Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claims saw UFO last night...

• 04-10-2008 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭

......my sister and her husband had a strange experience last night. Before I go any further, they are two of the most "normal" well-rounded people you could meet. Not spiritual or "off the wall" or strange in any way, just two regular joe/josephine soaps. They wouldn't speak of this incident on front of their children for fear of scaring them. But, they were watching TV in their living room @ about 12:30 last night with the lights off when my sis noticed there was a light shining on their chimney breast (coming in from the window behind them) She said it was like head-lights of a car but coming from a direction where there's no road (they live in extremely rural and remote area, very few neighbours and other houses aroud them)

Anyways, she could also see shadows crossing over and back the light and she thought it was their (pretty big) dog outside. So she mentioned it to hubby and when he went to the window he saw the strangest thing. There was some sort of craft hovering and casting a very stong beam onto a telephone pole in the field next to their house (he said the beam started retracting back to the "craft" when he looked out) He claims this thing was a mile away, but my sis claims it was only about 500 metres away, she said it would be very hard to estimate as it could have been huge and miles away or smaller and alot closer, but it was well up in the sky. It was a "thing" hovering well (at least 100ft) about ground - again, he thinks it was a mile above ground and a mile away - she thinks it was closer and lower down. But it was covered in lights (in a circle around the edge) and it hovered for about 8 minutes there while they watched.

They tried to get camcorder but its memory was full (typical!!) Anyways, when it was finished it's business it began, what they think was, spinning and it had different coloured lights on it, I can only remember them mentioning orange and some other colours....and then it took off at a very high speed (he reckons 1000 MPH) and disappeared over the horizon. She said they opened the window and everything to listen and there was no noise coming from whatever it was. They both thought it may have been some strange type of helicopter or airplane but there was no sound and the speed it went meant it couldn't possible have been either.They had let the dog inside at this stage and he wasn't in the slightest bit bothered by what was going on either. My sis feels a bit of a fool and when I asked her to describe it she said she couldn't 100% see the shape of it in the dark, mainly the lights, but from what she could see, and she said she knows this is very cliched, but she said it was like a saucer shape with an orb/sphere shape in the middle.

My sis, like me, has always been skeptical about these things, and says now, that when she was younger, she often saw strange lights in the sky dancing in weird ways etc but always explained them away in her head. She said she can't do that this time. She can't explain this one away. They are both truly convinced that they've seen a UFO or else there are some high-tech weirdos somewhere controlling very very strange machines that the world doesn't quite know about yet.

Just thought I'd share this and ask has anyone else seen anything similar??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭0utpost31

Can you ask them to draw a pic of it, scan it and post it here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭DANNY22XX

i wonder was the craft looking for tickets to the Dublin ParaCon,,,lol,,:P

would be intresting to see if there were other reports of this in the area,,,

was there anything in the papers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

DANNY22XX wrote: »
    i wonder was the craft looking for tickets to the Dublin ParaCon,,,lol,,:P

would be intresting to see if there were other reports of this in the area,,,

was there anything in the papers

There wouldn't be anything in the papers - it's a very remote area - everyone knows everyone and no-one else seems to have been looking outside at that time, well, they haven't heard of anyone yet anyways. And my sis won't be going on about it to anyone (not least the papers....)

0utpost31 wrote: »
    Can you ask them to draw a pic of it, scan it and post it here?

I'll ask her but I'd imagine alot of it would be guess-work as she said the main thing she could see was the lights, and after that she "thought" she could make out a shape but she's not too sure.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Clare@angelfire

It could have been a sky lantern?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭blue42

whats a sky lantern???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

blue42 wrote: »
    whats a sky lantern???:confused:

This is a sky lantern:

sky-lantern.jpg

It definitely doesn't sound like a lantern to me.

It is such a shame they couldn't try to delete some stuff off their camera to record something as important as a possible ufo. Oh well/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭0utpost31

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    I'll ask her but I'd imagine alot of it would be guess-work as she said the main thing she could see was the lights, and after that she "thought" she could make out a shape but she's not too sure.......

So there's no proof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

Where do they live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Where was that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭EIN

0utpost31 wrote: »
    So there's no proof.

he said she said,, erm,,, im not sure really. exactly.. show proof

We're in the North West.

