Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post temporary mail operative

• 24-10-2008 3:01pm
    Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭

I have an interview for a bit of seasonal work and was wondering what attire is appropriate as the letter didn't state.

I'm guessing casual for this sort of work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

is this for the Christmas casual work?? Yeah my dad works in an post, he says people just go casual, as in jeans and a shirt. But obviously look respectable too!! ie: shave!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

peanuthead wrote: »
    is this for the Christmas casual work?? Yeah my dad works in an post, he says people just go casual, as in jeans and a shirt. But obviously look respectable too!! ie: shave!!

Yeah, Christmas work.
    I was thinking turning up in a suit would be a bit much all right.

Thanks for your reply.

good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭kick-on

id say wear a shirt n slacks, looks more professional, first impresions mean a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

jayteecork wrote: »
    I have an interview for a bit of seasonal work and was wondering what attire is appropriate as the letter didn't state.

Hi Have friend who was looking to do a bit of seasonal with an post, where did you get the info? is it too late to apply?

egan007 wrote: »
    Hi Have friend who was looking to do a bit of seasonal with an post, where did you get the info? is it too late to apply?

Its not too late, but the problem is that he has to be 'recommended' by an existing member of an post staff. By recommending they mean that a member of their staff has to put him on the mailing list for an application form. So he can ask anyone to do it for him, they dont actually have to know him, my dad does it all the time for my friends.

Also, the old people from last year are always asked back first, as a courtesy. So sometimes there may not even be any available positions.

My sister's friend works there but I don't even know her. She got me the application form.

I think they're always looking for people with good typing skills, which I have, but I don't have a piece of paper to prove as much. Just been into computers since I was small so you get good at it.

Hopefully that will be my hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

Its an interview for feck sake, wear a suit. Be professional regardless of what type of job your employing for. If you were applying for a rubbish collector would you dress as one? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

They like people who can type and the threshold wasn't that high when I applied a few years back - something like 30 wpm.

As for the attire, wear pants, shirt and a tie. Be smart and groomed, but a suit might be too much.

Good luck

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    Its an interview for feck sake, wear a suit. ;)

Dont wear a suit. You will end up feeling overdressed and uncomfortable.

I have a cord suit jacket that'll wear with a nice shirt and pants.

I won't wear a suit - as peanuthead says I'll feel uncomfortable in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Did it in a suit a while back. Shaved, wore a suit. A few others wore suits.

the_syco wrote: »
    Did it in a suit a while back. Shaved, wore a suit. A few others wore suits.

Get the gig?

Yes. T'was a fun job. The words per minute thing is tested in there. You fail it, you go onto the floor. Saying that, if it's quite, you go on the floor anyhoo's. If you're in the 1st batch of people working there, your place on the computer is a cert. Otherwise, it's hit and miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 curlykale

would you mind if I asked what the money is like for the xmas workers...thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fluffyclouds

Just wondering if anybody would know if it is too late to apply for this year. Also is there a website etc where you can apply if you do not have a contact in An Post who can recommend you. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Just wondering if anybody would know if it is too late to apply for this year. Also is there a website etc where you can apply if you do not have a contact in An Post who can recommend you. Thanks.

I'm no expert but i think it is too late now. They had a pretty high turnout for the initial "interview". They already have plenty to call upon but if someone else can confirm this to make sure.

I don't suppose anyone got the call to go in yet? I heard there was a delay in the Garda Vetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Im back to being one of a couple of posties in my local town for temp Christmas work!! Im delighted as I did the same job last Christmas and was a bit worried this year about not getting it due to the recession and everybody and their cousin looking for any kind of extra cash. I think with the post its definitely a case of who you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

curlykale wrote: »
    would you mind if I asked what the money is like for the xmas workers...thank you.

€11.50ph until 8pm
    After 8pm an extra 25% onto hourly rate- approx €14.50
    39-45 hrs are paid at time and a half.
    45 and over paid at time and seven eights ( don't ask ! )
    Sundays all hours paid time and seven eights.

Good dosh and its an easy number. Should clock up around 60-70 hours in the week before Xmas, will walk away with slightly over €1,100. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭louise-x

has anyone applied this year?
    if so does anyone have any idea when people are usually notified if they have been successful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I loved working as a part time postman. I still get the letter every year to go back but I'm working full time now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭poppet84

I did the mail sorting last year and they sent me out the form automatically this year,Haven't heard anything yet but really hope I get it!!

I presume if you did it last year you don't have to go through the interview process again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

I have applied for it this year. Received the application, filled them out and sent them back in, still waiting to hear back for them.

poppet84 wrote: »
    I did the mail sorting last year and they sent me out the form automatically this year,Haven't heard anything yet but really hope I get it!!

I presume if you did it last year you don't have to go through the interview process again?

Same story here with me. The interviews are all done now i think so i'm just hoping now that they don't bother interviews with people who were there previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I remember applying for this back in my first year of college when looking for a bit of dosh. I didn't get it because apparently they were overstaffed in my area as it was but the funniest part was that I get the letter to tell me as much at the start February :eek: I think I'd realised I wouldn't be working for them by that stage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭dublinbusdude

I had a interview with An Post for the Temp. Christmas Staff for the Dublin Mail Centre on Halloween and still waiting to know if I got the job or not. The Garda check came back clear so does anyone know how long do you have to wait???

