Cert is one of the most important exams you will ever do in your life. .

ORLY.

If you dont think you will fall out if no goodski then Meh why not-who knows you may win manies a money.

Maybe try getting staked by interweb strangers. Cuts out the losing friends over money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

sell drugs

profit

Maybe try getting staked by interweb strangers. Cuts out the losing friends over money.

Never heard of anyone getting staked by people they meet online

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    sell drugs

profit
    Still requires an initial outlay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

sell drugs

profit

Get that product strong, buy it for 1, sling it for 2, rename it. It's all in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

on tick imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

sell drugs

profit

i smiled reading this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭thenutpeddler

Get that product strong, buy it for 1, sling it for 2, rename it. It's all in the game.

Get some muscle too, I recommend snoop and chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Ya, the fooking bare essentials. I get about 3euro a day and have no dosh for going out with my friends at the weekend. School is v.important to me but I figure that I get off at 4 and go to study till 6, Then play 3.5hrs of poker till 9.30 and then study till 11

Really really bad idea.

That means you will miss 6 months worth of Home and Away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Ask yourself "What would Jesus Chris Ferguson do?"

If you realy are that good, just grind away at freerolls, by the time you have $6 the lc will be over and you'll have tricked yourself into believing you played some quality poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

I'm from Belfast.

Knees are used as a guarantee.

Is it not the same everywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Listen you are obviously bright and your parents have decided they dont want you concentrating on work at this time so they probably will not like the idea of you spending time on poker. And they are bound to find out.

Plus you need down time during the day to relax the drain cells and get some air! Dont put extra pressure on yourself aswell as study.

Lets be honest though if you win and build it up again judging from your age and what happened your last bankroll dont you think the same thing might happen again that you would just blow it all and be left in the same position.

It sounds as if the problem is not just that you dont have money but like a lot of people (me too!!!:o) you dont use it wisely.

Not having the money sucks but it sounds like this is part of the plan with your parents no work no money no going out etc more focus. And i think you will find they have your best interests at heart.

Dont borrow firstly you said your friend does not have a lot its not fair. Second it is a terrible habit to get into at your age and it will get worse as you get older other wise there will always be the temptation to borrow and not manage your money well and this is what got you into this, try to be independant for you money especially for poker money (and dont tell me this is what you are trying to do with this scheme ok:rolleyes::o)

Even if you pay him back it will still make things strained until you do, tension between mates is not a good thing.

Anyway other posters are right listen the leaving is not the be all and end all but if you are going to do it give yourself the best possible chance at it and the timetable you have described above is completely unrealistic you would burn out after a week. Look after yourself and learn how to have some free fun just hangout.

Plenty of time for poker in University:-) (believe me !!)

Anyway way if you really want to play ( and as i said you really should not be focused on that) could you not just play freerolls and build something up??

Anyway what i would do would be speak to your parents and maybe come up with number together that they are willing to give you each week just until they let you work again and get them to help you manage it well.

I think though the reason they have banned work is the reason you should not be playing poker right now:_)

Good luck with the leaving:-) And it is worth it University is a blast and it will stand to you whatever you do.

And you will do better the less you focus on other things. And i am sure most of your mates are in similar positions so maybe you could figure out free things to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Lou.m wrote: »
    Plenty of time for poker in University:-) (believe me !!)

The man speaks from experience, cool the jets OP your 19 at the oldest
    take the time to get your foot on the poker ladder, if you like poker so much it might be dangerous for you not to be a student, you can always rely on mum and dad, but owe a few grand and living on your toblerone is not an option, unless you like that sort of thing.

nVid wrote: »
    The man speaks from experience, cool the jets OP your 19 at the oldest
    take the time to get your foot on the poker ladder, if you like poker so much it might be dangerous for you not to be a student, you can always rely on mum and dad, but owe a few grand and living on your toblerone is not an option, unless you like that sort of thing.

The woman :-)!!:p:p

Sorry it just really gets to me!! I dont know why :P

But what you say it absolutely true!!

MEN OFFERING YOU MONEY ONLINE ARE NOT YOUR FRIENDS!!:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Who studies for the Leaving Cert in November??? I would have serious worries about your poker crushing abilities if you need to do that :D

Nothing wrong with accepting the €600 and playing a bit of poker imo. However I wouldn't be inclined to grind for 3.5 hours per night as being in Leaving Cert year is stressful enough for some people without suffering regular horrible bouts of variance on top of it.

Staying in on weekends is ultimately -EV for producing your best results in exams if it stresses you out. I don't think there's anything inherently wrong with accepting a little bit of staking from a friend, but I would put a limit on the amount you can win for him because 50% is a killer to cede from profits. Maybe limit your profit for him to, say, €400. But the amounts we are talking are so small that it will be hard for you to generate much income without overextending yourself stakewise or timewise.

Btw none of this applies if you are mildly obsessed with poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

does yer buddy know yer handle is flipz4rolls, explain what this means to him and if he still will stake you despite being broke himself, well then there is nothing can be done for him .

