Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pat o shea steps down

• 16-10-2008 5:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

pat o shea resigns his post as kerry manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

News beaking that Pat O'Shea has stepped down as Kerry manager. Any more info?

Source is RTÉ Radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

O'Shea steps down from Kingdom post

00010a8d189r.jpg Pat O'Shea delivered the 2007 All-Ireland title to his native county

Thursday, 16 October 2008 18:05

RTÉ Sport understands that Pat O'Shea has stepped down as Kerry senior football manager, and has cited personal reasons for his decision.
    The Dr Crokes clubman brings to an end a two-year reign that delivered one All-Ireland title in 2007.
    Speculation has been building about his future since Kerry's All-Ireland final defeat to Tyrone, a loss which denied the Kingdom their first three in-a-row since the mid 1980s.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/1016/kerry.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

They just reported that he stepped down for personal reasons, and that he'd informed the Kerry players this afternoon.

Will be interesting to see who comes out in the running for the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

It was on the cards alright since the final ...

If you don't bring SAM back to the Kingdom you are seen as a failure in the Kingdom and it really is a 24-hour job down here ...

He did only sign a 1year contract after the Kerry County Board sought him to take up the position (he didn't seek the position) ...

Personally i was hoping he would stay on for 1 more year as he has done a great job with Dr.Crokes through the years, none of which happened in his first year in charge there imo.

There are talks that Maurice Fitzgerald is looking for a position in the back-room staff but that would depend on who takes over at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

it be intersting to see who takes over from him. there is allways next year. i hope. some of his team selection i didnt agree with but sure he is gone now so. lets hope that new manager knows who his best 15 is for the final next time we get there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

goodbye and good luck to pat, thanks for two great years. i wish him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

so, one of the most high profile "jobs" in irish sport is up for grabs....who wants it is the first thing? i would think anyway, that Sean Geaney is a show in here....so go throw a few quid on him, unless he doesnt want it of course!

ive heard some crazy stories, which perhaps are not true, but hmmm, he has resigned now, so myabe some of them are. player unrest,people blaming him for the final defeat, from within the team/board, rumours of altercations with a players family, rumours of a bust up with one player.....all this the night of the final dinner.....

i hope none are true because he has been excellent for kerry, 1 win and another final is top notch, though we just felt short this year. a gentleman of a man, he coached me when i was younger and i still have one or 2 tips that i bring into every game with me that he thought us.

and so, let the race to manage us animals begin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Pillar Caffery FTW !

anyone with me ? would be interested to see what he could do with different (perhaps more talented) squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Alany wrote: »
    Pillar Caffery FTW !

Yep, if only we had a "Green Book" we surely would have won :D.

I'm a bit surprised at Pat O'Shea stepping down. Tbh I thought that there really wasn't much between us and Tyrone in the final and with a little more luck we'd have buried that hoodoo. Not taking anything away from Tyrone - just my opinion.
    He got a bit of a blasting in local media after the final which seemed to me to be more emotional than rational but anyway.

Perhaps what did it was just the fact of three finals and three defeats so no medals or silverware to show for a year of hard work.
    Granted a lot of other counties put in the same effort with even less reward but...........

Kingdom chief vows to stick by deadline

17 October 2008

Jerome Conway, Chairman of Kerry County Board, has insisted that he will be doing everything in his power to have the name of a potential new manager ready for ratification by November 10th.

Conway expressed his disappointment and surprise at the decision by Pat O’Shea to resign as team-manager but vowed to stick with the plan to have a new man in situ by his self imposed deadline date.

"I said at this month’s meeting on MOnday that we would have someone in place at the next meeting. I stand over that," said Conway.

"The executive will sit down over the coming days and put the process in motion. Traditionally a few officers are involved in finding a manager and I want to get that started as quickly as possible.

"We have only three weeks to get this done and done right and I am hoping we can achieve that."

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=102495

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=102527

O’Connor tipped as hunt for O’Shea successor begins

17 October 2008

Speculation is mounting in Kerry that former All-Ireland SFC-winning boss Jack O’Connor will be enticed back into the hot seat following the resignation of Pat O’Shea.

With county Chairman Jerome Conway insisting that he will have a senior team-management in place for ratification by November 10th, rumours have quickly begun circulating in relation to the likely runners and riders in the race to become the new Kerry boss.

