Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Championship Kickboxing in Letterkenny

• 28-10-2008 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

World Class Kickboxing returns to the Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny for another action-packed fight extravaganza on Saturday 8 November 2008.
    Topping the bill will be local hero and light-middleweight sensation, Tommy McCafferty. The young hot-shot has destroyed all opposition put in front of him so far to land the prestigious ISKA European and Commonwealth titles. Now he faces his toughest test yet as he steps up to the big time against World Champion and kickboxing legend, Fran Zuccala from England.
    The world of kickboxing will be waiting with baited breath for the outcome of this epic match between the youth, power and speed of Tommy and the experience, ring-craft and guile of Fran. This looks set to be the fight of the year.
    Also on the bill will be newly-crowned World Cruiserweight Champion, Derry’s own Daniel ‘Pinta’ Quigley who faces off against British Champion Jonathan Stewart in a prestige fight over five rounds.
    Finally, a packed bill of supporting fights will feature local kickboxers from PT’s Kickboxing Gym taking on top opposition from England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland.
    Tickets start at 20 Euros and it promises to be a night of entertainment not to be missed.
    World Champion kickboxing Saturday 8th November 2008
    Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, co Donegal
    Ringside tickets (25 Euros) will be on sale from
    PT’s kickboxing gym contact number 0035374 9140840

www.ifka.co.uk

pts.jpg

http://www.ifka.co.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 seany20

Good Luck to Tommy, bring the title back to the North West and Ireland, looks like Pt's have again brought Kickboxing in Ireland to news heights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

While I am sure Seany20 has no connection to PT's I would still like to echo his sentiments.
    Best of Luck Tommy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jon boyle

nice one, all the best tommy, big shout out from the lads at donegal mma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 mmafan

I cant wait now after hearing daniel quigley is fighting again, he impressed me last time when he destroyed wayne turner, id rather see him fight than the main card. and at 25 euro its very affordable for everyone, id rather see a packed house at 25 euro than half full at 50 euro. nice job ill see you all there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Campbell M

Best of luck to Tommy from all the guys in Milford & Ramelton.

Unfortunately we cant make the fight because of another event on the same day but we will be thinking of ya!

mmafan wrote: »
    I cant wait now after hearing daniel quigley is fighting again, he impressed me last time when he destroyed wayne turner, id rather see him fight than the main card. and at 25 euro its very affordable for everyone, id rather see a packed house at 25 euro than half full at 50 euro. nice job ill see you all there.

Was it really necessary to create ANOTHER user to plug the event? A simple TTT would have done fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Jason Mc

Yeah unfortunately our events are on the same day.

I wish both the 2 lads all the best.

am not trying to plug any event mate am just a fan and thought id add my 2 cents worth, no need to think the worst.

mmafan wrote: »
    am not trying to plug any event mate am just a fan and thought id add my 2 cents worth, no need to think the worst.

Apologies if you are legitimate, but your user was created to make that post as were three others on this page, its a little too much to be coincidence, though its not outside the realms of possibility.

Yeah i just registered to comment on it, am as real as it gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 PT's GYM

The Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny has undoubtedly established itself as the undeniable home of world class kickboxing events with the P.T’s Kickboxing show yet again raising the bar for kickboxing in not only Ireland, but for the whole of the UK. The production value of the show was flawless and the card was stacked with new and old talent and heading the bill was current world cruiser weight champion Daniel ‘Pinta’ Quigley (88kg) and world Light Middleweight (72kg) challenger Tommy McCafferty.

The venue had sold out in record time and the patrons flocked in attendance from Southern Ireland, Northern Ireland and England. The atmosphere was electric and the crowd was in fine form as they awaited the start of what was to be the best full contact Kickboxing show that was ever assembled on this island.

Heading the bill was Donegal’s favourite son, Tommy Mc Cafferty. Mc Cafferty has shot to stardom in Ireland under the tutelage of former three times world champion Paddy Toland. The training was intense for this particular contest as Mc Cafferty knew that he was in for the fight of his life against the equally skilled English man Fran Zuccala. The preparation for this fight began 3 months ago within the confines of the P.T’s Gym where Tommy under went daily training which varied from skill sessions, sparring, conditioning and weight training. It was well aware to the camp how dangerous Zuccala was, as he is quoted as being one of the top three pound for pound full contact Kickboxers in the world. But this didn’t phase the P.T’s camp as paddy himself honed in on Mc Cafferty’s god given attributes of hand speed, power and footwork in an attempted to bring yet another coveted world title back to P.T Gym. In the process the crowd witnessed one of the best displays of 12 scintillating rounds of combat ever seen on these shores.

The Irishman’s entrance had the local crowd in rapturous applause and cheering as he was lead into the complex by a full Bag pipe band. As Mc Cafferty made his entrance to the venue, the crowd got to their feet and began to cheer and chant his name, which appeared to spur the 23 year old on. The Donegal man had a quiet look of confidence on his face as he walked around the ring like a wild animal stalking its prey. As the fighters where called to the centre of the ring for the rules of this particular contest, the stare down between these two world class athletes was something to behold. Challenger and champion where locked in a psychological battle before a punch was thrown, in an attempt to get the edge on their opponent.

