Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UN B F**KING LEAVABLE

• 19-10-2008 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭

I was in a well known German chain of shops yesterday. Got my bits and pieces and was standing at the checkout. Infront of me were a Polish couple. They were putting there items on the moving counter thing, and chatting in polish to the bloke doing the till. I noticed they left about 5 items in the trolly, as they spun it around to awaite the shopping to be scanned.

The bloke doing the till seen the items in trolly and just kept chatting away to them! OK said me say notting. But then came the real rub. As the bloke started scanning the shopping, he just moved most of the shopping over the scanner with out bleeping it:eek:

This is in full view of about 5 other customers:mad:

So I said notting until I got to the check out and the polish lad started scanning my shopping. As he scanned my stuff EVER item went BLEEP. So I said to him.........Am I not getting anything Free???

Well to say he went red was an under statement:pac: I say he felt sick and good enough for him:D

The way he done it was as if it was the norm chatting away not scanning items with his polish friends. Do Polish get a five fingure discount in every store? In this credit crunch why do we all not have 50% free food?

I told this story to afew people and they said the have noticed the same happening several times, even in different shops of the same chain. Anyone else ever notice this happening?

Oh great.

Another foreigner/polish/traveller/roma-gypsie (delete as applicable) bashing thread.

So Irish people don't do this too? Bollox. Everyone does it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hmmm, i see.

So, before you started to bitch here (thanks for that, by the way), did you tell the manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

So your telling me that neither you nor any of your friends have given each other some stuff for free or on the cheap while you/they worked someplace ?

Nah it must be becasue their polish. No Irish person would ever do anything like that.

Long story short they got free items you didnt, you're angry - "bastard polish no give me free things thread" - Post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Seen stuff at the self scanner where people may hold two items and scan one - one goes on scale, other goes straight in bag on arm...OR, and I like this trick :D, pretend to scan at the same time as another till beeps.

🤪

I've worked with tonnes of Polish people. They generally don't like helping each other out.
    I think it is goes back to communism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

People are using ingenuity to beat the recession. None of your business. Move along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

It's not just the Poles doing it. Everyone gives their friends five finger discounts if they can.

Why else would stores invest so heavily in CCTV on every till? Most theft is done by staff or their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

It's a dangerous thing to do though, one of the lads I used to work with tried to give his friend a playstation for free. The manager caught him and he was sacked after working there for about 4 years. No reference there anyway, but he does have another job now.

i used to do it :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

They took our jurbs

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They probably needed extra stuff to eat with the swans they killed by the canal.
    Did they carry all their loot home in a free pram?

I'm sorry but your a knacker if you do this kind of thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Moonbaby wrote: »

thats at least of 3rd if not half of the population considered knackers then :)
    spurious wrote: »
    They probably needed extra stuff to eat with the swans they killed by the canal.
    Did they carry all their loot home in a free pram?

ROFL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

OP - your thread would be much more effective if you had avoided stating the nationalities involved. It is irrelevant where they came from or the origins of the shop's owner. Why not simply say that you witnessed possible theft by customers and assisted by an employee?

At the moment, it just seems like an anti-Polish thread.

If that's what you believe, why apologise? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Down with this sort of thing!

If that's what you believe, why apologise? :confused:

Used as a figure of speech for the purpose of emphasis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Theft is awesome. Most people on this thread seems to condone it so why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Until their own possessions are stolen.....

I'd sack the ass off any geezer who tried to pull a stunt like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

You should report that to the manager, theft is theft regardless of the nationality of those involved.

The next thing is the bleeding heart liberals will claim that its part of their culture and we should respect it.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

chem wrote: »
    I was in a well known German chain of shops yesterday. Got my bits and pieces and was standing at the checkout. Infront of me were a Polish couple. They were putting there items on the moving counter thing, and chatting in polish to the bloke doing the till. I noticed they left about 5 items in the trolly, as they spun it around to awaite the shopping to be scanned.

