Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People With Umbrellas

• 07-10-2008 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭

Its coming towards the time where I'll be ending my daily slog for the day. Unfortunately rain + rush hour city centre = despite my best ducking and weaving, me getting a couple of smacks of people under umbrellas that could keep small towns dry. I've nothing against umbrellas, I think they are a great invention, especially in the rain; even apes use them in the jungle. Just oblivious, self-centred, ignorant people.As far as I know, nobodys ever died in an umbrella accident, and I wouldn't want to be the first cause of that, so if your walking home with a brolly please remember that your brolly is wider than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Just put your hands up in the air and whirls them around in anger, thus knocking any offending invading umbrella out of harms way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Just put the head down and walk purposefully. You'll be surprised how many people miss you with their umbrellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Get yourself a golf umbrella. The biggest one you can find. With steel spines poking out around the rim. Hold it comfortably and stride along confidently. Move it for no-one. You'll be happy then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

there's only one way to win the umbrella war and that's to have the biggest umbrella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Just put your hands up in the air and whirls them around in anger, thus knocking any offending invading umbrella out of harms way...

Ahh "The Helicopter"

Textbook stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ScumLord wrote: »
    there's only one way to win the umbrella war and that's to have the biggest umbrella.

Or a hammer on a long handle!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

As far as I know, nobodys ever died in an umbrella accident

Not quite true.

R.I.P. Shary Bobbins :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Ah, you get used to it. I don't mind when they hit me in the shoulder or anything but i will happily ensure the carrier of said umbrella knows they are a spanner should it hit me in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Its coming towards the time where I'll be ending my daily slog for the day. Unfortunately rain + rush hour city centre = despite my best ducking and weaving, me getting a couple of smacks of people under umbrellas that could keep small towns dry. I've nothing against umbrellas, I think they are a great invention, especially in the rain; even apes use them in the jungle. Just oblivious, self-centred, ignorant people.As far as I know, nobodys ever died in an umbrella accident, and I wouldn't want to be the first cause of that, so if your walking home with a brolly please remember that your brolly is wider than you.

People should also take them down before they get on the bus. Preferably when they see the bus approaching the stop. It's possible to lose both eyes as people are funneling in the bus doors.

Also when you let them down don't shake them on the person behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

ScumLord wrote: »

This isn't a war it's an idealistic struggle.

And there's only one way to win an idealistic struggle - that's to have lots of meetings in coffee shops and write poetry about the damn umbrella oppressors.

Oh yeah - and grow a goatee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I find razor blabes on the edge of my umbrella keeps people out of my way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Tackle them to the ground before they get to you. Wham! Clothesline! Alternatively, an umbrella like Burgess Meredith Penguin in 1966 Batman telly series works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Also when you let them down don't shake them on the person behind you.

Sounds like a line from 'Toilet Etiquette for Gents'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

What I also hate is people who stand under bus shelter with umbrellas open. I mean....wtf?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Umbrellas should be banned, if your really that scared of a bit of water falling out of the sky then get a coat with a hood. The umbrellas are generally pretty useless at keeping the rain off you anyway unless it's falling straight down so that big contraption is clearly overkill for just trying to keep the top of your head dry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Also umbrellas at football matches. There'll always be some ignorant hoor down near the front who will put up his parachute as soon as he gets a couple of drops of rain just as the match is entering it's final 5 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

robinph wrote: »
    Umbrellas should be banned, if your really that scared of a bit of water falling out of the sky then get a coat with a hood. The umbrellas are generally pretty useless at keeping the rain off you anyway unless it's falling straight down so that big contraption is clearly overkill for just trying to keep the top of your head dry.

Or get yourself one of these:

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Sofa_King Good

at least I have the consolation that there is a much higher likelyhood of them getting bad luck by having an open umbrella indoors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Or get yourself one of these:

I'd rather get a cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 stehigg

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This isn't a war it's an idealistic struggle.

And there's only one way to win an idealistic struggle - that's to have lots of meetings in coffee shops and write poetry about the damn umbrella oppressors.

Oh yeah - and grow a goatee.

and be working class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

It's those bank manager types with HUGE 5 person umbrellas that piss me off. I once passed by 3 of these guys in a row, only to then see two asian girls huddling under one small one (they were also holding hands...)

What's wrong with a rain coat FFS?

stehigg wrote: »
    and be working class

Everyone knows working class people can't grow goatees! :rolleyes:

Shows how much you know!

two asian girls huddling under one small one (they were also holding hands...)

Nice touch! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

I was once in close proximity to a lady on a rainy day, who exclaimed to her partner after a umbrella clash "They have no umbella etiquette". She was either English or American, I can't quite remember. Anyways, I was intrigued.

So what's the rules?

Men raise their brollies over the ladies carrying theirs?
    someone with a brolly always gives clearence to someone without one?
    If more than one umbrella carrying individual stands beside another do they combine in some sort of pattern to increase the coverage of overhead protection?

your thoughts, theories and suggestions please people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

WHY CAN'T PEOPLE JUST LOOK WHERE THEY'RE GOING AAAAAAAAGGGGGHHHHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

phi3 wrote: »
    WHY CAN'T PEOPLE JUST LOOK WHERE THEY'RE GOING AAAAAAAAGGGGGHHHHHH

They do. You've recently been rendered invisible and have yet to realise it. We're all laughing at you now.

Tee hee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

They do. You've recently been rendered invisible and have yet to realise it. We're all laughing at you now.

Tee hee.

I knew it! I had suspected that for a very long time. But now that you've confirmed it i intend to use it to my advantage and get my own back. Let the fun begin mwahahahahaha

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

<3 umbrellas.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I have a car. Why would I ever need an umbrella? Everywhere I park has a roof over it.
    Especially after 5 or 6 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

http://www.witn.com/home/headlines/26820344.html

Not quite a small rain one, but an evil umbrella nonetheless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

whiskeyman wrote: »
    This here must be the best thing i've read all day:D And only just today did i buy myself another umbrella, a feckin huge one that could keep a herd of cattle dry. Still i hate the way others almost slice my carotid or jugular as they are too *****ng lazy to move it 2 feet, at least have the courtesy to move it over people's heads as you pass...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 nasher

Does anyone else find when they do have a brollie up, that you get a few random guys without umbrellas trying to steal a bit of shelter without asking? I usually hold mine up higher to avoid poking guys eyes out! But I might stop from the threat of the silent ninjas! This has happened a few times to me... I wish they would just ask! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

An umbrella with a machine gun built into it...:cool:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I have a car. Why would I ever need an umbrella? Everywhere I park has a roof over it.
    Especially after 5 or 6 pints.

They especially have a roof when you have been drinking?

Try people cycling with umbrellas! Epic stupidness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Meh, I vote all the culchies go home.

Less people = less umbrellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I lol @ umbrellas. My head is at umbrella height, so rather than ducking to the side, weaving around them, I push them to the side with my arm. And the people (who are smaller than me) apologize.