Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I want this hairstlye:

• 10-10-2008 11:08PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭

Im trying to get my hair into this style:

http://evilbeetgossip.film.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/10/chace_crawford.jpg

Now ive the same hair colour and its not as long as the fella in the photo, but not far off. i just need some tips on how to go about styling it, i havent a fecking clue like. Do i need to use products or what? A hairdryer? I can sort of get it towards that style but it just falls out. i hate putting anything in my hair to but am willing to to get this style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Cool - nice hair styles on blokes are sexy.
    Firstly get a good hair cut - this is the essence of it sitting and falling well. Hairdresser will advise on styling tips.
    All depends on hair type if like me your hair is naturly kinky you will need to blow dry it.
    A good dry gel after washing and combed through will prob suffice if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,840 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Okey doke, here goes. First off go to a good hairdresser, I go to Toni & Guy, and show them the photo or just give a good description, I'm sure people might know the show he's from.

The hair in the photo isn't straightened, but any hair that length will need to be blow dryed. Here's my routine and products I use, my length is fairly similar. I wash and condition, then I use this heat protector (http://www.hqhair.com/code/products.asp?PageID=362&SectionID=1305&FeaturedProduct=7512&pID=1), I spray on while the hair is wet after I'm out of the shower, so that when it's dry it won't be frizzy. To blowdry it like that just use a brush/comb and dry it downwards at all times while combing. After this the hair should be easily in that style but will need product. I use a tiny bit of this (http://www.hqhair.com/code/products.asp?PageID=362&SectionID=1307&FeaturedProduct=7522&pID=1) and rub it in my hands and apply all over, brush it how I want and use a bit of hairspray (any will do tbh). Aaaand done! Definitely don't use wax or gel because you'll want a non-greasy look like his.

Defintely a long response from me but that's what you'll need to, it doesnt take as long as it sounds, the styling part is surprisingly easy! Also use those products, they might look expensive but will last ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Lamps

Thanks for that speedboatcase. I think gettign the right haircut is the main thing, im terriifed going to hairdressers as they tend to detroy my hair I think. The last time I went to peter mark and brought a similar picture, the girl just went mad and cut my hair really short and then when finished just brushed my fringe over to the side - it was a disgrace and I lost loads of thickness and length.

A time before that I just went to a barbor and didnt bring a photo but explained the style, i basically got a short back and sides despite my protests.
    So its July since ive been to the hairdressers and know i have to go soon but am crapping myslef that im going to get a crap style yet again, so am putting it of and trying to just train my hair to go into the style.

I'll be washing my hair later and im going to take your advice, I have my sisters heat protector, serum, hairspray and blowdrier ready to go :pac:

Fingers crossed!

I've heard too many nightmare stories from peter marks (particularly from people who's hair was cut by howaya's and turned into some semi-scumbag without the mullet incarnation) and had a nightmare cut from House of Color before so that's why I'm going with Toni & Guy. Obv more expensive but I space out the cuts longer now, the hair itself is thinned out better so that it still looks grand 5/6 weeks later for when I get it cut. Just say you want a kinda Zac Efron hairdo, sure High School Musical is gay as hell but the hair looks good!

This site has lots of other styles, I think I see 2008 step haircuts on the way back - eep!

http://www.ukhairdressers.com/style/search.asp?gender=Male

This one looks best IMO, similar to the one you posted

http://www.ukhairdressers.com/style/full_pic.asp?pic=8543

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Ryaller

Hey speedboatchase, can you get those two products in any bricks-and-mortar shops around town, or do you have to buy online? Don't Peter Mark do GHD stuff? It's funny reading this thread - I brought a photo of that exact bloke the last time I got my hair cut. I've still no Idea who he is, but I thought I'd try growing my hair a bit before it's all gone. It worked out pretty good. I agree it does depend on getting a decent haircut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

thats hardly a style at all
    some wax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

Placebo wrote: »
    thats hardly a style at all
    some wax

Wax will make it look a bit greasy, that look has to look totally clean or else it looks crap. Be prepared to wash your hair nearly everyday so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭mel123

Bring the photo with you, the Barber Rooms just off D'Olier street on the way around to Trinty College are very good, and cheaper than most places like T&G, Peter Marks etc.

I think GHD products are in Peter Mark but not sure if those two products would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭maninblack

Does the hair serum keep your hair shiny, but without looking greasy?

My hair always looks fine in the morning after i comb it through and put a small but of gel in it.

By the end of the day it usually looks really dried out though and all over the gaff!

Im thinking about going in and getting it cut later, am quite afraid but think i will, think i'll try the barbour rooms and hope I get lucky (it all depends on the barbour you get really!).

I dont think a hairdresser can do anything to it really though, i just need to grow it more to get the style. Its very thick at the back and a bit crap looking, this is the problem area at the moment, whats the back of that style meant to look like? Mine is starting to curl at the back now which I need to sort out. Not sure as to whether I should let it keep growing or get it cut and styled or what.....

Yeah the serum definetly makes it look shiny but not greasy. However it doesn't really hold at all so thats why I use a bit of hairspray before I'm out the door. The back should be short enough, stay away from the mullet!

http://www.christopherpeterson.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/christopher_chace_crawford_web.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭maninblack

If it's not long enough, don't bother getting it cut now. Stick it out and grow it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

Yep stick it out!! Its a fecker but has to be done. Or maybe just get the long hair cut of the back, dont let it even go near beign a mullet!! Your regular barbour should be able to manage that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Mrbrianmolko

I want that sort of look to:

Heres mine at the the moment, its horrible and i dont know what to do. Im going to a big big party 2 weeks time and I need my hair to look good, what do i do??? I'll be seeing people for the first time in years and look to look good. thinking of just gettign it cut right down, but that looks crap to but a lot neater at least. Arrgghh its so annoying

http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq217/Galwayguy/CIMG1492.jpg

Just take the general advice that I gave in the last page, and get it cut somewhere nice. It needs to be a bit more layered and blowdried tbh

I want that sort of look to:

Heres mine at the the moment, its horrible and i dont know what to do. Im going to a big big party 2 weeks time and I need my hair to look good, what do i do??? I'll be seeing people for the first time in years and look to look good. thinking of just gettign it cut right down, but that looks crap to but a lot neater at least. Arrgghh its so annoying

http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq217/Galwayguy/CIMG1492.jpg

Its probably not thick enough yet to get the style in the first page, jsut let it keep growing, the fringe seems long enough just need the thickness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Mrbrianmolko

Just take the general advice that I gave in the last page, and get it cut somewhere nice. It needs to be a bit more layered and blowdried tbh

Is it not to short to have it layered though?