Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When do you fully become a man?

• 25-09-2008 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭

Just thinking (as I always do) about this here in work. When do you cross the divide from youngun to manhood?

first tool box? first pint?

I'm 22, still young and for all intensive purposes I'm classed as an adult, however I wouldn't class myself as a man. An adult, sure, but not a man. I enjoy the 3 sacred S's, take pleasure in devouring a lovely meal and chat with other males about rubbish.

So brothers, brotherettes and bringer of chicken I ask you for some guidance and help for myself and on behalf of all the other younguns around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Ok maybe this sounds like an alcoholic way to do things LOL, but due to a lack mates around on the night of me 18th bday, me dad and I drank a bottle of Johnny Walker black label between us lol.

I think thats the day I became a man.

I also think you know your grown up when you go out for a proper meal with friends and get sloshed on red wine.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

hmmmm interestign question Will, interesting question.

I think its when you finally take out those piercing and stop sticking pieces of wood in your ears ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I think you should ponder the words of Rudyard Kipling
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudyard_Kipling
    quote]
    If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
    But make allowance for their doubting too,
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
    Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
    And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream–and not make dreams your master,
    If you can think–and not make thoughts your aim;
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same;
    If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build ‘em up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings
    And never breath a word about your loss;
    If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
    To serve your turn long after they are gone,
    And so hold on when there is nothing in you
    Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    Or walk with kings–nor lose the common touch,
    If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
    If all men count with you, but none too much,
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
    And–which is more–you’ll be a Man, my son!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

When you find yourself willingly in Homebase on a Saturday afternoon with the missus

When you start finding the music in bars/clubs too loud cos you just want to have a good ol chat

When you finally accept that whilst you may never have a 6 pack, you are in shape, round is a shape :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

When you kill your first baby deer with your bare hands and the elders get you to drink your first cup of blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Funny how your first mortgage makes you suddenly realise that you're now in the grown-up world...

...that, and killing your first zombie.

When you move out of the family house is a reasonable starting point,
    you've flown from the nest.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Funny how your first mortgage makes you suddenly realise that you're now in the grown-up world...

this is true, i will have my mortgage 4 years on the 28th of this month and every now and then, still, i get this scary feelings of ":eek:OMG, i am grown up, this my house, i am responsible for the all the bills, the cleaning and maintenance:eek::eek:"

then i breath in to a little brown bag and i am grand again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

The first time you have to bury a pet for your child, then you're a man.
    The first time an adult female (who is not yore ma) asks you have you put those bins out yet, then your a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I thought you became a man when your voice finally settled into a deep bass or baratone and lost all it's squeekness. Then I remembered when I really realised exactly, to the very second, that I had cast aside childish things and became a man. It was the day she told me she's missed her period. I've been chasing Peter Pan ever since trying to regain my childishness but he's always just byond my reach.
    Having kids allows you to be childish occasionally but you are irrovocablly and forevermore all growed up.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

When you wake up on a Saturday, spend the whole day vegging on the couch watching sport, go out around 4 to the pub to drink a ball of liquor, spend the whole night out, get tanked, get a greasy curry chip or some such on the way hoome, fall in the door at 5 in the morning and get forced to sleep on the couch for the night.
    Then son, then you are a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

When you cut the apron strings.

When the bouncer doesn't ask you for i.d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

i was pleading with a boncer in carlow to check my driving licence, bastard was having none of it though. He said the grey hairs were proof enough.:mad:

I knew I had reached manhood when the hair in my ears started outgrowing the hair on my head.

I still think I'm a 19 stud though:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i was pleading with a boncer in carlow to check my driving licence, bastard was having none of it though. He said the grey hairs were proof enough.:mad:

I bouncer in D2 a while ago said the same thing

nothing wrong with being a silver fox...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

How about when the hairs in your nose start to need the odd trim - much better than that facial hair lark as a measure of being a man IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Loose Lips

Will wrote: »
    Just thinking (as I always do) about this here in work. When do you cross the divide from youngun to manhood?

first tool box? first pint?

I'm 22, still young and for all intensive purposes I'm classed as an adult, however I wouldn't class myself as a man. An adult, sure, but not a man. I enjoy the 3 sacred S's, take pleasure in devouring a lovely meal and chat with other males about rubbish.

So brothers, brotherettes and bringer of chicken I ask you for some guidance and help for myself and on behalf of all the other younguns around

OP: I don't think you're a man yet. But you'll get there. A man puts his family first and always does the right thing, no matter how painful and difficult it might be.

Being a man is not about farting, football and fooling around with young ones.

God Bless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

I think its when you have to pay for all of your own sh1t and be responsible for the decisions you make. When you know that if you f$$k sh1t up its gonna be your ass, then you are a man.

