Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The whole 800 years thing...

• 01-11-2008 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭

I'm aware this has been done to death, but reading a post in the "Is America Still Cool" thread about a "colonial hangover" has kindled in me some sort of need to make this thread.

Essentially, as a kid (15-16) I was a real ultra-nationalist Britain hater type, in my eyes it wasn't possible to say anything nice about the place, which I viewed as hell on Earth.

Since getting out into the world (well, college anyway), I feel I've matured, I feel I've got over it. Now, watching a football match I have no issue cheering on our neighbour, or when slagging it is all in jest. That said I was, and still am, a proud Gaeilgóir, but have separated Irish-ness from Not-British-ness, and feel better for it.

So, who of you still bear a grudge about something that happened before your, or even your (grand)parents', time?

Do you still bear the grudge? 239 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    33% 80 votes
    Atari Shag-Your-Ma
    66% 159 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bare a grudge about what? tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Since getting out into the world (well, college anyway)

Come back to us when you get a job! ;)

Mike

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

No..................

God save our gracious Queen
    Long live our noble Queen,
    God save the Queen:
    Send her victorious,
    Happy and glorious,
    Long to reign over us:
    God save the Queen.

O Lord, our God, arise,
    Scatter thine enemies,
    And make them fall:
    Confound their politics,
    Frustrate their knavish tricks,
    On thee our hopes we fix:
    God save us all.

Thy choicest gifts in store,
    On her be pleased to pour;
    Long may she reign:
    May she defend our laws,
    And ever give us cause
    To sing with heart and voice
    God save the Queen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't. I did when I was about fifteen because I thought it was cool until my friend told me that it wasn't cool and to cop on to myself. I'll never fall victim to peer pressure again.

Wait a second...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,312 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

No..................

God save the Queen:
    Send her victorious,
    Happy and glorious,
    Long to reign over us:
    God save the Queen.

O Lord, our God, arise,
    Scatter thine enemies,
    And make them fall:
    Confound their politics,
    Frustrate their knavish tricks,
    On thee our hopes we fix:
    God save us all.

Thy choicest gifts in store,
    On her be pleased to pour;
    Long may she reign:
    May she defend our laws,
    And ever give us cause
    To sing with heart and voice
    God save the Queen.

Trolling??? Flaming???? or both???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

obl wrote: »
    I'm aware this has been done to death, but reading a post in the "Is America Still Cool" thread about a "colonial hangover" has kindled in me some sort of need to make this thread.

Essentially, as a kid (15-16) I was a real ultra-nationalist Britain hater type, in my eyes it wasn't possible to say anything nice about the place, which I viewed as hell on Earth.

Since getting out into the world (well, college anyway), I feel I've matured, I feel I've got over it. Now, watching a football match I have no issue cheering on our neighbour, or when slagging it is all in jest. That said I was, and still am, a proud Gaeilgóir, but have separated Irish-ness from Not-British-ness, and feel better for it.

So, who of you still bear a grudge about something that happened before your, or even your (grand)parents', time?

Anyone who holds a serious grudge must be a complete idiot in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Unfortunately, some people can't distinguish between being proud to be Irish and hating the Brits.
    That goes for both nationalists and apologists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I still hold a bit of a grudge for old times sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I have a copy of The Grudge I was gonna put up on Adverts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

for the sake of the ghosts of my ancestors, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I hold a grudge for the craic...

I do like English ladies however, did yis see that way on the Late Late last night? jaysus id.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Xavi6 wrote: »

Your usage of "tbh" is perplexing.

tbh, a lot of people seem to use tbh incorrectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I don't bear a grudge. It was 85 years ago, FFS. I wasn't around, my parents weren't around, even my grandparents weren't around back then.

Anyway, the English everyday folk aren't to blame, it was the English hierarchy and royalty but, again, it was 85 years ago.

It's stupid for us to bear a grudge. We absorb so much "British" culture that it's laughable that we should loath them. How many Irish people have Sky, support Celtic or an English team, watch Corrie or Eastenders or speak the language even?

It's stupid to hate the people that give us all that. Look what happened to the country when Dev tried to cut off all relations with the UK? The country was in the ****ter.

The one problem I have with the English Gov in this day and age is their occupation of the six counties...but you know...that's all for another time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

No..................

God save the Queen:
    Send her victorious,
    Happy and glorious,
    Long to reign over us:
    God save the Queen.

The last time I saw that posted, somebody followed up with "Go home British soldiers" and bannings ensued. :D

I don't hold a grudge against English or against British people because most of them don't still have that imperial mentality. The ones that do piss me off but they are thankfully rare.

I still retain a healthy disrespect for English football commentators who mention 1966 every 5 minutes and I would have Ray Houghton's babies but I think that's normal. Right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

javaboy wrote: »
    I don't hold a grudge against English or against British people because most of them don't still have that imperial mentality. The ones that do piss me off but they are thankfully rare.

