Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing converse to clubs?

• 03-10-2008 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭

I'm meeting up with a few friends in Dublin next week to head clubbing. Just wondering what you guys think of wearing converse with a pair of skinny jeans out clubbing?

Do converse, or even plimsoles for that matter fall into the category of "runners" and will I get hassle off the Dublin bouncers? (dont go out in Dublin much!)

Just curious because I usually wear shoes out and have no probs, but it's just that they look awful imo and are really uncomfortable!!

P.S. Sorry, didnt know where else to put this topic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭sitstill

Hey, I've worn converse LOADS of times to clubs and never a word was said. I think they take more into account than just your footwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭kisaragi

I've worn converse out and wear plimsoles and skinny jeans out 2 or 3 nights a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Most guys wont care what you are wearing as long as its clean. As for girls, its more a peer pressure thing. Do you really want to bother with the type of person who wont come up to you in a club or whereever because of the shoes you are wearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

I've had hassle wearing converse on night's out in Kilkenny. Went out wearing good jeans and shirt, but yeah the bouncer told me they were runners. I told him they weren't. He said they were. I disagreed with him. Then he was like 'ok we'll let in just this once'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I often wear converse out (I'm a girl though) and i've never had hassle. I know a few people who regularly wear them out too and they've never had a problem with them either. I think as long as your not wearing battered runners you'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Depends on where you go, but as mentioned before, it's not just your shoes that they take into consideration, it just a handier reason than 'no scumbags'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yup totally depends where you go.

i've seen people in coppers with cons.

i'd be one to wear cons but wouldn't frequent the clubs that often.

whelans is fine with cons, so is eamonn dorans.

pubs don't really care as long as you don't look like a scumbag which you won't as you're wearing cons :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭maninblack

going to this place, "twenty one". are they fussy there? It's a sat night also, so I'm guessing they'll have load of people trying to get in and a higher rate of refusal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

depends what type of converse you wear - i like converse to look worn in. Others like their converse to be brand new looking.

I always wear converse and skinny jeans and i've only ever had a problem one time when i was wearing my trilby with an inch long beard.

You'l be fine. From the waste down you can wear what you want these days - its whats upwards that matters. A nice long coat, or one of those country shirt thingys.. the tea towel pattern ones.. never fails me.

In fairness, if you go to a place that refuses you and your friends for wearing converse - chances are the bouncer is doing you a favor by turning you away from a room of arseholes dancing to crap music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

No you will be fine. All I have been wearing lately on a night out is converse or adidas originals and have no problems getting in anywhere with them.

Especially the place your going (XX1S)

414902282_88bb2bd2a5.jpg?v=0

was gonna wear something to that effect, only with white cons and diff colour shirt. Think that would be ok?

also last poster I appreciate what you're saying. Anywhere that refuses you over a pair of shoes isint worth going to anyway. My m8s picked this place to meet up so I dno what to expect.

Thats not me in the pic btw, I googled :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

21's can be a prick for bouncers, they have the biggest ego trip ever, i was glad i got turned away from there.

concerning the picture, that would get you in to everywhere in dublin but then again all it takes is for one bouncer to have that surge of egotiscal nonsense and you're screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Tannylan

Cremo wrote: »
    21's can be a prick for bouncers, they have the biggest ego trip ever, i was glad i got turned away from there.

concerning the picture, that would get you in to everywhere in dublin but then again all it takes is for one bouncer to have that surge of egotiscal nonsense and you're screwed.

You will be far better dressed than most of the other 21s clientele. :)

The bouncers are total ar*eholes sometimes. If there's a female bouncer on the door, avoid her like the plague. The women there are crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

You only have to worry about shoes in bogger towns and cities.

A good rule of thumb is if they have a shoe policy then you are going to the wrong sorts of places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭mwnger

These days you can get in pretty much anywhere in town wearing runners.

I noticed the change soon after the smoking ban was introduced. After that more and more people opted to stay at home on weekends and booze and smoke to the heart's content.

So now the pubs and clubs are competing for customers every night of the week, and as a result they've become very lenient regarding footwear - well clothing in general (as long as you're not dressed in the latest skanger fashions of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Exactly, only time you get any sort of nonsense regarding footwear is in the country.

If you're getting turned away from 21's shoes are the last of your worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

As for girls, its more a peer pressure thing.