I didn't come on here to prove anything and my sister certainly doesn't want, care or need to prove anything to anyone about what she and her husband saw. She doesn't even want to talk about it or tell people to be honest (she's embarrassed about it, and imagines no-one will believe it and ppl would think she has a few screws loose to even THINK she saw what she saw, or especially to broadcast it! But I know my sister, and I know she's an intelligent practical and grounded person and even thought she tried, she could not explain this one away in her head no matter how hard she tried.)

I was simply wondering if there were any similar sightings in Ireland, that's all.

Forget about it.

Did she seem shaken up? I think I might be.

EIN wrote: »
    Also, I think its a little unfair to slag-off people who come on here to relate stories anonymously because they have no evidence. These things are 9 times out of 10 related as stories and little else.
    I'm sure as sh!t people do waste their time by posting utterly fictitious 'sightings' just for a thrill. But having said that there are genuine people who do see things that they can't explain and a forum like this is a safe way to relate their story without being seen as an utter nutter.
    p.s. I have never seen anything weird in the sky (just in case you're wondering :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Conclusive proof of extraterristrial life or that our assumptions of the laws of physics are all wrong, but she couldnt delete her holiday video off her camera :D

Tell her fair play on setting the human race back a couple of hundred years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

murrayp4, you've said what I wanted to say. I can't believe the attitude of some posters on this forum :rolleyes:

l3LoWnA, your story is welcomed here and provides a very interesting account of what seems to be a genuine sighting. You've come to the right place, and the timing is interesting also as recently there have been a lot of UFO sightings in Ireland. Dublin and Meath seem to be the hotspots at the moment, and Leitrim is an area that appears to have a lot of activity.

Have a look at this thread:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055387750

Let us know if it bears any resemblance to what your sister saw. It would be interesting if this phenomenon were to start appearing in the different counties.

Also tell your sister look check out some of the videos on youtube, and perhaps some of them will look familiar.

Thanks again for coming here to give that account :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Dagon wrote: »
    murrayp4, you've said what I wanted to say. I can't believe the attitude of some posters on this forum :rolleyes:

l3LoWnA, your story is welcomed here and provides a very interesting account of what seems to be a genuine sighting. You've come to the right place, and the timing is interesting also as recently there have been a lot of UFO sightings in Ireland. Dublin and Meath seem to be the hotspots at the moment, and Leitrim is an area that appears to have a lot of activity.

Have a look at this thread:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055387750

Let us know if it bears any resemblance to what your sister saw. It would be interesting if this phenomenon were to start appearing in the different counties.

Also tell your sister look check out some of the videos on youtube, and perhaps some of them will look familiar.

Thanks again for coming here to give that account :)

I have to agree with you Dagon,remarks like a lot of the others will put people off telling their experiances and sometimes its easy to tell here when you are unsure of what you saw,and what others (like the above)will say.I saw something years ago but will think twice before posting now.Sometimes its hard for an ordinary mortal to take in what they have seen.
    Keep the posts coming:)

murrayp4 wrote: »
    Did she seem shaken up? I think I might be.

She was slightly worried as to why "it" or they or whatever, was shining a light directly into their home, yes! It did freak her out a good bit, but only because they/it were/was directing their/its lights at her home and the field/telephone pole next to her home. It's a remote area, she doesn't know why anyone/thing would be shining such a light at them. I did think maybe it was dog snatchers after their pedigree dog or guys out hunting with one of those strong lights but she claims it was without a shadow of a doubt, "well up in the sky" and she dismissed all those things and said when they opened the window to listen there was no sound, no helicopter/plane/car sounds to be heard whatsoever. As I said before, if she could have explained it away in her head she would have been far happier.

That's why I came on here, to find some sort of answer for her, but there doesn't seem to be one. I'll mention the youtube thing to her, hard to know which are actual footage from genuine people and which are staged though.

Believe me, I wouldn't waste my time typing a "story" on here if it wasn't true, what would I get out of that? Seriously? I've better things to do with my time. I was simply curious as to other sightings in the country or beliefs in this sort of thing etc. I wish I'd been there as I find it awful hard to believe myself if I'm honest, but I trust my sister and her mind 100% and know she has seen something very strange indeed, whatever it was. I find it very creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

Believe me, I wouldn't waste my time typing a "story" on here if it wasn't true, what would I get out of that? Seriously? I've better things to do with my time.

I know you wouldn't. Some people are just rude for the sake of it! Take no notice...
    I was simply curious as to other sightings in the country or beliefs in this sort of thing etc. I wish I'd been there as I find it awful hard to believe myself if I'm honest, but I trust my sister and her mind 100% and know she has seen something very strange indeed, whatever it was. I find it very creepy.

