Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Eamonn Dunphy Appreciation Thread

• 16-10-2008 4:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭

No, you're not seeing things, that really is the thread title.

Well I've been out of the country for about six weeks now, so I have been watching all my football on Setanta or Foxtel, and everytime I watched a match, I enjoyed it but I was always left with this strange hollow thining feeling afterwards, this unusual sensation that something just wasn't right with the world, things were out of sync with the universe somehow. Then this morning I watched the after match analysis for the Ireland game on the rte website and I realised what the problem was, it's just not the same without the Dunph. So I'm just going to say it, the man is a fukking legend. "It's outrages John, absolutely outrages, say it John, just say it, it means something if you say it, they all think I'm mad John, they think I'm mental, outrages John, say it!"

I know we all like to have a go at Eamo, but lets be honest here, the man has come out with some of the greatest lines that have ever been recorded in human history. I know you are all thinking the same but would never admit it in public, so heres your chance, lets here it for Dunphy.

On Kevin Kilbane - "Kilbane's head is better than his feet. If only he
    had three heads, one on the end of each leg."

On Harry Kewell - "Kewell should have been yanked off the pitch at half
    time and put in a hot bath, a boiling hot bath."

On Harry Kewell again - "He's fat and a clown, Bill, a fat clown for all
    to see"

On the stubborn climate which exists in the board room at Real Madrid -
    "Bill, Bill... those directors over there are on another planet. They're on mushrooms or something...THEY'RE ON ACID BIILL!!!"

On the Fergie V Strachen feud -
    Eamon: "Scots they're either nice or they're horrid and these two are horrid.
    Bill: "The Scots wont like that Eamon, thats bordering on racism".
    Eamon: "Its not racism its ethnic criticism Bill".

Banter with Souness -
    Eamon Dunphy: "Look at Graeme, he won four Champions Leagues."
    Graeme Souness: " Three."
    Dunphy: " He won four league titles."
    Souness: "Five."
    Dunphy: "It's not bloody Mastermind."

On John Hartson:
    "Bill, Hartson is not a 7million pound player....its a disgrace, a shambles! This is the state of football today Bill. I have a clip here of why Hartson is NOT a £7million player....Roll it there Bill! (literally 1 second in to the clip) OKAY, HOLD IT THERE BILL!!! (draws a circle around Hartson's arse) Bill, that is NOT the arse of a £7million player"

On Mick McCarthy - "He's a boil on the arse of humanity"

Legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

slipss wrote: »
    No, you're not seeing things, that really is the thread title.

Oh thank God,I thought I was the mad one for a second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

im in.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

A hero of the highest order. He's there to spark debate and there's no denying his success.

On Niall Quinn - "I'm not gonna address the Niall Quinn agenda, I think Niall Quinn is a creep"

And who could forget the hilarious and horribly libelous claims directed towards Rod Liddle - "That's the fella who ran off and left his wife for a young one!"

RTE has the best football punditry panel around and the lads are a credit to the nation. A lot of people will only really appreciate Eamo, Gilesy and Bill when they're gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Xavi6 wrote: »
    RTE has the best football punditry panel around and the lads are a credit to the nation. A lot of people will only really appreciate Eamo, Gilesy and Bill when they're gone.
    Nah I think the only thing they will miss is the comedy show that is there punditry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

On about the Fergie V Strachen feud:

On Kevin Kilbane:
    "Kilbane's head is better than his feet. If only he had three heads, one on the end of each leg."
    genius.... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Nah I think the only thing they will miss is the comedy show that is there punditry

You can laugh now man, but I'm telling ye, try watching BBC or ITV commentary for a few weeks and you'll realise just how good the panel are on RTE, not just for the banter and the fact that they speak their mind instead of walking on egg shells incase they upset someone, but Giles and Dunphy do have a great knowlege of the game, and they are good journalists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You've jumped the fence baby!

He does come out with some fantastic lines, although that's the only one I can remember atm. It was just such a wtf where did that come from, like many of his lines I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

He is a mix between jeremy clarkson for his speak your mind mentality and sid wadell for his classic one liners.

LOL at ethic critism :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Yes Eamo is a lege. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭and2

"It's outrages John, absolutely outrages, say it John, just say it, it means something if you say it, they all think I'm mad John, they think I'm mental, outrages John, say it!"
    funniest thing i have heard in a while....
    I actually agree with most of what Dunphy says, maybe he could word it a bit better... poor Gibson, said he wasnt a footballer and would never make it out of Utd reserves.. maybe so but the lad will have no confidence if he hears that..
    Think an Andy Reid appriciation thread should be started. Get him back in midfield.. Four months to change traps mind!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

So because its an appreciation thread for him, i assume i cant say what a idiotic wánker i think he is? :confused:;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yeah, he's pretty good to watch alright. His flip-flopping on Ronaldo over the last few years has been infuriating, yet entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

certainly after enduring what other station have to offer, RTE panel are way ahead, Ronnie Whelan could get up your wick at times but still the lot are way ahead of the bland crap that passes for punditry on other stations.

