Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men's Cars

• 28-10-2008 11:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭

Right lads, you have a few hundred grand from smuggeling loads of booze into dry counties of the US. You return to Ireland. You want to spend it on something. A new house? A nice trendy apartment on the docks? New furniture? Fook off, you want a car. So what will you buy? Something to pick up floozies like this?

bmw.jpg

Or something run them over in like this:

tvr-sagaris-side-1_87.jpg

Or are you a little girly man, with stylish hair and eat salads at Cafe on Siene for lunch, who's italian leather shoes click when they walk to get into this type of ****box?

060802004.jpg

This was briefly mentioned on a manly possessions thread, but I think that it needs more discussion. I'm a lurker but I've never really seen much talk about cars on this board. I know there might be a car forum, but this is about the right cars for blokes.

Personally I'd choose this:

ascari-kz1-709470.jpg

What would yis choose gents? And wimmins, what car would you take as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Would have to go with my top choice the ASTON MARTIN, and being a man i would not go for just one I would take the

Classic DB5

Followed by the amazing V8

and the for day to day stuff the wonderful DB9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Excellent choice sir! A gentleman you would be. But, would there be ample room between the front seat and the steering wheel for a beer gut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Supercars like the Ascari above can be slightly manly but smack too much of posing on the French Riviera. Much like Top Gear's Cool Wall, I find it hard to accept them as truly manly, even though I love them.

The TVR Sagaris is the ultimate manly supercar/sports car!

Aston's are a bit too smooooth, although wimmins would fall all over you in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I'm thinking of getting one of these as I don't need to compensate for the lack of anything. :cool:

65582.JPG

And btw, here's that Alfa Romeo 75 SZ coupé mentioned in the "Manliest thing you own" thread.

alfa_romeo_sz.jpg

Always wanted one. Only ever saw a real one once back in 1994 outside a swimming pool in Manchester..........

Smashey: get the Mitsubishi Colt on which that overpriced, overstyled crap wagon is based, and save yourself a fortune, and the indignation of being seen in it! :D

Don1 wrote: »
    Smashey: get the Mitsubishi Colt on which that overpriced, overstyled crap wagon is based, and save yourself a fortune, and the indignation of being seen in it! :D

THANK you. Smashy I know it's called a smart car but it's not. It's something to carry your handbag in and a place for your poodle to sleep while you buy salad in marks and spencer.

Don, I've never seen that Alfa before. Was it a popular model even back in the day? And I disagree with your opinion on the Ascari. Yes Supercars like the Zonda and the Ferrari Enzo (which you have to be invited to buy, smacks of being a ponce that one) are for posers, the Ascari is for real drivers, like the Sagaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

If it's good enough for Sebastien Chabal then...

The Alfa was pretty rare. Only 25 were imported to England by the dealers like! Dunno if any made it here. Had the famous 3.0V6. Nyom.

Ascari A10 - yes! Mentalist car. KZ1, hmmm, jury is still out imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

image_1.jpg

This has space for all my DIY equipment and has enough zip to get me to the bar before it closes!

I have modest tastes, besides, it leave me with 60k for beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Shelby_GT500_Eleanor_1967_03.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd buy the biggest, fastest truck engine and put it in the back of a Berlingo.

The Alfa was pretty rare. Only 25 were imported to England by the dealers like! Dunno if any made it here. Had the famous 3.0V6. Nyom.

Ascari A10 - yes! Mentalist car. KZ1, hmmm, jury is still out imo.

Yeah A10 is nuts alright, I think the KZ1 is a devil in disguise though. A monster beneath the exterior which is still pretty badass in a strange European way. I think we can all agree on this being a 250 mile per hour hearse. And a right show of manliness to drive over 170mph...

koenigsegg_ccx_o.jpg

Mmmmmm Koenigsegg! All mental, but the CCX is certifiable! A surefire ticket to flaming plastic death!

What sold the Koenigsegg as the loopers car was when the Stig crashed it. No downforce at the back, certain death all the way :D But my god you'd look fooking good doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Ferrari f430
    BMW M3
    Mustang Shelby GT500 "Eleanor"
    BMW X5 for the wife and kids

I was sold on it being crazy even before that. A car with 900bhp, RWD and only a double venturi undertray to keep it in check is frickin nuts!

I am liking Landies lately;

pict4662xx2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Ford_Transit.jpg

V8 powered too!

Think I might apply to them for a job. :D

actually I forgot the toyota hilux

toyota_hilux_27_05_04.jpg

That Land River looks like it does what it was meant to do. Farm. To a point. More accurately it would destroy a farm but beautifully so. I didn't like the whoe SUV route they took for a while either. Just didn't fit for some reason. Like this travesty:
    2008_porsche_cayenne_reveal-thumb.jpg
    What the hell were porche thinking?

Can't go wrong with the classic Willys Jeep. Makes you think of M*A*S*H.
    120-willys-jeep.jpg
    Takes the bollix off you with pretty much no suspension though.