Let him keep his monies and enjoy being depressed, it what teenies are best at. Kick the can is great crack by the way......or get some girls and play shag the parcel....the best things in life are free...

seriously never borrow to gamble, no matter what the tip. and only ever play with what you can afford and let's face it neither of yiz can afford to donate 600 quids if yer smashed. good luck in yer studies young laddie......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Eh... you're broke now. You don't even have €100, never mind €300.

Oh, and when it's not "your" money, you'll find yourself taking stupid risks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

You paid to see Spurs?

BR management needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

newbie2 wrote:
    The leaving Cert is one of the most important exams you will ever do in your life.

no it isn't. well maybe it is but only because you won't take many exams in your lifetime most likely.

The leaving cert is not that important though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

me neither

no it isn't. well maybe it is but only because you won't take many exams in your lifetime most likely.

Been to college?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

good for you, bad for him

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

How did you withdraw your money if you are only starting LC now so presumably under 18 when you regged at least? Also, do part time workers get redundancy?

If you do take his money, make some from online poker to go out now and then at the weekends, will your parents not ask how you can afford this and try to stop you playing poker for 3.5 hrs a day?

Far from my LC days I tells ya. I don't recommend no study until a week before the LC though, although the cramming did get me through college as well somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SkintEastwood

i found myself in a similar situation where i was pretty succesful initally online while i was also working and making cash that way. went off and travelled for a few months with my savings with every intention of playing online poker to support myself upon my return. things didnt work out as i expected and i found it difficult to play due to the pressure of needing to win to support myself. probably different for other people but i know i struggled, since then im bak working and back winning although nothing close to what i did originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

LC is least important exam I ever did. Dont borrow money from friends who will get upset if you dont pay them back quickly.

bohsman wrote: »
    LC is least important exam I ever did. Dont borrow money from friends who will get upset if you dont pay them back quickly.

I'm pretty sure it's the most important to be honest, once you get into whatever course you want you probably have to make an effort to fail. What exams are more important than it? Not that I'm against convincing a kid that's it unimportant and he should grind every night on borrowed money in a bad staking agreement just to mess up his life for a laugh :)

For some reason one of my enduring memories of the leaving cert was laughing my head off learning the inner workings of a washing machine the night before my home economics exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Not going to college/getting a 9to5 probably lowered the importance of the LC for me. Nobody has ever asked me if I have it and if I wanted to go to college now the amount of points got would be relatively unimportant, just having passed is more than enough.

Yup true enough. I actually had to show it somewhere this time last year, I was getting my green card and had to show I had the equivalent of a US high school diploma. I was going to bring a drawing I did in high babies of a cow but I thought they might not appreciate the joke.
    "Sir step away from the country", "Awww".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

YULETIRED wrote: »
    seriously never borrow to gamble, no matter what the tip. and only ever play with what you can afford .....

Wise, wise words!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

Sounds good in theory, but in reality your brain would be fried after a short time.

I'm in a similar boat time wise, coming to the end of my phd so dont have time to play poker during the week. So, I only play a few hours at the wkend. There are far more important things in life than playing poker (:eek:) especially at your age!

As has already been said, do the LC, go to college or whatever, then you will find loads of time to play poker and watch day time tv to boot....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

I figure that I get off at 4 and go to study till 6, Then play 3.5hrs of poker till 9.30 and then study till 11

This would leave you little time for women - so it can't be good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

like a lot of the other posters said ignore the poker or else just play the odd time for entertainment. with regards to the leaving cert its november for goodness sake you should be going out with ur mates pulling women getting up to devilment etc , you are only young once. if this means getting a parttime job 1/2 nights a week do it and have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

OP take a look at his video on youtube, and see if you still want to choose his advice.
    LC is least important exam I ever did..

Name one more important? There's no way you wouldn;t have more opportunities if you had a 600pt leaving cert. You would have the pick of any career you practically wanted.

If you want to make a career for yourself, by far the easiest way to do it is to have a good leaving behind you and go to a recognised University.
    People who tell you otherwise, generally aren't the people who did it and regret it, more so people who didn't and feel they didn't need it. Only a tiny minority of people will be successful without it, but they will have worked infinitely harder outside school and applied themselves in a different way, but these people are few and far between.
    Have you EVER heard anyone say "I got 500 points in the leaving and got my first choice course, but I wish I went out more and didn't study as much". I certainly haven't.

It really all depends on what you want to be doing for the rest of your life, if you want to be a Doctor, forget poker and stick to the books, if you want to be a pro poker player, I suggest reading a bit more for that as you obv don't know whats in store.

If you want to make a career for yourself, by far the easiest way to do it is to have a good leaving behind you and go to a recognised University.
    i totally agree with this just don't think its necessary to start studying like mad in November. just because its LC year doesn't mean you have to become a hermit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

Don't bother with college or any of that malarky. If you're as good as you say you are, start playing online, and you'll have $100k months before you know it.

Tight Ted wrote: »
    Don't bother with college or any of that malarky. If you're as good as you say you are, start playing online, and you'll have $100k months before you know it.
    did you follow your own great and inspirational advice Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

thedini wrote: »
    did you follow your own great and inspirational advice Ted

23130234mg8.jpg