Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foundation ... help!

• 28-10-2008 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭

Hiya,

I'm 28 and have never worn foundation, just pressed powder. Unfortunately it's not because I don't need it, but I am just flumuxed by all the choice. These days, I'm using more concealer than anything, so it's probably time I got myself a foundation.

Anyway, I've got paleish combination skin, I hate the feeling of caked on make up so I'd prefer something light and sheer. I also don't want anything too oily, or orange, or too thick... I don't want it to look like I'm wearing makeup if you know what I mean, just something to smooth out my complexion (hmm fussy much? :p)

Can someone recommend a starting point? I've been to the No. 7 and Clinique counters and just walked away with all the choice. I hate the idea of buying something and just leaving it at the bottom of my makeup bag for eternity!

HELP!
    Thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Buttons_sb

Hey!

I would personally recommend using MAC Face and Body foundation as I use it myself for the same reason. Its really light and blends really easily into the skin. My friends did not even realize I wear make up until recently when I informed them haha. It costs €36 in Brown Thomas. Hope this helps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

MAC is top of the range, but if you are scared of buying the wrong shade, then i would recommend buying a cheaper range, like Rimmel, ~€8, so if you decide its the wrong shade then you havent wasted much money!

i think that when you go to a large make up section in a shop you get distracted and then intimidated, You best bet is to go to a smallish chemist shop, or someplace when its not busy, like early morning, and Ask one of the Women working there, "hi, im Looking for a new foundation, i have say, €20 to spend, what would you recommend?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Thanks guys. I think buying something cheap is the wrong way to approach this, since it'll probably end up being a waste of money since I'd choose the wrong colour!

I actually have a voucher for BT's - so you'd recommend MAC foundation then? 36 is not too bad, I'd rather pay more for something that looks well and that I'd actually wear, than chance 3 cheaper brands ...

Do mac have different types of foundation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

Yep, but good staff can be very hit and miss in BT's (no offence anyone!)
    MAC is good.. the other brands are good too, its just depends on your face type really, Some people can swear by Dream Matte Mouse, others can get away with using the cheapest of brands, My friend puts on too much MAC powder and it looks terrible, It just about finding whats right for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

Take your time, have a bit of neck and visit different counters in BTs/arnotts/clearys and ask for advice and then some samples for while you make up your mind.

All of them probably don't provide this option but its worth a shot... means you could get used to wearing foundation without the expensive outlay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Test the foundation colour on your jaw not just your hand. Then go outside and look at it again before buying because store lighting is different to natural light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Buttons_sb

Glowing wrote: »
    Thanks guys. I think buying something cheap is the wrong way to approach this, since it'll probably end up being a waste of money since I'd choose the wrong colour!

I actually have a voucher for BT's - so you'd recommend MAC foundation then? 36 is not too bad, I'd rather pay more for something that looks well and that I'd actually wear, than chance 3 cheaper brands ...

Do mac have different types of foundation?

Yes they do!
    http://www.maccosmetics.com/templates/products/mp.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CATEGORY15107

I think it depends on the kind of coverage you are looking for. But it sounds like your looking for light coverage so they will probably recommend the face and body one

http://www.maccosmetics.com/templates/products/sp.tmpl?CATEGORY_ID=CATEGORY15107&PRODUCT_ID=PROD1540

Go in and have a look around, i have always found the girls to be very nice helpful. A girl with a fully made up face helped me choose mine and I am C1 [one of the lightest shades in Face and Body] and she chose that on me so I wouldnt be put off the heavily made up girls as she chose the perfect [pale] shade for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

My mam never wore make-up and didnt really know where to start, she went for one of those make-overs at the clinque counter in brown thomas and got loads of advice on what type of foundation etc to get. AFAIK there is no charge but you are required to buy a certain amount of stuff, since you are shopping for foundation anyway it might be worth considering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

If I was in your position I'd go into BTs and go around the different counters. Ask the assistants what they would recommend for you and ask to take a sample away - explain that as you have never worn foundation before, you want to feel what it's like on your skin throughout a full day and how it lasts on your skin. Most won't have too much of a problem with this, just don't be too overtly going from one counter to the next. I'd go to look at Mac, Laura Mercier, Clinique (I know you said you'd been to clinique before but instead of just looking, ask for their opinions) and Prescriptives (who have the widest range I've ever come across but are pricey) at the very least.

If you want to do it right, don't be rushed into anything. Take a few days to go in and out and try them one at a time if you want - ask them can you try it on your whole face so you see what it's like all day if you don't want to ask for samples.

