Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What jobs do Gaelic footballers have?

• 23-10-2008 8:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭

anyone know what careers footballers have? what does colm cooper do? what does stephen o'neil do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Stephen O'Neill is a teacher as are Peter Canavan (I know he's retired), Colm McFadden and Rory Kavanagh from Donegal. Brian Dooher is a vet. Gooch works for a bank afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

they are regular people with regular jobs, of course they all try and find jobs thet will afford them some flexability and understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

smashey wrote: »
    Gooch works for a bank afaik.

Ulster bank i believe as does sean og, Brian dooher is a vet and practices here in derry and i have to bring the kitten to the local vet next week so it might be his place (she will be wearin some blue of course :D ) , Paul Griffin is a physio (i think)

Tom and marc o se are teachers also

EDIT Forgot Shane Ryan is a teacher know he was teachin in ballymun/surroundin area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

down here in the Kingdom they work as Bank Officials; Publicans; Draughtsmen; Sales Rep's; Insurance Brokers; Auctioneers; Teachers; Gardai ... They really are just normal men doing everyday jobs and i am wondering what the point of this thread is :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Pig farmers of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

I read that Sean Og O' Hailpin works in a bank in Cork (Ulster I believe) and is a loan's deciding officer. The Kilkenny hurling manager is a teacher I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Ok I will post the Dublin team plus a few others I know.

1.Stephen Cluxton (Teacher)
    2.David Henry (Teacher)
    3.McConnell (????)
    4.Barry Cahill (Sales manager)
    5.Paul Griffin (Physio)
    6.Ger Brennan (????)
    7.Collie Moran (Sales rep)
    8.Bryan Cullen (Salesman)
    9.Shane Ryan (Teacher)
    10.Ciaran Whelan (Insurance)
    11.Sherlock (Salesman)
    12.Alan Brogan (Car salesman)
    13.Bernard Brogan (?????)
    14.Mossy Quinn (Insurance/Dalkia)
    15.Diarmuid Connolly (Electrician)
    16.Mark Vaughan (Post-grad Student)
    17.John O Brien (Garda)
    18.Keaney (???)

Colm Cooper (Kerry - Bank Official)
    Ciaran MacDonald (Mayo - Civil engineer)
    Paul Galvin (Kerry - teacher)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

blackbelt wrote: »
    Ok I will post the Dublin team plus a few others I know.

1.Stephen Cluxton (Teacher)
    2.David Henry (Teacher)
    3.McConnell (????)
    4.Barry Cahill (Sales manager)
    5.Paul Griffin (Physio)
    6.Ger Brennan (????)
    7.Collie Moran (Sales rep)
    8.Bryan Cullen (Salesman)
    9.Shane Ryan (Teacher)
    10.Ciaran Whelan (Insurance)
    11.Sherlock (Salesman)
    12.Alan Brogan (Car salesman)
    13.Bernard Brogan (?????)
    14.Mossy Quinn (Insurance/Dalkia)
    15.Diarmuid Connolly (Electrician)
    16.Mark Vaughan (Post-grad Student)
    17.John O Brien (Garda)
    18.Keaney (???)

Colm Cooper (Kerry - Bank Official)
    Ciaran MacDonald (Mayo - Civil engineer)
    Paul Galvin (Kerry - teacher)

3.McConnell (Student)
    6.Ger Brennan (Student)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I always thought Ciaran Whelan was a garda, no?

I think it shows some dedication that these guys can work a normal job and fit in 4-5 nights of training a week, along with all the other sacrifices they have to make to play inter county. Fair play to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

I think it's mad the way most Footballers or Hurlers are either
    Teachers, Bank Officials or Gardai
    I suppose it must be the flexibilty of those jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Michael Meehan works in Bank of Ireland iirc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 mickdlk

I know a Louth player not naming anyone, who is on the Social Welfare:D:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

mickdlk wrote: »
    I know a Louth player not naming anyone, who is on the Social Welfare:D:eek:

Nonsense! None of dem furnurs play Gaelic Football...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

A few that I know;
    Paul Hearty – Electrician
    Francie Bellew – Builder(?)
    Kernans - Estate Agents
    Martin Mc Grath, Ferm’h Engineer / QS I think? (He was on a project I worked on before but can’t remember what he was doing)
    Aidan O’Rouke Proprietor of a Sports Photography business in Newry. Stevie McDonnell may have been involved as well
    Ronan Clarke Teacher, I think. (He trained as a teacher in Belfast anyway)
    Paddy Bradley – I heard he was employed by a prominent builder in Derry because of the publicity that he brings and is a good man to have sitting in a meeting, especially if the other parties are football fans. (I don’t know how true this is, but it did come from a team mate of his.)
    Owen Mulligan – Builder

Know a few of the Louth players occupations as well but most people probably won't know them.

ibh wrote: »
    A Paddy Bradley – I heard he was employed by a prominent builder in Derry because of the publicity that he brings and is a good man to have sitting in a meeting, especially if the other parties are football fans. (I don’t know how true this is, but it did come from a team mate of his.
    I think Paddy Bradley is a quantity surveyor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I think Paddy Bradley is a quantity surveyor.

The guy i know who told me about him was quite scathing in his assessment of Paddy's contribution to the company. This could be complete horsesh't but he gave me the impression that he was incharge of sticking envelopes and stuff like that!! He also had an BMW X5 as a company car!

Then again, doesn't take much to be a QS. It's like a yellow pack engineer:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Jimmy Nallen (Mayo) is a Physics Technician
    Trevor Mort manages the family business (quarrying)
    Peadar Gardiner is an auctioneer
    Ronan McGarrity is a bookie iirc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Shmuck

kerry4sam wrote: »
    down here in the Kingdom they work as Bank Officials; Publicans; Draughtsmen; Sales Rep's; Insurance Brokers; Auctioneers; Teachers; Gardai ... They really are just normal men doing everyday jobs and i am wondering what the point of this thread is :confused:

the point is I was just curious, and also wanted to see if any of them had particularly interesting jobs, for example when I go in for brain surgery am I likely to see that the surgeon operating on me is my favourite gaa player :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Shmuck wrote: »
    the point is I was just curious, and also wanted to see if any of them had particularly interesting jobs, for example when I go in for brain surgery am I likely to see that the surgeon operating on me is my favourite gaa player :)

Ah come on now it was a bad thread but i wouldnt go to that extreme just think before you post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Ken McGraths runs his own sports shop down in Waterford and Jason Ryan teaches PE in Dungarvan (he was actually my own PE teacher for 2 years). They're the only two I know of.

Shmuck wrote: »
    Ah come on now it was a bad thread but i wouldnt go to that extreme just think before you post ;)
    Who was the Meath player who was also a brain surgeon. :D Was it Brian Stafford?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

Managers I know but....

Sean Boylan runs a very successful herbal clinic. When I was a small child my parents brought me to him to help with my nose (breathing). Just found out the Kilkenny hurling manager (Brian Cody) is a primary school teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Who was the Meath player who was also a brain surgeon. :D Was it Brian Stafford?
    Gerry McEntee

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Gerry McEntee
    Thanks Brian.

I just googled and it appears that Gerry McEntee is not a brain surgeon but a consultant general surgeon with General Hepato-Biliary and Pancreatic Interest
    http://www.mater.ie/depts/surgery/hepato_biliary.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Het-Field wrote: »
    Paul Galvin is a thug

Now now. It was already said he was a teacher.

Het-Field wrote: »
    Paul Galvin is a thug
    Cruiserweight infracted you for the very same comment on July 30th and you just didn't learn from it.

You are now banned from this forum for two weeks.

Joe Brolly - Barrister.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Austin O'Malley a teacher in Dublin.
    James Gill and accountant in Westport.

