Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Congratulations - Killarney Festival

• 06-10-2008 10:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

To everyone involved in the Ladbrokes Poker Festival held in Killarney this weekend. Ladbrokes, Big Slick, Cue Club, the Gleneagle Hotel and all the staff involved.

I have attended a lot of poker festivals in my time and i have to say this was up there with the best run i have encountered from start to finish, thanks guys, you have put us under a lot of blooming pressure! :eek:

Well done again

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

yes a very well run weekend yet again with the 3 mtts selling out. VWP FOLKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

a bit of a gicky blog update on Killarney, (well I'm tired) I enjoyed the ME and the cash games were great fun . Great venue and I'll be back.

well done Laura on finsihing in the top 40 ro so.....obviously not just a talented poet..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Very well done to all at Big Slick, Cue Club et al... You have raised the bar yet again for us in 11 days time :D

Stephen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

amazingly well run, beautiful set up, will definitely be returning next year, as id say will everyone else. one tiny tiny gripe, jesus those seats would break ur back. the folding ones, they were agony! :D

Congrats Neil Connie et al!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

By almost all account WP Connie and BSP.

But does carfax have to hijack every single thread on boards, mods??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

By all accounts great showing, Cant wait or the IPO now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Great event, really well run. Only gripes for next time would be the food at the dinner breaks - hard to cater for 800 people but a buffet would have made more sense.

The cash game rake at 7 euro per half hour in a 1-2 game was extreme also. Having said that when you were running as bad as me it made little difference :)

GJ Neil, Connie and Matt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Fantastic event well done to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Congrats to connie /neil /matt on a great weekend of poker. especially since its on my doorstep.
    seats were a killer though.
    some complained about the food . soup and sandwiches on day1 and chicken / rice on day2.
    i didnt make day3 so i dont know what was on for that.
    i really dont know what sort of spread people were expecting in an 800+ field and a 50e reg event.
    im not sure what the normal rake is on cash games in these events but it was clearly displayed beside the waiting list.
    roll on next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Thanks lads,
    Really, I'm too goddamn tired to write anything of substance, but I must say, the festival went off very well. The players were extremely complimentary, and when you win over the players, you know all the planning was worthwhile.

Huige thank you to all the players for their patience. The side events were unbelievably busy, with both of them selling out. Players queued for the 1st side event before reg opened, and within 40 mins of opening registration, the event was sold out to 390 players!!!

I'd like to say another big thanks to our dealers, dealer manager and indeed all our floor staff. They were extremely professional in their attitude to the job in hand, and the smooth running of all 3 sell-out events was really down to them.

Finally, let me thank Ladbrokes.com and the Glen Eagle Hotel management for their efforts in putting all this together.

Hope any boardie there had a good time, and look forward to seeing you in the near future,

Connie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭BRUCEPOKER.COM

Congratulations to Neil, Connie, Matt and all the Dealers for an excellent show. It was very well run and all of us there from Brucepoker were so impressed,” that’s how poker should be run.” All the hard work was worth it lads well done .We are looking forward to seeing you all in November in the Green Isle.
    Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

an excellent festival and def will be back next year if its on. Neill and his staff were very professional and us players were well catered for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

zuroph wrote: »
    amazingly well run, beautiful set up, will definitely be returning next year, as id say will everyone else. one tiny tiny gripe, jesus those seats would break ur back. the folding ones, they were agony! :D

Congrats Neil Connie et al!!

if you were lucky to be in them long enough :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

what a weekend , what a set up , had to be a few glitches due to sheer logistics of the occasion , once again an irish festival has the wow factor , we should be proud for leading the way , we are the envy of the brits and mainland europeans.

gripes food , didn't affect me as had a superb appartment behind the brehon and as a lot of readers may be aware made a stonking chill, others may attest that it stank but i digress

tables well they were crap lets be honest , but the lads were delivered the wrong kind and situation was out of there control. bad beat

seating could do better but kinda got used to them after a while

dealers well some were excellent , some were good , a lot were adequate but has to be said quite a few were inexperienced i suppose the law of supply and demand comes into play here

rake if players stopped complaing about the rake each time there was a collection and had it ready and realised that all the posturing during hands is costing them money they might speed up the game and try and get the hand per hour up to something in to middle/ upper teens rather than single figure drudgery

superb cash game set up , the buzz in the room on saturday night premastergate was awesome.

the ladbrokes lounge was a total treat , had a certain chillout factor and the food available for purchase was in general tasty not too pricey and if you had the munchies at 7 in the morning you didn't have the usual coin flip of 24 hour tesco vs waiting for breakfast

and the best thing about killarney was fortunate james takin 100 k straight back to cork with no deals playin balls to the wall heart thumping kick ass poker

neil kelly connie and ladbrokes adam and sam updaters all staff everyone wp

the weekend was a total triumph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Like I said on the update thread, a fantastic weekend. Big praise deserved to all involved. Also gotta echo Bob's comments on the players lounge, nice and relaxing and plenty of stuff to do.

