Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IPO - Comments / Feedback / Suggestions

• 20-10-2008 2:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I hope everyone had a great weekend at the Regency! Planning is already underway for next year as we learn lessons from this year. If you have any feedback, positive or negative, observations, comments, suggestions, etc we want to know. Let us know what we got right, and especially what we got wrong.

Let us know what you want next year!!!

Jeff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Everything seemed fantastic to me, Dealers were uniformly great and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Jeff,

Overall excellent fun only downside was the tables were jammed in and the place was like a sweat box inside.

Well done on getting down from 1300+ to 1 essentially in a 2 day event.
    Fran

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Bigger room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

Really enjoyed myself, thanx to all involved. One obvious criticism is the size of the room and the ventilation. The monitors bugging out was a bit of a slip too, prob best to test em next year b4 the event. The side events/cash games could have got started a bit sharper, there were a lot of players milling around for hours with bugger all to do. All minor points tho, great atmosphere, big-tourny feel for small tourney buyin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,692 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

More threads needed on Boards! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

More sister pictures please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Negatives
    Definitely change the structure for the side events..... really really bad structures except for the omaha....

Capping the omaha at 64 was very stupid, but I believe it was to do with lack of chips, so I have no doubt that it will be fine next year. Omaha tournament was brillant, great structure 4K + 5K double chance meant for a really deep stack feel to the game.

Turn the volume down on the Microphones, it was very very very noisy in the room

Positives

Dealers were top class, and there was very quick decisions made with regards to rulings etc., by the floor managers...., and everyone worked their socks off. In fact I would have to say that I didn't come accross any bad dealers the whole weekend.

Brillant atmosphere, honestly it cannot even be compared to the RDS last year. Having Boyle poker involved, really raised the bar in my opinion, and the final table definitely had a big entry feel about it, with players being announced and making their grand entrance (as opposed to the jackpot the previous year) and Mad Marty & Co. doing the commentary.

The Regency has really been done up nicely and there was a great buzz about the place...

The old "I think we need a bigger boat" might come into play for next year though as I feel that this could easily have hit the 2,000 entrants mark this year no problem..

Well done to Poker Ireland and Boyle sports for making it a great weekend of cards.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭smcb

i can't see there being too many legitimate complaints. absolutely brilliant weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Bigger room for sure, I was really uncomfortable at my table, and forced to either stand up or be squashed in every time someone tried to pass. Any other gripes I have are far too minor to be worth mentioning. Thought you guys did a great job overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

I'd like to win when I get it in with AK next year, apart from that it was absolutley brilliantly run. Structure was perfect for such a sized event, couldn't have done it any better. The tables were a bit crampled but this was unavoidable and wasn't even that noticeable anyway. Dealers, floor staff etc were great and it all kicked off on time. Same again next year would be perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

thought it was an excellently run event.... really enjoyed it.... only minor gripes were like some of the above.... i found the heat in the room uncomfortable and tables in some areas were too close together..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Suggestions : Please provide a room for more thorough massages
    Comments : You were more coherant than Steve on the microphone, I think it's time he stepped down and let a younger man take over, I met him in reception on the way out and I thought it was his old man I was talking to. He is probably in a coma right now similar to Doke but when he wakes up pat him on the back and say well done Steve, and get him to give you one also. (A pat that is ) - Super job.

the room was too cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

For all the 3 hands i lasted :D:D

Event was well run, Room was very tight and sweaty and that was the only complaint Tbh floor staff and dealers were good . The Dealer changes were flawless , It went from the madness of the Rds event to and event that people learned from previous mistakes .

It showed Steven and Jeff took on board what was said last year and fixed every problem that was out there and made a great event.The only thing i was held up on was the cash tables i waited 4 hours for the first one but that was also out of your hands so i understood. The room is perfect for a 50 table tournament and i think its a good venue .U will prob have 4 start days next year by the looks of it as this event will grow and grow . I can see this topping 2000 players next year.

Well done to all at Boyles and Poker Ireland, Controlling that type of field is not easy but it was done very well and both companies can be happy with all performances.

Roll on the IPO 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

For all the 3 hands i lasted :D:D

bet you folded the first two pre flop ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Overall it was great to have so many people from so many different countries all under the 1 roof - to think that this is only the second one shows how successful this is and how big this can get

As prev noted - room way too crowded - it was prob a 20min spin just to get to and from the toilets, 1 needs to be able to get from seat without having to ask 10 people to move
    Regards the clock - really minor complaint - im sure this will be resolved next year

Really apart from the crowding this was fab - maybe a bigger venue next year to enable side-games - sitngo's and cash

You could even maybe increase the buyin from 150 to 200 ?, maybe this might be against the overall accessability but not really

The amount of famous names really added to the atmosphere too - so all in all well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Am very very pleased to hear it was a great sucess, as the concept is great!Am sincer honest when i say am happy for all involved!