As the bell rang for the opening round, the crowd were in rapturous form and at one point, it sounded as if the roof may come off the building. Mc Cafferty, hearing the ringing of the bell, came out from his corner like a greyhound out of the traps and galloped across the ring and caught the champion with a thunderous left straight, right cross combination which sent him crashing to the canvas. The champ looked stunned as he quickly got back to his feet after feeling the power of the Donegal man. The crowd chanted Mc Cafferty’s name as he stood emotionless in the neutral corner waiting for this bout to restart as he had done his homework on Zuccala and knew that he was there to fight. From this point, the pair openly exchanged punches and kicks in the opening round with Mc Cafferty stamping his authority on this contest sending out the resounding message that he wanted this coveted world title.
    The third round was a breath taking display of power and accuracy as Mc Cafferty broke Zaccuala’s nose with a pin point accurate double jab, right cross combination with the results that the champion was sent back to his corner for immediate medical attention. The crowd waited in baited breath as Mc Cafferty was sent to the neutral corner yet again as the English man received medical attention. It was at this point that some controversy began as the corner began to appeal to the referee. The referee then consulted the opposing corners and judges and restarted the bout yet again. Mc Cafferty attacked the champion yet again and went back to his corner with another round in his favour. The fourth round was very interesting as Fran upped his game and showed why he was champion as he came out quickly and threw his punches and kicks with full power and Mc Cafferty undoubtedly had new found respect for the Englishman’s power as he covered up awaiting his opportunity to counter attack.

The ninth round was a big round for Zuccala as both fighters where feeling the exhaustion for the high tempo of the fight and Fran showed why he was world champion as he found another gear and took this fight by the scruff of the neck and began to land decisive punches and kicks which had Mc Cafferty on the back foot. But Mc Cafferty showed his resolve and heart of a champion, as he fought back and the bell rang to signal the end of the round. It was at this point that Paddy Toland worked diligently on his fighter as he unquestionably had to draw upon his own experiences as a former world champion. He talked constantly to Mc Cafferty in the corner and was advising and remotivating him with his words of wisdom. Mc Cafferty listened to the words like a son heeding the advice of a father as he nodded his head in acknowledgement. This talk seemed to do the trick as Mc Cafferty bounced from his chair for the 10th and 11th rounds and got back to business as he threw punches in bunches and finished the combo’s with strong kicks.

The final round was breath taking as the crowd chanted Mc Cafferty’s name religiously in an attempt to give him the magical power to end this fight. But Fran Zuccala was a true champion and he battled extremely hard in the final round as the pair attempted to end this contest with a fantastic final flourish. As the bell sounded for the end of the twelve rounds, the competitors embraced and showed their new found respect for each other which is what makes this one of the greatest sports in the world. The judges score cards where collected and verified and it was announced that Mc Cafferty had taken the title from Zuccala in a unanimous decision. The crowd erupted and Mc Cafferty dropped to his knees in misbelieve as he threw his hands in the air during this historical moment. The Donegal man showed the heart, determination and power of a true champion. He also proved that he can take a shot as he displayed the god given talent of having a solid chin and will without doubt move on to bigger and better things within the realms of combat sport.

Daniel ‘Pinta’ Quigley was making his long awaited return to the ring after winning his world title 5 months ago in emphatic style and he was carded to face British Cruiser weight champion, Jonathan Stewart. This was another fine battle where both men came to fight, and fight they did.

Quigley dominated this encounter from start to finish as he showed why he was world champion to all in attendance. He had a good reach advantage and he used it well as he out boxed his opponent and showed that he had good hand speed. Quigley constantly put the jab in his opponents face and regularly followed it up with a thunderous right cross which was hurting Stewart every time they landed. In the dying seconds of the opening round Quigley sent the challenger crashing to the canvas and the crowd got to their feet to show there support.

Quigley yet again dominated the second round and in the third he felt that maybe it was time to stop this fight as he came out composed but with a certain sense of purpose. He used the jab to great authority and threw great kicks as it was apparent that he was visibly breaking is opponent down. The pivotal point in this fight came when he landed a monstrous right cross which sent Stewart to the canvas yet again but this time it was evident that he was in no condition to continue as he attempted to stumble back to his feet. The crowd where elated and they sang Quigley’s name in appreciation.

Jay Mc Veigh showed that he has the ability to battle against the best 63kg Kickboxers in the U.K as he showed a fantastic array of skills as he took a unanimous decision to secure the win. This was a very hard fought battle that went three rounds against the seasoned James Dunphy. This was by no means an easy task as both fighters gave their all in this battle as they regularly exchanged kicks and punches. Mc Veigh, although only 18 years old has a wealth of experience and the composure of a veteran fighter as he beat Dunphy to the punch. The crowd really got behind Mc Veigh as he has established himself as a real crowd favourite and they chanted his name rapturously when the decision was announced.

The club as a whole did phenomenally well on this evening as they recorded no less than 7 wins out of a card of ten top class fights. It should be noted that Michael Boyle, Martin Mc Menamin, Vaidas Natkus and Natalie Mc Carron all won in fantastic fashion and no doubt after registering impressive victories, will be Kickboxers to keep an eye on in the future.

