Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Merchandise

• 25-10-2008 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭

Was just wondering if anyone on the forum who is a member of AGS has any concerns re the fact that "garda" merchandise has now gone on sale again despite being taken off the market last year. Surely this is a sure fire way for the criminal fraternity to pretend to be members for dubious means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Use of the crest without permission is a breach of copyright; Dont think the word GARDA is however; Where are these on sale and what exactly is on sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

[QUOTE=gerire;57690640 Where are these on sale and what exactly is on sale?[/QUOTE]

Can you buy the accent???:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Paulzx wrote: »
    Can you buy the accent???:p
    Is it fun of my accent, you'd be makin dere sunny jim? You know, it's not to Americay or Aushtralya you'll be going if you end up before the judge.

Jesus, at least you knew where you stood when you heard a good culchie accent. Since they started letting the Dubs in... I don't know, it's all Yizzer this and Yizzer tha'.

3 classes in Templemore devoted to "Veh - Hickle".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

buzzman wrote: »
    Was just wondering if anyone on the forum who is a member of AGS has any concerns re the fact that "garda" merchandise has now gone on sale again despite being taken off the market last year. Surely this is a sure fire way for the criminal fraternity to pretend to be members for dubious means.

I remember last year it was reported that there was a guy selling Garda merhancise near O'Connell St in Dublin but he didn't have permission from the Commish to do it.

Here is the news report.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fashion-police-probe-garda-clothes-sale-925623.html

These are some of the items as shown on Liveline

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/garda.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

That motorsports shop on Terenure Road is selling them. I got a cup from a fella. On the bottom it says something like Garda logo copyright Garda upsSiochana. I think they've been allowed to sell the incidental items like cups and fridge magnets - but not items like caps or T-shirts or such like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

I saw a picture of one of the fake ID badges on the sun i think. theres not much difference, dangerous to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

TheNog wrote: »
    I remember last year it was reported that there was a guy selling Garda merhancise near O'Connell St in Dublin but he didn't have permission from the Commish to do it.

Here is the news report.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fashion-police-probe-garda-clothes-sale-925623.html

These are some of the items as shown on Liveline

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/garda.html

I can only hear stuff on my radio, not see things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »
    Is it fun of my accent, you'd be makin dere sunny jim? You know, it's not to Americay or Aushtralya you'll be going if you end up before the judge.

Jesus, at least you knew where you stood when you heard a good culchie accent. Since they started letting the Dubs in... I don't know, it's all Yizzer this and Yizzer tha'.

3 classes in Templemore devoted to "Veh - Hickle".

They actually are letting Dubs in? I thought that was just a vicious rumour!
    So when I apply, there is the chance that if I get accepted, I may have Dubs in my class!!?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

donvito99 wrote: »

smart bastard. I should have posted Liveline site on Rte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

donvito99 wrote: »

But we can still see your desktop :D

*please note, we cannot see your desktop...yet*

eroo wrote: »
    I thought that was just a viscous rumour!
    What, have you heard something about freeflow?

eroo wrote: »
    They actually are letting Dubs in? I thought that was just a viscous rumour!
    So when I apply, there is the chance that if I get accepted, I may have Dubs in my class!!?:eek:
    Remember they deregulated the taxis?

They did the same with the Gardai and funny enough, the Dub guards will only stay on their own side of the Liffey too and they get nose bleeds west of Leuuuucan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Is it fun of my accent, you'd be makin dere sunny jim?

Oi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Remember they deregulated the taxis?

They did the same with the Gardai and funny enough, the Dub guards will only stay on their own side of the Liffey too and they get nose bleeds west of Leuuuucan.

LMAO! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Ah lads, I think they just figured it was time to get Gardai out there who actually knew their way around the capital bar O' Connell St. and Henry St... :)

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Oi!
    My bad!
    Roylity cheque in the post.

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Ah lads, I think they just figured it was time to get Gardai out there who actually knew their way around the capital bar O' Connell St. and Henry St... :)
    The culchies or the dubs?

Imagine a garda merchandise shop. One of the women on Henry St. could run it from her pram!

TheNog wrote: »
    smart bastard. I should have posted Liveline site on Rte

Sorry nog, I just couldnt resist.:D

metman wrote: »
    But we can still see your desktop :D

*please note, we cannot see your desktop...yet*

I'll have someone around to your house Metman for that post.:D

Deadwood, the women with their prams are on moore st not henry st, but at least now we all know what I meant ;-) ..But back on topic, i have a Garda crest fridge magnet that I got from the shop in the college. If I say wanted to dress up as copper face jacks barbie from langerland for halloween would it be an offense to use that for my hat?? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Deadwood, the women with their prams are on moore st not henry st, but at least now we all know what I meant ;-) ..But back on topic, i have a Garda crest fridge magnet that I got from the shop in the college. If I say wanted to dress up as copper face jacks barbie from langerland for halloween would it be an offense to use that for my hat?? :)

Impersonating Gardai is an offence. Regardless of how convincing or not the attempt is.

Besides, the stuff is actually being sold from a model shop on Capel Street, Dublin 1. Its harmless stuff like tie pins and cups which may have the logo but are not the same as the ones on issue (tie pin that is).

Maybe if the job actually gave us something we could use as swaps when various UK and US cops arrive in half of Store street and Pearce Street wouldnt be shopping there.

And as a Northside Dub mule I can tell you I get asked for directions by more bogger mules than tourists!

If I say wanted to dress up as copper face jacks barbie from langerland for halloween would it be an offense to use that for my hat?? :)
    Maybe, but using a garda fridge magnet as a hat isn't going to keep you warm or dry.

Besides, the stuff is actually being sold from a model shop on Capel Street, Dublin 1. Its harmless stuff like tie pins and cups which may have the logo but are not the same as the ones on issue (tie pin that is).
    Would you pick me up one? I lost mine at a hay eating contest at the Spring Show last year.

Maybe if the job actually gave us something we could use as swaps when various UK and US cops arrive in half of Store street and Pearce Street wouldnt be shopping there.

And as a Northside Dub mule I can tell you I get asked for directions by more bogger mules than tourists!
    Well, tell me how to get there then!

Right so- plan B: I'll dress up AS a fridge magnet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Well, tell me how to get there then!

What are you, the grammAr police or is it just for me????

*cough* It's grammAr not grammEr. Sorry, that's just a pet peeve of mine! :D