And as i said to the Boyls people in Killarney, i think it really is a great idea working with a site that are irish and "on the spot", so much easier to be involved in everything and put in manpower.

Also indeed very happy it was cut down to 600 starting per day as the RDS really was not a place to create any athmosphear at all. Starting 1200 in one day is.. welll. phew.

WELL DONE.. and i really wish i could been over, instead i had the pleasure of sitting in the emergency room all friday night. And am now "chatbanned" in IRL, thats odd :-) (very unexpected had to operate my throath)

All best!
    Anna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

I really enjoyed my short stint in the IPO this year. However I would have an issue with the structure. It got too crapshooty very early. Average stack was 18 bb's at one stage as I nosed over from the cash tables early on the Friday night. .

Maybe 20k starting stack with 60 minute clock should be considered.

WP on all other accounts except the very very warm room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭F@ces

Just want to say brilliant day, finished just shy of Day 2.

Last year wasn't a patch on this year - a fantastic job all round. I heard Day 1A was a bit tight for space, no such complaints on Day 1B anyway. Seriously, this was just a super tourney for the reg.

The only thing is I would also perhaps slightly agree with Jay. It did get a bit crapshooty a few hours in, and there was little play to be had when even the avg stack was only marginally above 15-20 BB's or so. It's ok for some people who get all their money in behind but run like God :P

Also the heat. I had a pair of 8's that nearly melted in my hands :D

Small complaints. If I played more online I'd move to Boyles after seeing that. Also, Stephen and DIT, I noticed Jesse left yee out when congratulating people and just went on about Boyles. So fair play pokerireland :)

All in all - WP GG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭High-Tower

Great tournament and structure,look forward to next year, however I had 2 serious gripes at my particular table, even after numerous complaints to the dealers and floor director...

1.The amount of non-English chat spoken between the 4 French players at my table...
    2.Everyone who busted out, got moved tables or wanted to take a photograph,proceeded to push and lift my chair to get by...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Great event, big improvement on last year.

While I didn't get the chance to play any of the side events, from speaking to players at the bar they seemed very crapshooty.

Not everyone will agree with on this, but I think may have 30 Min Blinds for say 10 levels and then increase the blinds. This will help you open up tables for cash and SnG's earlier and give longer blinds in the Main Event when it matters.

Well Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

How are people complaining about structures? Its a €150 tournament and youre looking for WSOP structures? Side events are always going to be crapshooty, the structures were posted, its up to you if you think theres value or not but all tournaments sold out so seems most people were happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

For all of the twenty minutes i was there it went really well(apart from going bust).Job well done to Stephen,Jeff,Danielle and all the folk from Boyle!!!Great success..lookin forward to 2009! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

Well done to Boyles and Poker Ireland. Very smoothly run event from what i saw in the brief time i was still in it.
    Only 2 problems need addressing:

1. Bigger (and later) bar.
    2. No mugshots of Marty Smyth on the Sunderland jerseys.

Seriously wp to paul ciaran steven and all others involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

+1million on the space, it was impossible to move around in there for the spectators etc, very annoying to be stuck waiting for a break to get to the toilet cos its going to take so long to get around. also it didnt help for the rapidly changing room temperatures. there was opportunity for infinite cash games there if u could push the deal through to keep them open through the night.
    heard quite a bit of moaning about side event structures and payouts, but didnt play any myself.
    also, would have killed for a pint after the game on saturday night, before walking back to skylon. late bar ftw

aside from the little things, this was a great tourney, very well run, and great to get the foreigners over to make it a bit unique.
    WP all involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

profesionally run, no shortage of floor staff and there was really a professional touch to it. Considering such a small buy in tournament this is testament to all those involved in running it. Seemed to be no expense spared.

Congrats again guys.

Donal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

Next year? :confused:

When I was talking to Paul Spillane on Sat night/Sun morning he was all in favour of every 8 weeks or so.

OK so it was 5 or 6 am and he was hammered, but I really believed him :D

Seriously, great job everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

bohsman wrote: »
    How are people complaining about structures? Its a €150 tournament and youre looking for WSOP structures? Side events are always going to be crapshooty, the structures were posted, its up to you if you think theres value or not but all tournaments sold out so seems most people were happy.

Unusually, for once I agree with this. I had originally planned to play the omaha as it was the one side event I felt had a decent structure but was sick yesterday and ended up giving it a miss.

