Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting back (Judo)

• 09-10-2008 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭

Hey there.
    I'm looking to start back judo.
    I stopped 2 years ago due to school but I have the time now.
    I did it or 3 years before quitting and I'd got a few medals in irish and leinster opens.

I was wondering if anyone would recommend a club for me to join around the Raheny area or around that area.

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

There's the daigokan somewhere around that area and there's judo in the kilbarrack industrial estate on wednesday at 7pm. more details to follow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Welcome back to the beautiful world of judo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

Good luck, I'm thinking of doing the same, though I haven't done any Judo in quite a few more years.

DROC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

droc wrote: »
    Good luck, I'm thinking of doing the same, though I haven't done any Judo in quite a few more years.

DROC

plenty of clubs in France for ya though DROC you'll be spoiled for choice with quality Judo.....

as for the OP there is daigokan on the Malahide Rd, Portmanock and Swords aint to far either, if your getting quality Judo travelling 20mins shouldnt be an issue at all :D i used to go Portmarnock on Monday, Swords Tues & Thurs and Coolmine on Sat...to get the training and the quality of training more so it is deffo worth the travelling..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭roneythetube

no judo for adults in coolmine on a saturday - kids classes only. but you stil have lots of choices OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

Judomad wrote: »
    plenty of clubs in France for ya though DROC you'll be spoiled for choice with quality Judo.....

Yeah, the level of judo here is fantastic, plus I'm pretty good friends with former European champion Bertrand Amoussou, so maybe I'll try to blag myself an invitation to INSEP

DROC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

LovelyTom wrote: »
    Hey there.
    I'm looking to start back judo.
    I stopped 2 years ago due to school but I have the time now.
    I did it or 3 years before quitting and I'd got a few medals in irish and leinster opens.

I was wondering if anyone would recommend a club for me to join around the Raheny area or around that area.

Thanks!

Tom, you won't go wrong with The Daigokan in Donneycarney.

Your just down the road from me (its where I regularly train), my son has just started training there so if you want I'll hook up with you and introduce you to the guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

Mairt wrote: »
    Tom, you won't go wrong with The Daigokan in Donneycarney.

Your just down the road from me (its where I regularly train), my son has just started training there so if you want I'll hook up with you and introduce you to the guys.

That's where I started my training and my brother goes there, I was just wondering if there were any better clubs as I wasn't sure if it was any good but I'll be up there next tuesday! They still have classes on thursday?

Yes on the Thursday Q.

Who's your brother?.

Greg, he's only 10 so you might not know him!

Started back today in Daigokan.

Really really regret not starting back earlier. Just can't beat that feeling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

JOB competed against a french black belt in judo. They are on another level. :( You'll get some badass training Droc!

Started back today in Daigokan.

Really really regret not starting back earlier. Just can't beat that feeling!

Glad you enjoyed it, I should be back training tomorrow night.

See you then maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Garry Bergin

Andy Ryan is running a judo class on Wednesday nights at 7pm. I think if you want a good, hard quality randori session, Andy is definately the one to go to and if you have medalled in Leinster and Irish competitions you will definately know him. It is on in his new place in Kilbarrack.

unit 4c killbarrick ind est

'turn left at denis mahonys in kilbarrack coming from the train station go all the way to the end, and then take the right all the way to the end and the gym is on your left above the mechanics '

or

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&saddr=Kilbarrack+Parade+%4053.391604,+-6.151493&daddr=53.391704,-6.151432&hl=en&geocode=9558425027319551197,53.391604,-6.151493%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=18&sll=53.391631,-6.150321&sspn=0.00158,0.004828&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=18

Hope to see you there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

judo gis for a tenner in jjb sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Yeah that shrink to the size of a child's one after a wash!

Im a man ill never be able to work a washing machine, the instructions are in written in women.

ryoishin wrote: »
    judo gis for a tenner in jjb sports.

I was out in the store in Blanch this morning and didn't see them.

I'd a JJB Judogi for a few years, it was a great training suit. Light weight jacket and elasticated pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

It's easy to use a washing machine, you put the thing you want washed in a pile on the floor, and about 3 days later it appears in the hot press, clean and ironed. I don't know how the yoke does it cos when we were buying it the guy said it took stuff like washing powder, water etc. etc. and never said anything about it being able to fold stuff.

I bought one, just to have one spare, the trousers are way to big like nearly twice my leg and the jacket is ok but im expecting it to shrink a fair bit as roper said.

They were down at the stairs.

If nothing else ill hang the jacket from a pull up bar and try and use it to strenghten my grip, well i say that here but if i actually do it ill be surprised.

ryoishin wrote: »
    I bought one, just to have one spare, the trousers are way to big like nearly twice my leg and the jacket is ok but im expecting it to shrink a fair bit as roper said.

They were down at the stairs.

If nothing else ill hang the jacket from a pull up bar and try and use it to strenghten my grip, well i say that here but if i actually do it ill be surprised.

Give the jacket a really cool wash for the first few and it won't shrink. They're a grand suit, don't be put off by the JJB label.