Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chargers - Saints London 26th October

• 15-10-2008 7:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭

Well my tickets arrived today and I for one cannot wait for this now.

Many others going? Should be a shootout:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Same here :D:D

If the pitch isn't wrecked it should be a good match.

Go Saints!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

I'll be there. Not sure if I'm getting tickets to the tail gate yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

More than 20 from my team going. Looking forward to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭Sea Devils

Will be there. Hopefully the weather is a lot better then last year's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

cant make it as ill be in turkey at the time, really hope its a good game to watch though and generates some more positive media attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Apparently they tried to deliver my tickets this morning, so I will go to the post office later on and pick them up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 HoJOs

ive got 4 upper tier tickets for sale right on the halfway line if anyone is interested:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭philon

Yip, got my tickets delivered y'day....can't wait.
    2 teams that put up big yards & big points......just hope the pitch holds out for them to display their full talents.

p.s. Anyone know the best way to get to wembley from Victoria??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

philon wrote: »
    Yip, got my tickets delivered y'day....can't wait.
    2 teams that put up big yards & big points......just hope the pitch holds out for them to display their full talents.

p.s. Anyone know the best way to get to wembley from Victoria??

Yea I'd take the tube. Take the Victoria Line to Oxford Circus and change to the Bakerloo Line and get off at Wembley central Tube Station.

check out a tube map -

http://www.londontown.com/TubeMaps/TubeMapLarge.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

If you're coming from Victoria, I'd recommend getting the tube to Marleybone then get the train from Marleybone station to Wembley Stadium station. If you get yourself a 4-zone tube day pass, that will also cover you for this train route and it's non-stop from Marleybone to Wembley.

This way you avoid the stuffy, crowded tube and there are usually plenty of seats available (more likely on the journey there then the journey back). They also had plenty of trains on this line to get people home after the game though it did take a little while for the queue to get going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

Tickets arrived yesterday along with tailgate tickets, really looking forward to this. Here's hoping for half decent weather and a high scoring game :)

cheers for the directions JJ & Aussie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭paulanthony

Make sure you go to Wembley Park station, it's on the Metropolitan and Jubilee Lines. From Victoria change at Green Park Station onto the Jubilee Line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Was just about to buy tickets until I saw the price of flights:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Reggie bush wont be travelling to London.

Anyone know what would be a good time to get to Wembley ??:confused:
    Will there be entertainment/food/beer before hand ???

Reggie bush wont be travelling to London.

CBS reported that it is a torn meniscus and he is due for surgery today. Will be out for 3 or 4 weeks

I got there around 1 or 2 last year. There was an unofficial tailgate party at a pub near Wembley on a hill overlooking the stadium. One of the BAFL teams organised it. I don't know if they're doing the same thing this year but you could ask around on the nfluk.com message boards.

Actually, here are the details:

GBTP2email.jpg

If you can't find the pub, just ask the security guards/police officers where the Green Man is. That's what I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

kmart6 wrote: »
    Was just about to buy tickets until I saw the price of flights:(:(:(

In fairness you were looking to book flights to London for a bank holiday weekend with 7 days notice…

We got their last year ridiculously early as the good football of NFLUK frightened us into thinking the queues to collect tickets would be ridiculous. They weren't. There was no queue at all. Ended up in the stadium as soon as it opened, which was weird.

This year we (the same 4 as last year) have tailgate tickets and match tickets in hand so we should have something to do for most of the afternoon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

philon wrote: »
    Anyone know what would be a good time to get to Wembley ??:confused:
    Will there be entertainment/food/beer before hand ???
    I got there around 2 last year, thought there would be queues, wasn't any, ended up hanging around outside for over an hour and a half. Don't get there too early.

We collected tickets and then went to the Ibis for pints. Go there or to one of the Wetherspoons in Wembley - cheap booze - it's that kind of day anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Bit of info on the entertainment at the game:

Stereophonics are playing a pre-game set, Ne-Yo is singing the Star Spangled Banner and Joss Stone is singing God Save the Queen.

That is all. And I would highly recommend the tailgate party at the Green Man Pub it was a blast last year.

I presume there was an nfl official tailgate last year? If so was it any good? Does it only serve Coors light?:rolleyes:

They don't accept any credit card at the tailgate other than Visa.:rolleyes:

So if you're looking at buying merchandise and don't have visa you better be holding plenty of folding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

What's the best pub for around Wembley before the game?

The one with the best buzz:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

I'll be there but just in time for KO after watching the Reds at Stamford Bridge. Really hope weather is better than last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

in section 505.

We have tailgate tickets but i won't be there in time as only flying in at 1pm.

So the others will have to enjoy it

SantryRed wrote: »
    What's the best pub for around Wembley before the game?

The one with the best buzz:D

See the advert I posted above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I'm going. Got my tix the other day. Block 127, what a result!. Probably gonna head to the Green Man. I heard great things about it last year. I'll be sporting my new Alternate Cro. Go Bolts!.

Thought the crowd was pretty subdued but overall

800 yards of Offence
    8 touchdowns
    100 yards for LT
    Brees and Rivers passing all over the place
    Great catches and big plays

It really wasn't a bad game at all:)

Even though I'm a Giants fan, I have to admit that was a much better game then last year. The pitch seemed to be the same as last year but without the rain and I think the teams were better prepared for it.

I was cheering on the Saints because I have Brees on one of my fantasy teams but I was glad to see Tomlinson do well because some fantasy experts were suggesting that fantasy managers should consider sitting him. I was a little annoyed the Wembley game ran over the Giants/Steelers game but I was able to follow it online and I only missed the Steelers first touchdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Sea Devils wrote: »
    Thought the crowd was pretty subdued but overall

Was good in my section and much better overall than I had anticipated to be fair.

Great game in a great stadium. Very enjoyable. Will be back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Great game - two attacking teams and was good craic in our section (quite a few Irish aswell)
    Biazarre play call at the end by the Saints !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Good game.

Didn't like the lack of replays on the screen.

especially during challenges

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Was good in my section and much better overall than I had anticipated to be fair.

May have seemed that way but from watching it on TV it seemed pretty dead altough it did get louder when both teams got in the redzone or scored a TD as expected. There were a few empty seats as well

Although to be fair thank god the lack of mexican waves or boo boys when Brees got that intentional safety were absent

Trampas wrote: »
    Good game.

Didn't like the lack of replays on the screen.

especially during challenges
    I'd agree with you but I heard they're not allowed show the replay in the stadium during the challenge, only after the ref has made up his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Good game, didn't seem to be much of an atmosphere like others have said bar when in the red zone.

Thought there was a pretty good atmosphere myself. certainly better than last year.

Having a great game helped.

Will probably go back next year too...

It was a great day out, although I turned up out there too early - 12pm.:rolleyes:

Any indoor section of the official tailgate was packed out as it lashed rain. Couldn't even get to the counter in the merchandise tent, and there were queues everywhere. Couldn't drink Coors light so cleared off to the Green man and it was good fun watching the Liverpool - Chelsea game with a predominantly Liverpool supporting crowd. Even got a few lines of Steve Gerrard Gerrard in there. The takings in there that day would have spoiled the lining of your suit.

Off to the game and what a stadium. The queues were'nt as bad here for anything, and the pre game entertainment was good. The american anthem was good, but what a crazy take on god save the queen. The daily telegraph wasn't too impressed the next day with that one.

The game flew by, and we nearly got it all in this one. A missed PAT that I kept thinking would come back to haunt the Saints. Barely a punt all game certainly not in the first half. Some great catches for TDs by the saints, and some soccer style celebrations. A monster run by LT. A great onside kick recovery by the Chargers. A baffling safety given away by Brees, and that final hail mary attempt, when chunks of the crowd had left early.

Overall great entertainment. I think I saw gear worn by the fans of every team, except oddly enough the Bills. They'll struggle to top this game next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Drogman

At the game as well and had a great time. Great effort by both teams.

Tailgate party was the biggest load of crap I've ever witnessed. Too many people and you had to queue for everything. We got our beers and then buggered off to the stadium.

I'm not 100% clued into the rules of American football but can someone explain to me why Brees did that safety at the end? Surely he could have just kneeled and just ran the clock down? I think the Chargers had used up their timeouts by that stage?

Drogman wrote: »
    I'm not 100% clued into the rules of American football but can someone explain to me why Brees did that safety at the end? Surely he could have just kneeled and just ran the clock down? I think the Chargers had used up their timeouts by that stage?

It was 4th down. If he didn't reach the 1st down marker, the clock would've stopped and he'd have given the ball to San Diego where he kneeled down. By running away with the ball, he chewed up the clock, by throwing it out he ensured a kick from the 30 yard line would be made instead of a punt from the 15 (or wherever it was). He could've run a couple more seconds off the clock and they wouldn't hvae had to face the hail mary at the end

I thought there was a good atmosphere, certainly much better than I expected. It helped that there were loads of fellow Charger fans around us!.

The Green Man was great craic. We were there late saturday and sunday pre and post game. No problem getting drink and loads of fellow fans to chat with. Met loads of great people.

Won't be going next year though, turns into a v expensive w/e, esp if your own team ain't playing. I was lucky I got to see my beloved Bolts year 2!.

Was the Green Man showing the Giants/Steelers game? I heard someone rang them up and the guy there said they weren't. I can't imagine one of the closest pubs to Wembley wouldn't show the later NFL game on a night like that.

Was the 49ers/Seahawks game not the second sky game? Thats what was on when we got back to hotel anyway

Well the closest pub is probably the Wetherspoons, which trades as JJ Moons, and it wasn't showing it and refused to put it on. Then the barman picked up my pint and gave it somebody else and there was a bit of a row

Jeebus! Do pubs not want to make money anymore? 80,000 or so NFL fans in your area and you don't show the second NFL game on Sky?

The Giants/Steelers game was the 2nd Sky game this past week. Maybe the 49ers/Seahawks game was on the "red button".

Possibly. A number of the people in my hotel were 49er fans so they may have asked for it to be put on. Fair play to the hotel so...

JJ wrote: »
    Was the Green Man showing the Giants/Steelers game? I heard someone rang them up and the guy there said they weren't. I can't imagine one of the closest pubs to Wembley wouldn't show the later NFL game on a night like that.

Yes... the game on in the Green Man, at least on the TV where I was, was the Giants/Steelers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Drogman

Dodge wrote: »
    It was 4th down. If he didn't reach the 1st down marker, the clock would've stopped and he'd have given the ball to San Diego where he kneeled down. By running away with the ball, he chewed up the clock, by throwing it out he ensured a kick from the 30 yard line would be made instead of a punt from the 15 (or wherever it was). He could've run a couple more seconds off the clock and they wouldn't hvae had to face the hail mary at the end

Cheers Dodge. At least there was something to look forward to that weekend that our Eircom League rituals ;)