Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour a drug dealer?

• 19-10-2008 10:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Living in a nice apt (by my lonesome) and quite happy.
    Got on ok with the neighbours, to say hello to them or to borrow Dvds, wine bottle openers and the usual stuff. I can get on with everyone!

Got on especially well with the guy downstairs who lives with his gf.
    Helped him tune in his TV and fix his go-ped and he sorted out my NTL and bicycle. Good neighbours!

This evening some lunatic middle aged women was rapping on his door with a hurley and and calling him a drug dealer and to stay away from her daughter. He must have curtains closed and lights off but she kept roaring "come out, I know you're there".
    He was there too, we were playing each other over the XBOX360 network.
    Truth is, if he buys and sells stuff over on adverts.ie and had some weird complaints made against him. Won't reveal his profile of course.

I came out, told her to feck off causing a racket for over 30 minutes and to call the gardai if she had something worth reporting. Got sworn at so instead I called the gardai on her about the disturbance below.

Gardai up 3 minutes later (fair play!) and after talking to her and calming her down she left. Then they called up to me, they had my name & address (I assume to avoid prank calls) and wanted to know my relationship with the guy. Told the truth, we're just neighbours for a few months but man, they kept asking questions but no harm caused.

Best options folks? He usually comes out for a chat when I park my scooter outside coming home from work.
    Disassociate from the guy and tell him why? Or act like nothing happened? Innocent until proven guilty? I've never seen anything dodgy going on in the estate.

But I don't want to become a "known associate" if you know what you mean.
    Not been in the situation before and never had trouble with gardai bar a few houseparties in college and one speeding ticket..........in 2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭JDLK

Innocent until proven guilty I suppose, but always go with your gut if you're getting dodgy vibes from someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I wouldnt disassociate yourself from him because some women was banging on his door in the middle of the night telling him to stay away from her daughter.
    Think thats the important bit, could very easily just be a hysterical mother shouting nonsense...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Last I checked, an hysterical lady with a hurley screaming allegations doesn't really constitute evidence of wrongdoing.

For all you know he might have given the girl the makings of a joint or a line of coke at a party. No big deal in the context of our generation but somebody's mother might feel differently if she found out about it.

Or maybe he's a criminal mastermind, who knows.

Just sit back and enjoy the free entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

eh i disagree ... no fire without smoke ............ if he was der wen she was knocking why didnt he confront her if he had nothing to hide .. and the fact that the guards were asking you questions like that ,,, to me sounds like they know something suss about him and where trying to extract anymore info on him thru you !! .. id stay polite with him but not get too friendly !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

To be fair id say innocent until proven guilty......

If i pegged it from my mates everytime some mother came screamin stuff at them back in the day id be a very lonely bloke now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

eh i disagree ... no fire without smoke ............ if he was der wen she was knocking why didnt he confront her if he had nothing to hide .. and the fact that the guards were asking you questions like that ,,, to me sounds like they know something suss about him and where trying to extract anymore info on him thru you !! .. id stay polite with him but not get too friendly !

No smoke without fire...? There are PLENTY of cases where there's been smoke without fire!! Peopel are found innocent by the courts every day!

Anyway, I'd need to know more. For one thing, is the daughter over 18? If she is and he gave her half a joint, is that worth losing a good friend/neighbour over?

And how come the Guards never spoke to the neighbour?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Maybe when talking to him online bring up the conversations "so, bit of a nutjob your one the other night"

See what he says. If you think he's a dealer after his response maybe just keep it to small talk in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

OP, I wouldn't judge this bloke based on a lunatic mother banging away with a hurl it could have been a number of things, maybe he sold her a bag of weed and it got found or he got wrongly accused. As long as its hus business stay out of it and treat him no differant, he hasn't done anything on you after all and you said he was a decent bloke. I doubt hed be selling drugs over adverts.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Did you talk to the guy about it?

could be he went and had a fun time with the daughter and mammy found out, calling him everything in the process. as for the gaurds thats just enquires,

if he was a dealer i reckon he would have people knocking all day long looking for his wares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭davidoco

pushersout wrote: »
    Then they called up to me, they had my name & address

That's a pity cause God forbid something happens to you now, it will be reported in the papers that you were known to the Gardai and we'll all be making assumptions based on that. Shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Yeah, not like a mother to try and ruin someone they don't think should be hanging around their daughter. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭qt9ukbg60ivjrn

Helped him tune in his TV and fix his go-ped and he sorted out my NTL and bicycle.

stupid thing to point out but he can fix your NTL but not tune his t.v.?

Huh:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

He doesn't sound like a bastard from what i gather, the worst dealers are the ones who'll not say a thing to their neighbours for anything but drugs and stab others for not paying up. He doesn't seem like that kind of bloke from your post and probably sells a bit of weed here and there at the worst. So **** the "known assiciate" thing! If he is dealing drugs then that's his business, you're not helping him in any way. Your just his mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

davidoco wrote: »
    That's a pity cause God forbid something happens to you now, it will be reported in the papers that you were known to the Gardai and we'll all be making assumptions based on that. Shame.