It is understood several senior players have spoken privately of their wish to see O’Connor re-installed with O’Shea’s outgoing backroom team of Sean Geaney, Dr. Dave Geaney and trainer John Sugrue retained en bloc.

Other names to be bandied about include former Limerick and Laois manager Liam Kearns and Westmeath’s Tomas O Flaharta plus erstwhile county defender Seamus Moynihan and Pat O’Driscoll (Ardfert).

In addition, talk that former multiple Celtic Cross winners Eoin Liston and Ger O’Keeffe would come on board on a joint ticket has been doing the rounds also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Jack O'Connor with Pat Spillane and Mick O'Dywer as backroom staff, Seamus Moynihan and Maurice Fitzgerald will also probably be involved and Pat Flannery will be back too hopefully. All the big guns are being rolled and there is no shortage of Ammunition as the Kerry County Championship is showing.

Kerry will have several new players next year and we will reinvent the wheel again and nothing was more sickening than to leave a Tyrone team who were worse than Kerry win when it was clearly lost on the Sideline. Players to Watch out for in 2008 from Kerry will be Paul O'Connor and possibly Barry John Walsh, Tadgh Kennelly might reurn and the team will be radically overhauled.

I am certain Kerry will be champions in 2009 and the Media can write the best team of the decade then, (which is Kerrys guaranteed) as even if Tyrone won in 2009, Kerry are team of the decade on merit and performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Jack O'Connor with Pat Spillane and Mick O'Dywer as backroom staff, Seamus Moynihan and Maurice Fitzgerald will also probably be involved and Pat Flannery will be back too hopefully. All the big guns are being rolled and there is no shortage of Ammunition as the Kerry County Championship is showing.

Are you having a laugh?

How many ego's did you just list there. think of the in-fighting.

Seamus Moynihan isn't ready just yet though he knows his stuff. I think Jack should get another craic at it if he wants it.

SetantaL wrote: »
    ...Seamus Moynihan isn't ready just yet though he knows his stuff. I think Jack should get another craic at it if he wants it.

While I would seriously like Jack to return to the helm, I think that he just may have burnt a few too many bridges with his book and informing people of the real goings-on (hope the bridges have been mended and he does return though) ...

As for Seamus ... I honestly just don't see it. Outstanding player and makes every all-star team in my view but that's where it ends as far as i can forsee ... He just doesn't have the managerial expertise or finese that would be required and i just don't see him ever managing the Kerry Senior Football Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

mumhaabu wrote: »

Kerry will have several new players next year and we will reinvent the wheel again and nothing was more sickening than to leave a Tyrone team who were worse than Kerry win when it was clearly lost on the Sideline. Players to Watch out for in 2008 from Kerry will be Paul O'Connor and possibly Barry John Walsh, Tadgh Kennelly might reurn and the team will be radically overhauled.

I am certain Kerry will be champions in 2009 and the Media can write the best team of the decade then, (which is Kerrys guaranteed) as even if Tyrone won in 2009, Kerry are team of the decade on merit and performance.

What was that Paidi O'Se quote from about six years ago?

The colourful manager caused a stir in his home county when he called Kerry fans "f***ing animals".

"Of course I've made mistakes, calling Kerry supporters 'f***ing animals' or something - what I meant was that they were high achievers in Kerry, that they were animals to satisfy because they wanted their team in Croke Park every year." ... gawd i had actually forgotten about that :)

bla bla bla

can you please stop posting about kerry football? im pretty sure, you also had some outlandishing posts before the final. apologies if it wasnt you, but your not even from kerry if i remember and your going to give the impression to people that we are all like you...

thanks..:)

anyway, back on topic, im still sticking to sean geany being the man to bring sam back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

can you please stop posting about kerry football? im pretty sure, you also had some outlandishing posts before the final. apologies if it wasnt you, but your not even from kerry if i remember and your going to give the impression to people that we are all like you...

thanks..:)

anyway, back on topic, im still sticking to sean geany being the man to bring sam back.

