Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alternate sports photography

• 24-10-2008 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭

Now this is a much more interesting side of American sports photography. Much more attractive too - http://nbcsports.msnbc.com/id/27068610

I'd say even Al will appreciate these images. :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

wow, i hate sports photography, thus never wanted a telephoto

now i do

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I can see somebody wanting to arrange a photo meet at some american football game anyday now :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭cooligPhoto

I think we should start a campaign to introduce cheerleaders in sports here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

So thats why people are into sports. I always wondered what the attraction was :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Wow, there are some shockingly unattractive women there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Cabaal wrote: »
    I can see somebody wanting to arrange a photo meet at some american football game anyday now :p

Great idea! :D I say we do her it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Agreed.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

rymus wrote: »
    Agreed.

I guess they look fine to most people when there hundreds of meters away up in the stands :P

I very much doubt it. I'm sure they look perfectly acceptable from space though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Paulw wrote: »
    Now this is a much more interesting side of American sports photography. Much more attractive too - http://nbcsports.msnbc.com/id/27068610

I wouldn't call it sports photography and while we're at it, Al has some stunning sports photography of his own.
    wow, i hate sports photography, thus never wanted a telephoto

now i do

Go get one then.
    Cabaal wrote: »

Feel free to do so. New York has two big teams and is not that hard to get to.
    I think we should start a campaign to introduce cheerleaders in sports here :D

I think you'll find that rugby is your best chance here.
    JohnK wrote: »
    So thats why people are into sports. I always wondered what the attraction was :D

Most people into sports in this country are GAA/rugby/football. I'm not seeing the attraction. If you were all into figure skating and gymnastics...

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I'm getting a big vibe on cosmetics though.
    Great idea! :D I say we do her it...

CM: if you want to impress women who have a choice - basically any women actually, you'll keep comments like this to yourself in the future.

Calina wrote: »
    I think you'll find that rugby is your best chance here.

Yeesh, dont even want to imagine rugby cheerleaders. 10 girls, jumping out of their 'mommys' range rovers, wearing pyjama pants and ugg boots. "Loike, wasn't Chantal supposed to loike bring the pom poms loike?" Frightening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

YEs !!! was about to post same !!!

I'm surprised really... maybe they are the cheerleaders of the crappy teams !!
    :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Cheerleaders at most Bohemians Matches in Dalymount Park if your that way inclined.

Great Quoting Calina!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Didnt realise this became the 'lets try impress women' forum overnight. Sorry about that. Totally irrelavent comment in that case so, Was meant in a bit of craic kinda way... but what place does that hold in impressing women!

Someone should really change the forum name though. Might get the wrong impression.

And eh, who're you to be telling me about how to impress women, and what I should and shouldnt do?

Cheerleaders at most Bohemians Matches in Dalymount Park if your that way inclined.

I'm not.
    Great Quoting Calina!

That's what multiquote is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

hooray! Rymus is back...:D

And eh, who're you to be telling me about how to impress women, and what I should and shouldnt do?

Are ya fecking joking me? You need all the help you can get!

j/k

or was it?

I'm fascinated though...

like...the vast majority of sports photographers here are shooting men. The rugby guys don't go anywhere near women's matches in any of the codes that I can see...

it's not like women don't do sports, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Well, the documentary about Ben-Gals by Lauren Greenfield was also interesting to see. Again and again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

I've got a picture of Donncha O'Callaghan's arse, from last Sunday.
    Some Sale guy grabbed him by the shorts & yanked them down.
    Wonder if Calina would be so dismissive of that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

rymus wrote: »
    Yeesh, dont even want to imagine rugby cheerleaders. 10 girls, jumping out of their 'mommys' range rovers, wearing pyjama pants and ugg boots. "Loike, wasn't Chantal supposed to loike bring the pom poms loike?" Frightening.

LOL

A lot of Rugby League teams in the UK have cheerleaders. Can't say I've ever been to a game though, so can't comment on what they're like compared to the US cheerleaders.
    I wouldn't call it sports photography.

Well, it would be sports photography since you'd need sports accreditation to get pitchside access to take those images, and all the images are taken at sporting events. Also, MSNBC have the images under their Sports Photos selection.

I'm fascinated though...

like...the vast majority of sports photographers here are shooting men. The rugby guys don't go anywhere near women's matches in any of the codes that I can see...

2821995881_36e99c57b3.jpg

2536692533_9ba33ab8cc.jpg

2223468067_a8876ae4e5.jpg

2330040888_2cc9e4792d.jpg

2139793164_27a2abd829.jpg

2288319581_e457da7eef.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

...Was meant in a bit of craic kinda way... but what place does that hold in impressing women...

You could be on to something though -
    http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/relationships/survival-of-the-wittiest-1469753.html

Cool shots DK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

I'm fascinated though...

Lmao.

Maybe an upside of low attendance at womens sports is fewer photographers of the Benny Hill type.

And yes cheer leading doesn't fit either sports or arts well, strange mix of quasi-musical chants, elementary gymnastics/acrobatics, and 'dance' moves that seem to harken back to the burlesque efforts staged in wild west saloons - basically kicking up their knickers. Back then they drew in lonesome cowpokes, today cheer leaders augment the draw for sports events.

