Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British police ask for camera license.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sounds totally like the cop is bullcrapping just enough to justify why he wants to be nosey.
    He won't admit that he might be wrong!

He might have a legitimate concern but he's unsure of his own legal abilities to demand to see pictures.
    He would have been better off sticking with the task of asking the person to produce a proper form if I.D.
    Once that was done, using his radio for a number of things, he would have had the ability (on firmer legal grounds) to take the inquiring further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

UK's police are gone crazy with camera's tbh. That and not knowing the laws themselves - Not that our own Gardai know much more about the laws on photography.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

RTDH is gonna have a fúcking field day with this one...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Here is a couple of links that explains things:

http://www.legalandrew.com/2007/10/11/photo-law-your-right-to-take-pictures-in-public/
    (this one applies to Britian)

http://www.sirimo.co.uk/ukpr.php
    (Britian)

http://www.photosecrets.com/tips.law.html
    (America)

http://www.eurogamer.net/forum_thread_posts.php?thread_id=50494

No idea what the laws are for Ireland.

In England, it might be a good idea to keep a copy of the photo laws on you so that you don't get yourself into trouble!

I can TOTALLY understand if someone stopped me and asked "what the hell was I doing?" if there was kids around etc.

Taking pics of buildings and possibly the public (from afar - not in their face) is another subject altogether.

I do amateur stuff myself so I'd be interested to hear what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The cop sounds fairly decent about the whole thing.

really strange video... see why police are kinda concerned but they have no idea really of what they are entitled to do the guy.

Biggins wrote: »
    No idea what the laws are for Ireland.

In England, it might be a good idea to keep a copy of the photo laws on you so that you don't get yourself into trouble!

I can TOTALLY understand if someone stopped me and asked "what the hell was I doing?" if there was kids around etc.

Taking pics of buildings and possibly the public (from afar - not in their face) is another subject altogether.

I do amateur stuff myself so I'd be interested to hear what others think.

Irelands laws are quite similar to the UK. In public, you can take a photo of anyone or anything that's also in public, or can be seen from public. Entering private property, it gets a bit more difficult, but at the same time, if you take any photos, you own the copyright, no matter where you are, and who they are of, the photographer always retains copyright (Unless you sign over your rights beforehand... which is a bad idea).
    OPENROAD wrote: »
    The cop sounds fairly decent about the whole thing.
    Except for the fact there's no such thing as a photo license, and he dosn't know the law.

http://current.com/items/88856223_you_can_t_picture_this

Check out the attitudes in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Fajitas! wrote: »

Great link Fajitas. Those 2 guys confronting the camerman are not much more that glorified traffic wardens, I would have been tempted to punch that one in the face if he'd grabbed and shoved my camera like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

keefg wrote: »
    Great link Fajitas. Those 2 guys confronting the camerman are not much more that glorified traffic wardens, I would have been tempted to punch that one in the face if he'd grabbed and shoved my camera like that.
    Their reaction was a bit much really. I wonder if the cameramans appearance had anything to do with it. If a white guy was doing the same, would he have even been approached?

:D:D Yeah, probably didn't help matters on this occassion, but that community cop with the glasses didn't exactly look/sound like a native of West London :D

But filming in public is such a hot subject, I film in public quite a bit for work and I have been confronted loads of time by the Guards and private security t0ssers who watch far to much tv and think that they can demand to take my camera from me.

With the cops I am always very polite and I explain who I am and exactly what project I am filming for and they leave me alone.......I tell everyone else to mind their own feckin' business.

Oh, I'll also add in to the laws above - it is illegal for anyone else to delete your photographs, whether they be security in a shopping centre, or a Garda... It's often a case of entering a shopping centre, taking a photo, and before you know it, you're being told to delete the photos because it's private property...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 EuFatCat

for all the dumbo's out there, you are living in a POLICE STATE, what do you expect?

The government track every call, e mail, gps on the phone, credit cards and on and on. But try and film them and see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Toiletroll

:D:D Yeah, probably didn't help matters on this occassion, but that community cop with the glasses didn't exactly look/sound like a native of West London :D

But filming in public is such a hot subject, I film in public quite a bit for work and I have been confronted loads of time by the Guards and private security t0ssers who watch far to much tv and think that they can demand to take my camera from me.

With the cops I am always very polite and I explain who I am and exactly what project I am filming for and they leave me alone.......I tell everyone else to mind their own feckin' business.

You should tell the cops to F off as well!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Irelands laws are quite similar to the UK. In public, you can take a photo of anyone or anything that's also in public, or can be seen from public. Entering private property, it gets a bit more difficult, but at the same time, if you take any photos, you own the copyright, no matter where you are, and who they are of, the photographer always retains copyright (Unless you sign over your rights beforehand... which is a bad idea)..
    didn't some one get pulled for taking photos of the IFSC because of terrorism ?

private property - they just need a notice somewhere saying you agree to the rules which are viewable upon request, so not really covered.

deleting photos ? photorec FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

EuFatCat wrote: »
    for all the dumbo's out there, you are living in a POLICE STATE, what do you expect?

