Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scared:(

• 03-11-2008 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Hi everyone. I dont know,what to do.My boyfriend was cought by gardai the 2nd day,after he brought a car-with no insurance and with false driving license. Stupid,i know. He now will go to court. They took his fake driving license and car. He made an insurance and took out a car from gardai-in insurance company they said to bring a driving license whithin a month. But he dont have any. He was stupid,regrets everything.Will not drive until he will get a real driving license(he will do a test soon).What he can do-cancel insurance?Sell car?What he can expect from court hearing?We are scared and he learnt his lesson.But what to do now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

He could cop on for a start...

I would assume that he will be banned from driving and receive a hefty fine, and rightly so. He should be getting a prison sentence if this country was in any way useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭owenmakken

He could cop on for a start...

I would assume that he will be banned from driving and receive a hefty fine, and rightly so. He should be getting a prison sentence if this country was in any way useful.

Ye put people in prison for traffic offences, great idea - well done we can put them in with all the people who dont pay tier tv license.

he'll get a years driving ban and prob a big fine for the fake license,
    its not a big deal the judge sees a lot worse and if its his first offense he should seek probation act for the fake license then he shouldn't have a criminal record for that.
    no way around the driving ban though I'm afraid.

owenmakken wrote: »
    Ye put people in prison for traffic offences, great idea - well done we can put them in with all the people who dont pay tier tv license.

Dangerous driving is a traffic offense, driving while intoxicated is a traffic offense, should these people be let off? I think driving without insurance is a tad more serious than double parking. Insurance is there for a very good reason.

I'm not talking about throwing them in jail for years, a minimum of a month will do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭owenmakken

Dangerous driving is a traffic offense, driving while intoxicated is a traffic offense, should these people be let off? I think driving without insurance is a tad more serious than double parking. Insurance is there for a very good reason.

I'm not talking about throwing them in jail for years, a minimum of a month will do.
    ye exactly a tad, a square of paper on your windscreen isn't going to save someones life if you run them down.

ye exactly a tad, a square of paper on your windscreen isn't going to save someones lives if you run them down.
    I'm not even going to get into this argument with you as it's quite clear you haven't a clue.

Welcome to boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

ye exactly a tad, a square of paper on your windscreen isn't going to save someones life if you run them down.

how does the victim pay for their medical bills? do you think they disappear? no the insurance picks up the tab. as well as paying out for injuries in terms of financial means due to liability to provide financail substitute if unable to work. If a person survives a serious accident there is still a lot needed after like rehabilitation, physio et al.

OP, a driving ban will be coming along and if he is a first time offender he may avoid a prison sentance but if it was up to me i would be in favour of a bit of time in prison as people need to live up to their responsibility of driving a vehicle on the raod. its a lethal weapon if not used responsibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Pete4779

silly25 wrote: »
    Hi everyone. I dont know,what to do.My boyfriend was cought by gardai the 2nd day,after he brought a car-with no insurance and with false driving license. Stupid,i know. He now will go to court. They took his fake driving license and car. He made an insurance and took out a car from gardai-in insurance company they said to bring a driving license whithin a month. But he dont have any. He was stupid,regrets everything.Will not drive until he will get a real driving license(he will do a test soon).What he can do-cancel insurance?Sell car?What he can expect from court hearing?We are scared and he learnt his lesson.But what to do now?

Well, for one whatever punishment it is for driving with no license and insurance. for the second, for taking the car back with no insurance. You see, even if you tell them you have a license, the insurance is totally invalid if you've "made an insurance" based on false premises.

And thirdly, from the way you wrote, it's clear English isn't your first language. If it's the case for your boyfriend as well, I would recommend being able to speak as clearly as possible in front of the judge, in the correct manner, because he will ask about some specific stuff which I mentioned below, I think.

What to do? wait and hope the punishment is not too bad.

for not producing a license after an event that woudl earn penalty points, it is immediate disqualification, for 6 months according to citizensinformation.ie.