The thing is, this is pretty well docmented. If your sister saw something with flashing lights and a beam extending from it to the ground, it may have been one of the "black triangle" vehicles. A google search throws up a lot of information and research into this subject:
    http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=black+triangles&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

This is one of the most detailed studies I've read:

http://keyholepublishing.com/What_Are_The_Triangles.htm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Ein and Ciaranc banned from the paranormal forum.

Thanks for sharing your story l3LoWnA, I hope you're not put off by this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭AircraftTechie

North west eh? Sounds like it could have been the Sligo Airport based Sikorsky S61N Search And Rescue Helicopter of the Irish Coast Guard, the SAR lights on those birds can light up an area from quite a bit away, or it could have been one of the Gardai EC135 helicopters they also have powerful "nightsun" search lights, its also worth mentioning that the EC135 is one of the quietest helicopters around.

Also good to note that night training is frequent with the above, and they do look something special with strobes/nav/search lights all on etc.

cool, I would have totally freaked out if I had seen something like that but would still really like to think it's true!

North west eh? Sounds like it could have been the Sligo Airport based Sikorsky S61N Search And Rescue Helicopter of the Irish Coast Guard, the SAR lights on those birds can light up an area from quite a bit away, or it could have been one of the Gardai EC135 helicopters they also have powerful "nightsun" search lights, its also worth mentioning that the EC135 is one of the quietest helicopters around.

Also good to note that night training is frequent with the above, and they do look something special with strobes/nav/search lights all on etc.

Interesting but my sis would have thought of these explanations, as I said, she has tried but simply can't explain this one away.

Defiantely not the Sikorsky - can be heard from miles away....very very loud!! Also, it frequently flies around/over/through our neighbourhoods, can be heard approaching for ages, it would nearly shake the house flying past. (both my sister and her husband would be very familiar with it also!)

As for the Garda helicopter, they live in the very remote countryside, no traffic noise or anything of the sort, with their heads stuck out the window late at night, and no other noise around, I'm sure they'd have heard some sort of helicopter noise coming from the garda helicopter if it was so??? There was complete silence! Especially if it was close enough to beam a light into their sitting room I'm sure they'd have heard noise from it?? Also, if it was a helicopter, how did it fly off so quickly and with no noise??? It must be extremely high-tech, fast (like unbelievably fast??), and silent?!?? Could the Garda helicopter really shine a light at someones house but be so silent that the people in that house couldn't hear the helicopter even in the dead-quiet countryside? Be interesting to find out were they training that night in the North West....

Defiantely not the Sikorsky - can be heard from miles away....very very loud!! Also, it frequently flies around/over/through our neighbourhoods, can be heard approaching for ages, it would nearly shake the house flying past. (both my sister and her husband would be very familiar with it also!)

I'd have to agree. I used to live in Mayo close to Knock airport. Sikorsky helicopters would regularly fly between Knock and Sligo and its a beast of a helicopter. No mistaking that one. Its interesting what you said about nav lights though (and red-light cockpit illumination I presume) I've never seen a helicopter flying closely at night so it might look weird, the noise though....

murrayp4 wrote: »
    I'd have to agree. I used to live in Mayo close to Knock airport. Sikorsky helicopters would regularly fly between Knock and Sligo and its a beast of a helicopter. No mistaking that one. Its interesting what you said about nav lights though (and red-light cockpit illumination I presume) I've never seen a helicopter flying closely at night so it might look weird, the noise though....

This is one of the Irish Coast Guards Sikorsky S61N's EI-GCE otherwise known as "Rescue 115" based at Shannon, she was operating over the Claddagh in Galway City not more than 1 hour ago as someone went into the river, as you can see her lights do look something special, and when she turned a dirrerent direction to the wind you could not hear her, also the Gardai EC135 is very very small and very quiet, alot quieter when hitting different wind directions.

http://forum.frequencydb.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=3401&start=30

Scroll down to view the pictures.

This is one of the Irish Coast Guards Sikorsky S61N's EI-GCE otherwise known as "Rescue 115" based at Shannon, she was operating over the Claddagh in Galway City not more than 1 hour ago as someone went into the river, as you can see her lights do look something special, and when she turned a dirrerent direction to the wind you could not hear her, also the Gardai EC135 is very very small and very quiet, alot quieter when hitting different wind directions.