P.T’s would like to thank the public who came to support the show and who where so vocal in helping the fighters achieve their goals. The gym is going from strength to strength and wouldn’t be possible without all the people who attend training and help out behind the scenes. P.T’s would like to take this opportunity to say thanks. tommy3.jpgtommy%20%26%20paddy1.jpgtommy1.jpgtommy2.jpg5741754797a9379504936l.jpg5741754797a9379502906l.jpg5741754797a9379505484l.jpg

RESULTS

Stephanie Green (PT's Gym) vs Ciara Mullan (PT's Gym) Exhibition fight

Natalie Mc Carron (PT's Gym) vs Louise Rourke (Liverpool Kickboxing) Winner: Natalie Mc Carron (PT's Gym)

Kevin Anderson (PT's Gym) vs Mick Timmons (Top Pro Kilkenny)
    Winner: Mick Timmons (Top Pro Kilkenny)

Vaidas Natkus (PT's Gym) vs Jiri Kott (Black Dragon Galway)
    Winner: Vaidas Natkus (PT's Gym)

Martin Mc Menamin (PT's Gym) vs James Darcy (Black Panther Dublin)
    Winner: Martin Mc Menamin (PT's Gym)

Stephen Mc Fadden (PT's Gym) vs Kyle Mc Dowl (Body Shots Belfast)
    Winner: Kyle Mc Dowl (Body Shots Belfast)

Michael Boyle (PT's Gym) vs Ray Dowd (Top Pro Kilkenny)
    Winner: Michael Boyle (PT's Gym)

Dee Mc Guinness (PT's Gym) vs David Walsh (Body Shots Belfast)
    Winner: (Body Shots Belfast)

Jay Mc Veigh (PT's Gym) vs James Dunphy (Top Pro Kilkenny)
    Winner: Jay Mc Veigh (PT's Gym)

Daniel Quigley (PT's Gym) vs Jonathan Stewart (Ashby KO GYM)
    Winner: Daniel Quigley (PT's Gym)

ISKA Light Middleweight World Tite Fight:

Tommy Mc Cafferty (PT's Gym) vs Fran Zuccala (Eclipse Gym)
    Winner: Tommy Mc Cafferty (PT's Gym)

In my capacity with Point Blank, the MMA League and Tribal Warfare I have the unenviable task of writing thousands of reports on events, seminars, competitions and other miscellaneous happenings; I am well known for my hyperbole, a trait I carried into the ring publicly in my MC duties, I think we can say I have a lot of experience in hyping up events.

I don't think I could hold a candle to that fight report! I have never seen so many superlatives used in one report as I did that one and I salute you! The fact that I found the report interesting enough to read through speaks well of the writing mixed in between the superlatives and is an out and out good job.
    Kudos!

Also, very big congrats to Tommy, who from the sound of things did an amazing job against a very tough opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Firstly I must congratulate PT's for putting on a top class entertaining promotion, and also Tommy for having us on the edge of our seats for twelve rounds, truly a top quality bout.

Now i must apologise for registering just to make this comment, but I have to mention that James Dunphy was well and truly robbed by the judges. Were they asleep?? Jay Mcveigh stylish as he is did not lay a glove on him for the whole 4 rounds. I know close fights can sometimes push the decision towards the home fighter, however this was in no way close. James was clearly ahead in at least three of the rounds.

I was also disappointed with the other pro fight. That english guy, a so called pro cruiserweight champ looked more like a light contact novice.

Apart fom this an excellent show, is there anyone with a similar opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

didn't want to be the first to mention James' fight since I'm from the same club, but yes I felt the judges got it massively wrong. James clearly took the fight 3 rounds to 1. Everyone was in utter shock when they announced the other guy won let alone by unaminous decision.
    Overall it was a great event though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Marty Mc

In my capacity with Point Blank, the MMA League and Tribal Warfare I have the unenviable task of writing thousands of reports on events, seminars, competitions and other miscellaneous happenings; I am well known for my hyperbole, a trait I carried into the ring publicly in my MC duties, I think we can say I have a lot of experience in hyping up events.

I don't think I could hold a candle to that fight report! I have never seen so many superlatives used in one report as I did that one and I salute you! The fact that I found the report interesting enough to read through speaks well of the writing mixed in between the superlatives and is an out and out good job.
    Kudos!

Also, very big congrats to Tommy, who from the sound of things did an amazing job against a very tough opponent.

Thank u very much mark for the kind words about the fight report..;)
    Dont worry, u can hype a fight..no doubt about that.:D

As regards tommys fight, it was a classic..well deserved win..he fought like a true champion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I never ever thought I'd see the day when Mark Leonard would be bested.

Unbelievable, it read like an adventure novel. Kudos indeed.

daniel quigley was in top form again imho that was the best fight of the night and what a night it was i hope it happens again soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Slater

Not sure where you have got the idea from that the guy Jonathan Stewart (that fought Daniel Quigley) is a British Champion cause he's not he's only a Midland Area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 dunphy09

ye tought meself i was hard done by would love a rematch in the near future