Landie any day over the Willis! You could always get a Mahindra. I think they made slightly more civilsed copies up in the mid to late nineties! I'll go look if they are still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

As a girl i would think the manliest 4x4 is a bowler wildcat-you earn zero respect with any bmw 4x4 or that ridiculous porsche cayenne.

bowler-wildcat-jump.jpg

A gorgeous car i think is the jag xj 220, rare and now very expensive but ahead of its time and beautiful.

Jaguar-Xj220.jpg

I'm surprised the bugatti veyron hasn't got a look in so far!!! Again fantastic car, a few people that have them also have a koenigsegg, as the veyron would be a speed car and the koenigsegg the ultimate rally car.

The m3 is not a mans man car, its a car for middle management pink shirt wearing twats. The m6 is where its at if you want to go down that road.

At the moment i think the best 4 door saloon is the maserati quattroporte.

maserati-quattroporte-sport-gt-s_5965.jpg

Landie any day over the Willis! You could always get a Mahindra. I think they made slightly more civilsed copies up in the mid to late nineties! I'll go look if they are still around.

This yoke? :D

Mahindra_Jeep.jpg

That's a military Mahindra. Either way they are rubbish.

The Bowler Wildcat (no longer made by Bowler) is amazing but is competion only unless you are completely mental!

Veyron, yeah, hyper car par excellence but has a whiff of look at me more than I'm a man get out of my way about it.

M6 and Masser Quatroporte are damn good.

G55 AMG would be sweet either in the SUV arena. Good enough for an assassin taking on Jason Bourne then its good enough for me. Never mind that Hyundai Sonata he had in India, that was a rental! :p

I was reluctant to mention the Bugatti Veyron, because it's so well designed and perfect that it's minus the suicidal element that driving something like a Sagaris (rear wheel drive and no traction control :eek:) would have. No man in his right mind would turn down a drive in a Veyron though. It would be like saying "No thank you, I appreciate the offer but I'm afraid I don't have a penis."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bob1970

The woman knows her cars!
    Lola if you had a 5 car garage what would it be?
    Are there any wildcats in ireland?that looks savage,never even heard of it before she said it

Bob1970 wrote: »
    Are there any wildcats in ireland?that looks savage,never even heard of it before she said it

I agree! She's cool! And Wildcats are from Finland i think.

BIG RESPECT for LOLA DUB...... a lady who knows her cars ...... why can't there be more ladies like this.......

the wildcat is an animal of a car...... the top gear review of the hamster driving it was so cool.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bob1970

robtri wrote: »
    BIG RESPECT for LOLA DUB...... a lady who knows her cars ...... why can't there be more ladies like this.......

the wildcat is an animal of a car...... the top gear review of the hamster driving it was so cool.....

never heard of that xj220,thought you were on about the current xj and i was shocked a girl liked that!

defo knows the she bang business with the cars-all hail lady lola and form a q for her boys!i think there is something pants wettingly fantastic about a woman who knows cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Even if money was no object ... I couldn't spend it on a new car. I'd have to go old skool and get myself another Opel Manta.

I had one of these for 2 years, and it cost me (a) a fortune (b) two teeth (long story) and (c) very nearly cost me mrs trout as well.

I had an MR 2 T-bar for a while also ... but to be honest, I barely fit into the thing. :o

Now I drive a sensible family saloon ... and every day I start it up, I feel a yearning for my old Manta ... 2 throaty litres of tail-happy rear wheel drive with a clunky 4 speed gearbox and a simple, robust attitude to suspension and other creature comforts.

Mine was just like this ... except in pillar box red. I miss that car *sniff*

mantab400.jpg

Bob1970 wrote: »
    Wagon wrote: »
    I agree! She's cool! And Wildcats are from Finland i think.

Thanks so much guys!!

Erm if i have a 5 car garage i guess it would be

Range Rover-Overfinch
    Maserati Quattroporte
    Ferrari 430 the scud version!
    Porsche 911 turbo
    Bugatti veyron.

All are liable to change though as 5 cars for a dream garage isn't that much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Sad to see a couple of mentions for the ultra cliche BMW X5! Arent we supposed to be talking Men's cars here? They are for yummy mummy and pansy premiership players. :D

more seriously, as soon as I started reading this thread, this car came to mind:
    Maserati Granturismo, mmmmmmmmm

gran-turismo-s-1.jpg

and for a bit of real fun, and nipping up to the Spar and back and such, the magnificent Ariel Atom:

ariel_atom_3.jpg

deswalsh wrote: »
    and for a bit of real fun, and nipping up to the Spar and back and such, the magnificent Ariel Atom:

ariel_atom_3.jpg

Or the carver?

carver1.jpg

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Jaguar E-Type

1961_jaguar_e_type_77rw-1.jpg

Ford Capri

Ford_capri_mk2_1974.jpg

Ford Capri

Ford_capri_mk2_1974.jpg

Go home!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

LolaDub wrote: »
    Go home!

