Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin Lindsay v Derry Matthews spoiler

• 20-09-2008 9:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭

I don't have Setanta where I live now so didnit' get to see it but anyway. In a close contest where Lindsay was trailing on the cards he turned things around by brutally sparking Matthews with a left hook.

This was a British title eliminator and a huge win for the relatively inexperienced Lindsay, against a man who holds wins over Steve Foster jnr, John Simpson and Matthew Marsh.

Matthews is ranked #8 by the IBF and #6 by the WBO and #2 in Europe so that shows you what a huge win this is for Martin. The British champion is a young quality prospect himself in Paul Appleby. The Commonwealth champion is also a young decent enough prospect(but not of the quality of the other two lads)

I'd like to see Martin's performance tonight before assessing his chances against Appleby but from what I've seen of him so far and getting a win over Derry Matthews he'd be in with every chance. Beating Matthews and Appleby back to back would really take him places.

Great matching by Hayemaker promotions btw, they only just signed Matthews and Lindsay and matched them together in their first bout as Hayemaker promoted fighters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

cracking ko, knocked him spark out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

efb wrote: »
    cracking ko, knocked him spark out!

I'm absolutely ragin.

I had to go to a bbq with the soon to be Mrs. SB67 and I was assured that the house had Setanta - but when I arrived they onyl had Sky Sports, so I missed it.

and that raises another issue - setanta's replays - I hate the way they dont show any undercard fights. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

Watched the fight,

Lindsey was down in the 2nd I think it was and lost the next few rounds, you could sense he wanted to sit back and gather his bearings before he could have got KO’d, but fair dues to him rounds 4,5 6, he started to plug back and in the latter rounds he was just waiting for the perfect opportunity to land the KO punch. At that point he was down on points and needed the KO if he was to win the fight. BANG what a punch!! And apparently he isn’t meant to have a big punch (well that was!). Matthews needed to receive oxygen after the KO looked a little scary for a second or two but was than fine.

Hate to say it but the Setanta team, well I felt anyway, wanted Matthews to win. I didn’t feel they gave Lindsay credit for his stunning knockout, they emphasised on the negatives that this would have on Matthews career.

All in all a great fight, and you lot who didn’t see it, you missed out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Jaysus forgot all about this fight :mad: am delighted for lindsey...........what a knockout........peach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

To put this win in perspective here are the best wins from our top fighters over last 2 years or so(in no particular order).

John Duddy: Howard Eastman
    Andy Lee: Willie Gibbs
    Matthew Macklin: Yori Boy Campas
    Bernard Dunne: Esham Pickering
    James Moore: Juan Carlos Candelo
    Paul McCloskey: Nigel Wright
    Brian Magee: Andrew Lowe/Paul David/Tyrone Wright

on an unrelated note Magee does fight for the vacant British Super-Middleweight title against Steven McGuire on the Froch v Pascal undercard.

Oh course the best performance by one of our fighters in that time period was Damaen Kelly's masterclass in his first fight against Simeone Maludrottu where he boxed the Italian's ears off but to say the result of that fight leaves a bit of sour taste in the mouth would be the understatement of the century.

Lindsay fights next on David Haye's undercard, and here's that magnificent ko

Big Ears wrote: »

Oh course the best performance by one of our fighters in that time period was Damaen Kelly's masterclass in his first fight against Simeone Maludrottu where he boxed the Italian's ears off but to say the result of that fight leaves a bit of sour taste in the mouth would be the understatement of the century.

Funny you should mention that fight. I remember me going crazy in my front room when the decision came out and Mrs. SB67 came into the room cos she thought the world was about to end with the amount of crusing and swearing at the tv I was doing.

Anyway last year there was a discussion on Eastside and I raised this fight as being the biggest robbery but a Danish guy said he had Simone in front - I predictable said he was talkin sh1te, but to his credit he sent me a copy of the fight on DVD.

It made interesting watching tbh - granted I still scored Damean the winner but you could see how judges gave rounds against him.

I still got the DVD somewhere - copies availabe if ye want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

was at ringside 4 that fight with a mate and we both taught that maldrottu won it comfortably and couldnt understand the fuss, mabey it came across diff on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Funny you should mention that fight. I remember me going crazy in my front room when the decision came out and Mrs. SB67 came into the room cos she thought the world was about to end with the amount of crusing and swearing at the tv I was doing.

Anyway last year there was a discussion on Eastside and I raised this fight as being the biggest robbery but a Danish guy said he had Simone in front - I predictable said he was talkin sh1te, but to his credit he sent me a copy of the fight on DVD.

