Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHAT SCOPE???

• 25-10-2008 2:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

What scope would best suit a big calibre like the 30.06which will stay spot on after the recoil.I am wiilig to pay 300 euro or less for it. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

For quality mounts ( at least as important as the scope itself ) and a good scope you're cutting it rather thight. What rifle is the scope going on. Tikka for example is a great match for Optilock mounts while Millet is supposed to be the job for a CZ, etc etc... . As for the scope itself you can spend from 50to 5000 euro and everything in between but I don't think you'll really do justice to a 30.06 putting on a mediocre or low end scope. If you invest in a good rifle that allows you to place an accurate shot over a fairly long distance you should be sticking the glass on it that going to allow you to see your target without any problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 lazolovac

Im putting it on a cz 30.06 and do you have to have diff. sites for every rifle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

lazolovac wrote: »
    Im putting it on a cz 30.06 and do you have to have diff. sites for every rifle?
    i think i could get you a 6x42 zeiss or S,B for 350 .there in good nick thats if there still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Well I suppose a good scope will do the job on any rifle but an airrifle ( different recoil characteristics ). The point is that for example you wouldn't be putting a 2500 euro Zeiss that delivers a crisp image well over 200 yards away shooting under a lamp at night on a .22 with an optimistic effective range on a fox of less than half that. On a .243, a .223 a Swift or .22-250 for example you would be able to use the scope to it's capacity. It's a bit like not buying a 4 litre SUV when the only driving you do is a two mile roundtrip to the far end of town two days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭ejg

I'm with JWshooter on this. You most likely will not loose money if you wisely buy a used 6x42 or 8x56 schmidt & bender, zeiss, swaro or kahles.
    Use one of those for a year or two and sell on if you want a variable.
    The 8x56 is good for low light situations, the 6x42 better for a quick shot.
    These fixed scopes have one big advantage.... they don't have any buttons and dials to play around with just distracting you from the shot.

edi

What is the best scope to tackle high recoil. What do ye think of the ags scopes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

What is the best scope to tackle high recoil. What do ye think of the ags scopes?
    what high recoil ! if your worried about recoil before you get the gun maybe you should rethink the cal and go for the 25,06 .on a stalking rifle stick to the top 4 makes of scope the 6x42 at that money you will never lose on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

This would do the job fine...
    http://www.thehuntinglife.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=69959
    Not a bad price for a 2nd hand schmidt and bender

jwshooter wrote: »
    i think i could get you a 6x42 zeiss or S,B for 350 .there in good nick thats if there still there

Im looking for something with a little more magnification like 12-40 for longer range shooting. What price would i be looking at there?

My friend has a simmons scope which he gave 350 euro for. Are thy a good brand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

these are a very good scope for the price..Its about the price your looking for... I have one..it was on my 223... have it now on my 17... a lot of lads in the states use them on hi cal rifles for deer and elk.... this company is good to deal with and have no problem sending scopes to Ireland..you will have to pay vat on it which works out to around 70 quid..give or take some.
    http://theopticzone.com/detail.aspx?ID=3286

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭John Griffin

Im looking for something with a little more magnification like 12-40 for longer range shooting. What price would i be looking at there?

If you are shooting deer the highest magnification you need is 12x. If it's vari power you are after get something in the 2.5-12 range. The higher the magnification the less light you have.
    My advice is the same as that of JWshooter and EJG. Ignore that advice and you will regret it in the future. Buy a secondhand 6x42 or 8x56 for €300.
    When you have saved €1000 trade it in and get a 2.5x10x56 or 3x12x56 S&B if you still want a vari power.

Don't buy cheap vari power scopes and mounts!! You will spend the difference in ammo and missed oppertunities and eventually dump it and take our advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 premier1

jwshooter wrote: »

any chance i could get a look at the zeiss to buy nice price for a scope i youse a nighr forse nxf cost me 2500 at the time have s@b 6 *42 for hunting would not mind buying a carl zeiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

If you wanted to save a few quid you could buy a cheap 2nd hand rifle. Mine cost €300 and delivers 3/4 inch groups (an old BRNO). Whatever you do don't skimp on the scope. You need the best you can afford in Irish conditions, especially with daylight shy sika. As others have said stick with the top brands. The old yardstick of twice what you can afford on your rifle is good.

I'm happy with .243 myself as many shots are within shouting distance of houses. It's also good not to have the hassle of a heavy moderator unbalancing the rifle.

Slap any regular round in the heart of any Irish stag/buck and you will never feel undergunned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

J. Ramone wrote: »
    If you wanted to save a few quid you could buy a cheap 2nd hand rifle. Mine cost €300 and delivers 3/4 inch groups (an old BRNO). Whatever you do don't skimp on the scope. You need the best you can afford in Irish conditions, especially with daylight shy sika. As others have said stick with the top brands. The old yardstick of twice what you can afford on your rifle is good.

I'm happy with .243 myself as many shots are within shouting distance of houses. It's also good not to have the hassle of a heavy moderator unbalancing the rifle.

Slap any regular round in the heart of any Irish stag/buck and you will never feel undergunned.

Qualify by saying I took a shot this week from a hollow surrounded by woodland this week and had my ears ringing. I might invest in a T3 lite with a T4 for the sake of my health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

hey guys
    purchased a t3 lite at the weekend, now for the scope,
    im new to this rifle business,itll be mainly used on foxes.

cant see me doing any long range for a while

was gonna spend around 500

seen a burris 3.5-10 x 50 for that, is it enough scope for the 223?

good buy?

again, i know you can get long ranges but i will mainly be using ir for lamping. thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭ejg

As mentioned by a few before, a fixed 8x56 quality scope such as S&B might be the better option.
    If you do it right you might have it for free.... for a while. If bought second hand at a good price and you treat it well you will possibly sell it for the same price later.
    You should be able to pic one up at around 300 - 400 Euro.
    I used one for years on my 223 and it was really good, never shifted zero.
    Easy way to get into the upper class of scopes.
    edi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

What scope would ye put on a CZ Hornet, called into the local FAO yesterday he said i should have licence in three weeks, so need to get the accessories sorted.

Last rifle i had never had a scope just lined up the sights and let her rip 95% of the time a hit with safe back drop of course.

Steady hands then , hope there still the same.

Maca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

macadam wrote: »
    What scope would ye put on a CZ Hornet, called into the local FAO yesterday he said i should have licence in three weeks, so need to get the accessories sorted.

Last rifle i had never had a scope just lined up the sights and let her rip 95% of the time a hit with safe back drop of course.

Steady hands then , hope there still the same.

Maca

All depends on how much you want to spend really and what you will be using it for. Check out the link below to optics warehouse they cover most brands and there prices are not bad either. I dealt with them about 2 months back had the scope within 6 working days. I think they have bipods as well just in case the hands are not as steady as they use to be :D

http://www.opticswarehouse.co.uk/categories.asp?cat=74

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Riflehunter,

will be shooting foxes with the hornet, have ordered a bipod, dealer throwing in a tasco scope, looking through the threads there not much good, so willing to buy whatever works best on the hornet at a range of 150ards or more, mostly for lamping.

maca