I'd steer clear of buying cheap ones to try - I've found that they just never quite sit right on the skin and clog it up something terrible. I think a lot of them are aimed at the "Live fast; party hard" and young teenage market to be honest - not meaning to offend anyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Best advice I can give you is to shop around.

Personal I don't like Mac foundation, i find it makes my skin look very dry but I know a few people who do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Ruthee

Ask everywhere for samples!!! its the best way of getting the right colour and the right formula ( and arm yourself with little pots, as some sales people wont give them, saying they have a no pots, - i never understand why they wont give them,its not like its from their own personal foundation, )

And if they still dont give samples, take yer business else where and tell them that yer doing so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Laura Mercier are fab at giving samples, theyre in BTs in grafton st, not sure if they are anywhere else. Bare escentuals are great at not affecting the skin so no flakiness. They're concealor is fantastic so i usually put Laura mercier moisturing foundation first, the the Bare escentuals concealor and if i need more converage ill use the bare escentuals foundation as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I use Clinique Almost Make Up for light coverage.
    It's not heavy like full foundation but still gives great even coverage and a healthy glow.
    I think it's about €28 for a tube but I think it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

If you're going into BT's or any other department store, try going in early in the morning on a Monday or Tuesday when it will be their quietest. Ask to try just the foundation - explain that you don't wear foundation etc. They should be more than willing to help as it will be quiet and as you're not getting a full make-up application they can't charge you €25.

As Pythia said, make sure to look at the foundation out in the light as the artificial lighting will coz the foundation to look different.

Armani were always great at giving out samples. Places like MAC would probably be more reluctant to give out samples. You could always go into Boots and buy small samples pots and be armed and ready!

MAC Face and Body is great. I wear that most of the time as I don't like heavy make-up. MAC also have a sheer coverage make-up which would be slightly drier than the Face and Body, so depending on how oily your t-zone is, that could work for you. Laura Mercier have a nice tinted moisturiser and Bobbi Brown also has one.

If you do find a foundation you like go back and make an appointment for a make-up application, don't buy straight away and then get your whole face done and use your voucher to buy the foundation! So you'll get a few tips thrown in along the way for free! ;)

Wow some great suggestions and tips here, thanks a MILLION :)

I actually started the rampage this evening, got a sample of something from MAC - feck, can't remember which one it was, doh. Though I think she wrote it on the pot.

Was also told to come back to Clinique with some little pots so they could give me a sample or two, they had a few possibilities.

Funnily enough, I'm finishing my job on Friday so will head into BT's next week early enough. Surely the most appropriate thing to do when you're unemployed is to spend heaps of money on foundation!! :D

Question: Does foundation tend to accentuate large pores? Or should it be easy to find something that will conceal them a bit?

Ta :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

As far as I know BT's do the Bare Escentuals 'Bare Minerals' range and they are definitely worth a look. Mineral foundation is so easy to apply, gives good coverage but isn't heavy on the skin at all. I haven't used a liquid foundation since I discovered minerals last year!

Might be easier if you're not used to applying foundation :)

Alicat wrote: »
    As far as I know BT's do the Bare Escentuals 'Bare Minerals' range and they are definitely worth a look. Mineral foundation is so easy to apply, gives good coverage but isn't heavy on the skin at all. I haven't used a liquid foundation since I discovered minerals last year!

Haha funny you mention them. I had a chat to the girls in Bare Escentuals in BT's 2 days ago and she was telling me about this starter pack for 67 ish euro containing foundation, powder, blusher, and brushes ....

I was thinking of going for a consultation next week - would you recommend this brand?

It sounds like it could be a good option for me, like the way you can build the coverage up if you're having a particularly 'bad' day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

Haha funny you mention them. I had a chat to the girls in Bare Escentuals in BT's 2 days ago and she was telling me about this starter pack for 67 ish euro containing foundation, powder, blusher, and brushes ....

I was thinking of going for a consultation next week - would you recommend this brand?

It sounds like it could be a good option for me, like the way you can build the coverage up if you're having a particularly 'bad' day :pac:

I would definitely recommend mineral foundation. It gives great coverage and doesnt feel heavy , in fact you'd never think you were wearing it. Another great thing (for me anyway) is how easy and quick it is to put on and a great option for someone who isnt used to putting on liquid fountain.

Now i personally havent used the bare escentuals make of mineral foundation but have tried others (i used fuschia - an irish brand) and i find it excellent. The starter pack doesnt sound too bad, it'l give you a feel for the product and great that the brushes come with that too!