As for the main event, I actually wouldn't want too much of an increase in it. It is a €150 tournament after all. Maybe the clock being increased to an hour for day two would be good because you are at the business end by then. But having to grind 15k and an hour clock when you need to finish in the top 27 of 1400 odd to make anything worth talking about would make me not want to bother if I'm being honest.

Like a lot of people I would argue that the room needed to be bigger and better ventilated. But apart from that it was a really well run event imo - especially when one considers the reg fee paid per player.

My one gripe was how much play slowed down for the last five or six levels on the Friday. I mean, it is just so ****ing annoying when people are banking for 30 - 45 seconds while thinking whether to enter a pot or not preflop!! Particularly when we are on a 40 minute clock, that type of stalling is very frustrating. The French and UK players were easily the worst for it - maybe instigating some sort of timebank rules might be something to consider on a general level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭horsebox1

My first experience in a tournie of this size. I normally play pub tournies
    I really enjoyed the welcome to the event and the buzz of the overall experience.
    When you think about the word of mouth from this tournie there will be a lot more interest next year, especially if you also consider the European players who got great value for their money.

The atmosphere was fantastic and it was deffo right that no gargle was allowed into the main room. I agree with half hour blinds increasing to 40mins after level 8.

Stephen was very helpful pre tournie answering any queries with quick response

Are there any other similar tournies for the same value around Dublin?

Here’s to next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PatRabbite4life

I though Jeffs sister could have worn a shorter skirt:p but other then that it gets the Big THUMBS UP from all at labour youth, (there were 7 of us playing, all out within the first 2 hours, LOL).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Lady Di

My only complaint is that its only once a year!! :(

Brill tourney and really enjoyed it. Obviously very cramped but you guys know that, well done to you all involved for pulling it off so well!!

Lady Di wrote: »
    My only complaint is that its only once a year!! :(

As I mentioned above. Paul was having a great time and is/was well up for more than once a year.

Maybe we should start a petition? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Only 2 complaints are that it felt very squashed at times with not much room to pass. Two of the dozen or so dealers I had were very very poor. Very slow and had so much trouble with shuffling, dealing and organising the pots that the players had to intervene. Apart from that I thought the tourney was very well run from Boyles to Poker Ireland and will defintly be back to play next year.

4%20Thumbs%20Up.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

Agree with Lloyd and bohs about keeping the structure as it is for the size of the buy in. Bringing some well known players over to play was a good touch. Ended up sitting beside Andy Black for a couple of hours on the Friday.
    To echo everyone else, my only criticism would have been the space.
    Extremely enjoyable overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Lady Di

Grafter wrote: »
    As I mentioned above. Paul was having a great time and is/was well up for more than once a year.

Maybe we should start a petition? :)

I'm with you all the way Grafter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

bohsman wrote: »

People were asked for their comments & opinions and they are giving them. Nobody suggested you should have WSOP structures but a tweek here & there to improve gameplay should not be dismissed just because this was a small buy-in tourney. Don't think anyone here is criticising in any shape or form TBH. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Tough Johnnson!

as most people said, you need a bigger room next year! oh and more french!

any chance of a 5er multi rebuy super sat next year jeff???:D

congrats to you and stephen for a very well run tournament, looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

My only gripe was with the bar facilities, or lack thereof. Getting a drink at the tiny bar was a virtual impossibility during the breaks, necessitating frequent brief exits during play to maintain the level of intoxication I've become accustomed to. I know I'm in a minority, but hardly the only alco in a field of 1300 players.
    Very happy with just about everything else. I think the heat a/c problem was sorted for Saturday.

My only gripe was with the bar facilities, or lack thereof. Getting a drink at the tiny bar was a virtual impossibility during the breaks, necessitating frequent brief exits during play to maintain the level of intoxication I've become accustomed to. I know I'm in a minority, but hardly the only alco in a field of 1300 players.

There was a rumour going around that the true alco's had a diet coke can with them at all times ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Negatives:
    Room was too small and too cramped. Moving around and getting in between tables was pretty awkward, also had same problem when people were trying to walk in between our table and I was constantly moving my chair etc

At times the room was swelteringly hot especially early on, not sure if the AC was down or what but it didn't feel great.

1 or 2 slow dealers, 1 I had to talk through a chip race but considering the size that's understandable. My biggest annoyance were that some of the better dealers I felt were being overly strict about things. I think in a tournament like this which attracts lots of new people and players from abroad leeway and common sense should be used as much as possible.

Positives:
    My negatives are pretty minor and I am mainly just being picky.