If it's good enough for Bodie & Doyle in The Professionals it's definitely a man's car :P

Jaguar E-Type

Classy
    Ford Capri

Only provided it's the GHIA model Del boy!

facepalm.jpg

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Audi Q7 V12 TDi

BMW 330d SE

Ferrari Enzo

Porche Carrera GT

Astin Martin Vanquish

But my ultimate favourite would be the Bugatti Veyron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

car of the moment has to be the Audi R8
    P1130502.jpg

also love the SLR McLaren
    mercedes-benz-slr-mclaren.jpg

and for pure shits and giggles.....the Pagani Zonda
    pagani-zonda.jpg

ChewChew wrote: »
    Audi Q7 V12 TDi

BMW 330d SE
    Ferrari Enzo
    Porche Carrera GT
    Astin Martin Vanquish

Come on Chew Chew,
    2189568405_c1003315b0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Audi Q7 V12 TDi

BMW 330d SE

Some of you are heading in the right direction but the 'Elanor' GT500 just takes you back to posers cars. The ultimate man's car is a white 1970 Dodge Challenger R/T with a 440 Magnum engine, 4-barrel carbs, pistol grip shift, and a radio permanently set to KOWalski. You also get to shake your head sadly when somebody's never heard of a Vanishing Point Challenger

Audi Q7 V12 TDi

BMW 330d SE

Ferrari Enzo

Porche Carrera GT

Astin Martin Vanquish

I think the Ferrari Enzo will fall under the posers catagory, which is a shame because its a great car. It's just that you have to be fookin invited to buy it. ****.

What d'yis reckon on the Saleen s7? It's pretty suicidal!
    34203.JPG

Some of you are heading in the right direction but the 'Elanor' GT500 just takes you back to posers cars.

ye but the mustang also has all the kudos of being the car used by steve mcqueen in bullitt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

The perfect BGRH car:

1310203014_8b66bc61c4.jpg

Sure they love their buds, so they do.

I have to say I am very disappointed witht he choice of cars being put forward here as manly cars.....
    most of them are posing supercars, don't get me wrong they are fantastic piece's of machinery and engineering but they are not manly cars.....
    this is manly cars....
    LOLADUB with her wildcat hits the mark,
    the Astons because of 007....
    The Mustangs because of Steve McQueen... preferably the 1969 fastback.. or a GT Shelby...

lets see some proper man cars.... stop with the posing supercars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

ye but the mustang also has all the kudos of being the car used by steve mcqueen in bullitt

[car nerd]Nope - the GT350 was used in Bullitt. The even rarer GT500 wasn't even used in the *original Gone in 60 Seconds, and is becoming rarer still because they're all bring turned into 'Elanors'. The conversion seems to be just sticking bits of tat on that a boy racer would be ashamed of. Shelby GT500 KR ftw. [/car nerd]

*The original Gone in 60 Seconds is kack! How could anybody like that over the re-make? Not saying that the re-make is great....

[car nerd]Nope - the GT350 was used in Bullitt. The even rarer GT500 wasn't even used in the *original Gone in 60 Seconds, and is becoming rarer still because they're all bring turned into 'Elanors'. The conversion seems to be just sticking bits of tat on that a boy racer would be ashamed of. Shelby GT500 KR ftw. [/car nerd]

*The original Gone in 60 Seconds is kack! How could anybody like that over the re-make? Not saying that the re-make is great....

Ahh but the GT350 is just a variant of the MUSTANG, so KUDOS still go to the car for bullit....

I have to say I am very disappointed witht he choice of cars being put forward here as manly cars.....
    most of them are posing supercars, don't get me wrong they are fantastic piece's of machinery and engineering but they are not manly cars.....
    this is manly cars....
    LOLADUB with her wildcat hits the mark,
    the Astons because of 007....
    The Mustangs because of Steve McQueen... preferably the 1969 fastback.. or a GT Shelby...

lets see some proper man cars.... stop with the posing supercars

Aston Marton because of 007 - Poser. end of.

TVR Sagaris, Koenigsegg, Ascari A10/KZ1 - Suicidal and evil...manly, More for the track then aything and going by so fast that people won't really get a chance to se the car let alone ther person driving it.

Now, if you want to cruise by with traction control, sound system booting out...the one who i can't speak of on this forum (the solo years, you know who i mean), central heating and leather upholstory because James Bond drove one in his perfect fitting suit with the shiny italian shoes that clicked then go ahead :) It'll be the fastest a salad has ever moved! But you can't call something like the Sagaris a fashion statement, it's a drivers car. But yes, the Wildcat is brilliant.

I love this thing:
    Shelby_Cobra_427_1967_01.jpg

Ahh but the GT350 is just a variant of the MUSTANG, so KUDOS still go to the car for bullit....

exactly and it is why I didn't specify the type of mustang