Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loner

• 20-09-2008 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys /girls

Im living/working in a new city for the last few months and dont really have anyone to head out with.

I'm wondering what do people think of heading to a pub/club on your own?
    I'm not a very talkative guy so I'm not sure if I should bother heading out as I know I likely wont approach anyone or say hi as im just a v guarded person naturally but Id like to get out of the house.

Before I moved I had all my mates and would just head out with them to a pub and we'd a v close circle didnt really interact with others. if I head out here on my own would people just think im a loner and think im weird? I know people will say dont care what others think but its easy to say that alot harder to follow the advice, plus I'm not sure if i'll enjoy heading out if i'm just drinking on my own.

• Subscribers Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭girl_friday

Register on here, join a few threads and head out for one of the beers sessions!! Arrange to meet someone in advance. I would be similar enough in that I find it hard to meet new people but I went to the ladies lounge beers last night having arranged to meet one of the girls in advance (meant I couldn't back out!!) Had a great night, met some new people and will hopefully meet them again soon! Its not easy but once you've taken the first step outside your comfort zone you'll realise its never as bad as you anticipate!! Good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Here is a good spot to talk (Boards in general I mean) - good way to find people with common interests...And a lot of forums have gatherings - and if not, get active and arrange one :)

Night classes are also good and they are starting around now.

Maybe find a local club / sport that you may be interested in. Will be a while before Tag Rugby starts up again but there are some social enough events about.

Heading out on your own is difficult...especially if you want to meet new people rather than just have a quiet drink / read a paper / watch a match, so start slowly.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Pick your pubs carefully - head to quiet ones and sit at the bar with a newspaper.

Even having a chat to the barman can be better than sitting alone at home.

Going to a busy pub is horrendous and you'll put yourself back a few steps. It could be too noisy and too difficult to strike up a conversation.

I have travelled on my own many times and I know which types of places I'll encounter people and other places where I'd be on my own and feeling out of place.

You could try it on Saturday afternoons or when there's football on the tv - you'll encounter lots of people doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

A lot a good advice above. If ya go, I wouldn't try breaking into a big group of 10 or such, but a lad or two out themselves are generally sociable to chat with lads they don't know at a pub.

Or heck, you can always find an 'old man' pub and chat with some of the old men. They're generally up for a chat, and for every 3 that are boring has feck, there's one that's brilliant craic. Plus it may be good conversational practice for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I would ocasionaly go to the pub on my own, mates think it's weird. Nonetheless it gets me out of the house, even if it's just looking at tv, reading the paper. Don't make a habit of it. Seriously. Drinking on your own can make the situation even worse. Depression and all that lark.

Join some sort of club, anything that is not on the net, because that isn't exactly going to help, is it? Join something that you will get to interact with other people, even if you are not 100% interested. You might find someone with other common interests. Try your best not to be shy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Invite one or two of your friends to Dublin for a weekend. Use them as a social crutch to check out a few places nearby and try to get to know people in there with them. In fact share your isolation with your pals and they'll even explain and introduce you to other people who may be regular visitors to a place. Avoid the city centre and try somewhere closer to where you are living in Dublin.
    This works because two of my best friends were introduced to me in that manner. One guy was introduced as billy no mates from the country by a couple of pals and needed some people to take him under their wings. There was a group of 5 of us and the following week we called Norm (billy no mates) and invited him out with us. He was just as you describe yourself, intraverted, not much conversation, but he laughed at all our jokes and became a permanent fixture in our group.
    Best of luck and don't be too nervous - you may just need some introductions to people so even the boards nights out would be perfect if you could get over the shyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Do you expect people to just come up and talk to you if you head out to the pub on your own? If you do I think that is a bad way of meeting people. It might also make you more unhappy watching other people in groups etc.

Join a club/society or do evening class. Most organisations and groups in evening classes go out for drinks regularly and it is a great way to meet people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

i wouldnt head out on my own.

the only time ive ever been in a pub by myself and having a few drinks was if i was somewhere and just felt like a pint while reading the paper or watching a match but i wouldnt be planning a night out bymyself.

it would be seriously depressing being on a nightout by yourself.