It made interesting watching tbh - granted I still scored Damean the winner but you could see how judges gave rounds against him.

I still got the DVD somewhere - copies availabe if ye want them.

Ya I'd love a DVD of that, I know it's easy to get carried away with commentators but I don't think it's something I tend to do and although Jim Watt normally scores fights pretty well I'd regularly disagree with him.

Of course then there's the whole angles issue, I'm guessing that DVD is by some other tv company than SKY and they perhaps had their own angles for the fight and like the way judges ringside can have very different scores because of their angle it can be the same for those watching on tv.

SKY had different camera than HBO for Pavlik v Miranda and I actually think the fight seems much more enjoyable on the SKY version somehow.

I've seen different camera angles for Calzaghe v Byron Mitchell. One lot makes you think that it was quite a premature stoppage, the other would have you thinking the ref could have stepped in even a little earlier.

Of course there's no excuse of giving Holyfield round 5 in his first fight with Lennox Lewis(as Eugenia Williams did) but angles does play a huge part.
    The same way I doubt anyone should score the Kelly-Maludrottu fight 118-111 for the Italian like Beat Haussaman did.

To me the punch stats given by Sky looked accurate from the angle we were watching on tv, Kelly landed twice as much and throwing 3 times more.

I had it 118-110 Kelly, with 8 clear rounds for Kelly, 2 clear rounds for Maludrottu and 2 more rounds which were close but I felt Damaen got the better of them.

So I am very interested to watch it again, especially if it does provide another angle.

We've gone slightly off topic though here so I'll bring things back to Lindsay. One of the reasons I'm so excited about this win is that at Featherweight at the moment British and European level are about the same. So if Martin can capture the British title he'll quite possible get himself the chance to become European champ.

I have a round by round scoring, the summary is - 6 to Kelly, 4 to Maludrottu and 2 even.

PM me yer address and I'll get a copy made. No promises on when I'll get around to it though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

Good article on Irish boxing.com about Martin Lindsay, its a good little site.

I must say I like Lindsay’s attitude, he took a gamble against the higher profile Matthews, wasn’t bothered about English ref’s and commentators being slightly against him and he is remaining active, fighting in November.

Overall it appears he is a sensibly, good honest pro who gets on with it…….

Power Puncher 23 September 2008 - by Cormac Campbell

Boom! When Belfast’s Martin Lindsay threw what was undoubtedly the sweetest left hook of his career against the much-touted Derry Matthews on September 20 he sent shockwaves through the domestic game.

Behind on points and a big underdog from the get-go it seemed the Belfast man’s gamble had not reaped dividends.

However, from the middle of the scheduled 10 rounder the ‘Mac Man’ had been landing an increasing number of meaty left hooks to the chops of the talented Liverpudlian. With just a minute left in the penultimate round Lindsay pounced, relieving Matthews of his senses and securing a British title tilt against champion Paul Appleby.

Having previously notched only four stoppages from 12 successful contests the conclusive nature of the KO left many fans shocked – but speaking to irish-boxing.com Lindsay said he knew he had power.

“I have a few knockouts on my card and I suppose it is there but you have to land it right,” he said.

Taking the fight was certainly a risk, but the University of Ulster graduate is adamant that the ‘traditional route’ of tough opponents is the only way to be all that he can be.

“It was a step up for me. I went in to those last two rounds knowing I needed to do something because I was talking to the ref afterwards and he said I was a few rounds down.

“We’re now working towards a title fight. That’s why I accepted the fight. There is no point in hanging about. I just wanted to go in and see how far I can go. He was ranked number two in the latest EBU rankings so I suppose that will put me up in the top ten anyway. I just don’t know whereabouts.”

If Lindsay’s participation in the contest was viewed as an afterthought by the British media, future appearances will no doubt garner the attention and respect that wasn’t apparent in Sheffield.

“I knew I was going in to the fight as an underdog and I knew a lot of commentators would be like that (pro Matthews). I’m Irish going over to fight in England with English referees and commentators. I just expected it. It doesn’t annoy me.”

Given the severity of the KO there will be little appetite for a rematch. Despite the fact that Matthews was well ahead on points two KO defeats in three fights will force the 25-year-old to get to the back of the queue in an intriguing domestic scene. When Lindsay’s title shot takes place remains to be seen, but the unbeaten 26-year-old will return to action in November on the undercard of David Haye’s O2 Arena show in November.

“I’m going on holidays now but I’m on the O2 Arena show in November,” he said.

“I don’t know what they have planned for me but it probably wont be the title shot then. They’ll probably give me a six rounder. I just leave it up to my management and let them sort it out.”