Nice pics!! But I bet you could hear it! And it didn't fly off over the horizon at what seemed to be 1000 miles an hour when it decided to give up the search?

I was talking about the rescue helicopter based @ Strandhill airport, I see it and hear it day in day out (almost!!!) and wind or no wind you'd certainly hear the bloomin thing if it was close enough to your house to light up your chimney breast on a silent night in the countryside! I've never actually seen it without hearing it on the way for at LEAST 60 seconds (possibly alot longer) before it appears, it's extremely loud, esp when hovering or maybe I have sensitive hearing! :D

As for the garda helicopter....when I see/hear it or not hear it when I see it, as the case may be, I'll believe you about how quiet it is/can be. I've yet to see a helicopter pass me by and not hear it, and I'm amazed to think the gardai can afford such a mighty thing that a person wouldn't actually be able to hear it, even though it's casting a beam of light into their sitting room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Ziycon

I would more lean towards this as an explanation but with there being no noise when they opened the window I'm not so sure, if its as rural as the said then they would have been able to hear something off the chopper!?

The EC135 is very small and very quiet but not unique, she is used all over Europe by Police/Military/Ambulance service etc, the Gardai and Irish Air Corps EC135's are a regular sight over Dublin City.

Cool Pics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭what_car

stevenmu wrote: »
    Ein and Ciaranc banned from the paranormal forum.

Thanks for sharing your story l3LoWnA, I hope you're not put off by this.

has the person who saw this, written it down exactly after it happened,?
    ie a written report of what exactly seen?

as the passage of time, and the story being recounted numerous times,
    bits sometimes get left out / added in / exagerated etc.

also it may have been a helicopter, down wind of her location,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

those pics are great, really look like a ufo.

could it been a helicopter checking the electricity lines, as you said it was pointing at a pole.

is major or minor line near your house?

banning ciaranc for somewhat encourageing joke is bit harse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭what_car

EIN wrote: »

it would be interesting to see some!

its a bit harsh being banned for the above.quote.

what_car wrote: »
    has the person who saw this, written it down exactly after it happened,?
    ie a written report of what exactly seen?

as the passage of time, and the story being recounted numerous times,
    bits sometimes get left out / added in / exagerated etc.

also it may have been a helicopter, down wind of her location,

As I said in one of my first posts on this topic, my sister is an intelligent lady and she simply cannot explain this away. Obviously, she's thought of all these things before she decided she'd come to the conclusion that she'd seen a UFO.

It wasn't a helicopter - the lady isn't thick!! Helicopters dont speed off over the horizon as fast as this thing did, and they do make noise in the countryside in the dead of night, regardless of wind direction, if any helicopter is that close to your house to cast a light on your chimney breast, you'd hear the thing!

Yes, she wrote out a long report in the hour that followed the event and she hasn't spoken of it since she recalled the event to me and a few other close family members the day after it happened, so the "story" hasn't been either recounted OR exagerrated "numerous times" believe me..I'm going on what she told me the morning after it happened...and I've no reason to exagerrate or add-on/leave-out bits because I've absolutely nothing to gain by doing that.....and my sis or her hubby have told no-one (as I've said before) I asked her about it the other day and she said she has told no-one and would rather forget about it. It freaked her out alot but she knows what she saw was not normal, and was without a doubt, not a helicopter!

I'd eat my shorts if I heard that indeed there was some sort of new silent high-tech garda helicopter flying around that area doing something strange that night though :)

I've nothing to gain by posting this on here anyways, so I'll take my leave on this one....although the positive replies and the replies with links etc to other sightings and info was appreciated, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

As I said in one of my first posts on this topic, my sister is an intelligent lady and she simply cannot explain this away. Obviously, she's thought of all these things before she decided she'd come to the conclusion that she'd seen a UFO.

It wasn't a helicopter - the lady isn't thick!! Helicopters dont speed off over the horizon as fast as this thing did, and they do make noise in the countryside in the dead of night, regardless of wind direction, if any helicopter is that close to your house to cast a light on your chimney breast, you'd hear the thing!

Yes, she wrote out a long report in the hour that followed the event and she hasn't spoken of it since she recalled the event to me and a few other close family members the day after it happened, so the "story" hasn't been either recounted OR exagerrated "numerous times" believe me..I'm going on what she told me the morning after it happened...and I've no reason to exagerrate or add-on/leave-out bits because I've absolutely nothing to gain by doing that.....and my sis or her hubby have told no-one (as I've said before) I asked her about it the other day and she said she has told no-one and would rather forget about it. It freaked her out alot but she knows what she saw was not normal, and was without a doubt, not a helicopter!

