Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriends odour....down below

• 19-09-2008 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

This is really bothering me,my girlfriends odour from her vagina is really ruining things, well for me anyway she seems to be totally unaware that she smells down there which kinda annoys me as it's fairly strong,anyway she showers everyday and most nights before she comes to bed,now there's only a faint odour after her shower but after a while it kinda builds back up like she hasn't washed herself down there properly or something.

She keeps asking me to "go down" on her but I won't and it still hasn't dawned on her why !!
    I keep saying things in a joking manner so I don't upset her or anything by being blatent when she'd be going into the shower I'd say "don't forget to give down there a good scrubbing" etc she laughs and says "oi cheeky" yet obviously she doesn't take any notice.

So what do I do now that I've tried to put it in the best way I think I could have without getting her upset or annoyed at me :( .
    Any advice would be greatly greatly appreciated as I don't know how to broach the subject with her as all I can see is her getting ticked off at me.thanks ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

The-OP wrote: »
    when she'd be going into the shower I'd say "don't forget to give down there a good scrubbing" etc she laughs and says "oi cheeky" yet obviously she doesn't take any notice.

How could she miss that hint?? Jaysus, that's pretty blatant lolz. Um, every woman smells different and that might just be her scent. Have you smelled enough to be sure it's that abnormal? (That sounds mean, but I'm asking genuinely.) I doubt there's anything she can do about it, although diet apparently has an effect.

As far as broaching it, I'm a woman and I have no idea how someone could bring that up without giving me a complex tbh. You're dropping pretty strong hints, I don't know what else you could do aside from just saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yea I've gotten more than enough of a smell :D..it smells like wee... (god I feel like such a bastard doin this :( but I don't know what else to do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

If it is a fishy or musty odour then your girlfriend might have a bacterial infection. She'd need to see a doctor to get antibiotics to clear it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Go into the shower with her, intimate a bit of "craic" which involves touching and without her knowing, give it a good scrub and see if it still smells.

I honestly meant that in all seriousness and still do but couldnt stop laughing the whole way through it.

Sorry

Jeez, I need to get out more.

MugMugs wrote: »
    Go into the shower with her, intimate a bit of "craic" which involves touching and without her knowing, give it a good scrub and see if it still smells.

I honestly meant that in all seriousness and still do but couldnt stop laughing the whole way through it.

Sorry

Jeez, I need to get out more.

:D I know it does sound funny and yea she's always asking me to come join her in the shower and I will next time and try that by giving it a good load of shower gel and a good scrubbing :D and if that fails...well I don't know :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Some sort of fragrant oil before you go down? Tell her it's an aphrodisiac. Or a little massage oil plus aromatherapy oil mixed into the skin (but NOT "intrernally") to kill the smell...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭fits

She could have a fungal (thrush) or bacterial (bacterial vaginosis) infection.. It shouldnt smell bad down there. Both things are fairly common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Excess pubic hair can make things smell a bit more as it traps sweat and other...excretions.

Perhaps tactfully suggest a wax/shave?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭ASIL1983

Dont say anything to her about it- you will give her such a complex and it could ruin sex for you both altogether

ASIL1983 wrote: »
    Dont say anything to her about it- you will give her such a complex and it could ruin sex for you both altogether

By the sounds of things, it already is.

Sex is a pivotal part of a relationship and a non wish to perform could lead to greater issues....... like a break up

By the sounds of things, it already is.

Sex is a pivotal part of a relationship and a non wish to perform could lead to greater issues....... like a break up

Tbh I think I'd rather not know if a guy thought my vag smelled, there's very little that can be done about it unless it's diseased. I'd prefer being dumped over having a complex, but that's just me! It would also how long the relationship has been going on, I think.

Piste wrote: »
    Excess pubic hair can make things smell a bit more as it traps sweat and other...excretions.

Perhaps tactfully suggest a wax/shave?
    She's completely shaved .
    ASIL1983 wrote: »
    Exactly what I'm thinking and that she'll get so pissed off at me for saying that

PillyPen wrote: »
    Tbh I think I'd rather not know if a guy thought my vag smelled, there's very little that can be done about it unless it's diseased.

Oh touche mon freir...
    Wikipedia wrote:
    Vaginal deodorant is a hygiene product designed to take away the smell of the vagina. They are commonly found in sprays, suppositories and wipes.

Oh touche mon freir...

Where are the ball wipes? They don't exactly smell like roses, you know. Imo, if a man wants to have sex with something that smells like spring rain he can go have sex with the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

:D I know it does sound funny and yea she's always asking me to come join her in the shower and I will next time and try that by giving it a good load of shower gel and a good scrubbing :D and if that fails...well I don't know :(

Using shower gel is a terrible idea. Don't even think of doing that as it is likely to make the situation much worse. A vagina is self-cleaning and all it really needs is water. As the other women have suggested, she may have an infection.