It was him alright, he has come out some pearls this season. Each post just displays more ignorance really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Careful now... this is how flame wars begin and cruzierweight will spank you all. :)

Liston says Kingdom need a ’strong character’

22 October 2008

Eoin ’Bomber’ Liston believes Kerry need a "good strong character" to replace Pat O’Shea as football manager.
    The Kingdom legend, who is part of the Ireland International Rules management, said: "There are a few old dogs in there and a few young pups. It’ll take a good strong character to make sure that the team is disciplined."

?utm_source=Hogan%2BStand&utm_medium=Banner&utm_term=300x250
    PID_692257_UB_GAA_Standard_300x250_DC.jpgactivity;src=1715683;met=1;v=1;pid=28767586;aid=206269055;ko=0;cid=27595271;rid=27613150;rv=1;&timestamp=4312141;eid1=9;ecn1=1;etm1=0;?utm_source=Hogan%2BStand&utm_medium=Banner&utm_term=300x250vbulletinB3036482;sz=300x250;ord=[timestamp]?
    Liston, who ruled himself out of contention for the vacancy last week, praised O’Shea for guiding Kerry to back-to-back All-Ireland finals in his two years as manager.

"Pat O’Shea did a fantastic job and shipped a lot of criticism. The way he handled victory and defeat was just fabulous. And I was certainly proud of him as a Kerryman."

He added: "I thought he’d do three years. It came as a surprise to me that he didn’t stay on for the third year."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Gach Ráth leat a Phádraig! Go Raibh Míle Maith agat as ucht an dhá bhliain cruaidh a chuir tú isteach agus an Craoibh na hÉireann a bhuaigh tú!

As for a new manager? I think Seamus Moynihan should have some part with the team. Great football brain and a mighty motivater! Would love to see Micko back for a year but im afraid that would be asking too much.

micko? no way, too old fashioned, stale ideas for training. the lads would revolt after a week of 25 laps.

Of the likely candidates I would pick O'Connor. May not want to come back though and may also have burned his boats to an extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Gach Ráth leat a Phádraig! Go Raibh Míle Maith agat as ucht an dhá bhliain cruaidh a chuir tú isteach agus an Craoibh na hÉireann a bhuaigh tú!

As for a new manager? I think Seamus Moynihan should have some part with the team. Great football brain and a mighty motivater! Would love to see Micko back for a year but im afraid that would be asking too much.

Mick O Dwyer will more than likely be done after his tenure with Wicklow.I think he stated that he wanted a the challenge of a smaller,weaker county before he gives up intercounty management.

Could Dara O Cinneide possibly get involved in the Kerry management team?It wouldn't be a bad idea.A good football brain stuck behind the pundits table i RTE.

lads, some of the names are incredible not only on here but in the media and other forums.

proven pedigree is what we need. ex players dont make great managers.

jacko - 3 all ireland vocationals and 2 all ireland u 21s, never played for kerry.

was also a selector on 2 senior winning teams.

pat o shea - munster coach for bout 15 years and took his team to within an injury time point of an all ireland club. 2 all ireland semis with the minors and did great work with limerick under age.

the likes of the pony and o cinnede have a long long way to go, as does maurice fitz.

its geany for me, with pat flanagan coming back in as trainer. that man, without doubt, is the best trainer in ireland. selectors are open, im not going to even try guessing them. jacko wont come back i would think.

Sean Geaney is to the fore-front at the moment and would be the natural successor imo ... Sur wasn't it his under-21's that won this year's All-Ireland title. As Eoin Liston said suring the week "this team has some old dogs and some young pups in it" and someone of his character would be perfect to instill discipline to the team

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/1024/kerry.html

Geaney withdraws from Kingdom race

It would appear that the race to succeed Pat O'Shea is now wide open after Geaney's withdrawl
    Friday, 24 October 2008 16:07

Sean Geaney becomes the latest candidate for the vacant Kerry job who has ruled himself out of contention citing personal reasons for his decision.

The Dingle clubman was a warm favourite to move from his role as All-Ireland U-21 winning manager to take over the senior side, in the wake of Pat O'Shea's departure, but he had now gone public to indicate that he is not interested this time around.

It is understood that Geaney was feeling the heat after being close to seven years involved in various Kerry management set ups including minor, U-21 and for the past two years, Geaney was a selector under Pat O'Shea.

