Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boo Weekley appreciation thread

• 21-09-2008 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭

Feel free to move this into the Ryder Cup thread but I think Boo Weekley deserves a special mention after the last 3 days. I think he done to the USA team and supporters what Darren Clarke done to the European team and supporters in the K-Club 2 years ago. I don't watch much of the American PGA tour but will start now!

From humble beginnings, he came across his golfing talents by pure fluke. Hadn't been outside the States up until a few years ago. Prefers hunting and fishing to golf. Says 'he only plays professional golf to put food on his family table'. Chews tabacoo while playing a round.

Did anyone see his riding his driver like a stallion on the first tee box today??

Here's to you Happy Gilmore, you made my Ryder Cup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

It;s one of the reasons they won. They had a few characters in the team, Boo being the main man but don't forget Holmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

yeah +1 excellent...happy gilmore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

8 under was some scoring....matched by Kim and Perry I think.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

A fantastic swing, magic golf but boy what a redneck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

flanzer wrote: »
    Feel free to move this into the Ryder Cup thread but I think Boo Weekley deserves a special mention after the last 3 days. I think he done to the USA team and supporters what Darren Clarke done to the European team and supporters in the K-Club 2 years ago. I don't watch much of the American PGA tour but will start now!

From humble beginnings, he came across his golfing talents by pure fluke. Hadn't been outside the States up until a few years ago. Prefers hunting and fishing to golf. Says 'he only plays professional golf to put food on his family table'. Chews tabacoo while playing a round.

Did anyone see his riding his driver like a stallion on the first tee box today??

Here's to you Happy Gilmore, you made my Ryder Cup!

Riding his driver off the tee box was pretty pathetic. The man has no respect for his opponents. The referee had to tell him to calm down yeaterday and on thursday he ran all over westwood's line celebrating a putt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I like seeing passion from a player, something like Sergio Garcia, but i honestly think this Boo chap was overdoing it. As the previous poster said, he was completely disrespecting his opponents. Nevertheless, he seems to be a very good player and i like his passion but he needs to tone it down somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

the man is exactly what golf needed. watching him is better than looking at all these pretty boys with perfect swings and no personality beyond the odd fist pump. he made the ryder cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

"Doing the bulldance, feeling the flow, working it....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I don't think the chap disrespected anyone, he is an awesome talent. I actually found his horse gallop off the tee box quite entertaining to be honest.

What annoyed me was the childish mind games and antics from Kim and Garcia especially. They could take a lesson from Stenson and Perry on graciousness and respect to the opposition. They both acknowledged each others great play throughout their match and played the game they way it's supposed to be played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

f22 wrote: »
    I don't think the chap disrespected anyone, he is an awesome talent. I actually found his horse gallop off the tee box quite entertaining to be honest.

What annoyed me was the childish mind games and antics from Kim and Garcia especially. They could take a lesson from Stenson and Perry on graciousness and respect to the opposition. They both acknowledged each others great play throughout their match and played the game they way it's supposed to be played.

Very true. The Casey/Mahan match was a real high pressure match and the way those two interacted and acknowledged one another was great. Would be nice to see the players smile a little more. Too much aggression at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

While I really enjoyed watching Weekley's play and enthusiasm, I wonder if much of his redneck persona is a bit of an act. Eg talking about shooting deer when interviewed after winning his singles match. He has done this in previous interviews and it's a bit predictable and "too perfect" in my view.

As regards JB Holmes, I was disappointed not to see more coverage of him smashing the **** out of te ball :) It seemed to me that he got less TV time than some of the others, probably understandable given he's not as much of "superstar" as some others.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    While I really enjoyed watching Weekley's play and enthusiasm, I wonder if much of his redneck persona is a bit of an act. Eg talking about shooting deer when interviewed after winning his singles match. He has done this in previous interviews and it's a bit predictable and "too perfect" in my view.

As regards JB Holmes, I was disappointed not to see more coverage of him smashing the **** out of te ball :) It seemed to me that he got less TV time than some of the others, probably understandable given he's not as much of "superstar" as some others.

Weekly is about as honest as you'll get. He's a simple boy with simple goals, to provide for his family. He has always been honest in saying that golf has never been his first love, he does it to pay the bills. He has a target in mind and when he reaches that he will retire from the game to live comfortably doing the things he loves.

As for JB Holmes, apart from the odd booming drive, the chaps game leaves plenty to be desired so perhaps that's the reason the cameras don't focus on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

He puts Poulter's antics in the shade.......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

He really played great and fair play to him. I thought the riding his driver was pretty undignified though and just made him look like a tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

There's been a conspiracy theory going round that Boo is a CIA plot to rekindle American patriotism...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Septico

Roadend wrote: »
    "Doing the bulldance, feeling the flow, working it....."

Up, Down, Around.. circular. Like a carousel Happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭jacko

Boo was simply awesome and was a breath of fresh air. his 'antics' may not be considered correct ettiquette for the golf course and definitely wouldn't be seen in a regular tournament but for a format like ryder cup its exactly whats needed. Boo's the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Not a fan of Boo's carry on to be honest. Great striker of the ball and all that but he's just not my cup of tea. My opinion may change after I see him play a few PGA tournaments.

US hero of the week for me was Kenny Perry. What a story this guy has. Saw him being interviewed last night and he seems to be a genuine good guy.

I thought the golf on display all week was mostly outstanding, bar a few dismal performances from Curtis, Harrington and Garcia in particular.

It was great to see mutual appreciation for good play from most players throughout the week, including the majority of the fans.

Kim and Garcia however are like two arrogant, spoiled little children. However great their talent, they have alot of growing up to do. They niggled at each other from the first hole, with Garcia on the losing end of their little mind games battle. The toys were well and truely out of the pram, and I have no doubt Kim would have been the same, had the shoe been on the other foot.

I'm sure when they look back on the coverage, they will both see what childish idiots they have been. Two silly kids amoung a group of gentlemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

i didnt mind the stuff he was doing, hes simply trying to entertain in his own way. hes not purposley trying to offend his opponents imo.
    Anything to make golf slighlty more watchable is a bonus .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Of all the American players it is Jim Furyk that deserves the most credit. Very humble and gracious in victory and spoke well of his opponent (Jimenez), a true gentleman of his sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Do we call him: Boo 'Crazy Horse' Weekley or Boo 'Mad Cow' Weekley ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Boo Weekley was an irritant and a total clown all week...whipping up the crowd, he was like a comedy act, Westwood was pretty disgusted last night over it all and its not like him to say something like that about another player.

Yeah he played well, so what plenty of them played well....golf is all about etiquette and respecting your opponent, which of course he would know nothing about since he said he didnt even know that (a) he was in a position to qualify for the ryder cup and (b) didnt know you can concede putts in matchplay.
    A total oddball but Europe most likely wont have to face him in 2010 cos he'll be back to his huntin deer :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

To the Opening post.

Are you serious? Let me get this right, you actually espect Boo Weekly and admire him?

You say "he hasn't been out of the US until a few weeks ago" as if thats a quality to be respected.

Boo Weekly represents everything that is wrong not only with US golf but the USA in general. He is an uneducated, disrespectful moron. How can you hold a man that wears US army kaki gear to play golf. He is unprofessional and probably has the lowest IQ of any Ryder Cup player in history. Not that a low IQ is a problem, but the man has no idea what the Ryder Cup stands for. Neither do you from the sounds of things.

You must be 14-18 and I am allowing for your naivity but come on lad, get a real role model or someone to acknowledge. Boo Weekly certainly isnt one.

As for riding his driver down the fairway, it was unsavoury and he just looked like a fool. He didnt carry himself with any dignity throughout the week.

