Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

808 State in Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Should be a great night! :D:D:D

Anyone got any more details?

Guess there'll be some here

http://www.808state.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=1&sid=4b17aa8130585f4f6d517f606c5bb3d0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

YOU BEAUTY:D legends in dance music, 21 years later and they are still going strong i think that says it all really..needless to say im there for this.:cool:

Got tickets already. It's like Christmas!

Must check out their site and see what they're playing these days. Though I think I could listen to them playing the spoons.

See u there man, has potential to be the best gig of the year:cool:

Killer Tune, still sounds amazing to this day i still drop this occasionaly:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF0p3nHv3jg

OMG:eek::eek::eek: this is an unreal line up all on the same bill, i seriously have to get to this, incredibe, THIS is serious value for money big time.....

Hacienda Warehouse Party! Glasgow

HACIENDA WAREHOUSE PARTY
    SATURDAY 13/12/08
    Glasgow’s first guerrilla venue hosts official Hacienda show

Glasgow’s first guerrilla venue, The Print Factory, announce their second exclusive gig today - an unabashedly amazing all-dayer of unadulterated homage to The Hacienda – the legendary Manchester club which defined a generation, gave birth to the world clubbing scene as we know it and provided the soundtrack to an infamous and influential era.
    The Hacienda presents The Hacienda Warehouse Party is a dual city project, headlined by Mancunian icons, The Happy Mondays with FAC51’s Manchester’s date coming a fortnight later at The Warehouse Project on Sunday 28th December. This is preceded by this Glasgow gig which takes place on Saturday 13th December from 3pm until 1am (subject to license). The Print Factory all-dayer also boasts a completely one-off and exclusive line up of Hacienda legends and friends, all playing together as a once in a lifetime experience in the completely unique building that is The Print Factory venue.

Tickets for the pre-Christmas all-day Hacienda extravaganza go on sale tomorrow, Saturday 11ththrough www.gigsinscotland.compriced £26 for an estimated 10 hour acid house extravaganza, populated by a raft of acts that helped contribute to the ‘Madchester’ explosion.

Topping the bill at The Print Factory are “Madchester personified”, legendary act The Happy Mondays. Along with the Stone Roses, the Mondays were THE seminal Manchester act and were instrumental, along with New Order, in bridging the gap between dance and rock music. When the NME reviewed their second album ‘Bummed’, they said “the world has never heard anything like this”, but it was ‘Pills, Thrills and Bellyaches’, that led to them selling out stadiums across the world.

We are also proud to announce rare UK DJ set from Darren Emerson, ex member of electronic giants Underworld who’s ‘dubnobasswithmyheadman’ album attracted critical acclaim the world over the world over before finding more commercial success with their follow-up ‘Second Toughest In the Infants’. Darren has remained one of the most cutting edge DJ’s and producers with his work with Sasha on “Scorchio”, his own label “Underwater” and his present, dancefloor destroying single, “Crashjack” on Global Underground and we’re delighted to have him close the event after the Happy Mondays.

The early evening slot is dedicated to a very, very special live head-melting set from seminal godfathers of UK acid house 808 State, in another unmissable and rare set, the band having recently laid waste to a headliners slot at Bestival. With 808 State’s pedigree and reputation as techno innovators through albums like “Newbuild”, “Quadrastate”, “Newbuild” and “Ex:el” their appearance is not only for those old enough to remember the glory days first hand but also those who want to celebrate the memory of The Hacienda and party alongside some of its most famous musical legends.

And where would Glasgow be without Slam? Stuart and Orde will be performing a rare Acid House set in homage to the Hacienda. This will bring back memories of a certain Slam/Hacienda party in Glasgow’s Tramway Theatre that brought the south side of Glasgow to a stand still a few years back - 808 State headlined that particular show as well!

An afternoon of experimental alchemy is in store from A Certain Ratio, one of Factory Record’s main and longest serving outfits, whose punk, funk, electro disco stylings are name checked as influences by present day heroes such as LCD Soundsystem and the one and only New Order producer and DJ’ing legend Arthur Baker is set to kick off proceedings with his anarchic “rip it up or rip it off” obsession for making you dance! Arthur Baker is most famous for his production work on Afrika Bambaata’s ‘Planet Rock’, New Order’s ‘Blue Monday’ and Kraftwerk’s ‘Trans Euro Express’. Not a bad CV!