Sources close to the Dingle native, also believe that the widespread criticism levelled at the O'Shea and Kerry management team, in the wake of the All-Ireland defeat to Tyrone, also probably influenced his decision, and he may have felt that taking the job now would be a thankless task, full of risk.

The three man sub committee who will head hunt their man over the next two weeks, was chosen last night at an executive meeting of the Co Committee and it will led by Chairman Jerome Conway, with vice chairman Patrick O'Sullivan and secretary Eamon O'Sullivan completing the three wise men line up.

Along with Geaney, Eoin Liston and Ger O'Keeffe have already ruled themselves out and it is rumoured that Jack O'Connor is committed to Kerins O'Rahillys for at least another year so is not available.

This would seem to open the door for a new face, with Kerry minor boss John Kennedy, Tipperary boss John Evans a club mate of Chairman Conway, former Limerick and Laois boss Liam Kerins, Ardfert's Pat O'Driscoll and a surprise name now being put forward is former Kerry legend and current Wicklow boss Mick O'Dwyer.

.......... SO much for Geaney :S

DDC1990 wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/1024/kerry.html

Geaney withdraws from Kingdom race

This would seem to open the door for a new face, with Kerry minor boss John Kennedy, Tipperary boss John Evans a club mate of Chairman Conway, former Limerick and Laois boss Liam Kerins, Ardfert's Pat O'Driscoll and a surprise name now being put forward is former Kerry legend and current Wicklow boss Mick O'Dwyer.

.......... SO much for Geaney :S

oi oi oi ... jeez who is realistically left? Micko will never return to manage Kerry ... Liam Kearns - i just don't see the county board taking him on down here ... John Kennedy ? perhaps word has filtered through the grapevine that Jack wants to return?

What are Paddy Powers odds at this stage now i wonder...

I would love for Jack to return. He was a great manager, but was treated horribly by a lot of people in Kerry Gaa circles. And yeah his book was full of whinging and bitching... but if you brought so much success to a county and was treated like that... i'd say you would have a right to a good auld bitch.

f*ck sake....geaney pulls out. the stories must be true about the level of abuse o shea got behind the scenes and suppose geaney was part of it.....interesting week ahead, i winder now. they wouldn give it to kennedy i would think.

apparantly its a straight shoot out between jack o connor and micko dwyer for the job.....hmmm, dunno if micko would be the man, but its the fairytale ending that kerry people have been looking for his career...

Micko has had his fairytale ending imo ... Kerry are at a stage now where they will need to re-build the team and find some new players for the few obvious heads whose time is limited ... I don't think Micko would return for this stage in Kerry GAA, not with the glowing, outstanding, untarnished record that he possesses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

f*ck sake....geaney pulls out. the stories must be true about the level of abuse o shea got behind the scenes and suppose geaney was part of it.....interesting week ahead, i winder now. they wouldn give it to kennedy i would think.

There are various rumours flying about and one conspiracy is that Tommy Griffin was given grief due to the fact he has a Pub opened in Dingle where Geaney also has one and thus Padraig Reidy was given preference over Griffin due to this. Tommy Griffin refused to travel up and took alot of coaxing to get him back.

Eoin Brosnan was terrible and should be dropped, Pat O'Shea and his Dr. Croke's style which entails alot of sickening short passing was doomed and keeping the likes of Eoin Brosnan on the team because he is from your club is both a conflict of interest and total iditocy. Brian Sheehan is also terrible and must go, Fair play to Tyrone and I wish them 100% but imo Kerry could have won the game and I think Pat O'Shea lost it on the sideline, as Paudi O'Sé did against Armagh in 2002.

Bring Back Jack, with Micko as Selector!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sslazio11

Eoin Brosnan was terrible and should be dropped, Pat O'Shea and his Dr. Croke's style which entails alot of sickening short passing was doomed and keeping the likes of Eoin Brosnan on the team because he is from your club is both a conflict of interest and total iditocy. Brian Sheehan is also terrible and must go, Fair play to Tyrone and I wish them 100% but imo Kerry could have won the game and I think Pat O'Shea lost it on the sideline, as Paudi O'Sé did against Armagh in 2002.

What are you talking about? Eoin Brosnan might not be a starter anymore, but he can still make a major impact on games, e.g. the drawn semi-final game against Cork. And Sheehan might not have had his best year, but he's a quality player.