The 1st batch are the people from the previous years I think. Then they fill the gaps. A VERY high amount of people don't turn up after the first night in the sorting office. No loss. Most of them would have been the useless ones. But in times like this, I'd say less people will not turn up the next night.

I had a interview with An Post for the Temp. Christmas Staff for the Dublin Mail Centre on Halloween and still waiting to know if I got the job or not. The Garda check came back clear so does anyone know how long do you have to wait???

It was early December last year for most people. I'd be looking at late November/early December before you get a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭lotsofthegreen

Hi

is anyone here doing this job this year?

anyone know if all dublin positions are full or is their still a chance if you've filled in application form?

anyone???

this looks to be the best casual job in the country!!

I'm waiting to hear back if I got it :)

Received a letter from them in the last couple of hours asking me to turn up next Monday to begin work. I was there last year though so i don't know what the story is with first timers.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Received a letter from them in the last couple of hours asking me to turn up next Monday to begin work. I was there last year though so i don't know what the story is with first timers.

Which one did you go for? I might get a letter tomorrow, fingers crossed

It was for the DMC.

Ah I see cause I had the interview up there at Halloween. The money is good this year :)

Aw man they rang me 2 weeks ago on a monday and asked me to come in for a 3 day course in computer video coding.I said Yes but then got a call the day before saying it was cancelled.

Then the next week i got a call saying it was on again that thursday...thursday just gone. i was in england thursday till today so i couldn't do it.

Starting to think i may be forgotten about!what yous think?

i did the mail sorting last year.

I hope they havnt forgotten me :(

I rang and explained my situation.Receptionist basically laughed and said they'd call me when something comes up!!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

do you know where to get a application form for working in an Post? thanks

Overature wrote: »
    do you know where to get a application form for working in an Post? thanks

You have to know someone who works there and they have to recommend you.They then send you out the application form!!I got a form in September so it could be too late!

What does think about this? Should I ring the Dublin Mail Centre to see if I got the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 red glitter

My uncle works there and its to late to apply and if you haven't got a call back yet,then don't hold your breath!!
    I heard it is the handiest job going and if you got in this year work hard and you will be rewarded.

Well its 2 more days to hear back by post and 3 days by phone call to mobile

My uncle works there and its to late to apply and if you haven't got a call back yet,then don't hold your breath!!
    I heard it is the handiest job going and if you got in this year work hard and you will be rewarded.

Awh no don't say that!My brother works there and he doesn't agree.But I did get a call less than 2 weeks ago for a course that was happening this day last week.This was just a course and not actual work yet.Someone high up in an post told my brother that I would of been one of the first people starting so that would of started just this week!So I wouldn't stress too much just yet.

I did it last year and I got a call the first week in december and it was so casual...They just said can you start tommorow and that was it. Also lots of people started after me...almost every week new people started...Some even just for the few days before Christmas.

I wouldn't recommend ringing reception of dmc....it wasn't too much help!I lost the number they had rang me from so I'm not sure of the number for recruitment.

My fingers are crossed that I get at least 3 weeks work !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 eoin kelly

can anyone please tell me if they have started work yet this year?
    i applied for a job in mid october and havent heard anything back yet not even an interview
    was i to late?

I applied in September - my form had to be back in DMC for Sept 25th, had a interview in October (Halloween) and now still waiting to hear back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Rumour of a union dispute and there may be no casual staff this year. Apparently they're talking about either overtime for existing staff OR casual temp work, but not both so obviously existing staff are kicking up.

Also, this years hours are to be restricted heavily if it does go ahead, so it'll be a straight up 9-10 days, 6.5 hours a day, at about €11 per hour.. Anyone considering coming off the dole for this would be well advised to think again, as you'll have to make a fresh claim which won't process until late January at the least.. Oh, and half the An Post money won't be payble until after Christmas!

Happy Holidays!

Thats mean! I think now that a call to them in morning to find out whats going on about it.

Just after ringing the DMC. Told me that they dont have a lot of post to currently to sort out this year and have to see from the bosses what can they do about the Temp Christmas Staff who went for interviews if they can hire them like myself or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

A Disgrace wrote: »
    Anyone considering coming off the dole for this would be well advised to think again, as you'll have to make a fresh claim which won't process until late January at the least.. Oh, and half the An Post money won't be payble until after Christmas!

Happy Holidays!

you won't necessarily have to make a fresh claim - you can request to go on 'casual' for the few weeks. The dole will issue you with these forms to fill in and you mark what days you work. The dole is worked out on a 6 day week, so for every day of those 6 you work you are deducted 1/6 of your payment. If you work a full week of course you get nowt. Once the temporary role has finished up, get a letter from your employer confirming this and then you can go back to the dole and be reinstated on a full claim.

I have done this myself so it can be done - you just need to know what to ask! it might depend on what type of payment you receive also - I was on JSB.