Roll on next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Hi all!

I wanted to put a big congratz to Neill and all the others for pulling of the best run pokerevent i ever visit. You guys are indeed super proofessionals and not even once i saw you stressed or with anything else then a smile on. Everything was planned into even the smallest detail and unexpected things fixed with no fuzz at all.

Also a very nice place to have an event of that size, look forward to next year with 2000 runners.

Am hugley impressed.

Also great to see all of you again :-) super nice, i hope it wont be so long to next time.

Take care all and remember whenever in my neck of the woods give me a buzz and beers on me

anna panna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭caoimh36

what a weekend , what a set up , had to be a few glitches due to sheer logistics of the occasion , once again an irish festival has the wow factor , we should be proud for leading the way , we are the envy of the brits and mainland europeans.

gripes food , didn't affect me as had a superb appartment behind the brehon and as a lot of readers may be aware made a stonking chill, others may attest that it stank but i digress

tables well they were crap lets be honest , but the lads were delivered the wrong kind and situation was out of there control. bad beat

seating could do better but kinda got used to them after a while

dealers well some were excellent , some were good , a lot were adequate but has to be said quite a few were inexperienced i suppose the law of supply and demand comes into play here

rake if players stopped complaing about the rake each time there was a collection and had it ready and realised that all the posturing during hands is costing them money they might speed up the game and try and get the hand per hour up to something in to middle/ upper teens rather than single figure drudgery

superb cash game set up , the buzz in the room on saturday night premastergate was awesome.

the ladbrokes lounge was a total treat , had a certain chillout factor and the food available for purchase was in general tasty not too pricey and if you had the munchies at 7 in the morning you didn't have the usual coin flip of 24 hour tesco vs waiting for breakfast

and the best thing about killarney was fortunate james takin 100 k straight back to cork with no deals playin balls to the wall heart thumping kick ass poker

neil kelly connie and ladbrokes adam and sam updaters all staff everyone wp

the weekend was a total triumph

+ 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

congrats niell connie matt on a great tourie i was not able to play because of work but came down sat afternoon to see set up which was brill . played a small bit of cash and then relaxed up stairs and played some pool which was a great idea for players to relax if they wanted .

now i thought there rake been charged at 7 euro was great and better than raking from pots because in some of these tourie they really do charge to much and i hope other td take note .:D:D

sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭JustMac

Only made Sundays side event but thoroughly enjoyed my short time involved in it. Lost 5 euro on the cash table after about 5 hours which wasnt too bad. Very impressive set-up so I can see why the compliments are rolling in. Must make an effort to qualify for the main event next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

super stuff by all involved, it was clear from the kick off a huge amount of preparation was put into this and they really pulled it off. Tks to Connie/Matt/Bigslick and ladbrokes for a great weekend. I can see this one running and running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Dukebox

soooooooo much fun
    great all around.....

couldnt say about the folding seats, not to bad if you only sit in them for a short space of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Samoa Joe

What a weekend. We are certainly going to have our work cut out next week to try and match this bench mark!

Wp Neil and all involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Just wanted to thank Connie, Neil, Matt and everyone involved in running a top class tournament, with a great atmosphere from beginning to end. The venue was excellent for a poker tournament, and the upstairs lounge added to the atmosphere. The cash rooms reminded us so much of Vegas. Well done to everyone involved.

The only problem is that there seems to be a clash of who is really sponsoring Padraig Parkinson.

Boyle sports or Green joker poker:rolleyes::rolleyes:

IMAG0034.jpg

We had a great time in killarney (not that we saw much outside the hotel).. Roll on next years event.

Colette & Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Samoa Joe

smurph wrote: »

Just wanted to thank Connie, Neil, Matt and everyone involved in running a top class tournament, with a great atmosphere from beginning to end. The venue was excellent for a poker tournament, and the upstairs lounge added to the atmosphere. The cash rooms reminded us so much of Vegas. Well done to everyone involved.