The bloke doing the till seen the items in trolly and just kept chatting away to them! OK said me say notting. But then came the real rub. As the bloke started scanning the shopping, he just moved most of the shopping over the scanner with out bleeping it:eek:

So I said notting until I got to the check out and the polish lad started scanning my shopping. As he scanned my stuff EVER item went BLEEP. So I said to him.........Am I not getting anything Free???

Well to say he went red was an under statement:pac: I say he felt sick and good enough for him:D

The way he done it was as if it was the norm chatting away not scanning items with his polish friends. Do Polish get a five fingure discount in every store? In this credit crunch why do we all not have 50% free food?

I told this story to afew people and they said the have noticed the same happening several times, even in different shops of the same chain. Anyone else ever notice this happening?

Tut tut tut. And you're an accessory to the crime. *sad face*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seen it myself a few times and yes, said it to the manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Infront of me were a Polish couple...
    Just out of interest, how could you tell they were polish?
    Did you overhear them speaking polish?, recognize a flag printed on the back of their coats?

Or just decide to assume they were polish because they were breaking the law and that fits in nicely with how you choose to see all polish people?

As far as the theft goes; you should have reported it to the shop manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

MarkR wrote: »
    Tut tut tut. And you're an accessory to the crime. *sad face*

*solemn face* yesh. And now he must die. :( *powers up the electric gallows*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

caoibhin wrote: »
    The next thing is the bleeding heart liberals will claim that its part of their culture and we should respect it.

Amazing fact, people who use the phrase "bleeding heart liberals" are the most liberal, bleeding hearty-ist people ever, they just try really hard to hide it.

Kinda like repressed homosexuals claiming to hate 'the gays'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

When was the last time you saw a knacker working the tills? They prefer to come back when the store has closed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Man, I was so set when I was a teenager. Had one mate working in Eddie Rockets, one in McDonalds and one in UCI, I paid for nothing and it was ace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I used to do something similar to this the whole time when one of my friends worked in the cinema. Free tickets, free popcorn and really cheap sweets. I don't see anything that bad about it unless he is really taking the piss in which case he probably won't have a job there long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Another foreigner/polish/traveller/roma-gypsie (delete as applicable) bashing thread.

The bashing will stop when the foreigner/polish/traveller/roma-gypsie (delete as applicable) GTFO! :pac:

Then you're happy, the people complaining are happy, and I'm just a happy camper. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭seclachi

I have heard stories about those certain german stores using detectives who try and sneak stuff through the checkout and if the checkout person lets it happen they get a serious dressing down. That being said, I guess it doesnt really stop them in cases like this. Still though, I dont get it, why risk your job doing it, even if its your best buds.

I's like to add that although such acts might slip by a few times, now that most tills are covered by cameras, they (the staff) will more than likely get too confident, slip up and become spotted at some stage.
    No con lasts for ever...

A good manager (if he/she is worth their salt) will review tapes/recordings once in a while.
    (I see the previous mentioned con done many times in Dunnes and I have no hesitation in reporting it.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

christ OP, not exactly the reaction you were looking for!!?
    Ah well, im off to buy some crack now from my black drug dealer (or is it more politically correct to just say 'drug dealer'?)
    Have fun.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If so many people have witnessed this guy's antics, he won't be there for much longer. Someone's bound to drop him in it, especially if they don't get a free trolley of groceries out of him.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Did you get any free stuff in the end? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Quality - yet another anti-polish, anti-immigrant thread. Free food first, just wait for those free BMW's and that 3 bed semi, they'll be next you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Dabko wrote: »
    christ OP, not exactly the reaction you were looking for!!?
    Ah well, im off to buy some crack now from my black drug dealer (or is it more politically correct to just say 'drug dealer'?)
    Have fun.;)
    "where the hell did you get crack?!"
    "blacks"
    "wtf?!"
    "yeah, there was a white guy selling it behind Blacks hardware store"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

miju wrote: »
    thats at least of 3rd if not half of the population considered knackers then :)

You say it like its not possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

OP - your thread would be much more effective if you had avoided stating the nationalities involved. It is irrelevant where they came from or the origins of the shop's owner. Why not simply say that you witnessed possible theft by customers and assisted by an employee?