Kerry Players:
    http://kerry.gaa.ie/intercounty/2007/senfoot/final2007/penpics.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

McConnell and Vaughan are still students? The lazy feckers! They were both in my class/year (the former in school, the latter in college) and I'm finished 2 and a half years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Vaughan went to Griffith College and did a cert course which then enabled him to go to DIT Aungier Street.He's now doing a post-grad course in Accounting I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yeah I was in Griffith with him. I won't comment any further :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

ya a good share of them have common jobs, but alot of them have decent jobs that they wouldn have had a hope of getting only for being footballers. sales rep/bank official tye jobs that they have/need no qualifications for, just turn up and do it. apparantly one high profile GAA players spend most of his day making Tea for the ladies in his workplace :)

as regards the kerry team -

tom sullivan/mahoney are guards.
    darragh o shea - auctioneer.
    scanlon - plumber
    galvin, thomas, mark - teachers.
    star - works in sports shop.
    griffin - pub
    alot of students, especially team members under 21/22.
    gooch - bank
    murphy - insurance
    brosnan - solicitor

back in the day, there was an amount of publicans on the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

a lot of em are teachers. i suppose they'd walk into a teaching job easier with the ability to teach the tricks of the trade on their CV. and the hours would suit their training and championship table down to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

John Mullane's an electrician. Maybe because whenever he gets on the field, he's electric :pac:

....no?

I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

deise59 wrote: »
    John Mullane's an electrician. Maybe because whenever he gets on the field, he's electric :pac:

....no?

I'll get my coat.

Or maybe its cos he's wired wrong!! Ah right i'll get my coat as well :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

jaysus lads, thats terrible!!

ye should both be banned for a day for those!!:D

one particluar kerry player who was fond of the drink, was a plasterer. in the munster final program one year, they did a profile of him, occupation - plastered. never a truer word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Gerry McEntee I think.

Sorry just realised I was beaten to it. But to be fair, as its Gerry he probably only comes on late in the operation.

(Well in my defence its not the first bad joke on this thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Was there not one of the members of the Dub team from the 70's who is a brain surgeon?

On a quick google it turns out to be David Hickey who won 2 All stars and 3 AI's in the 70's who is now the Director of Transplantation in Ireland based in Beaumont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Seamu$

ya a good share of them have common jobs, but alot of them have decent jobs that they wouldn have had a hope of getting only for being footballers. sales rep/bank official tye jobs that they have/need no qualifications for, just turn up and do it. apparantly one high profile GAA players spend most of his day making Tea for the ladies in his workplace :)

as regards the kerry team -

tom sullivan/mahoney are guards.
    darragh o shea - auctioneer.
    scanlon - plumber
    galvin, thomas, mark - teachers.
    star - works in sports shop.
    griffin - pub
    alot of students, especially team members under 21/22.
    gooch - bank
    murphy - insurance
    brosnan - solicitor

back in the day, there was an amount of publicans on the team.

Mossy Lyons is an actuary. Always thought he was a class footballer & I think the requirements of his study & job limited his chances. You need plenty of time to dedicate to training & playing.

Star is with Ulster Bank in Killarney now...his desk is practically in the window on the side of the street apparently. The sports shop he was in is closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭cmore123

Former player Joe Brolly is a barrister in Belfast.

Gooch works for Allied Irish Banks as a bank official.

"King" Henry Shefflin works for Bank of Ireland's Business Banking Unit.

Bernard Brogan is an accountant and his brother Alan is - as far as I know - a car salesman. Diarmuid Connolly works as an account manager for a business.

As others have said, fair play to them for organising their lives round not one but four things - family, work, club and county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Not sure when they stopped, but programmes for all games used to list occupations. I came across the 1984 final programme a few days ago and occupations were as follows:

O'Leary - Bank official
    Holden - Sales
    Hargan - Butcher
    Kennedy - Driver
    Canavan - Bank official
    Drumm - engineer
    Buckley - doesn't say
    Roynane - garage manager (was actually across from Croker iirc)
    Mullins - teacher
    Rock - Sales
    Conroy - nurse
    Duff - CIE
    Kearns - CIE electrician
    O'Toole - computer operator
    McNally - driver

Nelligan - Baker
    O'Sé - publican
    Walsh - Company director
    Mick Spillane - Insurance
    Doyle - company rep
    Tom Spillane - Company director
    Lynch - psychiatric nurse
    Jack O'Shea - plumber
    O'Donovan - electrician
    Kennedy - co-op employee
    Moran - PR
    Pat Spillane - PE teacher
    Liston - teacher
    Egan - Garda

Missing Kerry player is explained by them not naming right corner forward who turned out to be Sheehy if memory serves correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I always assumed a lot of lads in the big set ups would be sort of trophy employees..they're not really doing much work, more there as PR for the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Bambi wrote: »
    I always assumed a lot of lads in the big set ups would be sort of trophy employees..they're not really doing much work, more there as PR for the company.