Sadly, it is surprising how many of them still do have that Imperial mentality.

I have met many who couldn't understand the concept that Ireland is a sovereign state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Don't hold anything against them. Know some people who do - perfectly willing to watch their TV shows or some sports teams (i.e. United, Liverpool, etc) but if a British competitor is against someone they will cheer for the other (i.e. in the Olympics). Quite annoying!

🤪

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Nope, I don't bear any grudges.
    The only thing I don't have time for is any on boths sides of a past situation that are not willing to move on and learn from previous times.
    As they say, otherwise history is destined to repeat itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I suppose the upside is that, had the Brits not wanted to keep Ireland out of the Industrial Revolution, the Greens would have a hell of a lot more to moan about. I can imagine what Ireland would have been like after being riddled with stinking factories a century or more ago.

They didn't tuk are jarbs, because there weren't any to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

No grudge at all... Im living in England and haven't a bad word to say about the place, or the people in general. A friend of mine did think Ireland was under English rule, that there was a time difference, and that we drove on the opposite side of the road. Weird...

What I can't stand is people who bitch about the English, in English, watching English sport on an English channel, while wearing the jersey of an English team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Sadly there is a Celtic jersey wearing element out there in its teens-50s with a massive grudge.

These people also support Sinn Féin publicly, which does more of a disservice to Sinn Féin than it does to themselves and their idiocy, they also do a disservice to the general support of Celtic.

Most people have gotten over it...I don't need to as I never got under it.

Domo230 wrote: »
    Anyone who still holds a grudge is pathetic.

FFS even Russia and Germany have forgiven each other, two nations which sought to complete exterminate the other in the most violent conflict of human history

But we had to endure a fairly lenient occupation which most at the time wanted and lose a handful of men who are executed for holding a violent rebellion and yet you never hear the end of it.
    A lenient occupation?
    I'll have some of those drugs.

1801 population: 8 million.
    1901 population: 2.5 million.

Millions dead through apathy and contempt.
    Millions evicted from their own country for stealing a loaf of bread.*

They were brutally oppressive to the last and the oppression still exists in some parts of the North.

I don't hold a grudge, but I don't bury my head in the sand a pretend it never happened.

Granted most of the current British population don't have the slightest thing to do with what happened, but nor do they have the slightest idea what happened.

I'll stop bringing this up when the Jews shut up about the holocaust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Terry wrote: »
    Millions evicted from their own country for stealing a loaf of bread.*
    Who do you think built Australia?

Seriously if it wasn't for the British, Ireland would probably be an obscure country like Iceland floating off in the middle of the Atlantic barely able to keep afloat.

dSTAR wrote: »

Seriously if it wasn't for the British, Ireland would probably be an obscure country like Iceland floating off in the middle of the Atlantic barely able to keep afloat.
    How do you know that for sure?
    Did you visit some alternate timeline where the Brits didn't persecute the Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Yes as we get older those mad Republican leanings fade but sometimes it's easy to slip back into that frame of mind. Was at Kilmainham Gaol today and the place was overwheliming. There was some lager lout scouse lad there passing smart comments about Irish independence and the Easter Rising.

Wasn't so bad until we got to the spot where they shot James Connolly and when the tour guide explained about how they had to strap him into his chair to shoot him he actually started laughing. Disgusting behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

I pretty sure Ireland would be in the same location regardless.

How do you know that for sure?
    Did you visit some alternate timeline where the Brits didn't persecute the Irish?
    The majority of first white Europeans to hit Australia were convict stock who later went to work at building the cities and towns of Australia. Even now you will see that at least a third of Aussies trace there heritage back to Ireland. These people occupy every level of society so it is possible that their own ancestors would have had a hand at building the society they now occupy.

I am well aware of all the horrors that the British visited upon indigenous people all around the world not least the Australian aborigines. But in the words of Irish band The Corrs I would say...

You are forgiven .. not forgotten

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

I hold no grudge BUT I think that those who founded/supported the original Northern Ireland state have a lot to apologise for.

1801 population: 8 million.
    1901 population: 2.5 million.

Jasus Terry don't let nationalism get in the way of facts eh?

Clicky

Clicky

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 fingal hoop

Xavi6 wrote: »

they did blow up dublin in the 70's & spent the 70's 80's & 90's killing innocent people in the 6 counties

but the british gov **** a lot of the british people over too so its just the imperialist gov i hate

I don't bear a grudge. It was 85 years ago, FFS. I wasn't around, my parents weren't around, even my grandparents weren't around back then.

Anyway, the English everyday folk aren't to blame, it was the English hierarchy and royalty but, again, it was 85 years ago.

It's stupid for us to bear a grudge. We absorb so much "British" culture that it's laughable that we should loath them. How many Irish people have Sky, support Celtic or an English team, watch Corrie or Eastenders or speak the language even?

It's stupid to hate the people that give us all that. Look what happened to the country when Dev tried to cut off all relations with the UK? The country was in the ****ter.