The only problem is that there seems to be a clash of who is really sponsoring Padraig Parkinson.

IMAG0034.jpg

We had a great time in killarney (not that we saw much outside the hotel).. Roll on next years event.

Colette & Martin

What a spot ! Theres nothing can be hidden from you ! Must remember never to try and bluff you with reads like that !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

smurph wrote: »

IMAG0034.jpg

Colette & Martin

Thats the most expensive place to take advertising on parkinson as when he falls over from too much drink it's the first thing everyone will see.....

was like colin mcrae once upon a time joking that he was going to sell advertising on the underneath of his subaru as it spent more time on it's roof than anywhere else...

wow nice spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 peterpancake

nice one bob,well done jimmy,proud of you boy!
    Your friend from mayfield
    N.M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

nice one bob,well done jimmy,proud of you boy!
    Your friend from mayfield

Roy Keane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 peterpancake

no,but lets just say my names not peter!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭marty smyth

just repeating whats already be said, but it really was a superbly run weekend. well done all involved. only complaint is that the weather was too bad for the planned golf day, and that i couldn't hit the booze much due to a bit of a cold.
    well done to jimmy too. good to see he didn't waste my chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Superb set-up and Brilliantly run....You guys make it look so easy....

Well done.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Another excellent weekend of poker.

Well done to everyone who made this possible. Neill, Jakey, Richie, Connie, Matt, Toby, Oscar, Ladbrokes and of course all the dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Fair play to Big Slick and all involved in the organisation and planning of this event, made it an easy task to run the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

Well done, was a great weekend. had alot of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭theGIANT

Well done to everybody involved.Fantastic weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

well done Lucky Jimmy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Hi All ,

Thanks for all the comments on this event and roll on next year .

I would like to thank the Following All the staff and Management of Both Big Slick and the Cue Club for the huge Hours put into this event.

Andrew Sillane and All at Destination Killarney for putting this event together.Also to the Hotel staff for everything we asked for straight away.

To Ladbrokes for allowing us to run this the way it should be and having faith in what we do best.Must thank Jo sherring for the help on the Qualifiers, It was a pleasure to work with u all and hope to do so again.

Our Dealer Manager Danielle Paynter who had the hardest job of us alland although stressed made my life on the floor so easy.

All the dealers who travelled far and wide to be with us at the event.

To Peter Mc Cauley from Casino Shop for all the Equipment.

Our Floor managers - Keith Murphy/Brendan Murphy/Toby Stone/Oscar Fred/Mike Clarke/Steven Hayes/and Nicola who also stood in as this was the best i have seen to date for a team on the floor so hats off.

Also to Tom Murphy and all at Boards for Helping the sucess of this event.

This event was a Sucess but we aim to make it better next year and make it bigger and better if possible .

Roll on 2009

Neill Kelly
    Big Slick Events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭urallfish

I just want to say it was a brilliant tournemant and of course i knew the boys would pull it off with flyin coulers. It was like wailking through heavens gates going through those doors. Sick over the bad beat with marty smith when he rivered a house after i flopped the nuts. Thats poker though i guess,looking forward to next year(giving up the drink) doesnt sute me.Soory guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Pabloh wrote: »
    Great event, really well run. Only gripes for next time would be the food at the dinner breaks - hard to cater for 800 people but a buffet would have made more sense.

The cash game rake at 7 euro per half hour in a 1-2 game was extreme also. Having said that when you were running as bad as me it made little difference :)

GJ Neil, Connie and Matt.

As above.

I loved the whole weekend..... Cash games were mental especially with 11 pints down the gob and when ya turn a house on an A 2c 6c Ac board and lose to the higher house then get it all in on the flop with AA vs KK and the K pops its ugly head up on the turn ya know its time to stop.

Great weekend of poker. See ya next year.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭urallfish

First of all i woiuld like to put out a major apology for me drink fuelled weekend in killarney i understand i upset a few people and plyers.My actions in the cash area were out of hand and my behaviour was discraceful. I want to say sorry to all boardies who knows me. givin up the poisin forever no more, dont agree with me.It was a great tournemant no other words can descibe it. Very sorry to neill jaky keith and richy whom i embarassed up there. They were just doin a great job didnt have to intervene in my ***** up carry on. GUINNIE :(