That's how it is alright I'd say,no way you cab give 100% in an intercounty set up and do what's required these days in a demanding job,let alone juggle family\having a life too. Lot of cachet for certain companies in certain counties having all Ireland medal winners around,I'm sure its a plus in sales roles\whheling them out for clients. Would imagine there is a good few eternal students out there too these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Gooch would call to Alot of a school s

Bambi wrote: »

There was a story years ago about a Dublin player who was given a handy job but he showed up so rarely that they had no choice but to get rid of him :)

I wouldn't begrudge any of them getting a jobs boost to be honest. In any event it doesn't last long and not a few of them fall on hard times once the limelight is gone - even some of the bigger ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Not sure when they stopped, but programmes for all games used to list occupations. I came across the 1984 final programme a few days ago and occupations were as follows:

O'Leary - Bank official
    Holden - Sales
    Hargan - Butcher
    Kennedy - Driver
    Canavan - Bank official
    Drumm - engineer
    Buckley - doesn't say
    Roynane - garage manager (was actually across from Croker iirc)
    Mullins - teacher
    Rock - Sales
    Conroy - nurse
    Duff - CIE
    Kearns - CIE electrician
    O'Toole - computer operator
    McNally - driver

Nelligan - Baker
    O'Sé - publican
    Walsh - Company director
    Mick Spillane - Insurance
    Doyle - company rep
    Tom Spillane - Company director
    Lynch - psychiatric nurse
    Jack O'Shea - plumber
    O'Donovan - electrician
    Kennedy - co-op employee
    Moran - PR
    Pat Spillane - PE teacher
    Liston - teacher
    Egan - Garda

Missing Kerry player is explained by them not naming right corner forward who turned out to be Sheehy if memory serves correctly?

Out of interest, what was Anton O'Toole's actual job? Computer Operator must have sounded very glamorous back in 84, rather vague today though...

I always thought Tommy Doyle was a teacher. He must have gotten into it after 84.

Was wondering that myself!

I had cousin around that time whose mother used to boast that she was 'computer expert' in civil service. Her actual title was "key punch operator" which meant basically a typist with a computer rather than a typewriter! Not that there was anything wrong with that obviously.

You'd see a lot of Dublin players from Anton's era at games, some of them still very much involved, but don't recall ever seeing him. Hope he is doing well. He was brilliant player and holds record along with Mullins for most (4) Dublin AI winning medals.

Should have googled first! He manages Templeogue (O'Gara and Bastick's team) and worked in Guinness IT Dept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Reviving a thread from 2008!!:pac:

Of the Dublin team of the 70's Hanahoe became one of the country's wealthiest solicitors, Robbie Kelleher used to pop up occasionally as a stockbroker with Davy's and Paddy Cullen had his pub. Sean Doherty was a Garda, he was stationed on the Hill for a couple of AI finals.

This might be an urban myth but at the 1983 AI semi-final (or Leinster final) Dublin had 6 players down as "unemployed", 4 weeks later only one was Unemployed, theothers were all in state jobs, CIE, P&T etc. Not sure how true it is, but we used to have a load of programmes from those times and there was always a couple who were on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Red Kev wrote: »
    Reviving a thread from 2008!!:pac:

Of the Dublin team of the 70's Hanahoe became one of the country's wealthiest solicitors, Robbie Kelleher used to pop up occasionally as a stockbroker with Davy's and Paddy Cullen had his pub. Sean Doherty was a Garda, he was stationed on the Hill for a couple of AI finals.

This might be an urban myth but at the 1983 AI semi-final (or Leinster final) Dublin had 6 players down as "unemployed", 4 weeks later only one was Unemployed, theothers were all in state jobs, CIE, P&T etc. Not sure how true it is, but we used to have a load of programmes from those times and there was always a couple who were on the dole.

I knew my old man used to claim that Joe McNally would have a different job in every game programme

Actually that thing of putting up lads jobs was a bit weird when you think of it