The old News International building in Glasgow’s South Side will provide an atmospheric and spiritually in-keeping backdrop for this very special re-visit of a magical era in the UK music scene. FAC 51 The Hacienda presents The Hacienda Warehouse Party forms part of the first series of guerrilla gigs, which will take place in December only, to take place at this iconic landmark. Glasgow heroes The Fratellis perform on Saturday 20th December. More exclusive and eclectic announcements will follow in due course from The Print Factory.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

:eek: I'm going to the DEAF closing night this weekend so will have to start hinting towards more baby-sitting now for this too... cannot miss this!!!

Felixdhc wrote: »
    :eek: I'm going to the DEAF closing night this weekend so will have to start hinting towards more baby-sitting now for this too... cannot miss this!!!

Let us know if your going to this man and wanna meet up, with a line up as good this cannot be missed.

PM on the way BTW;)

Absolutely, defo can't miss this.

I only bought the recent reissues of their albums, amazing stuff... didn't bother with Gorgeous though as it sounds a bit dance-pop-chart-sh*te. I always hated the UB40 track they did, One in Ten [puke-smiley]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭CTRob

Yep this will be savage can't wait :)

jonny68 wrote: »
    Killer Tune, still sounds amazing to this day i still drop this occasionaly:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF0p3nHv3jg

Yep, great stuff. Though I preferred

Olympik
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40ybCpfe4h4

and

Plan 9
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9B2ybeAX2Y

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

DJ Yoda is playing the same night too, I think the one ticket covers both gigs, but pity its clashing with ILT...... otherwise, id have been a dead cert, €25 is great value too!

Who here has any sympathy for anyone missing it because they are going abroad to a major techno festival? ;)

Incidentally, another classic is Lift
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QFIzcucxn_k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭nah_biy!

Conor get back the the City forums or I'll bait ya!

Only a few days now, who's up for this then?

Making the trip up from Kerry, with the wife.

We were in 2nd year together when Pacific was released, we'll be the two slow dancing to it! ;)

Is this thing on in a few venues?

Where are 808 State and what time they gonna be on at, tickets just say doors open at 9 but presume they won't be on for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

BESTIVAL REUNION

CrawDaddy

9.45pm – 10.45pm : Florence and the Machine

11pm – 12pm : Dan LeSac vs Scroobius Pip

12.15am – 1.15am : The Cuban Brothers

1.30am – 2.30am : 808 State (Live)

POD

9pm – 10.30pm : Kormac

10.30pm – 12.30am : Rob da Bank

12.30am – 2.30am : DJ Yoda

Lobby

9pm – 11.30pm : Stephen Manning

11.30pm – 2.30am : Tom Middleton

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    BESTIVAL REUNION

CrawDaddy

9.45pm – 10.45pm : Florence and the Machine

11pm – 12pm : Dan LeSac vs Scroobius Pip

12.15am – 1.15am : The Cuban Brothers

1.30am – 2.30am : 808 State (Live)

POD

9pm – 10.30pm : Kormac

10.30pm – 12.30am : Rob da Bank

12.30am – 2.30am : DJ Yoda

Lobby

9pm – 11.30pm : Stephen Manning

11.30pm – 2.30am : Tom Middleton

Right this requires military planning:D im also getting an access all areas ticket as i wanna try catch some of Richie Hawtin so her goes.

10.30 - 11.30 Rob Da Bank

11.30 -12.30 Tom Middleton

12.30-1.20 Richie Hawtin (assuming he starts then)

1.30 - Finish 808 STATE

I'm very excited about seeing 808 State, it's been quite sometime.

Felix i hope your there man;)

Making the trip up from Kerry, with the wife.

We were in 2nd year together when Pacific was released, we'll be the two slow dancing to it! ;)

ah go on ya big romantic,:D i think i was with some mot as well when that tune first came out.

have a good one man, ill be the one dancing around like a loon:D

jonny68 wrote: »
    im also getting an access all areas ticket as i wanna try catch some of Richie Hawtin so her goes.

