Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the recession and irish music

• 13-10-2008 11:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭

I think its gonna be the demise of the boy band
    and loads of probably much more talented and better sounding acts coming up -particularly moany indy stuff - but played well. ;-)

everyone will be too poor to party the night away so will reclusify into practising that riff and those vocal parts to become better .

and all the great musos who took the easy cash on the sites will now have nothing to do but go for the dream .

the new renassiance will be here soon ;-)

opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

I'm starting a 2 piece with Alan who used be the singer in My Little Funhouse ... make a couple of extra bob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

The recession is a boost to real hard working class music I agree. People have less money to spend and be facing harder times so there will be many bands crawling out of the wood work putting pen to paper. Happy days. Ireland's people are nicer when they are poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Strings.ie

They say creativity rises in difficult times but with all the cut backs there will be less gigs to go around, at least on a local level which isn't a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i think on a global level, the Western World will slow down and people will stop living such mentally frantic lives chasing money (because they'll be not much to chase anymore).
    Hopefully they'll enjoy the arts more.

I know that there are parts of Eastern Europe that have infinitely more vibrant music scenes than here and they're pretty poor so I don't think the recession will make such a huge difference.

I mean the economic boom didn't exactly do much for Irish music so I can't see a recession hurting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Well Dav you can't kill something that's already dead!
    According to the Arts Council the average wage for a musician in Ireland is €10,000. Out of €7.25million that was generated in royalties in Ireland last year only €750,000 went to Irish Artists. The rest went out foreign. Nice eh?

Ahhh! The 80's. Miners strikes, Billy Brag, Red Wedge...
    Guitar cases stacked 12 high in the foggy dew, secondhand music shops, lads saving up their dole to do demos and pay for rehearsals.

I remember joining a band years ago and only one person in the band was working. I asked the bass player what he worked at when I joined and remember him telling me he had "better things to be doing than working" legend!!!

The singer ringing the dole office to say he couldn't come in to sign on that day "cause his brother had the shoes". Bring it on!

Back in the 80's I can only imagine with less money and less affordable technology how much fun it must have been to be pressing a demo. Imagine only ever recording in a studio which of course cost lot's of money that people had to scrimp and save for, and hearing your music (what a special treat it must have been). In 2001 there was students in college who had demo's on tape and it was perfectly acceptable. The CD is still a relatively new concept. Then after tape came the CD which removed hiss ten fold and made a massive difference sonically speaking. I love the relationship between sound recording and the advancements in technology. 'In the nammmmmme of love' (Bono)

dav nagle wrote: »
    The CD is still a relatively new concept.

If that's the case you're a relatively new concept !

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    If that's the case you're a relatively new concept !

Stands for "Compact Disc." CDs are circular discs that are 4.75 in (12 cm) in diameter. The CD standard was proposed by Sony and Philips in 1980 and the technology was introduced to the U.S. market in 1983. CDs can hold up to 700 MB of data or 80 minutes of audio. The data on a CD is stored as small notches on the disc and is read by a laser from an optical drive. The drives translate the notches (which represent 1's and 0's) into usable data.

The first CDs were audio CDs, which eventually replaced audio tapes (which earlier replaced records). Audio CDs have the advantage of allowing the user to jump to different places on the disc. CDs can also be listened to an unlimited number of times without losing quality. Audio tapes can start to lose quality after listening to them as few as ten times. This is because the laser that reads the data on a CD doesn't put pressure on the disc, whereas the playheads on a tape deck slowly wear away the magnetic strip on the tape.

In 1985, CD-ROMs hit the computer market. Because they could store far more information than floppy discs (700 MB compared to 1.4 MB), CDs soon became the most common software format. In 1988, the CD-R (CD-Recordable) technology was introduced, allowing computer users to burn their own CDs. However, this technology did not become mainstream until the late 1990s. A smaller 3" CD, called "CD-3" is also available and is readable by most tray-loading CD-ROM drives.

Stands for "Compact Disc." CDs are circular discs that are 4.75 in (12 cm) in diameter. The CD standard was proposed by Sony and Philips in 1980 and the technology was introduced to the U.S. market in 1983. CDs can hold up to 700 MB of data or 80 minutes of audio. The data on a CD is stored as small notches on the disc and is read by a laser from an optical drive. The drives translate the notches (which represent 1's and 0's) into usable data.

The first CDs were audio CDs, which eventually replaced audio tapes (which earlier replaced records). Audio CDs have the advantage of allowing the user to jump to different places on the disc. CDs can also be listened to an unlimited number of times without losing quality. Audio tapes can start to lose quality after listening to them as few as ten times. This is because the laser that reads the data on a CD doesn't put pressure on the disc, whereas the playheads on a tape deck slowly wear away the magnetic strip on the tape.

In 1985, CD-ROMs hit the computer market. Because they could store far more information than floppy discs (700 MB compared to 1.4 MB), CDs soon became the most common software format. In 1988, the CD-R (CD-Recordable) technology was introduced, allowing computer users to burn their own CDs. However, this technology did not become mainstream until the late 1990s. A smaller 3" CD, called "CD-3" is also available and is readable by most tray-loading CD-ROM drives.

But this is 2008! No?

1988 to be precise and I am Michael J fox

Ah right.... it all makes sense now.

ah but michael you talk of being in college in 2001. I've checked your wikipedia and you were not in college in 2001.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I've yet to hear an Irish band which i can say sounds great!...

have ya heard the blizzards?

actually I've liked two bands a lot who were Irish - Cranberries and Whipping Boy.

U2 sound ok, No?

jtsuited wrote: »
    ah but michael you talk of being in college in 2001. I've checked your wikipedia and you were not in college in 2001.

Thats what I am saying I went back to the future, me and Doc that is:p

actually I've liked two bands a lot who were Irish - Cranberries and Whipping Boy.