Jamie Redknapp, sweet jaysus...useless.No wonder he wears the black tie, thinks he's at a funeral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Kiera wrote: »
    So because its an appreciation thread for him, i assume i cant say what a idiotic wánker i think he is? :confused:;)

On an Eamonn Dunphy thread thats perfectly valid.:pac:

but he does come out with some classics

On Fabio Cannavarro:
    "If Rio Ferdinand is worth £100,000 a week, then
    this guy is worth €100 million . . . . . a day"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

RE: meditraitor's video,

That kind of drama couldn't be scripted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭metalgear2k2

Your a girl, what the hell would u know about soccer??? :D:D

Your You're a girl, what the hell would u know about soccer??? :D:D

It would seem i know alot more about football than you do about grammar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I have been a Dunphy fan for nearly 20 years. He has his flaws but I always enjoyed his radio programmes on Newstalk and Today FM. I think he is/was a lot better than his successors on these programmes.

It would seem i know alot more about football than you do about grammar!

God damit!!! I hate when people do that, you know what I meant!!!!

God damit!!! I hate when people do that, you know knew what I meant!!!!

Just admit Dunphy is a prick and i'll stop :P

No fe*kin way lady!!!! Dunphy is a legend, someone all the young ones can look up to! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

"Would you let him drive the train to Cork, Bill ?". Priceless.

Remember having a chat with a couple of English lads living in Dublin for a while. Big football fans. Said they could never go back to watching BBC, ITV, SKY coverage etc. Could not believe how good the RTE panel is.

Dunphy is a legend !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

I'm a massive fan of Dunphy. I think Ronnie is the only level headed person on the panel. Himself and Giles knows what they're talking about. Dunphy is just there to rise people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

As a football pundit that gets paid an extremely large amount of money to know something about football, he's a jackass and utter waste of TV license money.

As an entertainer, he's unrivaled and I <3 him. He's paid to act the fool basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm in, he's a clown, but the best kind of clown

Banter with Souness -
    Eamon Dunphy: "Look at Graeme, he won four Champions Leagues."
    Graeme Souness: " Three."
    Dunphy: " He won four league titles."
    Souness: "Five."
    Dunphy: "It's not bloody Mastermind."

ROFL:D Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

"You've jumped right over the fence baby"

Liam: "I wasnt in the cutting room"
    Eamonn:"Yeah, thats cos you missed the bus"

Hilarious.

Dunphy is an excellent pundit/journalist, a break from the regimented structure of analysis followed by BBC and Sky. Aside from football his opnion can command respect on any panel of Questions and Answers or The Late Late e.t.c. I also listen to his Radio1 Sunday morning slot where he interviews various prominent personalities with excellent insight and eloquence (you will find to podcasts on the RTE website I fink, worth a listen).

The soccer is his centre stage however but I dont agree that he is a clown being paid to perform, Its his thing innit! And It will be a sad sad day when Eamonn, John and Bill retire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I think we are all to blame ,
    We created the monster,
    My first memories or should I say first time I noticed HIM is just after a certain game against Egypt , when he when off on one , throwing pens and calling the Irish team performance a disgrace . We all agreed and viewing figures rose and a lot of us even admired him for having the balls to tell it like it was.

The public reaction and viewing figures led to vast sums of money and job offers been throw in his direction . We released the beast and over the years it has just developed in the monster we see on our screens today.

And IMO long may it live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I love Dunphy and the panel in general. Eamon deliberately courts criticism and flip flops a lot but is great entertainment. Even Souness who I thought was very boring at first is fitting in nicely and though I'm not too fond of Ronnie Whelan, I think that's mostly his accent. :)

The alternatives are so boring it's unbelievable. BBC, Sky and ITV pundits are too close to the players to criticise them. It's absolutely pointless watching their punditry.

In saying that Brady was working on the premiership and Champions League while working for Arsenal and was quite defensive of them at times ;) but it didn't stop the panel criticising them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

A panel who can say what they want is a rarity in this neck of the woods.

Add to that they can do it with intelligence and wit and RTÉ's commentary rocks. Dunphy's always been a hero, even if he can be annoying. ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

he can go die in a fire. The sooner the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Guy is a legend, and was brilliant last night. Great comedy but actually some decent analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

he can go die in a fire. The sooner the better.

Quite the statement coming from a person who supports such a delicate looking organisation...
    Founded in 2008, the World Bear program began with a mother's love and ends with you today.

You are however entitled to your crass comment.

Care to explain why exactly you think that?

Quite the statement coming from a person who supports such a delicate looking organisation...

You are however entitled to your crass comment.

Google PedoBear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I love Dunphy.

He's witty, articulate and often right to boot. He's too harsh a critic at times which is a welcome antidote to the utter lack of criticism encountered elsewhere.

Care to explain why exactly you think that?