He played tremendous golf nonetheless, but his anctics should not be viewed upon as something to aspire to.

f22 wrote: »
    Kim and Garcia however are like two arrogant, spoiled little children. However great their talent, they have alot of growing up to do. They niggled at each other from the first hole, with Garcia on the losing end of their little mind games battle. The toys were well and truely out of the pram, and I have no doubt Kim would have been the same, had the shoe been on the other foot.

I'm sure when they look back on the coverage, they will both see what childish idiots they have been. Two silly kids amoung a group of gentlemen.

I didnt get to see it last night. What where they doing to make them look like this?

A Jim Furyk appreciation thread would be more apt....his post-victory interview was more centered at how sorry he felt for his beaten opponent than about his own personal glory. A diamond of a man and he has gone way way up in my estimation (not that I ever thought any different of him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

IThis is part of a post I put on another thread but I felt compeled to post here too.
    Boo Weekleys behaviour and that of the US supporters was in my mind a joke. Im not one of these over the top rule sticklers with regard to coarse behaviour etc. and I do understand the high they were on. Some EU supporters also joined in on the act and this is my point. If let go unchecked it will only get worse. Yet again I thought they let themselves and the game down. I have a young son who I hope one day will play golf to learn respect etc. from it, which most def is not taught in Soccer for example. But watching this Ryder cup I just saw the lines being blured . . .:mad:

To the Opening post.

Are you serious? Let me get this right, you actually espect Boo Weekly and admire him?

You say "he hasn't been out of the US until a few weeks ago" as if thats a quality to be respected.

Boo Weekly represents everything that is wrong not only with US golf but the USA in general. He is an uneducated, disrespectful moron. How can you hold a man that wears US army kaki gear to play golf. He is unprofessional and probably has the lowest IQ of any Ryder Cup player in history. Not that a low IQ is a problem, but the man has no idea what the Ryder Cup stands for. Neither do you from the sounds of things.

You must be 14-18 and I am allowing for your naivity but come on lad, get a real role model or someone to acknowledge. Boo Weekly certainly isnt one.

As for riding his driver down the fairway, it was unsavoury and he just looked like a fool. He didnt carry himself with any dignity throughout the week.

He played tremendous golf nonetheless, but his anctics should not be viewed upon as something to aspire to.

What has his I.Q or level of intellegence got anything to do with him playing golf? he obviously has a great talent in his golfing ability, and if the man cant add 2+2,that has nothing to do with it.
    So the man acts like a bit of a clown,so what. Golfers need to loosen up a bit and take the club out of there holes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The riding of his club down the fairway was extremely disrespectful to his opponent I felt. He was one step away from wearing a Boston Bruins hockey jersey and falling on his knees on the green asking the ball "Why wont you go home"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

My own preference is for somebody like Furyk.......yes he can get pumped up but only when an important putt drops. He's a gentleman and always has a good word even if the other guy didn't play well. All this jumping around fist pumping isn't clever and it isn't golf.

The chanting by the crowd is pathetic and I don't want to see this spread outside of the US. It's bad enough that some idiots always shout "get in the hole" even on every tee shot.

I guess there are two words that sum it up....breeding and manners.

stockdam wrote: »
    I guess there are two words that sum it up....breeding and manners.

Nail on the head. Why is it only when the Ryder Cup is in america that this problem crops up? Hmmm I wonder......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

What has his I.Q or level of intellegence got anything to do with him playing golf? he obviously has a great talent in his golfing ability, and if the man cant add 2+2,that has nothing to do with it.
    So the man acts like a bit of a clown,so what. Golfers need to loosen up a bit and take the club out of there holes!

If you read my post you'll see i state that IQ has nothing to do with his golfing ability. The man is a clown, acts like a moron and anybody that condones his behaviour is also a moron. Golfers need to loosen up? This are people that are playing golf as a profession that try to handle themsevles well and with dignity and respect. They are aware they are role models for millions of people. Anyone that jumps around on a club like a horse like Boo did shouldn't be viewed as a role model. He is an idiot, showed disrespect for his opponents and made a tool of himself.