I'm doing a bit with Noel from The Cranberries at the moment, I'll send your regards.

One of the first tapes I ever destroyed by over-listening to, was their performance at Feile when I was about 10 (family member recorded it for broadcast - wasn't a bootleg!).

Then I got No Need To Argue and Everybody else.... and those two tapes went bust too after a few months.

I ended up working with one of the engineers from that first album. Cranberries still have my favourite snare sound of all time. Funny the albums you listen to as a kid influence you so much.

One of the first tapes I ever destroyed by over-listening to, was their performance at Feile when I was about 10 (family member recorded it for broadcast - wasn't a bootleg!).

Then I got No Need To Argue and Everybody else.... and those two tapes went bust too after a few months.

I ended up working with one of the engineers from that first album. Cranberries still have my favourite snare sound of all time. Funny the albums you listen to as a kid influence you so much.

Always thought they were very twee, much preferred The Sundays .... let WHAT linger for fecks sake?

" I never should have said 'The books that you read, were all I loved you for' " Dolly will be a long time writing before she tops that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n35C0j3LLB0

The Whipping Boy were the dogs b*llocks, amazing they never made the grade. Therapy? supported them in the underground.

Only chicks liked the cranberries!

studiorat wrote: »
    The Whipping Boy were the dogs b*llocks, amazing they never made the grade. Therapy? supported them in the underground.

Only chicks liked the cranberries!

I never got the Whipping Boy either - I remember the rep from their record label playing me their 'big' album and telling me they were going to be huge.

'Not a chance' may have been my exact words .....

However, if one said that about every single band one heard one would be correct 99% of the time!

I never got the Whipping Boy either - I remember the rep from their record label playing me their 'big' album and telling me they were going to be huge.

'Not a chance' may have been my exact words .....

However, if one said that about every single band one heard one would be correct 99% of the time!

I dunno. I mean When We Were Young and We Don't Need Nobody else are still imo two of the best songs ever recorded by an Irish band. Even hearing We don't Need... about three years ago put shivers down my spine.

I don't think they would have ever become huge, they had a darkness to their stuff that wouldn't have been accessible enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

Always thought they were very twee, much preferred The Sundays .... let WHAT linger for fecks sake?

" I never should have said 'The books that you read, were all I loved you for' " Dolly will be a long time writing before she tops that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n35C0j3LLB0

* little known tidbit of random crap from DDT *
    I knew these guys in limerick when they started , linger is about an ex boyfriend of dolores- they broke up , but he kept coming back to try and keep "it" alive so to speak - as in let "it" linger - she also stayed in a flat in o connell mall in limerick where a muso friend of mine ended up staying after , and she found a copy book with many song lyrics left behind in the flat as well,-

the bands name came from the drummer of "the hitchers" in limerick
    he formed a sideline band called " the cranberry saw us" - he left it and the others carried on , bringing in dolores far as i know.

great vibe of that band .

I dont know NOEL that well , but he may remember a limerick band called "toucandance " who i used to drum for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

I think its just gonna give way to more whingy musicians a la coldplay (music to kill yourself too) and likes..

As if we dont have enough of that...
    The Arts councils will probably cut back on the grants they can give - things like that...

Its just yawky.!. :(

DaDumTish wrote: »
    * little known tidbit of random crap from DDT *
    I knew these guys in limerick when they started , linger is about an ex boyfriend of dolores- they broke up , but he kept coming back to try and keep "it" alive so to speak - as in let "it" linger - she also stayed in a flat in o connell mall in limerick where a muso friend of mine ended up staying after , and she found a copy book with many song lyrics left behind in the flat as well,-

the bands name came from the drummer of "the hitchers" in limerick
    he formed a sideline band called " the cranberry saw us" - he left it and the others carried on , bringing in dolores far as i know.

great vibe of that band .

I dont know NOEL that well , but he may remember a limerick band called "toucandance " who i used to drum for.

How about the "tear collectors" and the "blue meanies"?

yeah , remember them as well - albeit vague , where they involved with the crans ?

No, they were some of my very first production gigs back in the day.

nice ,

was that in limerick ( xeric ) or somehwere else ?

nice ,

Xeric! I remember there, the plywood studio! I did a couple of sessions there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

Guilty as well! never forgot the plywood.
    They used 2 strange Akai 12 track digitals machines bolted together after they sold their 24 Track analog.

Yes! Akai ADAMs , first generation digi machines, 12 bit as I recall, but could be wrong about that.

the last track on my myspace ( the telephone ) was done in xeric in 1990
    ]
    good taaaaaammmmmmmes :pac:

nice ,

Only one in Xeric, shocking place. The urei monitors? Jaysus...
    The hallway was kind of cool though. Those Adams taking forever to lock up too!

I remember hearing a story about the frames I think, down there doing an all nighter with the window open. Next thing there was some trout in the control room in his pyjamas giving out stink about the noise. It was in an industrial estate as far as I remember so he would have had to walk over like that. Nutter!

I also did a bit of work putting up mmds tv aerials there for a summer great crack! Some cowboys down there back then!

If a trout ever comes into my studio I will gut him50307531.JPG

yeah, it was shocking all right - that track has a sample klik on top of the kick cos the moronic enginner didnt record the kick properly

in another session he couldnt mic the hats , so i had to overdub them ( no click )

no wonder it went to the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭tweeky

studiorat wrote: »
    I remember hearing a story about the frames I think, down there doing an all nighter with the window open. Next thing there was some trout in the control room in his pyjamas giving out stink about the noise. It was in an industrial estate as far as I remember so he would have had to walk over like that. Nutter!

Yeah forgot it was it was pre aircon, the studio was def a place to bring your headphones to but with hard work got a couple of good results in the end.