Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike stolen

• 15-10-2008 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭

Anyone hear of any bikes stolen from campus yesterday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Ask security ? If it was left in a visible place they may have CCTV footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Just a tip to everyone out there, safest place to park your bike (imo) is outside the postgrad res on the ballymun road entrance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

Checked with security, no CCTV, they did not give a s**t. The Garda took it seriously though, bike was worth a few quid. Don't know how they got it. The lock would have needed an angle grinder to get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Where did you lock your bike ? What type of bike was it ?

Its my sons bike. Its a custom made road bike, silver frame and very lightweight. Theres no brand name or anything on it. Thats about as much as I know. He locked it somewhere behind the Engineering building.

Thats where i usually lock my bike too(for the past 3years). Most of the road bikes are locked there. I wonder if its the spiffy silver fixie. If it is ill keep an eye out for it. I dont think your bike is truely safe anywhere on campus. Best option is to use two different locks.

Cheers, fair play to ya. Must ask him if he has a photo of it. Its very skinny looking, the frame looks like brushed alluminium, very very skinny wheels. only 1 brake lever and a gel saddle (not exactly a technical description :D.

Yeah thats sounds like the bike alright. Yellow rims or tyres if i remember correctly. Id recognise it if i saw it again. One of the nicest bikes parked in DCU. Looked very clean, expensive and new. Noticed it was absent today :(

At least you appreciated it . The scum that robbed it will probably sell it for €50(for heroin) not realising what its worth. Hopefully its insured and he can build another one. Must ring Insurance tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭DecentBee

robby^5 wrote: »
    Just a tip to everyone out there, safest place to park your bike (imo) is outside the postgrad res on the ballymun road entrance

Had my saddle nicked from there in first year. Cycled all the way home without it, standing up the whole way :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

robby^5 wrote: »

This is not a good idea. I know of bikes stolen from there and they were decent bikes that looked like crap. In other words, the thieves knew what they were about.

Best place to lock up is the large area at the business school. The security camera across the way is nearly always trained on it. The kind of alleyway down by engineering on the way to the X building is not a good place, it's fairly dark and there's no cameras.

Two locks is a must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Verb wrote: »
    This is not a good idea. I know of bikes stolen from there and they were decent bikes that looked like crap. In other words, the thieves knew what they were about.

Best place to lock up is the large area at the business school. The security camera across the way is nearly always trained on it. The kind of alleyway down by engineering on the way to the X building is not a good place, it's fairly dark and there's no cameras.

Two locks is a must.

Bikes tend to get damaged there a lot, I used to park mine there and twice during the year I came out to find my saddle all ripped up. A few people I know have had their tyres wrecked there too, that area tends to get fairly packed with bikes and people just dont give a **** when they're taking their own bike out banging into other peoples bikes etc.

I suppose there's no one place on campus safer than any others, I just prefer the postgrad during the day, havent had a single problem there for the past 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭lego

Leaving a bike outside in Dublin is a very foolish thing to do. I've seen plenty of scangers walking through DCU campus (Specifically knacker drinking in the evenings around the back of The Helix & the restaurant side of the Grattan building) aswell as other poorly lit areas of the campus. I thought the University was private property and they could be removed as they have no reason to be here but maybe I'm wrong. DCU security don't seem to care about the problem.

I put my fold-up bike into my bag when I go into lectures. As far as I can see that's the best way to avoid the "knacker-nicking-your-bike" problem.