I'd eat my shorts if I heard that indeed there was some sort of new silent high-tech garda helicopter flying around that area doing something strange that night though :)

I've nothing to gain by posting this on here anyways, so I'll take my leave on this one....although the positive replies and the replies with links etc to other sightings and info was appreciated, thanks.

I for one can say in the country you can here helicopters for miles had 2 flying over maybe 5 month's ago and all though they were going between here and a local town (5km away as crow flies) you could still here them,i assume they were Garda choppers searching for someone,

Very interesting story though!

And i dont blame her for not filming over footage on camcorder i'd much rather be watching something like a holiday or kids playing than a Ufo in 40 or so years time

Tell that to the Irish Air Corps guys who Operate the AW139, Now thats a FAST mover..And the Lights on the Gardai/Irish Air Corps EC135's and S61N's of the Irish Coast Guard are VERY VERY powerful and are used at altitude to illuminate big or small areas from a distance especially considering the intensity can be lowered or increased and that is their job.

I'd eat my shorts if I heard that indeed there was some sort of new silent high-tech garda helicopter flying around that area doing something strange that night though

Im not being thick but the Gardai EC135's are very advanced indeed, and thats something i know. And it would be totally normal for them or the IRCG ( Coast Guard ) to be Operating in any area for any reason. Also the Gardai possibly could have been helping ground units, and if you want to know how quiet the EC135 is just go to Dublin City on a Saturday night..

The Gardai/Irish Air Corps EC135's are made of Composite materials that disrupt all the noise to make it one of the quietest helicopters ever to fly in the world.

Here is a Picture of one of the Gardai's EC135's:http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2046/2314395011_7f001cb4d5.jpg?v=0

Im not being thick but the Gardai EC135's are very advanced indeed, and thats something i know. And it would be totally normal for them or the IRCG ( Coast Guard ) to be Operating in any area for any reason. Also the Gardai possibly could have been helping ground units, and if you want to know how quiet the EC135 is just go to Dublin City on a Saturday night..

See....Dublin CITY .There is inevitibly going to be traffic/air craft noise etc in Dublin city, so a helicopter may not be heard

This was the remote countryside - in the dead of night. No noise....whatsoever

It wasn't an aircraft and it wasn't a helicopter, and that's definate

See....Dublin CITY .There is inevitibly going to be traffic/air craft noise etc in Dublin city, so a helicopter may not be heard

Im using Dublin City as an example as they are based at Baldonnel AB ( EIME ) they are also over Galway a bit too and im telling you as im familiar with them they are quiet, remote or not remote countryside these are designed to be very quiet and that is what they are indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

According to plenty of youtube videos the EC135's aren't exactly silent.

I'd Imagine if one of these was hovering in the field at the back of my house at nighttime I'd hear it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭EIN

so you are saying its from outer space? its hard to imagine what was seen, but must have been scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

This was the remote countryside - in the dead of night. No noise....whatsoever

So, what do you think it was?

The only thing you can say for definite about the sighting is that your sister doesn't believe it was an aircraft. Everyone needs to remain open minded, and that includes "the visited". It's hasty to dismiss airtech's suggested possibility, especially when the event happened to someone other than yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 pano12

this kinda reminds me of something that happenned me years ago.I was watching a movie and looked out sitting room window and saw something hovering with red lights over these bushes that are accross the road.It really freaked me out and i abandoned the movie and ran up to bed.The next day ,so convinved was I by what i saw, i went looking at the bushes to see if there was anything there.

I remember telling my sister and mother but thats it because i didnt want to be laughed at by anyone.I never even think/talk about it now but this reminded me of it!!

pano12 wrote: »

this kinda reminds me of something that happenned me years ago.I was watching a movie and looked out sitting room window and saw something hovering with red lights over these bushes that are accross the road.It really freaked me out and i abandoned the movie and ran up to bed.The next day ,so convinved was I by what i saw, i went looking at the bushes to see if there was anything there.

I remember telling my sister and mother but thats it because i didnt want to be laughed at by anyone.I never even think/talk about it now but this reminded me of it!!

Sounds similar! I do think there has to be something out there - how can we be so bloody sure that there isn't. I'd love to see something like that just to get me wondering.