Its not Polish bashing . If they were Irish would it be Irish bashing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Gurgle wrote: »
    Did you overhear them speaking polish?, recognize a flag printed on the back of their coats?

Maybe he did hear them speaking Polish? In the same way I can hear German, French, Dutch, Italian and Spanish I can usually deduce whether a group of people are speaking Polish or not (greet or leave each other by saying Czezsc. Saying kurva multiple times). And maybe they looked more Polish physically than Lithuanians or Slovaks, two other large groups here who have minor physical differences generally.

Some peoiple on boards seem to have a tremendous jealousy and chip in the shoulder against people who know a little bit more about the world than they do. Give it a ****ing rest and get an education.
    Quality - yet another anti-polish, anti-immigrant thread. Free food first, just wait for those free BMW's and that 3 bed semi, they'll be next you know.

You took the time to thank four posts as well.

Is there an equivalent of wigger to do with Poles? Y'know, wishing you were Polish or something? Jesus H Christ, jumping down the throat of anything vaguely negative relating to Poland is getting embarrasing. If there was someone on an English message board getting all bitchy because other posters suggested alot of Irish drink to excess, support the ra and alot of them are skangers I would be embarrased for them frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Oh great now im a nazi:rolleyes: Just because they were polish its not PC to say they were polish. Some people LOOK for race issues when they are not there.

White kid gets hit by black kid in playground= fight.

Black kid hit by white kid= hate crime

Grow up PC hippies:p

If im so anti polish id have reported it to the manager in my SS uniform:pac:

Point is id hate to see anyone lose there job because of me. I Think me saying something to him was enough of a warning. If I seen him do it again Id report it.

I know he was polish because I work with one of his (also Polish) friends. If you want to see this post as race related Id say you have more of an issue then me!

Oh great now im a nazi:rolleyes: Just because they were polish its not PC to say they were polish. Some people LOOK for race issues when they are not there.

Point is id hate to see anyone lose there job because of me. I Think me saying something to him was enough of a warning. If I seen him do it again Id report it.

I know he was polish because I work with one of his (also Polish) friends. If you want to see this post as race related Id say you have more of an issue then me!

For further information, please see my signature.

Some people shouldnt be allowed to express an opinion without a health board appointed minder present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    For further information, please see my signature.

Some people shouldnt be allowed to express an opinion without a health board appointed minder present.

I trust you got permission from yours then.

Da dum tish.

The amount of silent laughing/piss taking Poles would do if they actually read some of the clownery posted here. Embarrasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

jealousy is a bitch

LOL now, now ladies... handbags ready at 10 paces please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Gurgle wrote: »

Or just decide to assume they were polish because they were breaking the law and that fits in nicely with how you choose to see all polish people?

Reread the post. He states several times they were speaking Polish.

It's pretty deplorable how acceptable most people find this behavior though. Theft somehow is magically not stealing if it's off a company for some reason. It's the same attitude that gives us people who happily buy stolen goods as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

So, you admit that you've got an SS uniform? Very bad.

Out of curiousity if the OP had stated he saw a skanger couple having sh1t not scanned by a hoopy earring wearing howiya behind the counter would there have been an outpouring of PC backlash for stigmatising working class Dubliners?

Or would some cabbage have asked how the OP knew they were Irish skangers?

I dont expect a response on this tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So, you admit that you've got an SS uniform? Very bad.

It was my grandads:D

While I dont mean to get as emotional and bitchy as these little kids here I find the war reference upsetting. My grandfather died in a concentration camp.

He was just coming off duty when he slipped and fell off his guard tower. :eek: :pac: