Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WIT Parking & Lismore Park (Drive to college? Best read!)

• 22-09-2008 10:37am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just a heads up - as you probably have noticed, college security are taking no **** this year and have clamped rows of cars for parking illegaly. This includes parking where there are cones, double yellow lines, disabled spaces, set down areas, blocking fire exits etc. They have obviously got funding for more then one clamp and they watch the place like a hawk now. There are a lot less spaces then last year also, since the car parks were "improved".

A lot more people are now turning to Lismore Park and parking illegaly there - but this area is now being targeted by the Guards who have been issuing tickets and warnings to cars parked illegaly (blocking driveways, roadways, double yellow lines etc.) I was moved on today after parking behind several other illegal parked cars - the Trafic Squad where taking down the registration from each car to issue tickets by the looks. So, a word of caution - if your parking anywhere make sure its legal!

The front car park is open access half of the time with the barriers up, so thats a pain to get spaces in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

thank god i went to college st! we never had that problem! that main campus car park is a bloody nightmare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Minto

TBH, the college would want to cop themselves the f*ck on! They have known about the lack of parking for years now and seem to think ignoring it makes it go away.
    Lecturers are missing classes or turning up late cos of the lack of parking. Students are also missing classes because of it. As usual the college are more preoccupied with buying mahogany board tables than ensuring students can park their cars and attend classes. If the director didn't have a nice space outside his office for his car, you can be sure there would be a multi-story carpark built ASAP.
    A multistory out the back wouldn't take too long to build and would be a very viable solution.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Minto wrote: »
    A multistory out the back wouldn't take too long to build and would be a very viable solution.

I cant remember, but I think that is/was the intention but they are limited to what they can do. Apparently there not allowed build on the green area, or use it as parking spaces. Cant recall exactly.

What bugs me the most is the stupid barrier system not being used, the big screen always says spaces even though there isn't any, and the reduction in spaces this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

TBH, the college would want to cop themselves the f*ck on!

The current situation is indeed a bigger farce than last year, with 905am the new cut off point if you want to be guaranteed a space.
    How have suddenly the areas that had the double yellows removed only last January, now have the double yellows back again. In particular i'm talking about the side of the library on the Ballybeg side of the road and the college side of the road through the back car park.

Also whoever was responsible for deciding to bring in the barrier system on the front car park has serious questions to answer...If it happened in the private sector heads would roll.
    What benefit has it brought to the college. For instance coned off areas are reappearing in the mornings and for the past week or so the barriers arent even turned on, and the fire access issue seems to be resolved with those crash through barriers. Even when the sign flashes full, it will still leave entry to the area.
    That whole scheme would have cost tens of thousands of euro, meanwhile the ancient library computers are still in place and many of the classrooms have their seats falling apart:mad:

Nice to know where their priorities are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

parking, or the lack thereof, is something that the student union really needs to take up with the college, any chance of it happening ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

Parking at WIT was an issue when I first started here 5 years ago. In that time there have been 3 additions to on campus buildings (2 on cork road campus and 1 on the industrial estate), presumeably with the intention of increasing the number of students and staff throughout.

In this time the parking situation has never improved and so there are only three options really if you absolutely must drive to college

a) get in before 9
    b) arrive at a time when classes change. This is when you are most likely to have people leaving
    c) sneaky parky elsewhere ;)

As for SU involvement, I doubt it is an issue that could be tackled in any meaningful way. Would be nice to see it happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

The college do not have to supply parking spaces to students so its up to you to make sure your in with plenty of time to get a space in the college or else go find somewhere else

its up to you to make sure your in with plenty of time to get a space in the college or else go find somewhere else

Thats being way too simplistic about the whole thing. Arriving prior to nine means hitting the morning traffic at its worst. I trust you don't have to battle to get across the bridge at 830am every morning. Besides there are a lot of people in the same situation as myself where they have no public transport alternative in getting to the college.

I've noticed aswell that the company running the clamping show has changed from Allied security last year to 'Express security group'. i'm guessing this explains why there is now more than one clamp in operation:(.
    The security guys uniforms have been given a bit of a overhaul aswell. It seems to be mostly the same guys but all are now in white pilot type shirts. (Apologies for being way too observant):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭deise gal

I have been one of the numerous(i presume) students that have received a fine for illegal parking! But in my case i Received two for two different days and for two different 'alleged offences' at €40 each!:mad::mad:So beware all fellow students park responsibly and we seriously need to get this parking issue somewhat addressed. I am one of those students that commute (20mins from the college) i would love to car share/get public transport but nobody from my course/lives around me is a student with similar hours & the bus route is non exsistent! there are few spaces at 9am & i feel for anyone who has a 'nice' timetable with late starts!