You honestly think if there were more Boo Weekly's the world, and the golfing world would be a better place?

If you answer yes then your an idiot too and should be shipped off to Iraq with Boo to shot people cause "somone dang told me too shotin them folk".

Moron!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

If you read my post you'll see i state that IQ has nothing to do with his golfing ability. The man is a clown, acts like a moron and anybody that condones his behaviour is also a moron. Golfers need to loosen up? This are people that are playing golf as a profession that try to handle themsevles well and with dignity and respect. They are aware they are role models for millions of people. Anyone that jumps around on a club like a horse like Boo did shouldn't be viewed as a role model. He is an idiot, showed disrespect for his opponents and made a tool of himself.

You honestly think if there were more Boo Weekly's the world, and the golfing world would be a better place?

If you answer yes then your an idiot too and should be shipped off to Iraq with Boo to shot people cause "somone dang told me too shotin them folk".

Moron!

This reminds me why I don't watch golf and don't really get it. Someone like Boo might be a reason why I would watch it but if he is regarded a moron within his sport I think I'll continue to give it a miss. If there were more Boo Weeklys in the golf world I might tune in.

To the Opening post.

Are you serious? Let me get this right, you actually espect Boo Weekly and admire him? You say "he hasn't been out of the US until a few weeks ago" as if thats a quality to be respected.

Different strokes and all that... personally, i respect and admire him too. Fabulous golfer, seems a genuine kind of guy. As for him never being out the US until recently, so what. What exactly does that show? That he came from a totally different background to you and perhaps didn't have the same opportunities/fortune/inclinations that you do? I find what you're saying to be pretty ignorant.

I think Boo Weekley will now have a fair idea what it stands for. The clip i saw of him after the Westwood affair, he apologised if he had over-stepped the mark. If IQ has nothing to do with it, which it doesn't, why the hell are you bringing it up? Another totally irrelevant and ignorant point!
    As for riding his driver down the fairway, it was unsavoury and he just looked like a fool.

Everyone i spoke to today thought it was hillarious. Me included

Fun, successful, entertaining, in the top handful of the people in the world at what he does. Getting to the top in a sport which is still considered elitist is definitely something to aspire to. Get off your high horse and stop being so ignorant.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Moron!

one week ban.

incase anyone missed it................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Since the Yanks cleverly changed "U S A" to "Boo S A" how about at the next Ryder Cup we Irish and Brits cleverly work his name into one of our own chants? I was thinking of maybe "Boo Fat Bastard".

Never mind all this crap about golf being seen as elitest, if I saw any sportsman do something as idiotic as his crap I'd have an instant overpowering dislike for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

I don't like Boo Weekley.
    He gets praised for preferring hunting and fishing to golf. :confused:

Graeme Mc Dowell is a legend tho

"most fun i've had on a golf course............with my clothes on":p:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Boo annoyed the bejesus out of me. Not alone for his whooping and horsey antics but, if I'm honest, mostly for the fact he had the game to back it up. The Ryder cup is a unique event on the golfing calendar and I'd imagine it's the only time we'll see that kind of sh1te.

Did he remind anyone else of Warren, Cameron Diaz's brother in "There's something about Mary"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

milltown wrote: »
    Did he remind anyone else of Warren, Cameron Diaz's brother in "There's something about Mary"?

Bingo!!!!!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Ok lads, can we grow up a bit? No need for that last line Millltown, in extremely poor taste and very close to a ban for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

:( - Just the running on the golf club bit....

Resuming higher standards now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

I am amazed there are only a few clips of this on youtube. I expected it to be huge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

I'm astounded at some of the regular competition players on here saying that they think Weekley's antics were amusing and refreshing etc.

I'd expect someone to be chucked from almost any golf club in the country for the riding the bull stuff, not to mention all the whooping, crowd pumping when others were due to play.