"Motorists in Ireland are obliged to display evidence that they have paid their motor tax and have current motor insurance on the windscreen of their vehicles. If a vehicle is found by the Gardai not to have a current motor insurance policy they have the power to impound the vehicle until such time as an insurance certificate is produced by the owner which insures the use of the vehicle. The owner of the vehicle will be liable to all charges or costs incurred by the Gardai in the removal and storage of the vehicle. The Road Traffic Act 2006 extended this power to include the power to impound vehicles registered outside of Ireland."

He would have done better to simply leave it there. The Gardai were well within the law to impound the car until a valid insurance certificate was produced. However, by faking the insurance (it's fake as it was based on him having a full license), that will likely be up in court, as the judge will clearly see he has no license, and so how he got valid insurance will be quite the mystery indeed. This aspect will likely escalate the sentence from the standard disqualification for a set time, IMHO, but I am no lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

I would imagine the forging or using a false drivers license would be seen as the more serious offence.

I hope they throw the book at him. It's people like this who cause accidents and have insurance skyhigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

silly25 wrote: »

What are you afraid of? Really......... I'm sick of people pissing and moaning about stuff like this. F**k him. He knew what he was doing when he decided to do it. Prison is too good for him. CUBE THE CAR, LIFETIME DRIVING BAN & FINE HIM UP TO HIS EYES. ..................... Owenmakken - Don't be so bleeding stupid, "put them with blah blah blah tv licence". You won't run the risk of killing yourself or SOMEONE INNOCENT by not having a telly licence. THE INSURANCE IS THERE TO HELP PEOPLE THAT SUFFER FROM CAR ACCIDENTS AND THE INJURIES PRIOR TO IT IF THEY ARE LUCKY ENOUGH TO SURVIVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I'm trying to find where the OP asked to be lambasted for her BF's apparent wrongdoings.

Still looking....

Nope, can't seem to find it.

The lad obviously fu$%ed up big time, but go easy on the girl for pete's sake, she's already aware what he did was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hopefully he will be thrown in prison for a while for putting everyone else (the law abiding people) at risk. He should also recieve a lengthy driving ban for making a concerted effort to screw the system and everyone else on the roads.
    Fake drivers license is fraud, and he should get a criminal record for it. If I were hiring people, I'd want to know they are capable of this sort of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Mena wrote: »
    I'm trying to find where the OP asked to be lambasted for her BF's apparent wrongdoings.

Still looking....

Nope, can't seem to find it.

The lad obviously fu$%ed up big time, but go easy on the girl for pete's sake, she's already aware what he did was wrong.

okay. here's some advice for her then. Now there's no racism intended by this but............. Hope to high heaven you get a nice judge. Its was only his first offence and that the charges brought against him aren't too serious. because there is always the chance of deportation. Apparently the government are going to start/have started deporting not national criminal offenders to ease the burden on the irish justice system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posters, please do not moralise here about the rights and wrongs of what the OP's boyfriend has done. It was stupid, as she admits, but she is looking for advice on what will happen now

If you have any comments to make about driving without a license etc, then go to the Motors forum.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

If its his first offence, he'll be banned from driving for two years or so and he'll get a hefty fine.

At very worst (and i doubt it), he'll get a suspended sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭GeorgeCostanza

Big Steve wrote: »
    Apparently the government are going to start/have started deporting not national criminal offenders to ease the burden on the irish justice system

About time! Any links or further info on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

He needs to be a man and just admit to what he did and show remorse, dont know the judical system well enough to know what might happen, all ya can do is make sure he looks respectible going to court.