.....Rant over!!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Fines? Since when? I thought it was just clamping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

there is supposed to be a release fee to be paid when they take the clamp off......on a separate note have they resolved the legal issues with clamping?

Just to warn ye all, the college revenue generating officials had several cars clamped today in the bus park area of the back car park.

(Even though there are signs on all the doors in the college saying clamping won't be back in action until Oct 1-Wednesday)

Most of the others that were in the bus park but not in one of the dozen car spaces in that area , were all stickered.

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    Just to warn ye all, the college revenue generating officials had several cars clamped today in the bus park area of the back car park.

(Even though there are signs on all the doors in the college saying clamping won't be back in action until Oct 1-Wednesday)

Most of the others that were in the bus park but not in one of the dozen car spaces in that area , were all stickered.

Apparently there was no charge. Why they stopped charging in the first place is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

They must have "modified" the charge!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭deise gal

the fines i have received are nothinto do with the college but the an garda siochanna:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Missed a lecture today thanks to the wonderful parking situation in the college. All that wasted grass area...

deise gal wrote: »
    the fines i have received are nothinto do with the college but the an garda siochanna:mad:

Parking in Lismore Park I assume? Or on Double Yellow lines outside the college grounds?

(I created this thread to warn people :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

my car is too low to clamp............... sweeeeeet,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bigjigwig77

I guess the best option is to befriend someone in Lismore park and park in their drive. Two mates of mine are doing that and it's saving them a lot of bother.

Besides that... AIB carpark or Tesco's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 elless

Has anyone tried parking in Sunrise Crescent (the houses facing the back wall of the big car park) or Woodlawn Grove or Belvedere only 5 mins 4m d college.The front of Larchville (facing Paddy Brownes Rd) is another option.The residents association in Lismore Park are kicking up a fuss over parking,some streets even have double yella lines n der will b more t follow, thats why d shades are taking reg's.When I started in the college there was no big car park only d little 1 at d bak r d front 1, where or how people parkd I dnt know..Just goes t show d amount of cars available 2day...The clampers are contracted in b d college, "Sentry Security" are the men in d industrial estate for clampin and they do d security in d college but not 100% if they clamp der aswell it cud b anudr contractor but d release fee is disgraceful, €50 r more...

elless wrote: »
    Has anyone tried parking in Sunrise Crescent (the houses facing the back wall of the big car park) or Woodlawn Grove or Belvedere only 5 mins 4m d college.The front of Larchville (facing Paddy Brownes Rd) is another option.The residents association in Lismore Park are kicking up a fuss over parking,some streets even have double yella lines n der will b more t follow, thats why d shades are taking reg's.When I started in the college there was no big car park only d little 1 at d bak r d front 1, where or how people parkd I dnt know..Just goes t show d amount of cars available 2day...The clampers are contracted in b d college, "Sentry Security" are the men in d industrial estate for clampin and they do d security in d college but not 100% if they clamp der aswell it cud b anudr contractor but d release fee is disgraceful, €50 r more...

Anychance you can drop the txt spk? Thanks.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 sailor_babii

I know. Its brutal. The bf has a modified car, with huge wheels. He was parked illegally and got a sticker on the window but because the wheels were too big, they couldn't clamp him.
    Those stickers are a b*****d to get off the window.
    They should use that empty free field for parking spaces. Its not just the students who need parking spaces. The lecturers give out about it too. Thanks to the crap parking, I get an extra 30 mins on Tues and Thurs so my lecturer can park her bloody car!!

Those stickers are a b*****d to get off the window.

Hairdryer to heat it up and peel slowly. Then "sticky stuff remover*" to get rid of any residue.

*not made up. You will find it in homebase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 sailor_babii

LOL. Hairdryers don't work when you live 3rd story in an apartment!!

Well, hot water does the same, but you need to be careful with that and glass....

Hot Water is fine unless the window is frozen. You could also use a blade, or just apply a wet spunge on it.

I used boiling water on my car before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Laurs_civic

wallpaper scraper will take it off but will leave the residue stuff.

Warm water takes it off the finest, they really need to do something though i've heard the fire authorities are not very happy! not even access with fire brigades and that due to the car parks being over crowded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Horgan wrote: »
    Warm water takes it off the finest, they really need to do something though i've heard the fire authorities are not very happy! not even access with fire brigades and that due to the car parks being over crowded

Are the car parks still been overcrowded??

I thought everything was sorted when they put those cones up, but they seem to be decreasing every week i walk thru there.

Anybody getting any hassle from residents in nearby estates if they park outside them?