The only way to look at this is what would you think of it if you played in a club competition with a reasonable amount of spectators and your opponent behaved exactly the way Weekley did. You'd be disgusted.

Anyone notice Kim having a go at Poulter as he walked from a green on Saturday afternoon during the session that Kim sat out? Can't remember which hole it was, but Kim was greenside and made a remark at Poulter that drew a reaction.

The one thing about it all though is that they all had the game to back it up, but really should look to guys like Furyk for how to conduct themselves. Some of Weekleys antics wouldn't be accepted at a football match and would be seen as inciting the crowd.

Stealdo wrote: »
    I'm astounded at some of the regular competition players on here saying that they think Weekley's antics were amusing and refreshing etc.

I'd expect someone to be chucked from almost any golf club in the country for the riding the bull stuff, not to mention all the whooping, crowd pumping when others were due to play.

The only way to look at this is what would you think of it if you played in a club competition with a reasonable amount of spectators and your opponent behaved exactly the way Weekley did. You'd be disgusted.

Anyone notice Kim having a go at Poulter as he walked from a green on Saturday afternoon during the session that Kim sat out? Can't remember which hole it was, but Kim was greenside and made a remark at Poulter that drew a reaction.

The one thing about it all though is that they all had the game to back it up, but really should look to guys like Furyk for how to conduct themselves. Some of Weekleys antics wouldn't be accepted at a football match and would be seen as inciting the crowd.

I don't think it's fair to compare the Ryder Cup to a club match to be honest. That's a bit like comparing the way a footballer celebrates scoring a goal in the world cup final to a lad playing sunday league. The Ryder Cup is a different animal to anything else in golf. Yo usee players react, celebrate, compete differently in it to any other event. Weekley just got carried away with the whole atmosphere and euphoria. Who can blame him, he's a young lad, fairly new to the golf scene and with thousands and thousands of people adoring him from the stands.

As for Furyk, the guy could do with a dose of happy pills and a lesson in how to smile in my opinion. Yawn.

As for Kim, i think he was celebrating with the US players on one of the greens and he bumped into Poulter. Poulter turned to him and told him to "**** off". Not sure if this is the incident you're on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Golf needs a few more personalities rather that automatons.

Bring it on, good for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    I don't think it's fair to compare the Ryder Cup to a club match to be honest. That's a bit like comparing the way a footballer celebrates scoring a goal in the world cup final to a lad playing sunday league. The Ryder Cup is a different animal to anything else in golf. Yo usee players react, celebrate, compete differently in it to any other event. Weekley just got carried away with the whole atmosphere and euphoria. Who can blame him, he's a young lad, fairly new to the golf scene and with thousands and thousands of people adoring him from the stands.

That doesn't cut it with me, there's still a guy there waiting to hit his next shot etc. It was completely out of order in my opinion, but that's just it opinions. When you see jeuvenile/society players running down fairways with a driver between their legs next spring you might reconsider.
    As for Furyk, the guy could do with a dose of happy pills and a lesson in how to smile in my opinion. Yawn.

Fair enough - but a class act all the way.
    As for Kim, i think he was celebrating with the US players on one of the greens and he bumped into Poulter. Poulter turned to him and told him to "**** off". Not sure if this is the incident you're on about.

That could well be it, I couldn't see what actually happened between them, just Poulter reacting to Kim over something. Wouldn't be holding Ian up as the model of decorum.

Stealdo wrote: »
    When you see jeuvenile/society players running down fairways with a driver between their legs next spring you might reconsider.

To be honest, if that's the worst thing i see any golfer doing over the next 12 months i'll be happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

amacachi wrote: »
    Since the Yanks cleverly changed "U S A" to "Boo S A" how about at the next Ryder Cup we Irish and Brits cleverly work his name into one of our own chants? I was thinking of maybe "Boo Fat Bastard".

Never mind all this crap about golf being seen as elitest, if I saw any sportsman do something as idiotic as his crap I'd have an instant overpowering dislike for him.

I thought they were saying Boourns :D