The government track every call, e mail, gps on the phone, credit cards and on and on. But try and film them and see what happens.

sigh. How exactly do they track your gps if it's only a receiver? I'm not disputing the phonecalls, email or credit card ones since they are all possible but I don't buy the GPS conspiracy theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Casey, is that you again?

javaboy wrote: »
    sigh. How exactly do they track your gps if it's only a receiver? I'm not disputing the phonecalls, email or credit card ones since they are all possible but I don't buy the GPS conspiracy theory.

apart from the technological challenges.. who'd be arsed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

As an age joe on the street i dont want anyone filming me or taking my picture no matter who you are.

Toiletroll wrote: »

Hmm....I don't think thats such a good idea :D.
    TBH I don't mind the cops asking me what I'm doing because it's their civic duty etc etc and every time I have been approached by the cops they have been very polite and happy to let me get on with my work.

However....some moron security guard in a shopping centre or the like are a different matter. I don't know what (if any) training course these guys go on but because they have an earpiece (wired up to all the other shop security morons) they think they're part of an Elite Garda Taskforce :D.

The difference (in my experience) is that the Gardai will approach you to ask what you are doing........private security goons will confront you and try to either block your camera or demand the film etc etc.

As far as the Gardai are concerned there are 3 big no no's when it comes to filming (or taking photo's) in public

1) Filming the Gardai in action/on duty (they really don't like this)
    2) Filming any military facilities (understandable)
    3) Filming children (also understandable)

Other than these examples most cops will be happy to leave you alone as long as you are not causing an obstruction (with your gear) or a disturbance.

c0rk3r wrote: »
    As an age joe on the street i dont want anyone filming me or taking my picture no matter who you are.

You do not have a say in the matter.

However, you do have a say how the photo or film is used or published and the production company must ask for your written permission to publish such footage.

This is why on so many documentary programmes you will see a lot of the background publics face "blurred" out because they either would not sign a release for or (more likely) the production company do this as it's easier & quicker than getting a release from someone who isn't part of their project but just happens to be walking past in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

You really dont have a choice. Taxis, buses, shops, pubs, gyms, restaurants, schools, toilets and even streets are covered by CCTV these days where everything you do is captured on film. You cant really do anything or go anywhere these days without being filmed by countless people.

didn't some one get pulled for taking photos of the IFSC because of terrorism ?

private property - they just need a notice somewhere saying you agree to the rules which are viewable upon request, so not really covered.

deleting photos ? photorec FTW

It's probably not because of terrorism, the IFSC is private property, I don't even think you're allowed to draw the buildings on the premises.

They shouldn't delete the photos in the first place, doing so is destruction of your property.
    Toiletroll wrote: »

No, don't, no need to be an asshole to the cops, they have a job to do, and chances are if you've a level, informed head on your shoulders, it'll go a lot smoother than if you tell them to 'F off'.
    1) Filming the Gardai in action/on duty (they really don't like this)
    2) Filming any military facilities (understandable)
    3) Filming children (also understandable)

Other than these examples most cops will be happy to leave you alone as long as you are not causing an obstruction (with your gear) or a disturbance.

Actually, no, as long as you're in public property, there's nothing they can do. The only Gardai that you can't photograph are members of the CAB, in which case you can cover up their eyes, and as long as it's in public/your property, no problemo.

Military facilities, from outside, no problems, though, if you do trying seeing inside I'm sure it can land you in trouble.

One big thing people get caught up over is children - No, it's not illegal, and no, it dosn't make you a paedo. But then again, expect to have to explain yourself to a parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

except for CCTV. I dont mind these cameras as they are there for the greater good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Don't go out in public then

Or you could just obey the law and never have anything to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

RTDH is gonna have a fúcking field day with this one...

I have seen it first hand in Dublin. Two foreign nationals were called over to an unmarked Garda and asked for their camera. The cops then went through the pictures on the camera and asked them to deleat several images.

I did not hear of the circumstances over the issue but the conversation heated up, they were then asked for identification / permits. If the guys took photos of the Gardai without asking them or if they were in the background it would be understandable for them to want to remove them.

Er, no it wouldn't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Er, no it wouldn't...
    I don't know about Ireland but in many countries it is technically an offense to photograph military or police personnel without consent. Maybe someone can clarify this one.

I already did.

It's not an offence. Nor is it an offence in many countries, though many people will tell you so.

Terry wrote: »
    Or you could just obey the law and never have anything to worry about.

I really don't know what your point is. The poster said he didn't want anybody taking his photography (Except cctv) without his permission, nothing to do with obeying the law.