As for Pat O'Shea, his "sickening short passing" seemed to do the trick in 2007, and almost did it this year. I would have been happy for him to get another shot at it this year, although by the sounds of it he was struggling with the dynamics of the squad.

As for Jack O'Connor coming back, I hope it works out, he's a quality coach. It'll be interesting to see if he can motivate the players to reach a 6th final on the trot, it would be an incredible achievement. Not even the team of the Golden Years managed that.

And you wonder why you cant appoint a manager this time round? In two years Pat O Shea won an All Ireland Championship, and narrowly lost a final in the second year. You are still bitching. Everytime you post you say something more ridiculous than the last time.

What a load of rubbish- you cannot have a two headed manager- have you even read Jack O'Connor's book?

They were all congratulating Micko at the victory banquet in the Glen and Jack took offence to it- how do you think he would feel with a character like Micko in the wings- do you think Micko could content himself with being a selector. Will never happen.

One good thing about Jack coming back is that people might appreciate his abilities more this time around.

Pat O Shea was a excellent manager and his character assination by small minded gurriers was a disgrace. I'm a proud Kerryman but I'm ashamed to see people who have never been to a league game in their life insult people who give everything in their spare time to the game.

SetantaL wrote: »
    What a load of rubbish- you cannot have a two headed manager- have you even read Jack O'Connor's book?

They were all congratulating Micko at the victory banquet in the Glen and Jack took offence to it- how do you think he would feel with a character like Micko in the wings- do you think Micko could content himself with being a selector. Will never happen.

One good thing about Jack coming back is that people might appreciate his abilities more this time around.

Pat O Shea was a excellent manager and his character assination by small minded gurriers was a disgrace. I'm a proud Kerryman but I'm ashamed to see people who have never been to a league game in their life insult people who give everything in their spare time to the game.

But this is the same abuse that provoked Paidi into calling the Kerry fans F'ing animals, while he was still manager of the county team. I am not paidi's biggest fan, and do not really rate him that highly as a manager, but I could see where he was coming from. Jack O Connor and Pat O Shea both stepped down after they had enough after two years. It seems to be an ongoing circus down there, I am curious what will happen if someday a manager gets selected and he is not a success?

Look, no-one is infallable or perfect. People seem to expect these managers to be.

The best managers in any sports are those that have learned from their mistakes. They have to be given this chance to learn. Most rational people know this. Irrational passionate people, aye, like Kerry football supporters may talk with their heart instead of their head at times. Passion is irrational by nature. But constantly making scapegoats out of one or two players or the manager is the mark of a bully.

Unfortunately we have too many bullies and not enough bulls.

Agus wrote: »

well he is the only real contender down here and seems to be the only name by the County Board ... they do seem to be waiting on the club fixtures to end before saying anything formal

could be a long wait, jacks team now represent kerry in the munster club also, as well as having a county final to play on the 16th. word is that they dont care about the munster and will not play a full team this week v nemo. shame really, county board should put back the final a few weeks to give them a chance. they are now looking at 4 massive games in 3 weeks, let alone talking about replays in the final and nemo and or/any other games in munster. im also sure the have some county league games to play.

anyway, this kerry job is supposed to be in place before the 17th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 tethad

yep seems the job is o'connor's if he wants it! that rahillys thing is a shame!

Former centre back Eamonn Fitzmaurice is set to be unveiled as one of Jack O’Connor’s selectors in the new Kerry football management set-up.

Kerry county board officials are expected to give the ’green light’ to O’Connor’s return to the hotseat tonight, and it is believed that Fitzmaurice will join Ger O’Keeffe as his selectors. O’Keeffe also served as a selector during O’Connor’s previous reign from 2004 to ’06.

Fitzmaurice, who won All-Ireland medals under O’Connor in 2004 and 2006, retired from the inter-county scene last year, but at just 31, continues to excel at club level for Finuge and Feale Rangers. Since ending his inter-county career, Fitzmaurice has written a newspaper column for the Irish Examiner.

O’Connor was hoping to once again secure the services of Pat Flanagan as physical trainer, but he has been unable to commit due to family commitments and Tralee man Alan O’Sullivan, who is part of O’Connor’s backroom team at Kerins O’Rahilly’s, is now favourite to take over this important role.