Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I in the wrong here?

• 30-09-2008 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unreg on this one...

Alright, I have a problem, it'll be considered minor by almost here but, regardless of that, I need to vent.

I live with my elderly (mid to late 60s) parents and younger brother (19), I'm twenty. Last night we got broadband because it might help with my studies.

Anyway, I came home from college about half an hour ago to discover that my brother had taken the mouse from my laptop in my room and brought it to his computer because his mouse is broken. I went and took it back immediately. He landed back home about ten minutes later and then trots up the stairs demanding it back

I tell him that it was my mouse and that he shouldn't have gone into my room and taken it while I was gone. Then he pulls the router out of the wall and hides it like an infant.

My parents notice the commotion and start to blame me for causing this ruckus. I tell them what happened and they tell me that I have to share the mouse because he's my brother. I tell them that he took it while I was at college without my permission and that he's far too old for this behaviour. They continue to blame me. The thing is about them is that they think any argument is the fault of whoever raised their voice first. I did so becuase I think I'm the wronged party.

I decide to do what I think is the right thing and drop the mouse down to my brothers room, thinking it should ease my parents' blood pressure down or whatever.

Walking by, I inform them that I'm giving him my mouse and that he has a week to get a new mouse and then I'll take it back. My Dad then starts giving out to me becuase none of this is his fault and I shouldn't be blaming them. I tell him that I was trying to tell him that I was trying to resolve the situation and that it wasn't an ultimatum directed towards them. He continues to give out as I rush upstairs confused as to whether or not I was in the wrong or what.

By the way, before the broadband came I bought a wireless receiver to put in my brothers computer at my own expense. But I just did that so he wouldn't harass me for my laptop when the internet came, so my intentions were hardly noble.

My real question then is: who's in the wrong here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Who cares? Go spend €5 and buy a new mouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

What Victor said.

Ah, siblings, you'll only love 'em when you move away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Ahem? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

No. Now get a new mouse and take money from his wallet to pay for it!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Good lord, at 19 and 20 ye are both adults. Ye are both in the wrong for acting like five year olds.
    As Vic said, buy a new mouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭G&T

"COP ON"

Your parents are not elderly but they are too old
    to have to put up with the two of ye,
    get another mouse.

To answer your question,
    your wrong,the eldest should have more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

U said you have a laptop use the touchpad duh and the younger child always wins in an argument fact :P

It seems to me that you're both acting like children.

If you're 20 then get a lock on your room door. Anyone over 16 should have legit privacy (Porn won't hide itself :o).

I also recommend your brother get

1) on the dole

2) a job

because fighting over something that costs no more than €5 to replace is a little ridiculous, especially seen as you're giving him A WEEK to replace it.

I know (or hope) the story wasn't as childish as you described it, but it seems you and your brother really need to get on a little better if this is normal carry on in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Your Dad is right, why should he have to listen to a grown man shouting over a mouse, in his own house? If you can't resolve this without your parent's mediation, then a bloody mouse is not your biggest problem. Why should your parents care whose fault something so trivial is????

BTW, your brother is just as bad, but to be fair, you could've accepted the fact that a desktop needs a mouse, a laptop doesn't. You were being pedantic, admit it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

In all fairness, you don't need the mouse for your laptop, your brother can't very well use his PC without a mouse now can he? You both just got broadband and him not having a mouse meant he couldn't use it. If i were in his position i would have went and got your mouse too.

Oh, and you both need to grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

christ almighty. How pedantic can you get. Give him the mouse. You dont need it. Dont be bothering your parents with childish things like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭TheBigFella

Unreg2000 wrote: »
    My real question then is: who's in the wrong here?

He's totally in the wrong but without your parents backing you won't win. Clean the toilet bowl with his toothbrush and buy yourself a new mouse. Similar thing happened me and I'm still smiling.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

JUST MOVE OUT you are old enough the 2 of yous to leave your poor parents alone and if you want to be treated like an adult act like one.