Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap(er) Engagement rings

• 03-10-2008 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭

Hi again

My girlf is looking into engagement rings. She has decided she would like a tiffany Legacy type. This starts at 7k just for the diamond so prob 10k for the one she would like for just the stone. Dont get me wrong i am not a tight person i just want to save money if I can get things cheaper and use it for a wedding abroad (see seperate thread).

I have heard of people going to the US to get the same diamionds at a way cheaper cost. Has anyone done this or otherwise and then get a jeweller to use the stone in a nice ring?

All details greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Poloman

Actually you can ignore this thread... I see the sticky on engagement rings!

Antwerp looks a place to go. My problem is i know nothing about diamonds except that they look pretty according to women..

Will get info on other thread. Thanks.

Just realised I am talking to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

That's a LOT of money for an engagement ring .....

Tell me about it. I am hoping to spend about 3-4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭ohnoigotsick

Poloman wrote: »
    Tell me about it. I am hoping to spend about 3-4k.

think your misses needs to face up to the facts - things are expensive - unless your a millionaire

i bought my wifes engagement ring in new york and the wedding ring too - it's not that i spent less money on it - i spent the same i just got more for my money.

i also got married abroad , in dubrovnik in croatia - best week of my life

Believe me we arent rich... ya she needs to cop on a bit.

Getting more for money is what its about.. good stuff. Would you recommend going to NY so?

We might start looking into Croatia as I know someone who got married there and they said it was an incredible week and so cheap to eat/drink etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Hmm St. Lucia for the wedding and a 10 grand ring?!

Either you're loaded or she's deluded! ;)

Latter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭ohnoigotsick

Poloman wrote: »
    Believe me we arent rich... ya she needs to cop on a bit.

Getting more for money is what its about.. good stuff. Would you recommend going to NY so?

We might start looking into Croatia as I know someone who got married there and they said it was an incredible week and so cheap to eat/drink etc.

most definatley , diamond district is the way to go.

i can't say enough about croatia - its the best ever , send me a PM if you want info

ohnoigotsick I might do in the future. Just need to do our research first and then decide. Thanks to all for advice.. much appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Picked up the other halves engagement ring on Monday evening and shes over the moon with it.

Its within your budget and is 1.09ct and .79g Platnium Ring.

The diamonds and the ring is just as good as anywhere else.

Bernard English in Drogheda made it for us, and I have to say the man is excellent when it comes to his work, very detailed, went through everything with us.

I would highly recommend high. We will be returning for our wedding rings.

When other half went to work the next day, people couldnt get over the size of it, and she said her boss was taken back my the fact that her own ring costed twice as much but was only as half as nice.

We shopped around Dublin and the prices in Dublin are crazy.

Now I would also recommend a jewleries in Newry on Hill St. Cant remember the name but the rings look great and reasonable price too.

Sounds great! Will deffo check that out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Terpsichore

7k=madeness!
    + Big might not be timeless, nor elegant.

Check these two Boards threads for some good Dublin shops suggestions:

Wedding rings and bands link:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054955402&page=2

Ring shopping in Dublin:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055360644

Good shopping and congratulations!

I live in Limerick so i will avoid Dublin at all costs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

7k, that's mental! And that's before you pay for the wedding? You must be in a great job and have a v reasonable mortgage. Personally, I wouldn't feel comfortable wearing the price of a car on my left hand or crippling my h2b's (and eventually our) finances. Good luck man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 rebelcork

7k, in my opinion is way too much to spend on a ring.
    Use the old addage of a months wages.
    I had a job to get my now wife to buy a proper ring, her priority was to have no money pressures when we did get wed.
    So many of our friends have had relationship problems and most of them because of money worries.
    If you can't afford it let her cut her cloth to suit.She would be better off saving 6k towards your first baby than a ring!!
    Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Wow 7k- Im gobsmacked! Fair play to you if you have thousands floating around to spend on a ring. Mine cost approx €1000 and although I absolutly love it, is still get nervous wearing it out and about. Then again Im not used to spending lots of money on things like jewelery etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭sillysocks

We got my ring in Dubai - highly recommend it! Value over there is brilliant and you definitely won't pay anything near 10 grand for the ring I would bet.
    And you get to have a great holiday at the same time! the price of the ring and the holiday for both of us was still less than what the ring was valued at when we got home.