I'm pretty sure 'known to the Gardai' is a phrase reserved for people who the Gardai strongly suspect are involved in crime or they have questioned as suspects in crimes.

Anyways - just mention it to him OP. See what sort of reaction you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Exactly, know to the gardia is mainly used with scum and associates of, if it's just a bit of weed it could be a mother over-reacting I know the gards will usually turn a blind eye to a few plants and personal use theres a big differance, however if its more serious then theres cause for concern. Just lightly mention what all the racket was about and see what he says.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

In all fairness how much do you know about him??

If he is dealing its not as if your buying so why be worried. At the end of the day once your doing no wrong then your grand. Just because he is dealing or not dealing doesn't change him as a person and you seem to be getting on well with him up until now.

To be honest I have even had the guards break down my door accusing me of terrorism and selling millions worth of guns in Ireland. Alot of people actually thought I was until the letter from the gardai with a 2 page apology arrived on my door step. Innocent until proven guilty is the best way forward in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

I reckon your neighbours girlfriend could very easily be this poor girls boyfriend. And the woman bashing at the door could very easily be the mother of the cousin. Have a read to get another perspective....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055402102

See how easy it is to be tarred with the wrong brush? If he was a drug dealer there would be people coming and going all the time and the Gards would have searched his place. Of course they are going to ask you questions about him. You rang them. And I'm sure hey heard her screaming her head off. Mention the whole thing to him. He might just tell you the truth of the situation. If he is smoking weed, well so do most people os a certain age at somepoint or other. It doesn't mean he is a hardened drug pusher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Best options folks? He usually comes out for a chat when I park my scooter outside coming home from work.
    Disassociate from the guy and tell him why? Or act like nothing happened? Innocent until proven guilty? I've never seen anything dodgy going on in the estate.

Not been in the situation before and never had trouble with gardai bar a few houseparties in college and one speeding ticket..........in 2001

What the hell's wrong with you? You're friendly with the fella and you're considering blanking him because one crazy stranger (who had to be hauled off by the gardai themselves) accused him of selling drugs? Lord above.

Best option?? Well for you it would would be to grow a pair and get some sense while you're at it - it takes a lot more than a loan of a bottle opener and game of xbox to become a "known associate" :D

edit - for all you know, him and some girl might have got stoned and she went home got the greenies and fessed up to her mental oulone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

Was it his girlfriends mother by any chance? Did they have a row or something?

If not, TBH he probably is dealing small time and for a mother to come knocking on the door it sounds like hash maybe...because if it was Pills/Coke etc she probably would have called the Garda but would not go to them if it was over a bit of hash.

Up to you what you wanna do...to be honest, personally I would be up front and ask what is the deal with the mad aul one?

If he says nothing, fair enough keep him at arms length as you have been but if he tells you he's a dealer...well then, its up to you.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Hey, i have had the police come in to my house, finger print me and put an unmarked car outside my house for about 6 weeks.

Apparently, they go a complaint i was trying to blow the Queen up!!!!(was living in england at the time).

he could be innocent, so i would either ask him what is going on or forget about it.

currently, i have a problem with the police refusing to believe i am not who they think i am, but that is with the ombusman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

its possible he may be a small time dealer or he may not be a dealer at all.

a friend of mine was going out with a girl but her parents didnt approve. Her parents got onto my friend and made up stories that he was a junkie and that he was beating up his girlfriend. But they done it a very public way on the main street in front of everyone. luckily enough my friend was very civil ands no one believed them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

To those who say no smoke without fire, I give you Dry Ice.

Benefit of the doubt, unle you suspect it might be hard drugs, then just steer clear!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

Before you get too hysterical - try thinking this one out:

1. "Known associates" don't generally attract the attention of the Gardai to a possible 'drug den' with minor complaints of harassment. Even the Gardai will figure that one out...

2. Take people as you find them - unless he has a constant stream of clients calling to the door, or comes and goes at unusual hours, or has no visible means of income etc, then he's probably not a dealer.

3. If your daughter is passed a joint at a party, then in a parent's eyes the guy passing the joint is most likely a drug-dealer. You may find the hysterical woman was just that, hysterical. Unless she turns up floating in the canal, you've probably nothing to worry about.

4. If, in the unlikely event that is a dealer, you start to blank him, you may cause yourself more grief than if you remain friendly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The woman more than likely rang the cops too. For all you know, she could be a dingbat who found out her son has been out getting wasted with your neighbour, and she hit the roof. Your relationship with the guy comprises living in the same building and playing xbox together online. Hardly enough to make you a business associate of his even if he is a drug dealer.

Chill out.