Didn't even know about these. Balls. Stuck with the plain old €25 one. They might have been more informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Really looking forward to Tom Middletons classics set. Should be a great night. Hopefully as good as Tony Humphries last week. :P

Yiz lucky feckers! Can't make this now after all, away with work till Saturday :(

Have a great night, and some clips please if possible so I can see/hear what I missed. :pac:

Set list from their latest gigs

NIMBUS
    COBRA BORA
    TECHNO CITY
    QUINCY
    COLONY
    TIMEBOMB
    PACIFIC
    IN YER FACE
    CUBIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭CTRob

Its a bit ****ty that 808 r only playing for 1 hour :confused: But not to worry we'll make it work, especially if they drop in yer face and cubik i'll be well happy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 thedrunkleader

Lads, what date is this on? Maybe I missed it, but I'm pretty sure its not anywhere on the thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Lads, what date is this on? Maybe I missed it, but I'm pretty sure its not anywhere on the thread!

Its tommorrow.

Fantastic nite, i was having so much fun listening to Tom Middleton i only remembered 808 State were on next door and only caught the last 20 mins of them playing live:obut what i did see was fantastic,ill upload one or two vids i took later,great to see the lads still playing live after all this time, and sound lads as well i spoke to Ghram Massey and the MC (who wa s looking to get sorted out:D) but dare i say it Tom Middleton almost overdshadowed them played a storming old skool set, played some obvious classics but i couldn't believe he also played The Orb and Orbital alongside a number of other old skool tunes that wouldn't be as widely known, in fact im alsmost sure he wasn't supposed to play until the end but he did and the atmosphere was fantastic,best nite the POD has had in years
    definitely be checking out more Tom Middleton http://www.myspace.com/tommiddleton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Totally agree, I thought Tom Middleton was deadly although a bit of a tosser. Loved it when he played Future Sound Of London "Papua New Guinea", Loved little fluffy clouds aswell. Strange choice but worked very well. Loved 2 Bad Mice "Bombscare" aswell and all the prodigy. Brilliant night had by all. Great buzz aswell. Nearly missed all of 808 State but i caught "pacific symphony", thanks be to ****. Watched Yoda for a while aswell. He has to be 1 of the most technically gifted Dj's on the planet. Unbelievable stuff. I thought it was going to be 2 packed but too my surprise it wasn't.(for once)

Raging I couldn't make this, would love to have seen both Tom Middleton and 808 State.

Big fan of Tom Middleton too, he has released some amazing music over the years ranging from very chilled as Global Communication right up to some pretty full-on techno as Reload and with some nice funky house in between. A great DJ too and has had some very nice chilled mixes as well as good house selections... never heard him do a techno set though.

Highly recommend these from him -

Global Communication - 76:14 (a masterpiece in ambient history)

http://www.discogs.com/release/3300

A good example of a tune from the album...

The original release of 76:14 is difficult to come by now but there was a reissue a couple of years ago which is easy to pick up - plus you get a bonus disc of some rare house tunes he did.

http://www.discogs.com/release/525529

Or any other Global Communication release, but most others are pretty hard to get now in any format bar download.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Global+Communication

Definitely look out for his Reload material, again, some of these were reissued on vinyl a while back and are still easy enough now to pick up.

http://www.discogs.com/release/845847

A great track from the above -

Then they have their more electro buzz as Jedi Knights...

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Jedi+Knights

A pretty varied and talented career from both Tom Middleton and Mark Pritchard! The above examples are a small few from an amazing selection from them under their various aliases.

Saw all of 808 State, really enjoyed it, though thought they kinda mangled Pacific.

Then went next door, and had a blast with all the oldskool stuff. Was that Middleton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Yes Conor that was Tom Middleton, in the centre room, had to laugh at 808 state aswell "after the next song you's can **** off back to whatever room you were in"..... Then played Pacific State!

Them lads looked as if theyd been to a few partys in their time..... lol

Have linked the 808 State clips to the 808 forum.

You won't be getting any Oscars for best direction though...but thanks for those anyway!!