This situation will just get worse and worse as time goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭eddie-n07

I started in WIT in 03/04 and did surveying out the back car park and there was any amount of free spaces then two years later the place is full! Celtic tiger and all that long gone bull****! Do what i did and make it in mon - wed take thur/fri off! That would increase spaces?? :)

Seriously only option is basement and two story carpark but what happens in the year it takes to build???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

eddie-n07 wrote: »
    Seriously only option is basement and two story carpark but what happens in the year it takes to build???

Free degree's for a year :P .

Well I got a parking fine for parking on a foot path in Lismore Park today. Was for back in November, got no ticket on the car so was none the wiser. Was at the top of one of those side roads, away from trouble but alas twas illegal so ill pay the cash tmrow. Sure twill help the government :P

Interestingly, well supprisingly, the small car park out the back is being built on. An enigneering buidling I think. So even less spaces available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭coadyj

Sully wrote: »
    Anychance you can drop the txt spk? Thanks.;)

he is like jerden in discise

here is a simple solution
    http://toolmonger.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/11/post-makitaag.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 gotcha09

whats annoying is the people who live in lismore park that drive to college... seriously.. a bit of walking might not do them any harm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Dipper84

I used to live in Lismore Park and I would recommend parking beside the green area in Lismore Park 100 metres from the Brown's Road roundabout. If you go straight through the roundabout when leaving the college car park (back gate of big car park) it's on the left after a row of 10 houses.

I don't think there's double yellow lines up there and you wouldn't be near the front of anyone's house either so I doubt residents would have any problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

bring back collage fee's then ye can pay for your carparks

seanybiker wrote: »
    bring back collage fee's then ye can pay for your carparks

The college has the money but they are spending it on building instead.

Someone hit my car today, because of the lack of spaces, couple of hundred of paint damage, i was parked on an island within a car park a bad spot i know, but i was well in on the island, alot more than any other car was, ragin now,

security are lookin into it though, if anyone has any info pass it on please, 07 TN Golf kinda maroon colour, opposite the gallery area, in the big car park

Well the college have a new plan of action to tackle this, due to the group meetings they have had with residents, the council and the guards. No folks, there wont be a new car park or improved parking facilities. No, those spaces removed wont be re-added..

Instead, a "public service announcement" has been made across most announcement screens in the college. It includes a 3-4 slide presentation on how the residents are annoyed, that the college has been to a few meetings and it all came to head in May and how the college want to show both the students and staff what the residents have to go through. How? By showing us pictures of the parking of course! From 2008. The pictures are all dated (late in the year of 2008), show cars parked in the estate along the road. Personally, I think it fails. Because most people know how bad it is already but park their anyway. Plus the pictures are nearly a year old and things were much worse parking wise this year - the pictures seemed to have been taken on a quiet day and included the car park in Bad Bobs which I would imagine is not full of students!

The idea of the presentation and showing the staff & students of the pictures is to make us realise the stress and hassle residents have gone through (nothing about windows being smashed, cars being damaged or parking tickets being given out) and hopefully make us wake up and park.. somewhere, but not there. Which will mean other estates having to deal with the clutter and another process of badgering the college until something is done.

I'm assuming the RSC car park will be open next year to take some of the cars, which may help the situation but a power point presentation using pictures which dont really show much of a problem isnt going to make much a difference to peoples parking habbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Lol well why don't we make ou own slideshow, most of us here on the forum are IT based, some have access to a camera, why don't we take pictures of the damage to student cars and show the college that they are letting the student body down.

How about we do that? How about we set up our own display, i'd be up to help if you want pictues taken :P although any joe soap can take a picture of vandalism.lol anyone up for that :P

Dunno if i'm serious or not at this stage myself. I don't drive but i do support all those that do becuase the college has left them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭kingcurls

The parking situation has been ridiculous the last few years and it is getting worse and worse so i can only imagine what its gonna be like in september, i do drive to college every day and i wuld say at least 2 days a week i start at 10 or 11 and it is a joke trying to get a space but i have decided to give up on the students union for help as they clearly have no sway with the running of the college in this matter as nothing has been done there are spaces in lismore where you can park within the law i did get a ticket there myself once in a spot i thought was fine..... if your gonna park in lismore park then here are a few key points to not getting a ticket

1. Dont have any wheels up on the kerb
    2. dont park on or near a double yellow
    3. dont park within 2 meters of a junction (i got a ticket for this and had no way to prove them wrong as i only recieved it in the post weeks after the event so i couldnt remember where i had parked that day)
    4. dont block in any way someones driveway
    5. make sure your tax is up to date because if they cant get you for parking they get you for this (my friend found out the hard way)

the residents give out about the parking there but when your not breaking any rules and in a legit spot they need to back off or vent at the college because the students cant help it unless you live in templars hall or manor village and you are driving if you are then i hope you get clamped