It was a huge improvement over last year. It seemed pretty much everyone who worked the IO was working this which meant the floor staff were much much better, the standard of dealing was much improved and the event felt much more professional.

I think the structure of main event is fine imo. I mean I am not sure what more people really can expect for a 3 day tournament with 1300 people and €150 buyin. I didn't play side events so can't comment on them.

You got 400 odd french players to come over!

You really consolidated the IPO brand, everyone seemed happy. It felt like a big event and I can see it going from strength to strength

Jeffs sister.

So overall congrats on the event. You should all be proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

semibluff wrote: »
    profesionally run, no shortage of floor staff and there was really a professional touch to it. Considering such a small buy in tournament this is testament to all those involved in running it. Seemed to be no expense spared.

Congrats again guys.

Donal

just to mention aswell there were alot of boardsters involved in the success of the weekend of different job specifications. So from Jeff, Stephen, Ciaran Corbett, Paul Spillane, Mick Locke, all the dealers (running out of usernames i know who worked at it). . . and Mrs Grafter for the updates! well done all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

First time I ever stepped away from the PC and played with real cards so I've nowt to compare it with. Apart from the crowded thing, I remember thinking to myself that the jumps in blinds were a bit steep in parts, but maybe I'm asking too much for the money as the lads said above. I also found the announcements quite booming and distracting at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

There was a rumour going around that the true alco's had a diet coke can with them at all times ;)
    Yeah, I guess I should be a little bit more organised. Brought a backpack of 'refreshements' with me last year. Just didn't think I'd need to this year as it was in a hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ELJODIE

I agree with all the comments. Great weekend....
    Well run. Started on time.......

Any Results from ladies tourney.

Can't wait for next year.

and Mrs Grafter for the updates!

Thanks for the mention. Yours was the only Thankyou she got in 4 hours.

She loved doing it, but has multiple sclerosis and tires easily, so I made her quit when there was a lack of appreciation.

Seems like a good time to Thank those who played with her on day 1b and the side event after. If you were at the table with the skinny blonde who said she'd never played before (and she hasn't), my heartfelt Thanks. I know you know who you are, she's hard to forget :)

She had a great weekend and was thrilled with how friendly and helpful everyone was.

Her Boylepoker hoodie is very comfy and she kept the press pass as a momento.

She says to tell you she'll be back and that you won't get her with house over house every time :)

zuutroy wrote: »
    First time I ever stepped away from the PC and played with real cards so I've nowt to compare it with. Apart from the crowded thing, I remember thinking to myself that the jumps in blinds were a bit steep in parts, but maybe I'm asking too much for the money as the lads said above.

It's funny you say that, I thought the opposite. My first time live too. There were a few times when I found the blind jump surprisingly small.

Can't remember exactly, but for example, I expected 1000/2000 to be followed online stylie by 1500/3000, so 1200/2400 was a pleasant surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Thanks for the mention. Yours was the only Thankyou she got in 4 hours.

She loved doing it, but has multiple sclerosis and tires easily, so I made her quit when there was a lack of appreciation.

Seems like a good time to Thank those who played with her on day 1b and the side event after. If you were at the table with the skinny blonde who said she'd never played before (and she hasn't), my heartfelt Thanks. I know you know who you are, she's hard to forget :)

She had a great weekend and was thrilled with how friendly and helpful everyone was.

Her Boylepoker hoodie is very comfy and she kept the press pass as a momento.

She says to tell you she'll be back and that you won't get her with house over house every time :)
    wow, fair play to her. Big effort on her part, and she was the only one keeping the boardsies updates, go her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Can't remember exactly, but for example, I expected 1000/2000 to be followed online stylie by 1500/3000, so 1200/2400 was a pleasant surprise.

Yeah - that was a great blind level to have in there. Kudos to whoever did the structure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Positives:

400 French players played

People working the floor was very efficient

Everything seemed very professionaly run

Great atmosphere, good craic

Negatives:

I actually was very disappointed with the standard of dealers that dealt to me. I was dealt to by 7 different dealers and only 5 of them were decent. Its probably not worth mentioning as maybe I was just got unlucky and also dealers obviously do get better over time. I'm sure its something that would be improved on whether people mentioned or not.

Room wasn't ideal etc.

They're the only negatives I can think of, so overall I was very pleased with the setup

Cogratulations on another great success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

wow, fair play to her. Big effort on her part, and she was the only one keeping the boardsies updates, go her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,692 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

+1. I wasnt around over the weekend but had a read of the updates Sunday evening and was good to see how boards folk were gettting on. Well played Mrs G!