Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Saab 9-3 Marked

• 25-10-2008 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

65422.jpg

Very cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

65423.jpg

Rear view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Very nice!

Where was this stationed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

That looks like Dublin Airport, dont know of anyone around Dublin north with a Saab, then again 03? Its probably been scrapped since...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

timmywex wrote: »
    Very nice!

Where was this stationed?

3 of them were atached to the castle traffic...

crap police cars apparently

Dont no where they are stationed because I stumbled across them on the net. It does look like a nifty car though. And it is the airport, VIP escort?

Would you be able to tell where the car is stationed by the markings on the roof, GQ/O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

There was 1 in Waterford until it was wrote off in a crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭mbeire

That picture was taken at Dublin Airport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

Jaysus nice car! any other pics of once off garda cars?

image2_1[1].jpg

In response to Jay112 I dont really have anymore once offs, but this one is different because its a non-traffic land cruiser-(dont no how to spell)

Sorry about the size.!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Haven't mastered this uploading lark yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Who's wife now deadwood?

Deadwood

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wait til the nog sees this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Give him an award. . . now!! :D

maglite wrote: »
    Who's wife now deadwood?
    Who's ever you like, maglite...who's ever you like.;)

Back on topic...erm...uh....saab.....they're safe...and...have two a's in the name.

eroo wrote: »
    Give him an award. . . now!! :D
    Recommendations to Commissioners Office, Feenicks Pork, Dublin 8, Northside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »
    Recommendations to Commissioners Office, Feenicks Pork, Dublin 8, Northside.

Shhh. . . your going off topic!!:D

How regularly are new cars/vans given to stations?

eroo wrote: »
    How regularly are new cars/vans given to stations?
    Usually when the mechanic ges to clock the odometer and sees the sticker that says "not again!":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

The last two patrol cars we've had clocked up about 170k before being replaced. This a standard around the rest of the country?

I would say 170k is quite low for a replacement. You're lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

FFS I go off an do a 19 hour shift and come back to commendations handed out to Deadwood for sexy policing, clocking cars (4 times is standard) by mechanics all over the universe, been established that Foregonereality has serious pull in the guards to get new cars for each day of the week and a god awful mess of off topicness.

Yiz are gonna get me kicked off the Mod team!!!

TheNog wrote: »
    FFS I go off an do a 19 hour shift and come back to commendations handed out to Deadwood for sexy policing, clocking cars (4 times is standard) by mechanics all over the universe, been established that Foregonereality has serious pull in the guards to get new cars for each day of the week and a god awful mess of off topicness.

Yiz are gonna get me kicked off the Mod team!!!
    What's this got to do with Saabs?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

this was attached to regional traffic on trial, think it still could be, there was one in waterford aswell. 1.8 turbo model. trial was as far as it went. featured heavily in my dissertation :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

mod_PHpolicelambo2-L.jpg
    mod_PhLamboPolice1-L.jpg
    mod_PhPoliceLambo3-L.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

It would be wrote off in a week! ..... A Day!

bryanmurr wrote: »
    this was attached to regional traffic on trial, think it still could be, there was one in waterford aswell. 1.8 turbo model. trial was as far as it went. featured heavily in my dissertation :eek:

I believe the one in Waterford was wrote of on the port road.

Did it fall into the sea?;)

donvito99 wrote: »
    Did it fall into the sea?;)
    The observer told the driver to dip is headlights.

Must do better.

65615.jpg

Not great, 03 Renault Laguna. But it is a strange one all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

Funninly enough, on rte news tonight, they had a piece on how drug driving detection/figures were up on the previous year. Lo & behold in the back ground on what I'm led to believe is called a "super checkpoint" was a Saab 93 fully marked up along with other various patrol cars & jeeps. Couldn't see the reg on the saab

yeah i noticed that aswell and laughed to my self how sad lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

if that 03 Saab is stil going, its due an NCT..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

pa990 wrote: »
    if that 03 Saab is stil going, its due an NCT..
    Don't think Garda cars ever get NCT'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Don't think Garda cars ever get NCT'd.

They do thankfully.

They do!?!?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

ScubaDave wrote: »
    They do!?!?!?!?

New thing. Also why many many cars suddenly got binned despite being held together with selotape for the past few years. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

This is news to me..?

We have a 06 that quite frankly would not pass wind nevermind a NCT without breaking down.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Saab is one of the very few foreign companies to make any headway into the US police car market. Usually in colder, mountainous regions.

aspen_police_6001.jpg

NTM

aspen_police_6001.jpg

NTM
    Cool. Water cannons built into the roof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Saab is one of the very few foreign companies to make any headway into the US police car market. Usually in colder, mountainous regions.

aspen_police_6001.jpg

NTM

It's GM as well so the "Buy American" thing is adhered to with a SAAB.