Where are the ball wipes? They don't exactly smell like roses, you know. Imo, if a man wants to have sex with something that smells like spring rain he can go have sex with the rain.

That would look very strange and may not go down to well with An Garda Siochana.

If I was told my johnson was smelly, I would sort it out and make sure it was kept sorted.... full stop. I wouldnt go taking offence to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Tbh I think I'd rather not know if a guy thought my vag smelled, there's very little that can be done about it unless it's diseased. I'd prefer being dumped over having a complex, but that's just me! It would also how long the relationship has been going on, I think.
    just to get dumped again by the next guy that is turned off by the odour?

OP, you should consider the fact that even if you get in the shower and give her a bit of a "scrub", and afterwards it's all good, then it means she's not cleaning herself properly and it will just keep going on unless you get in the shower with her every time, so you'll probably have to broach the subject either way.

there's very little that can be done about it unless it's diseased. .

There are lots of things that can be done about it.

Bad smell means it needs to be treated as something is not quite right down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Gyalist wrote: »
    Using shower gel is a terrible idea. Don't even think of doing that as it is likely to make the situation much worse. A vagina is self-cleaning and all it really needs is water. As the other women have suggested, she may have an infection.
    self cleaning internally, but if it smells like urine as the OP suggests then the smell is probably external and not viral/fungal and she is simply not cleaning properly.

Mirror wrote: »
    just to get dumped again by the next guy that is turned off by the odour?

OP, you should consider the fact that even if you get in the shower and give her a bit of a "scrub", and afterwards it's all good, then it means she's not cleaning herself properly and it will just keep going on unless you get in the shower with her every time, so you'll probably have to broach the subject either way.

Again, it's pretty unlikely she'll be able to do anything about. But it's not impossible for her to meet someone who doesn't mind the smell. Some men love the smell of gee, and everyone interprets scents differently. Bad smell is sometimes just a bad smell. Not everyone likes the smell of vagine.

Your being irrational.

There is something she can do about it. She can scent it, clean it or go to a doctor and get assistance in treating it.

Usuallywhat ones persons idea of a bad smell is the same as anothers.

Thats why it is called a bad smell

Your being irrational.

There is something she can do about it. She can scent it, clean it or go to a doctor and get assistance in treating it.

Usuallywhat ones persons idea of a bad smell is the same as anothers.

Thats why it is called a bad smell

It's not irrational to say that vaginas smell differently and it's not necessarily a sign of illness. Whenever I've had a vaginal infection I was in far too much pain and discomfort to have sex, so I doubt that's what it is.

Whenever I've had a vaginal infection I was in far too much pain and discomfort to have sex, so I doubt that's what it is.

So you're able to make medical diagnoses based on whats posted are you?

fits wrote: »
    Bad smell means it needs to be treated as something is not quite right down there.
    So you're able to make medical diagnoses based on whats posted are you?

Hypocrite much?

Mirror wrote: »
    self cleaning internally, but if it smells like urine as the OP suggests then the smell is probably external and not viral/fungal and she is simply not cleaning properly.
    Yep it's not an infection etc I know it's not,it's definately external and definately wee it's not the normal genital smell that we all have when it gets a bit sweaty down there,it's like she isn't and sorry for being a bit graphic but it's like she isn't wiping there enough when she goes for a wee ye know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

bacterial (bacterial vaginosis) infection...

The bacteria responsible for this thrive on alkaline soaps that most people use.

See if you can get her to switch to a PH neutral soap and check if that changes things. If it does, that may be the issue and she should probably see a physician.

Vaginosis and thrush don't always equate discomfort but you are right, there shouldn't be a strong odour if her hygene is good so a medical check isn't a bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Tough spot op but if she has a yeast infection you could get it too via ones japs eye, excuse the rough language a simple course of antibiotics or lob soem natural yogurt at her.
    Pillypen is beinga little daft id rather not know if id fish minge or whatever or course you are better off knowing if you have a problem then you can sort it out.
    If a girl i was with smelt bad id run for the hills.

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Tough spot op but if she has a yeast infection you could get it too via ones japs eye, excuse the rough language a simple course of antibiotics or lob soem natural yogurt at her.
    Pillypen is beinga little daft id rather not know if id fish minge or whatever or course you are better off knowing if you have a problem then you can sort it out.
    If a girl i was with smelt bad id run for the hills.

Daft, wtf? If it's not an infection what can she do about it, really? If it's her natural smell, nothing can be done about that unless she constantly worries about it. I would much rather be dumped and find a guy who liked my smell than be with a guy who made me feel horrible about my vagina. What is so daft about that?

