Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would it be mean to tell?

• 23-10-2008 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I have moved to a new housing development and everything is fine except there are boy racers cars calling to one of the houses. One of the regulations on our agreement of taking the house is not to do anti social behavious nor allow anyone calling to your house to do it.

I know a garda who told me when i complained about these idiots in another place and he said any problems in new area could call him as tghere have been complaints in this general area before. i could also report them to local authority. but i do not want to cause them any problems to the person living there as they are responsible for behaviour of callers

i do not object to their interest in cars only the noise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Do you mean that the boy racers visit this other house or that they constantly drive around the estate, causing noise?

If your Garda friend offered to come out if there are noise disturbances do ring him/her and have them drive by and scare the racers off occasionally. The racers will probably just go somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Are they racing in your area? They need to cope on so yes tell the guards, let them kill themselves in another estate:D I understand you dont want to get the neighbour in trouble but ya got to look out for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Have they raced in the estate?, caused any other problems other than noise? You have to understand that the person living there has the right to have anyone they want over, if they have an interest in cars most likely their friends do and will visit the houses.

I used to live in an estate, apartment block type place and my car is a sports car and can be a little noisy when starting up etc and I parked in my space outside the door, almost everytime I started my car I had this girl a few doors down coming out and giving out to me about it, what ami meant to say?

"Eh yeah sorry I won't start my car anymore if I need to go out"

Don't start going to the gards, go talk to them and ask them if there is anywhere they MAY be able to park at night as it is quite loud.If you go to the guards you'll create a bad impression and they most likely won't do anything anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

biko wrote: »
    Do you mean that the boy racers visit this other house or that they constantly drive around the estate, causing noise?
    do you mean they visit like picking up friend to go out and coming back at again. Or that they race in or is it just the noise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

Shop them..................cant make noise at 3am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

So you're worried about being mean to them ?

They don't seem to be too worried about being mean to you.

Plus "telling" is legal; what they're doing isn't.

If they're interested in cars, no problem.....but if they're idiotic enough to fit those noisy exhausts and could-do-a-function-room-disco sound systems and/or screech off with wheelspins or "doughnuts" in their pathetic "I'm impotent (at least mentally, but probably physically too) so I've got to make more noise and annoy people to make myself feel impo[r]tant", then stand up for your rights and get them seen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 tinabyrne5

We have the same problem in our estate, with people visiting one particular family on our road. Screeching onto the road and pulling hand-breakers in front of the house, then constantly beeping until they get the attention of the family intended.
    We didn't want to report anything as we knew the owner of the house would be the one that would get into trouble but after years of this going on we reported them to the council because it was only a matter of time before some poor child got killed. We also thought that if the owner was anyway decent she would put a stop to it herself but didn't seem to care as her children were (1st) all grown up and (2nd) the ones that were doing it.
    But to this day they are still at it so don't bother going to the council!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I'm afraid i missed what exactly they are doing to you apart from having fast/loud cars. Owning said cars isn't anti social behaviour in itself.

If they haven't done anything wrong then you can't really report them for what they might do. If on the other hand they are flying around the estate and/or causing noise etc late at night then you should go complain about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Shop them..................cant make noise at 3am

I am pretty sure it's legal to drive a car at 3am....

Different story if they are racing / speeding...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

jhegarty wrote: »
    Different story if they are racing / speeding...

.....and, surely, if they have those very annoying very loud exhausts and/or stereo systems ?

It's unfortunate that the Government DIDN'T clamp down on some of this stuff - a rally car is MEANT to sound like a rally car, and a nightclub is MEANT to sound like nightclub, whereas a road car is meant to sound like neither....

But yes, OP - what exactly is the issue ? Is it noise ? And is that noise excessive due to the modified cars, or is it just that there's lots of people coming and going ?

Are they extra drunk or rowdy leaving the house ?

Or are they making a nuisance of themselves by driving in a way that wouldn't be tolerated on a public road ?

I used to live next door to a p***k who'd get drunk, open all the windows and turn the stereo up full @ 3am.....

It's his house, and he's entitled to get drunk and listen to music, but doing all of those at that hour made it unbearable, so the Guards were there on a couple of occasions.