GeorgeConstanza - Please stay on topic. Take the time to read the charter with regard to posting in this forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Yes yes hang him, remove his testicles and burn him on a stake etc etc etc...;)

Seriously though, the thing is that he knew exactly what he was doing and went ahead and did it anyway. So he should get himself a solicitor, his best suit and make his apology to the judge. I don't think he'll get a prison sentence, but the driving ban is for definate and he'll also probably won't be able to get insurance seeing as how he did pretend to have a driving licence etc... I'm not entirely certain so talk to a solicitor and they'll advice the best course of action. Good luck with it anyway, hope it doesn't turn out too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

I see the driving ban as a given. But what about the fake drivers license. Is that not quite serious, like forging a passport. They're both government documents right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Evangelion wrote: »
    I see the driving ban as a given. But what about the fake drivers license. Is that not quite serious, like forging a passport. They're both government documents right

It is pretty serious, but I think a passport is a lot worse. With a fake passport, you can travel anywhere, work anywhere in the EU, give yourself a completely false identity if you wanted etc... you can do a lot more with it and given the current hysteria over terrorism the penalties are extremely severe. With a fake drivers licence, all you can do is pretend to be a driver. I don't know though but that's my impression on it. Besides, it's not like our legal system really follows logic anyway so it's the solicitor who'd be able to give best advice there.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

In the UK, faking a driving license can, theoretically at least, carry a maximum sentence of 10 years' imprisonment.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/tyne/5228966.stm

Doesn't say anything about Ireland, but it does suggest it to be a fairly serious offence.

I imagine the insurance contract will be voided by the insurer and the boyfriend blacklisted. He will most likely end up selling the car one way or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I imagine the insurance contract will be voided by the insurer and the boyfriend blacklisted. He will most likely end up selling the car one way or another.

He should count himself lucky that that's the worst that could happen.

No licence = can't drive
    No insurance = no comeback if he hit / hurt / killed someone

Just be grateful that he's not up for attempted manslaughter because he hit some other driver or some old lady crossing the street.

And if I were you I'd probably reconsider being with him; taking a chance is one thing, actually faking the licence is quite another. He sounds like a prat.

Liam Byrne

I already posted one warning about sermonising on what the boyfriend did. This is not the place for such talk.

Next poster to take up this attitude will face an immediate ban.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

If its his first offence, he'll be banned from driving for two years or so and he'll get a hefty fine.

OP I don't think you should take this as gospel, it is at the discretion of the judge. Although the bogey license won't help him any. You'll have to wait until the court date but I'm thinking two years for a first offense is unlikely. Again, the bogey license makes things more difficult to call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 silly25

Thank you all for your replays. Yes,my english is not perfect,but i am trying to write.
    He regrets everything. It was his first and last driving with this fake license.He was stupid, because he listened to his friends,that he can drive for years with fake license,that he can drive without license for a few days,if he just get a car.He was dreaming so much about his own car,that he was so stupid,that listened to everybody:(
    We are so scared,that cant eat,cant sleep.We have no idea,when the court case will be.Tomorrow he will go to the solicitor.
    I have a few more questions. Can he cancel his car insurance?He want to get rid of the car,because now it is useless any way.Is it any better,that fake driving was on his name,not another person? We know,that everything is a big mess.But it is first time,when he has any problems with Garda,so that is why we want to know more about everything.

Yes he can cancel his insurance, just call the insurance company.

And it doesn't matter whose name the licence was in, it's fake regardless.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

My advice would be sell the car and put the proceeds towards getting a good solicitor. You might also want to ask the solicitor is there any chance of repercussions of obtaining insurance under false pretenses. (ie is there anything the insurance company can do?)

It doesn't matter whether or not the fake licence was in his name or not, a fake licence is a fake licence and AFAIK they'll probably take that pretty seriously. A mate of mine is a Garda and he said you'd probably fare better getting caught with no licence than being caught with a fake, although don't quote me on that. Best bet really is for him to show up in court, well groomed, apologise profusely, show how remorseful he is, and hope he gets a sympathetic judge. I'd say he's looking at a driving ban anyway, and probably a fine. Your solicitor will have a better idea of what to expect.