Loose Lips wrote: »
    OP: I don't think you're a man yet. But you'll get there. A man puts his family first and always does the right thing, no matter how painful and difficult it might be.

God Bless.

come on, we don't need this sort of tree hugging hippy **** on here. you'll be telling us to go vegetarian and stop drinking.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

What are ye on about?

When you smell your middle finger and wonder if you should be excited or disgusted - you're a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

God Bless.

Of course, you are right, doing the Right Thing and putting family first is what makes you a man.

Bollocks.

You become a man when the hair you sit on has a greater volume than the hair on your head.

When you are the king of your castle, and you can do what you damn well want.

Feel like eating your dessert before your starter? Go right ahead. Want to put up that poster of Madonna from 1987 that still does it for you? Go right ahead. Feel like wandering around all day Saturday and Sunday in your slightly-faded Homer Simpson Christmas boxers? Knock yourself out.

That's what being a man is all about.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Of course, you are right, doing the Right Thing and putting family first is what makes you a man.

Bollocks.

You become a man when the hair you sit on has a greater volume than the hair on your head.

When you are the king of your castle, and you can do what you damn well want.

Feel like eating your dessert before your starter? Go right ahead. Want to put up that poster of Madonna from 1987 that still does it for you? Go right ahead. Feel like wandering around all day Saturday and Sunday in your slightly-faded Homer Simpson Christmas boxers? Knock yourself out.

That's what being a man is all about.

You forget to mention the bit about farting and belching a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Loose Lips

Lads: I'm sorry for posting in this forum without properly checking it out first. I am new here - a newbie!

I thought that this was a serious question at first, but now see that this forum is "tongue in cheek" - a kind of roleplaying game where you guys act like stock characters from sitcoms and cartoons.

Sorry for putting my nose in.

Have fun *burp*

Loose Lips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Lads: I'm sorry for posting in this forum without properly checking it out first. I am new here - a newbie!

I thought that this was a serious question at first, but now see that this forum is "tongue in cheek" - a kind of roleplaying game where you guys act like stock characters from sitcoms and cartoons.

Sorry for putting my nose in.

Have fun *burp*

Loose Lips

Role playing? Role playing you say?

Didn't you know - this is the internet? It's Serious Business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

- a kind of roleplaying game where you guys act like stock characters from sitcoms and cartoons.
    He shoots, he scores! :D

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Will wrote:
    When do you fully become a man?

When your Da starts singing "Cats in the cradle".

No offence to loose lips, but I prefer tight ones:eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Apparently in Leitrim, they separate the men from the boys with a crow bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

You first become a man when you go to the BGRH bar and ask one of the brothers for a drink! Get in there my son!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭rvd156

Gillo wrote: »

Don't know what he means by that stupid comment....:rolleyes:

Turned 20 on Tuesday...

It felt like any other normal day so I realised then that I'm no longer a kid or a teenager I'm a boring fart....

I didn't even go for a pint....

rvd156 wrote: »

Turned 20 on Tuesday...

It felt like any other normal day so I realised then that I'm no longer a kid or a teenager I'm a boring fart....

I didn't even go for a pint....

I think he is confusing boys and ewes ;):D

rvd156 wrote: »
    I mean you're still a boy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

You're a man when you first get your bit. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

16 for me then.

Actually, I thought I had matured around the time I turned twenty, and considered myself a man. Then recently I was thinking of all the things I've been through since, and how I've changed, and become a man. I don't know if you ever fully take on the mantle of manliness, I hope that you continue to grow, mature and find wisdom, and from that humility. Oh **** that bottle of wine's gone to my head hasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Gillo wrote: »

A bucket of cold water works better.

Good idea, through in a bottle of shower gel while you're at it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

When do you become a man ?

OK now listen up you young whipersnappers ,you become a man when you ...eh .......... em .....

Oh jeeze my glass eye has just fell out into my cup of horlicks ...agh :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭rvd156

Barrel of laughs ye are....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

When you realise you have responsibilities, even when there are none. That and when you understand why you're ma when mental when you had your feet on the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Thaedydal wrote: »
    I think you should ponder the words of Rudyard Kipling
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudyard_Kipling
    Naulaka_kplng_study.jpg
    [/QUOTE]

Thaed I think that you answered the OP's question best without even realising it:
    Except the Will...

So Will you'll never be a man! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Damo, make sense. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I always get ID'd the day after I shave which is crazy because a weeks growth for me is basically a knacker tache and some strays on my chin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Same as OP, but I'm only 20. I feel the same, I know I'm an adult but not a man and am not ready yet neither.