There is a thread on here however of another mineral make up brand, everyday minerals (is it?) and you can send off for free samples to get the hang of the product and shades, all you have to pay for is P&P but that deal in BT's doesnt sound too bad and as you said you had a chat with the girls at the counter and they seem nice so that would sway me to trust them to pick the right shade for me.

if yer interested in Mineral makeup, try everydayminerals.com. i get all my make up from them. they do a sample kit that is free(just pay postage) and you can get three samples of foundation. also they are really cheap for the full sizes too (only 12USD). i would reccoment getting a decent brush if you are going to use mineral make up..you need a really soft, dense brush to buff the mineral onto your skin.

i use the everyday minerals FLat top brush, its 10USD. its the best brush ive ever used(better than MAC, i know, shocking...)

they also do sample sizes of all their eyeshadows, along with small size foundations...

the coverahe is brill ,and its so cheap and they have the minimum of amount of ingredients, no nasty fillers like talc, that many of the other mineral makeup brands have..

I actually got samples from them a few months back. Don't know how I did it, but got pretty much the worst colours for my skin!

The only disadvantage of the mineral stuff is that it could be quite messy? Am I right in saying it's not really something you could pop into your handbag?

thats true it is messy, but Everday minerals do a small number of pressed foundations and i bought one of them for touchups during the day. You can also now get jars with closable sifters (brand new) so they are less messy..i havent got any yet, but am glad that they have finally brought them out...shouldda done it ages ago!!!

Best of luck founding the right foundation..so glad ive been able to stop looking, it was like an endless search, got lucky with the EDM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I would totally recommend them. I've been floating from foundation to foundation for years and I am finally happy with this one. My skin has never looked as good, my pores aren't clogged with gooey foundation and as another poster said, it's so easy to take off. I can't tell you how many people have commented on my skin since wearing the Bare Minerals. They've all said it looks really natural and that my skin had a sort of "soft glow" to it.

Well, that's what they said, maybe they were lying to make me feel good! :pac:

But seriously, if you get a chance get one of the Bare Escentuals girls to put some on for you and see how you feel with it on.

The only disadvantage of the mineral stuff is that it could be quite messy? Am I right in saying it's not really something you could pop into your handbag?

It CAN be messy, but only if you're careless. Same as if you left the lid off your foundation. The minerals are well contained in a screw-top jar, so keep the jar and the brush in a little make-up pouch and you'll be grand! Having said that, I don't even do that :pac: I just throw it into my bag :rolleyes: (bad, I know!)

Oh and FYI, I found the "Flawess Finish" brush in the starter pack absolutely useless. Stick with the kabuki brush! (small stubby brush)

080824_p11_img_1622481290.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭GSpoon

Mac in BT give you testers to bring home.. personally i love Mac, its just such a reliable brand for make up .. i use the studio fix foundation.. perfect for anyone who hates a dry looking/feeling foundation.. great coverage and i never need to reapply during the day at work.

Trust me i have been around all the make up brands from rimmel to bobbi brown and i always come back to mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

orla wrote: »
    Best advice I can give you is to shop around.

Personal I don't like Mac foundation, i find it makes my skin look very dry but I know a few people who do.

How can you say you "don't like MAC foundation"? There are so many different formulations in the MAC range, I think there's something there for every skin type. If you don't have oily skin you should use a water based MAC like studiofix or the face & body foundation or even studio stick which is very creamy.

Personally I would never use any of the "drugstore" foundations like Bourjois or Rimmel, they're crap and don't last long at all.

A bottle of MAC studiofix is about 35 euro but you literally only need 2-3 squirts of it. Mine lasts me on average 5-6 MONTHS.

If you have oily skin you should also invest in a foundation primer which will mattify your skin. MAC prep&prime is quite good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

eth0_ wrote: »
    How can you say you "don't like MAC foundation"? There are so many different formulations in the MAC range, I think there's something there for every skin type. If you don't have oily skin you should use a water based MAC like studiofix or the face & body foundation or even studio stick which is very creamy.

I've tried most of them and none of them seem to work with my skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭GSpoon

Alicat wrote: »

I also hear great things about this make, rumoured to be a top seller in the US! I bought the starter pack during the summer and was so disappointed. It definately is lovely and light on our skin but its just so messy to apply.. and it comes off far to easily. Not worth the money, especiall since you have to put an awful lot of effort to put it on without covering yourself in the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

GSpoon wrote: »
    I also hear great things about this make, rumoured to be a top seller in the US! I bought the starter pack during the summer and was so disappointed. It definately is lovely and light on our skin but its just so messy to apply.. and it comes off far to easily. Not worth the money, especiall since you have to put an awful lot of effort to put it on without covering yourself in the stuff.

It's a pain to put on, takes me longer than liquid foundation!

I got some MAC mineralize powder foundation which comes with a sponge type applicator, its much quicker to put on and gives great coverage.