What do you mean? I´ve worn flipflops on nights out-not to mention converse..:confused:

mwnger wrote: »
    These days you can get in pretty much anywhere in town wearing runners.

I noticed the change soon after the smoking ban was introduced. After that more and more people opted to stay at home on weekends and booze and smoke to the heart's content.

So now the pubs and clubs are competing for customers every night of :)in the latest skanger fashions of course).

I dont necessarily agree pal, I just think its the in/fashionable thing to do at the minute. Looks cool IMO :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

OP I know a lot of people have said it's fine to do so etc. etc., but if I was you, I wouldn't wear them. I know they might be more comfy or look more cool or whatever, but speaking from my personal experience of this one place you mention, I would just feel like it's giving them a potential reason to refuse you. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, as you can just go on somewhere else, but it could well mess up your night if all your buddies are inside and they won't let you in. I have found that they are especially picky on a Saturday night (but are dragging you in during the week nights, like most places to be fair), with people being refused at random (especially blokes).

Maybe they've improved of late, I haven't been there in about 4 or 5 months. Actually, maybe I'm talking through my *rse and you should ignore me :D, as if they want to refuse you they'll just throw out the classic catch all "sorry lads, not tonight".

I just find they're quite picky on a Saturday night so it might just give them an extra reason to refuse you if they're on a power trip. Enjoy the night out anyway!
    fonpokno wrote: »
    You will be far better dressed than most of the other 21s clientele. :)

The bouncers are total ar*eholes sometimes. If there's a female bouncer on the door, avoid her like the plague. The women there are crazy.

I know the one you're talking about. Never had problems with her but she usually picks on other ladies, and have seen her being a right b*tch to people.

Publin wrote: »
    I know the one you're talking about. Never had problems with her but she usually picks on other ladies, and have seen her being a right b*tch to people.

Yep, total wench. A gang of us used to go pretty regularly and never had any hassle at all. One night myself and my friend went pretty early (two girls, stone cold sober, both in quite pretty dresses but well covered up cos it was freezing) and she tried to refuse us for presenting Garda Age Cards. Wanted two forms of id and told us we had to bring passports next time. Fecking mean woman!

On topic, HURRAY FOR CONVERSE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cremo wrote: »
    whelans is fine with cons, so is eamonn dorans.

If Whelans stopped people for wearing Cons they'd be out of business within the week!

UPDATE!!

Well unfortunatly I ran into a bouncer on an ego trip, like you lads warned!

Me: *presents ID*
    Bouncer: (not even looking at it) "Not tonight pal"
    Me: What? Why not?
    Bouncer: NOT TONIGHT, now move along

what a prick! I saw some chap about 5/6 places ahead of me in the que with a tracksuit top and dirty nike runners ushered straight in.

Oh well, the place looked like a tacky dump from the outside anyway. Me and a few of the lads went down to Doyles down the road and ended up having a great night. Was just dissapointed that I missed out on saying hello to one or two people who were up in 21s!! :mad:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

This 'no runners' idiocy was the last straw that decidd me on leaving the country for good. Good decision, in retrospect.

maninblack wrote: »
    UPDATE!!

Well unfortunatly I ran into a bouncer on an ego trip, like you lads warned!

Me: *presents ID*
    Bouncer: (not even looking at it) "Not tonight pal"
    Me: What? Why not?
    Bouncer: NOT TONIGHT, now move along

what a prick! I saw some chap about 5/6 places ahead of me in the que with a tracksuit top and dirty nike runners ushered straight in.

Oh well, the place looked like a tacky dump from the outside anyway. Me and a few of the lads went down to Doyles down the road and ended up having a great night. Was just dissapointed that I missed out on saying hello to one or two people who were up in 21s!! :mad:

No way pal, sorry to hear about that...such a bummer especially if you have friends in there waiting on ya.

Was in 21s recently and I have to say do the bouncers on that door are a disgrace, and thats not me having sour grapes because I got in, but the way they were talkin to lads who seemed fine was a disgrace!

When I was leaving that skinny smug guy (seems like the head bouncer) was standing there with a cup of tea telling some other bouncer to "pull them 2 out by the head there lookin strange...and if their mate says anything pull him to"!!:confused:....The lads in question were only smoking!

That head bouncer is lucky that 21s attract the people that they attract because if some of the crowd from redz or q bar tried to get in to 21s and that guy was giving it all that crap, I think he would be bringing an awful lot of trouble to the club door with that nonesense!!