The whole psychology of titillation and non-nudism is fascinating. Obviously the male brain is wired to respond to the female pattern, but many native tribes go buck naked and see no need to cover up. It could be that once a group gets beyond a certain size the incidence of cheating and rape increases and then the revenge killings etc, so the cover up is instituted to preserve the peace.

The by-product of covering up is elevated mystery, if naturism were the norm a lot of models and photographers would be out of a job, scarcity = value.

2223841968_608fef2407_o.jpg

democrates wrote: »
    Lmao.

Maybe an upside of low attendance at womens sports is fewer photographers of the Benny Hill type.

And yes cheer leading doesn't fit either sports or arts well, strange mix of quasi-musical chants, elementary gymnastics/acrobatics, and 'dance' moves that seem to harken back to the burlesque efforts staged in wild west saloons - basically kicking up their knickers. Back then they drew in lonesome cowpokes, today cheer leaders augment the draw for sports events.

The whole psychology of titillation and non-nudism is fascinating. Obviously the male brain is wired to respond to the female pattern, but many native tribes go buck naked and see no need to cover up. It could be that once a group gets beyond a certain size the incidence of cheating and rape increases and then the revenge killings etc, so the cover up is instituted to preserve the peace.

The by-product of covering up is elevated mystery, if naturism were the norm a lot of models and photographers would be out of a job, scarcity = value.

WTF!

I have NEVER met anyone, who went to a sports event for the cheerleaders!
    They're purpose is to augment the atmosphere, not the attendance!

WTF!
    Relax I'm not saying all male photographers at womens sports events like Benny Hill.
    Great shots btw, fav is the hurler with the ball right between her face and the lens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I too have shot womens sports so -1 for the comment about the sports photographers shooting only male participation.

City-Exile wrote: »
    I have NEVER met anyone, who went to a sports event for the cheerleaders!
    They're purpose is to augment the atmosphere, not the attendance!
    What about the cheer leaders friends and families...
    Besides, it's plausible that someone deciding to attend or not ends up going, maybe never thinking "I'll go to see the cheer leaders" granted, but because cheer leaders augment the atmosphere they're one more thing on the 'go' side of the scales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

Particpating women

2243064680_ea4ee7155f.jpg

2647400546_c2283ccdd7.jpg

2647366700_edd9669b7d.jpg

The cheerleaders

2536116759_7f6efa1e0a.jpg

2681448998_e06b0d2d6e.jpg

And to think I started this topic as a lighthearted thing to end a hard week in work. And now look.

I also have sports images of women in sport. The fact that most images of sports are males playing sport is probably due to media want for coverage, the availability of such sport, etc.

Actually, when I was in the US 4 years ago, I attended a US women's international football game, and even they had female cheerleaders.

Anyway .... it's the weekend, and I've a football game to go to tonight.

Enjoy the weekend folks, whatever you photograph.

And to think I started this topic as a lighthearted thing to end a hard week in work. And now look.

I also have sports images of women in sport. The fact that most images of sports are males playing sport is probably due to media want for coverage, the availability of such sport, etc.

Actually, when I was in the US 4 years ago, I attended a US women's international football game, and even they had female cheerleaders.

Anyway .... it's the weekend, and I've a football game to go to tonight.

Enjoy the weekend folks, whatever you photograph.

You off to Stadio Richmondo Paul!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Lol funniest thread this week... Its amazing people can interpret such a simple topic so deeply.. Maybe its been a stressful Friday!

Some great action shots on the thread, nice work all..

You off to Stadio Richmondo Paul!

Nah, Stadio Mortono. :D Have to go where I can get some money. :cool:

You have been to Dalymount recently Shep, where are your Cheerleader pics!

I've been to Dalymount a few times this season, and have a few cheerleader picts in my Flickr. :rolleyes:

I have been there many times and have none, what does that say about me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

I like Benny Hill, what's wrong about it? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

CM: if you want to impress women who have a choice - basically any women actually, you'll keep comments like this to yourself in the future.[/quote]

Do women who become cheerleaders not have a choice? Think a lot of them are quite happy to do it in the hope some quaterback will spot them!! Gold digging I think its called. But lets not forget they are there to enhanse the atmosphere. Closest Iv seen is Brush Shields:confused: in Croke Park a few years ago when the Aussie Rules was on. He was super. Got the crowd in good form on a cold Autumn day:)

ThOnda wrote: »
    I like Benny Hill, what's wrong about it? :-)
    Can't believe you're 'one of them'!
    Anorak in the stand with a pap zoom mounted on your monopod with a big ball head, looking at the girls picturing them naked, sitting there thinking of that, it's disgusting. /lol-omg

Fav sketch ever was ye olde wishing well. It's one of the shows our family watched growing up (along with mash, cheers, minder, Kenny Everett etc). Laughs and ogles from the guys but far from approval from my mother rest her soul.

It's easy to investigate this perennial discord between the sexes through creative writing, chapters describing all the thoughts and feelings, or even an academic study "the etiology of inter-gender psychopathology from sociological and anthropological perspectives" - any literary agent would jump at that, gravy train to the emerald city for definite, or not.

On the other hand a picture paints a thousand words, the photo series of Beckham presented with an array of cheer leaders and Victoria's reaction speaks volumes and sold volumes. The gender divide in the comments on that link are predictable, but of course most of us looking at those shots will focus on the clever use of bokeh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Jaysis, no.

They'd do more damage to me than good.