The one problem I have with the English Gov in this day and age is their occupation of the six counties...but you know...that's all for another time.

they still occupy part of ireland :rolleyes:

mike65 wrote: »
    Jasus Terry don't let nationalism get in the way of facts eh?

Clicky

Clicky

Mike

Quite different to the stAts I saw, but they do look quite right.
    However, note the 2 million drop between 1841 and 1851.
    Don't let the British version of history get in the way of facts eh?

The thing about history is that it is written by people who are biased, have a political agenda or just plain ignorant. Thankfully I was never subjected to Australian history where the genocide of the natives is carefully brushed under the carpet instead they brainwash kids with a sanitized version of history or alternatively celebrate figures such as Sir Don Bradman (cricket player) who are latter day heroes.

They were brutally oppressive to the last and the oppression still exists in some parts of the North.

How so? (I'm not being antagonistic, I'm genuinely curious.)

up to quite recently they would murder lawyers who they disagreed with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

they still occupy part of ireland :rolleyes:

Or do some Irish people cling onto a part of Britain that was never part of an Irish nation?

you mean the UK :rolleyes:

britain starved the Irish - they took food out of ireland when millions were dying of hunger -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

you mean the UK :rolleyes:

Yes I do, apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I hold a grudge against the British Government.. Not the English people. And if you don't like it, go choke on an apple!

Sinne Fianna Fáil
    Atá fé gheall ag Éirinn
    Buíon dár slua
    Thar toinn do ráinig chugainn
    Fé mhóid bheith saor
    Seantír ár sinsear feasta
    Ní fhágfar fén tíorán ná fén tráill
    Anocht a théam sa bhearna bhaoil
    Le gean ar Ghaeil.. chun báis nó saoil
    Le gunnascréach fé lámhach na bpiléar
    Seo libh canaídh Amhrán na bhFiann!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Well i love Ireland and hated Britain for the whole 800 years thing but i don't have a grudge. I like Britain, and i think we should forget the past and move ahead. Don't forget that Germany stated WWI and II but that dosen't mean we're going to hold a grudge on them for that now dose it? It's just something that we have to let go of, and people who continue to taunt their flute about how Britain are our enemies are ignorant as fcuk and just IRA wanabes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I don't hate them. Life's too short to hold onto hatred like that. Forgive and move on just don't forget (so you don't make the same mistakes).

I'd love a time machine so i could go back to the time when we were the bad guys raiding their lands and kidnapping their sheppards to become our saints.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Sinne Fianna Fáil
    Atá fé gheall ag Éirinn
    Buíon dár slua
    Thar toinn do ráinig chugainn
    Fé mhóid bheith saor
    Seantír ár sinsear feasta
    Ní fhágfar fén tíorán ná fén tráill
    Anocht a théam sa bhearna bhaoil
    Le gean ar Ghaeil.. chun báis nó saoil
    Le gunnascréach fé lámhach na bpiléar
    Seo libh canaídh Amhrán na bhFiann!

There's no need for that kind of language.

I am well aware of all the horrors that the British visited upon indigenous people all around the world not least the Australian aborigines. But in the words of Irish band The Corrs I would say...

You are forgiven .. not forgotten

Between the Corrs, Boyzone and Westlife, I guess we're getting our own back anyway.

Its for reasons like this that I normally avoid historical discussions like the plague.

No need for a historical discussion on the plague. The Brits brought it in on their slave boats. FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

javaboy wrote: »
    Between the Corrs, Boyzone and Westlife, I guess we're getting our own back anyway.

Not to mention Graham Norton :eek:

Quite different to the stAts I saw, but they do look quite right.
    However, note the 2 million drop between 1841 and 1851.
    Don't let the British version of history get in the way of facts eh?

Which version of history pretended otherwise? Punch magazines?

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There's no need for that kind of language.

Its for reasons like this that I normally avoid historical discussions like the plague.
    My old man used to instruct me to avoid discussions about religion or politics in the pub. He was right but he should've mentioned history as well because I can see the confusion and antipathy it can create.
    javaboy wrote:

Altho Brian McFadden is a bit of a legend in his own lunchtime over here probably because he dropped that English has-been for one of Australia's favourite daughters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Germany didnt start ww1.
    Seriously if were going to talk history people need to know their stuff.

It's a known fact that Germany had a hand in starting WWI. The assassination of the Archduke was just the catalyst that started it, but everyone knew WWI was coming and it was inevitable, but Germany were the ones that orcehestrated it all, why do you think they were the ones who got it bad during the Treaty eh?

dlofnep wrote: »

I'm sorry for any offense caused, here's some e-praise for posting the lyrics of national anthem in an unrelated discussion on the relationship between this country and the UK (or do I mean Britain? No wait, who the fúck cares?) in a language spoken only by a minority of the population. You're clearly more Irish and patriotic than me and I should show your inane post the respect it deserves. Sorry, again.