This wee lass has to know she has a smell down there.

If you can smell it then odds are she can too..... So maybe by saying your just giving her the kick she needs to sort it..... or she might have tried that and cant....

Either way, somethings gotta give.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

PILLYPEN youll be here in 3 days goodluck finding a bloke who finds the smell of rancid minge attractive try the docks teh fishermen there might be immune at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

If the smell builds up like you said it does in bed, then as suggested your girlfriend might have a problem.... Bite the bullet and tell her.

sickpuppy wrote: »
    PILLYPEN youll be here in 3 days goodluck finding a bloke who finds the smell of rancid minge attractive try the docks teh fishermen there might be immune at this stage.

I never said I had a rancid minge. There are many other responses, all of which would get me banned, so suffice it to say that the smell of my vagina will never, ever be a concern of yours. Btw, thanks for the warm welcome!
    Yep it's not an infection etc I know it's not,it's definately external and definately wee it's not the normal genital smell that we all have when it gets a bit sweaty down there,it's like she isn't and sorry for being a bit graphic but it's like she isn't wiping there enough when she goes for a wee ye know.

Well you're in a very tough spot here, I definitely feel for you. But if she isn't wiping when she wees one would think showering two times a day would take care of that. I thought urine had to sit for a while to really smell? Do you think you'll approach her about it?

I never said I had a rancid minge. There are many other responses, all of which would get me banned, so suffice it to say that the smell of my vagina will never, ever be a concern of yours. Btw, thanks for the warm welcome!

Roffles

OP if it were me, I would appreciate just being told straight out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

OK calm it down the lot of you.
    Back to the OP issues
    There are many reasons for vaginal odour from bnoth physical causes through to infections. The OP says it smelled of wee...so leave the what it is out of it.
    THAT is not the issue. That issue is between the person and their doctor end of that particular story

The issue is how does the OP broach the subject that the odour is not palatable.

It is in effect a communication issue OP. I would take an open, gentle approach. But i would say it in such a manner that it wouldn't seem like a reproach. Not yelling "wash down there".
    But actually saying what the issue is.
    I thought urine had to sit for a while to really smell?

Thats between the OPs girlfriend and her doctor.
    It's not irrational to say that vaginas smell differently and it's not necessarily a sign of illness. Whenever I've had a vaginal infection I was in far too much pain and discomfort to have sex, so I doubt that's what it is.

This is not a medical forum.
    You may be correct in your first sentence.

However, you are not correct in your second.. diagnosis of presence or absence of infection based solely on symptoms is not correct.
    If you ahve read the recent Chlamydia thread then you will now be aware of this.
    if you weren't, then you are now.

Further: if you are going to accuse other members of hypocrisy (BTW personal abuse is not tolerated): Do so from a position of knowing what you are talking about.
    THAT is an overall warning for you Pillypen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

OP I guarantee she's noticed the smell but probably think it goes away after a shower and you haven't noticed. Why not say to her that in the last week or so you've noticed a different smell and you're concerned. Ask her how she's feeling and say that if she likes you'll go to the well woman clinic with her. Broach it from a position of concerrn and that you feel you can say this to her as you're so close. I don't think she could be offended with that approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I don't think you'll be able to change how she smells, like some others have said she would probably prefer breaking up to hearing she stinks down below, I think you should dump her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

If you were to dump everyone for being less than perfect then you'd be a very lonely person - and rightly so. We're all adults right?

OP if you smelt or had an infection then you can bet she'd say it to you. Sounds like a bacterial infection which is treatable. And you'd be doing her a favour by pointing her in the direction of a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Princess Leia

OP sounds like she definitely has an infection,there's no nice way of saying it to her...but if she's insisting you put your nose down there then I would tell her why not and I would use a condom:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭chris_oc

hey OP,

How does this sound?
    The next time she asks you to go down and you refuse(like every other time), she'll probably ask you "why??" again(also probably, like every other time).
    You just reply by saying its the smell that gets to you. Not just of hers, but of all others too(you know what I mean?). You could then laugh it off (with her not at her, pointing out that its your awkwardness with the whole issue and not hers), that "if it smelt like roses, then you definitely would!". You could also drop in the hint there that she could get something to ehhh.. I don't know em, lets say "scent it" because you read something about that exact problem in some magazine sometime in the past..
    I think it'd be the least awkward way of letting her know and also not singling her out because you're actually talking about all wimmin's "scents" down there.
    Well, that's just my take on it, but I'd say its probably worth a try without causing too much of a commotion. Oh, and if she doesn't change anything in the future, well then she just might stop asking you once and for all, which at least is a result if you don't want to have to go through the same awkward conversation everytime you have sex.
    Good look with it anyways...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭krpc

chris_oc wrote: »
    hey OP,

How does this sound?
    The next time she asks you to go down and you refuse(like every other time), she'll probably ask you "why??" again(also probably, like every other time).
    You just reply by saying its the smell that gets to you. Not just of hers, but of all others too(you know what I mean?). You could then laugh it off (with her not at her, pointing out that its your awkwardness with the whole issue and not hers), that "if it smelt like roses, then you definitely would!". You could also drop in the hint there that she could get something to ehhh.. I don't know em, lets say "scent it" because you read something about that exact problem in some magazine sometime in the past..
    I think it'd be the least awkward way of letting her know and also not singling her out because you're actually talking about all wimmin's "scents" down there.
    Well, that's just my take on it, but I'd say its probably worth a try without causing too much of a commotion. Oh, and if she doesn't change anything in the future, well then she just might stop asking you once and for all, which at least is a result if you don't want to have to go through the same awkward conversation everytime you have sex.
    Good look with it anyways...

I don't think having a candid discussion about this amidst the throes of passion is the most practical method. IMO, a mature, understanding, sensitive, adult discussion about it as not a simple sexual problem but a health problem is the best approach. I'd also be sure to provide support after it too (i.e. passing a comment about if the situations were reversed you would appreciate being told etc .,.)

ask some of her mates what they think, they may know her better and know what would be the best way to approach it.

MooseJam wrote: »
    ask some of her mates what they think, they may know her better and know what would be the best way to approach it.

Would you be happy if you knew your boyfriend was talking to your friends about your unspeakables not smelling of roses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

I think someone has mentioned this before, but there are products for washing down there. I personally use femfresh - its lovely. Ordinary shower gel and soaps can be very irritating to that sensitive area down there, but the femfresh is specifically for this. You can get the intimate wash, body wash, talc, deordorant and wipes. The range is lovely, tho I only use the intimate wash. (come to think of it, she might want to think about using the wipes when she pees, thats if you ever talk to her about this).

Maybe you could surprise your girlfriend with a little pamper pack?? With say some nice face packs / mud masks, some nice shower gels, body moisturisers or budy butter, foot cream, face cream......then have the femfresh in there too? It'll not look as though youre targeting her down there!

It could be worth a try (might be pricy though?).

Hope this helps.

I'm going to agree with Pillypen (i think it was her that said it) that you shouldn't say it to her. It could be quite embarrassing for her and leave her very conscious about it.

I know if i had a girlfriend that said my.. erm.. man meat.. smelt like a bag of crap, i'd certainly feel very conscious about it and it'd probably ruin any oral sex i was ever given again (not to mention the extended shower periods i'd endure to try and rid myself of it).

Fact is if she doesn't notice it then its likely her natural smell. Not everyones the same. I'd rather break up with her and leave her "hurt" for a short period of time wondering why you broke up with her, than do long-term damage by having her worry about it all the time.

I probably worded my post very wrong, but im sure i get the point across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The prawn smell that some women have down there is not uncommon, like men, we too have a distinct odour d'willy.

I knew a guy, back in college that had a girlfriend that apparently didnt wash her vagina because she was under the illusion it was bad for it, so it made the expierence of giving her oral a rather unsavory practice.

There are products out there... be blunt if she doesnt take the hint..apart from maybe a knob eating worm infection there is nothing in life worse than smelly genitals

Its not just a woman thing.. its a guy thing too.

Sometimes you may just need to be cruel to be kind, start off by joking about it.. but get more serious in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MissyN

Just use Dove soap and problem solved....definitely !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

MissyN wrote: »
    Just use Dove soap and problem solved....definitely !!!!

In what way? If it is caused by an infection then it's likely to make it much worse.

she could be sleeping around and caught an std off some joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

MooseJam wrote: »
    she could be sleeping around and caught an std off some joe

or some Dave.

It's up to you to be able to discuss this. Communication is key to the success of any relationship.

girl2 wrote: »
    I think someone has mentioned this before, but there are products for washing down there. I personally use femfresh - its lovely. Ordinary shower gel and soaps can be very irritating to that sensitive area down there, but the femfresh is specifically for this. You can get the intimate wash, body wash, talc, deordorant and wipes. The range is lovely, tho I only use the intimate wash. (come to think of it, she might want to think about using the wipes when she pees, thats if you ever talk to her about this).

Maybe you could surprise your girlfriend with a little pamper pack?? With say some nice face packs / mud masks, some nice shower gels, body moisturisers or budy butter, foot cream, face cream......then have the femfresh in there too? It'll not look as though youre targeting her down there!

It could be worth a try (might be pricy though?).

Hope this helps.

This is very good suggestion, IMO.

I doubt any man would have thought of this - shows we don't know the ladies at all :pac: