Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Haunted Live - Living TV

• 29-10-2008 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭

Anyone watching this tonight? Am very open to paranormal activity however I think these people are doing more harm than good. Some very obvious set ups on the show. tonight on the show they did a voodoo experiment sticking a pin in a doll modelled on someone in a different area who knew "nothing" about it. However this guy was on the web cam rubbing his leg before they even put the doll down to stick a pin in it...

Was sooo obvious it was laughable and just casts doubt on the whole show really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Noooooooooooooooooo dont tell me, I have it recording. :( now i know tonights suprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

dubsgirl wrote: »
    Was sooo obvious it was laughable and just casts doubt on the whole show really...

You say that like doubt had never been cast on this complete joke before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

I used to watch most haunted, enjoyed the live shows just for entertainment but ever since they got that feckin eejit of a baldy physcic in I cant watch it anymore. Hes so fake and annoying. Agreeing with what everybody says even if he hasnt a notion what theyre on about. Arrrg!!!
    I could watch it with the medium before this was his name David or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

I have to agree I used to enjoy watching this missed last night and I'll miss tonights. I don't like the Brian (the baldy psychic) either. I don't think David was any better but there was another guy I didn't mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

The medium that is on the couch his name is Billy seems to be much better than the on they have with the team....

It's worth watching really just for the laugh - parts of it are so fake it's hilarious:pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Its television. They have to fake it to keep it interesting. I lost interest the first time Derek Acorah got possessed, and hate it with a passion these days. Even the 'unhappy-ghosts-in-the-swimming-pool' adverts they had for this halloween live event were annoying. In the first series they had these mostly benign spirits making contact to say howdy. Now they all want to curse and cause havoc. Its gone all hollywood and hysterical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Musha

Thank God that I am not the only one who finds this programme the most annoying unrealistic and total carp on T.V.

Bring back Rent-a-Ghost it was more believable :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭DANNY22XX

awww the memories:D
    but here is the crap from last night

nice to see another fool taking fakeorahs place:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

It is good for a laugh tbh. Brian Shepard is a joke of a "medium"......never has any decent info to dish out. What usually happens is this:

Yvette: Are you sensing anything Brian?
    Brian: I sense.....something. Could be a man, or a woman.
    Yvette: Ok, I wonder if we should...

*banging noise from room down corridor*

Yvette: What was THAT?! Did you hear THAT!?! Kieran did you hear THAT?!
    Kieran: Yes
    Yvette: Where did it come from.....

*they walk to the room*

Brian: I sense something in hear, could be male, or could be female.
    Yvette: Any names?
    Brian: No, but it is definitely a warm blooded creature
    Yvette: Interesting, maybe the mental one who does the history for us can find something with that information.
    Brian: (to the empty room) Stop it....go away.....
    Yvette: You alright Brian...
    Brian: There is two of them, they are trying to break my aura!
    Yvette: Tell them to go away, they are only BITCHES! Yeah, you heard me! Cowards! We are not afraid of you!
    Brian: They are angry.......they are saying...."We will touch one of your heads"
    Yvette: Really? Go on then, do it!
    Brian: Arrrghhhhhh
    Yvette: What is wrong?
    Brian: Something just touched my head!
    Yvette: Wow, well as you can see we are getting a lot of activity down here right now, but back to Paul in the studio.

Paul: Thanks Yvette. Well, well, well. A LOT of MYSTERIOUS things are happening to our intrepid team right now. Witches! Stranges Bangs! Head Touching! Spirits? Who knows. Probably. Stay Tuned. More spooky goings on ahead of us. Now, over to Mental History Woman...

Mental History Woman: *silence - going purple*

Paul: Well it looks like she has once again tried to squeeze into an outfit 7 sizes too small for her......come back.....AFTER THIS! *looks ominously up to the sky*

LMAO!!!!

Very well done..you watched most haunted just for research purposes didnt you? :p

Of course....there is a sitcom in there somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Adagiodiva

I'm wetting myself laughing here...Noopti, you're a genius!!

That baldy headed psychic is pathetic....all he does is yelp and scream. You should watch Kieran that Dr of Paranorormal...etc. You can actually see his disbelief and annoyance at the psychic when he goes off on one...

I used to love the show but now it's just constant ad breaks and speculation. Although I Stewart- he's just a howl, everything happens to him.

Sara

Adagiodiva wrote: »
    I'm wetting myself laughing here...Noopti, you're a genius!!

That baldy headed psychic is pathetic....all he does is yelp and scream. You should watch Kieran that Dr of Paranorormal...etc. You can actually see his disbelief and annoyance at the psychic when he goes off on one...

I used to love the show but now it's just constant ad breaks and speculation. Although I Stewart- he's just a howl, everything happens to him.

Sara

Yeh everything happens to stuart and carl coz they make it happen to them. Throwing themself down stairs and the like.

Yeah, I noticed that about Kieran too. The expression on his face sometimes is priceless...you just know he is thinking "Oh for Gods sake...." whenever the psychic starts going off on one.....it is hilarious.

I'd say he is kind of caught a bit, he seems to be pi$$ed off with the way the show is run, but at the same time he is making a good living (I presume) out of a field where it is difficult to make a living (again, I presume).
    The voodoo part was hilarious a few nights ago......

Yvette: Ok, we are going to try an experiment. We have a voodoo doll that out demonologist has created (imagine that on your C.V). It is of Brian Sheppard, our medium

*Kieran smiles*

Yvette: So we have put Brian in to a room by himself, and he doesn't know ANYTHING about this....I promise.

Kieran: I'm just glad he is in a different room to be honest, maybe now we can perform some real......

*Yvette whistles really loudly and annoyingly*
    Yvette: COPY ME!

Kieran: Oh for fu......

Yvette: C'mon, copy ME!

*Yvette whistles again. Meanwhile my pet dog runs from the room terrified, maybe I should text the show and tell them this*

Yvette: Did you HEAR THAT!?

*Rest of team sort of look at each other bemused*

Yvette: WHERE IS THE DOLL!?!?!?! Oh, here it is. Thanks. Ok, here is the doll. Now, we are going to stick pins in it. And see if Brian, who knows NOTHING about this, reacts. We are recording him on webcam..

*cut to a webcam shot showing Brian dancing around the room like an idiot, waving his arms about and talking to someone.....either a man.....or a woman, probably*

Yvette: Ok, i'll stick a pin in his leg

*she sticks the pin in his right leg*
    *On the webcam.....Brian grabs his left leg and shouts! The acting is so over the top it is like a Norman Wisdom movie*

Producer: Jesus, tell him it is his right leg for crying out loud, his RIGHT leg......Yvette is getting mixed up between his right and her right

Yvette:...eh.....ok......Karl, here you try it. Stick the pin in his right leg. Which is left from your perspective ok?

Karl: um..ok.
    *Sticks pin in left leg*
    *Brian grabs his right thigh and half falls to the ground....it is hilarious to watch.

Producer: Oh god......

Kieran: Try sticking it in his head and wiggling it about.......

Yvette: Actually, lets leave it...I don't want to hurt Brian.
    *she puts the doll away*

Yvette: Ok, back to Paul....

*On webcam Brian is grabbing both legs and then falls over dramatically*

Producer: Someone tell him to stop. We are not going to use the other doll, we are making ourselves look like fools here....

Paul: Ok, viewers. Scary, scary stuff........there are some doubts now about if we will use the other doll.....it is just TOO DANGEROUS. More....after this....

Ok, ok I'm bored in work..... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭iamhunted

holy crap that video is hilarious. i havent watched MH is years - and going by that clip I dont think i could manage to watch a full episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

Yvette has become a parody of herself. She must now be the single most annoying person on television.

These people are complete charlatans, and this show has long since run out of ideas. It's a pity, because the premise is good...

Seriously noopti, you have to do some more. They are hilarious!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Ye missed the fist night, the two lads locked themselves into isolation rooms in straight jackets. Karl tore his off (wtf?) and the bald guy collapsed and couldnt be revived for ages! karl came and saw this when he was let out of the room, then he collapsed (during the ad break obviously)

razorblunt wrote: »
    Ye missed the fist night, the two lads locked themselves into isolation rooms in straight jackets. Karl tore his off (wtf?) and the bald guy collapsed and couldnt be revived for ages! karl came and saw this when he was let out of the room, then he collapsed (during the ad break obviously)
    You know, if people werent watching this crud in their droves, the show would be pulled. But obviously people are lapping it up.

Noopti, you have a rare talent. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

I used to think that the show had some credibility maybe about 3 year ago but now it really is a joke...it is entertaining to watch from the point of view of just seeing how far they will go to prove 'paranormal activity'..if I heard yvette go one more time 'c'mon make a noise, throw something' to the non-existent ghosts and then shrieking and continuing to say 'did you hear that? oh my god did you hear that??', I thought I was going to scream...she is terribly annoying god bless her..:P...that lightening bolt thing was very dramatic too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

You say that like doubt had never been cast on this complete joke before.

Most Haunted reminds me of when I was 12 and I used to watch WWF Wrestling on a Saturday night, and I actually thought at the time, that all those punches and slaps of chairs accross the head that Hulk Hogan and The Million Dollar Man took, were actually real!!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

arac wrote: »
    I used to think that the show had some credibility maybe about 3 year ago but now it really is a joke...it is entertaining to watch from the point of view of just seeing how far they will go to prove 'paranormal activity'..if I heard yvette go one more time 'c'mon make a noise, throw something' to the non-existent ghosts and then shrieking and continuing to say 'did you hear that? oh my god did you hear that??', I thought I was going to scream...she is terribly annoying god bless her..:P...that lightening bolt thing was very dramatic too!!

Your man who presents it, who is a brother of Jonathan Ross, looks like some kind of reject car salesman, he looks shifty and full of crap, comes across as 200% not credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Your man who presents it, who is a brother of Jonathan Ross, looks like some kind of reject car salesman, he looks shifty and full of crap, comes across as 200% not credible.

Yeah he's a right scumbag - best way to know if a movie is crap is if if the review quote on the front of the DVD is from him usually like this:

"FANTASTIC! BEST FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!" (Paul Ross, The Sun)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I hate the way Yvette mocks the spirits.
    Shouting that she's not afraid of them and then screaming like a banshee at the slightest noise.

I think the funniest MH I saw was Derek shouting Bingo and my cat (called Bingo) threw up all over me....she obviously didn't think much of Derek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

the whole thing is very derisory towards the paranormal in general, they are toying with things and entities that are totally beyond their control...(if they are indeed real, which they probably aren't to be fair, but still...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭steamjetjoe

I enjoyed the first 2 or 3 seasons of Most haunted. Derek Acorah was very enteraining to watch. I lost interest after he left, its just the same old same old ( bang of a door or Orb bull**** ) and everyone screams. And then the show ends without explaining a single thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 apathetic84

I was watching most haunted live in village of the damned on halloween night and thought it was a load of crap so set up imho!!!

one thing though they use oujia boards and i do not agree with messing with the unknown. If the spirits want to show themselves, they will.

Yvette is so annoying with her dramatic reactions to footsteps probably made by a crew member.

btw i totally believe in spirits and the paranormal. Have experienced many spirits but most haunted just mocks the idea of spirits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 apathetic84

arac wrote: »
    the whole thing is very derisory towards the paranormal in general, they are toying with things and entities that are totally beyond their control...(if they are indeed real, which they probably aren't to be fair, but still...)

just saw your post now I totally agree, i mean spirits or out of this dimension beings should not be messed with and treated with respect.

Right now the most irritating thing for me is the fear they are generating with the way they put the show across. Its all about possession and murder and ghosts hanging around to scare us. All that does is make people even more fearful than they were of anything that makes a noise in their house at night. If you want to scare yourself, watch the Grudge with a tub of popcorn. MH package up that scaremongering as real. Its not. Its exaggerated entertainment. Thats all.

It is advertised as entertainment . But whats worse is anytime you do actually get into it, it cuts to an Add.

I think it HAS to be advertised as entertainment. But in reality they are making it out to be oh so serious. I dont mind the investigation aspect of it, or the spiritual aspect. When they began it was all very interesting, and it was calm and sane. It seemed to have perspective. But now its just balls, all about sensationalism. I mean, voodoo ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Its not even entertaining anymore.............the plug should be pulled, but clearly there are a lot still watching it to keep it running....arhhhh PULL THE PLUG :mad:

I think its popular because as far as I know, it was the first programme of its kind. I remember watching it yonks ago when derek acorah was on it. Cant believe I watched it with him as the medium and thought it was good.

kshiel wrote: »
    Its not even entertaining anymore.............the plug should be pulled, but clearly there are a lot still watching it to keep it running....arhhhh PULL THE PLUG :mad:

That would be me..........I can't resist watching it and laughing my arse off!
    Watched a new episode last night, they were in some hotel. Talk about boring.
    The only fun part, as usual was Brian Shepard, what a numpty. There was one part where a door beside him opened by itself, apparently, and he sort of looked at it.....and ran!! lol Surely a psyhic medium should be a bit more cool and level headed when something happens, as they do "talk" to the bloody ghosts!

Yvette: Can you even give us an initial Brian?
    Brian: Yes, lets see......it is a letter, part of the English alphabet...probably.

I only watch it for the Ad's

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

There are plenty of clips on you tube which prove they fake it. The infamous "Mary loves Dick" clip which is on youtube shows what happens before and after the take was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Bring back Derek Acorah! He made that show and was funny as hell!

6th wrote: »
    Bring back Derek Acorah! He made that show and was funny as hell!
    NOOOOOOOOOO! If anyone deserves to have voodoo inflicted on them, its him. Makes me want to stick pins through MY eyes.

bring back the original ghosthunters from 1996 - much more interesting

iamhunted wrote: »
    bring back the original ghosthunters from 1996 - much more interesting

Are they the guys who never actually left the studio ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Oryx wrote: »
    NOOOOOOOOOO! If anyone deserves to have voodoo inflicted on them, its him. Makes me want to stick pins through MY eyes.

He always made me wonder why he closed his eyes when possessed! Maybe the spirits found Yvette Fielding repulsive to look at! :D

Oryx wrote: »

No they should bring back Derek . He could do a run in and smack the other medium with a steel chair WWE style .

You think that might sound crazy but most haunted are not far from doing story lines like that .

Are they the guys who never actually left the studio ?

its yer man william whatshishead who used to do tomorows world and topgear. didnt just stay in a studio though - they were even over here i think. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghosthunters - sci fi bought the format and name for their TAPS show.

I do know it . I actually loved that story Legends of the Roman Legionnaires. I thought it was so funny that the man is sitting there and a whole army comes walking through the wall.

I was actually in that pub the George in preston years ago too.

was that the one where yer man was working in the cellar and a quare lot of roman soldiers walked past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

hahah brill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

faceman wrote: »
    There are plenty of clips on you tube which prove they fake it. The infamous "Mary loves Dick" clip which is on youtube shows what happens before and after the take was done.

That clip in no way shows fraud. Yvette bursts out laughing at how ridiculous "Mary love dick" sounds...that's it.

"Mary Loves dick......"

That doesn't prove that the show was fake. Mary really DID love Dick.

just so I'm clear - people think most haunted isnt fake?

Most Haunted is about as "real" as a counterfeit dollar bill sitting on Pamela Andersons breasts.