I... ummm...
    Piss off. :(

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

No, don't, no need to be an asshole to the cops, they have a job to do,
    The problem is many cops do not even know what that job is, i.e. they are ignorant of the laws they are supposed to uphold. Some lad in the cycling forum was stopped by a garda and told he legally had to wear a high viz jacket & helmet!

Then they get well pissed off if people calmly challenge/question them about these laws that they just invented on the spot, then they can do you with a public disorder offence, since everything can fall under that little doozy.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I have heard that security in Dundrum Town Centre have a draconian policy on people even taking photos with phone cameras. Anyone confirm this one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Except for the fact there's no such thing as a photo license, and he dosn't know the law.

http://current.com/items/88856223_you_can_t_picture_this

Check out the attitudes in this.
    Love the hysterical police officer, pretty typical of the professionalism of the London Met.

rubadub wrote: »
    The problem is many cops do not even know what that job is, i.e. they are ignorant of the laws they are supposed to uphold. Some lad in the cycling forum was stopped by a garda and told he legally had to wear a high viz jacket & helmet!

Then they get well pissed off if people calmly challenge/question them about these laws that they just invented on the spot, then they can do you with a public disorder offence, since everything can fall under that little doozy.

I think the problem is, or at least can be, there's a hell of a lot of laws, and considering you've got solicitors that deal with specific areas, it must mean there's a lot of research needed to both police and judge. I do think it's a bit much to expect a police officer, of any service to know every single law in the book.

Red Alert wrote: »
    I have heard that security in Dundrum Town Centre have a draconian policy on people even taking photos with phone cameras. Anyone confirm this one?

Yep, Stephens Green too. In fact, most shopping centres. However, most of them DON'T have anything stating 'no photography on this premises' on the entrance. Therefore, take photos until you're informed of this rule, then stop.

Don't hand over you're camera.

Don't delete any photographs.

Do take it up with management if the security hassle you over this.

Do ring the Gardai if the security try to take the camera off you, or delete the images.

Húrin wrote: »
    Love the hysterical police officer, pretty typical of the professionalism of the London Met.

I don't actually think are Met., I reckon they're 'Community Officers' or whatever the name of the scheme they introduced over there was.

They were not met officers.

Are you saying that the Met lack professionalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I think the problem is, or at least can be, there's a hell of a lot of laws, and considering you've got solicitors that deal with specific areas, it must mean there's a lot of research needed to both police and judge. I do think it's a bit much to expect a police officer, of any service to know every single law in the book.
    Yes, lots of laws, and I would not expect them to know the ins and outs of say business or divorce law when on the beat. But it is when they lie about laws, intentionally or unintentionally. Seems they make up laws on the spot that they feel should exist, probably in the hope that the person they are talking to is ignorant, or that even if they do know it is BS they will just be good little boys and go along with it. If they do question the alleged law they can nab them with a public order offence. That is the problem I would have with it, they can not go about accusing people of breaking their own personal version of law, a law unto themselves . If they do not know the law how can they enforce it? They should be able to ring the station for confirmation of laws they are uncertain of.

They should certainly know the main laws they will encounter on the street. The garda saying it is the law to wear high viz vests and helmets does nothing but make them all look like ignorant, self-righteous arseholes. If I was a garda I would be well pissed off with that carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Smart move that would be, and by the way I didn't know you had a PhD in well, let's leave it there.

The cameraman twat would have made my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

OPENROAD wrote: »
    They were not met officers.

Are you saying that the Met lack professionalism.
    I am indeed. I have never lived in England but I have had experience with the police forces of various parts of Britain and there is a marked difference in the aggressive conduct of the Met compared with the others.
    I don't actually think are Met., I reckon they're 'Community Officers' or whatever the name of the scheme they introduced over there was.
    Poor Londoners... the sub-Met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Licence! :mad:

Sorry. :o

javaboy wrote: »

I think he got his technologies (or his grammar) a bit arseways.

I am indeed. I have never lived in England but I have had experience with the police forces of various parts of Britain and there is a marked difference in the aggressive conduct of the Met compared with the others.

Poor Londoners... the sub-Met.

Have to say that surprises me, hasn't been my experience of the Met, not that I have ever been on the wrong side of the counter with them :P have always found them to be very courteous and very professional particularly at football grounds.

Smart move that would be, and by the way I didn't know you had a PhD in well, let's leave it there.

The cameraman twat would have made my day.

I'm not trying to be cheeky here, but out of curiosity, why?

He was fully right with what he was saying, he knew the laws, and had every right to confront the police with them, or am I missing something?

OMG!! Some random hobo on the internet is having a dig at my education. Oh woe is me, how will I ever live with the shame :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

OMG!! Some random hobo on the internet is having a dig at my education. Oh woe is me, how will I ever live with the shame :rolleyes:
    You could try heroin. I believe it can help you forget your troubles. It can be quite moreish though.