Because i think he's so far up his own arse he cant see daylight. He's just TV's equivalent to an internet troll! There to get everyone wound up with the odd funny comparison thrown in for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

dunphy is an idiot, if i wanted to watch comedy i would buy a ticket to see tommy tiernan.

any man that says "The Irish team have better players than Inter Milan" is a fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

LMAO! :D That is brilliant!

He talks so much bollocks, but that's what makes him brilliant! I'm not a big football fan, but it's worth watching games just to see Eamon, Giles and Bill doing the punditry. RTE will miss them hugely when they're gone.

More Dunphy quotes:

"You need dictatorships and poverty to produce great footballers."

"Usually it takes a bottle of Bacardi and a gallon of Coke to get John out of his seat."

"After watching Watford against Manchester City last night
    that was like a bubblebath. It was beautiful." (talking about Barcelona)

Because i think he's so far up his own arse he cant see daylight. He's just TV's equivalent to an internet troll! There to get everyone wound up with the odd funny comparison thrown in for good measure.

In fairness while he loves the spotlight, he's not really up his own arse. He knows exactly how people see him. He's nothing like a troll. A troll just starts rows on any topic to cause trouble. Dunphy doesn't do that. He genuinely believes passionately in whatever he's arguing. He's not afraid to tell it like it is. He's a gentleman. He's a class act. He's a rebel and he stands up to bullies!

rossie1977 wrote: »
    dunphy is an idiot, if i wanted to watch comedy i would buy a ticket to see tommy tiernan.

You wouldn't be getting any comedy there either tbh

javaboy wrote: »
    In fairness while he loves the spotlight, he's not really up his own arse. He knows exactly how people see him. He's nothing like a troll. A troll just starts rows on any topic to cause trouble. Dunphy doesn't do that. He genuinely believes passionately in whatever he's arguing. He's not afraid to tell it like it is. He's a gentleman and he stands up to bullies!

he also does little or no research on the team before hand, he had zero knowledge of football outside these islands

You wouldn't be getting any comedy there either tbh

tiernan is a legend and an old neighbour of mine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

I like the fact that when you type his name into YouTube the first suggestion they make is 'Eamon Dunphy Drunk'. The time Roy Keane left Man Utd he seemed to be really hurt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Prep4trYNj4

javaboy wrote: »
    In fairness while he loves the spotlight, he's not really up his own arse. He knows exactly how people see him. He's nothing like a troll. A troll just starts rows on any topic to cause trouble. Dunphy doesn't do that. He genuinely believes passionately in whatever he's arguing. He's not afraid to tell it like it is. He's a gentleman and he stands up to bullies!

Oh piss off! Did you not hear him last night saying how Trapattoni picked a crap team for last nights game? He thinks Trap shouldn’t give the young guys a chance. If all the rest of the panel had said that, Dunphy would have gone against them and said Trap picked a great team.

I have no idea where you get that he's a gentleman? He's a wind up merchant and an utter tool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

Dunphy for Taoiseach

Oh piss off! Did you not hear him last night saying how Trapattoni picked a crap team for last nights game? He thinks Trap shouldn’t give the young guys a chance. If all the rest of the panel had said that, Dunphy would have gone against them and said Trap picked a great team.

He has a point. Not to turn this into a proper football thread but that team was rubbish last night despite the fact that 8 of them played out of their skin. That should tell you something about the manager. I like Trap and thought Dunphy was too harsh last night but he was right about that midfield.
    I have no idea where you get that he's a gentleman? He's a wind up merchant and an utter tool!

/drops microphone. Leaves studio Boards. :D

rossie1977 wrote: »
    tiernan is a legend and an old neighbour of mine :D

I have old neighbours. In their 80's they are. And they are much funnier than your old neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Super Sidious

"il tell you who wrote it Bill, Rob Little, he ran away and left his wife for a young 'wan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

In fairness he said Trap made a mistake in the midfield, not the whole team. As for giving youngsters a chance I'm all for it but not two reserve players who aren't then taken off when they don't perform.

Dunphy usually has a point and often a good one but it is buried in histrionics and exaggeration that come naturally too him when he is passionate about something. You will miss Dunphy when he's gone. As a agent provocateur he is fantastic, he gets John to say things that he would only normally say off air, live and is not afraid of putting across his own views.

He's often wrong and he's often not very considered but he's honest and passionate. He also has a wicked sarcastic sense of humour which is often taken as his true opinions by people

the only people who will miss dunphy when he is gone are fairweather fans who don't really watch football for the football but for the histrionics, exaggeration and rubbish dunphy spews forth.

anybody could get up on tv and do what dunphy does and call the likes of ibrahimovic and mascherano donkeys, where is the talent in that. i could do that job every day of the week and still know my stuff about the french, italian, spanish leagues etc

to quote one of my favourite bloggers and change the words slightly as he was talking about production shows

"If someone is a top class footballer, then they have done something, but it requires absolutely no skill to sit in the audience with your arms folded and pick apart a performance.

Few people can be top class footballers, yet anyone can be a critic"