Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poults justifies selection!!!

• 19-09-2008 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭

I said it another thread, would put 50p on him holing a 6 footer of any importance. Straight uphiller for 1/2 a point!! cmon for f*cks sake why is he there? 3 up at one stage to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

use the main thread for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Maybe a mod would be so keen as to remove your signature too... how old are you... 3?

As for the original thread... how big an idiot will you feel if he goes on and snatches 3 points over sat and sun?

Back the side!

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Maybe a mod would be so keen as to remove your signature too... how old are you... 3?

Ah Graeme.

You must love it when I post - it gives you something to do.

You must get bored when I am not around!

I'm 45 actually.

slumped wrote: »
    Ah Graeme.

You must love it when I post - it gives you something to do.

You must get bored when I am not around!

I'm 45 actually.

In that case, I'm embarassed for you.

why?

I'm thinking of changing my sig - well actually, just the Faldo part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

Good thread topic, pity bout the moderator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Swinging Looney

Suspiria79 wrote: »
    Good thread topic, pity bout the moderator

C'mon Slumped. Grow up a little will ya....

Ah now - all I did was suggest that the OP should post in the Ryder Cup thread set up for the purpose of keeping things clean.

There are some people that take things far too seriously.

It's only a discussion forum. Not that important really.

Remember, the dog that lies in the grass never catches fleas.

slumped wrote: »
    Ah now - all I did was suggest that the OP should post in the Ryder Cup thread set up for the purpose of keeping things clean.

There are some people that take things far too seriously.

It's only a discussion forum. Not that important really.

Remember, the dog that lies in the grass never catches fleas.

Ah sure you're dead right. It's all a bit of light hearted fun!!

I'm just surprised that a 45 year old would have a signature like that. But sure each to their own.

Enjoy the golf lads!

Ah. I see you've changed it. Good man yourself!

Yeah - he's not a cnut - he's a dick.

Right, I'll stop now before I get barred. You changed your signature and then put it back when someone mentioned that you removed it. Just like a child.

Oh dear, you really have issues.....:o

(And now it's gone again! Oh my goodness!)

What's gone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

He ain't doing 2 badly this evening....

Why is it Poulters fault he got picked? Why all the hatred towards him it's not his fault Clarke didn't get picked...

Poulter and Rose just won their match. Hard to argue with Nicks selection. Looks like they'll be the only EU's to win this afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

fair play to ian poulter. just turned on to see he's already justified his pick. BIG SLICE OF HUMBLE PIE FOR ME!!
    faldo's body language ain't great.
    C'MON EUROPE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭kinetic

Whats a signature?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Speer

Faldo is a very unpopular.The USA will win the cup,I'd put my mortgage on that.I'm convinced the Americans will will because of Faldo and his stupid decision to leave Darren Clarke off the team.Stupid.

Speer wrote: »
    Faldo is a very unpopular.The USA will win the cup,I'd put my mortgage on that.I'm convinced the Americans will will because of Faldo and his stupid decision to leave Darren Clarke off the team.Stupid.

post of the day

S

it's too early to be saying that man. gotta keep the faith.clarke's omission is history, admittedly we gotta turn it around big style though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Im not sure what crap Faldo was spouting about butterflies and bees at the ceremony yesterday, but his lads got stung badly today.

Maybe he will shut up now and be more of a captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Just enjoy the fantastic golf lads.

staker wrote: »
    it's too early to be saying that man. gotta keep the faith.clarke's omission is history, admittedly we gotta turn it around big style though....[/quote i only have to wait until sundayto be proved right.Faldo will carry the can for the inevitable debacle his capatancy lead to.The USA to win is the bet of the year..along with John McCain for the Presidency.Don't say you were'nt told!

:cool:
    staker wrote: »
    it's too early to be saying that man. gotta keep the faith.clarke's omission is history, admittedly we gotta turn it around big style though....[/quote i only have to wait until sundayto be proved right.Faldo will carry the can for the inevitable debacle his capatancy lead to.The USA to win is the bet of the year..along with John McCain for the Presidency.Don't say you were'nt told!
    you're right you're right!
    puts gun to head
    KABOOM!!!
    :cool:

USA and McCain......double of the year.Can't lose.trust me.

ok, fair enough.
    now take a hike and don't ruin my weekend's tv with that pessism!!
    i don't disrespect you're opinion, bigger comebacks have happened.
    guess i'm an eternal optimist:rolleyes:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

lads, please report any posts/sigs that you may have a problem with. The rules of the golf forum apply to the sigs of people who post here. Warning given, if not acted on, lengthy ban will follow.

Well done Ian Poulter. Superb perfomance last night! Holed some absolutely huge putts. One poing out of two for a wild card is a good ratio so far... let's hope he can snatch at least one more today!

The way people are talking about Darren Clarke you would think he was the messiah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭tiptap

Well done Ian Poulter. Superb perfomance last night! Holed some absolutely huge putts. One poing out of two for a wild card is a good ratio so far... let's hope he can snatch at least one more today!

The way people are talking about Darren Clarke you would think he was the messiah.

compared to that cnut poulter he is the messiah,
    and I may as well mention now,
    faldo is the biggest f*kin numpty in golf,
    what a comment yesterday on the whole Irish thing...

Poulter was picked over Clarke and he has proven to be the right choice so far. He was the best performing European yesterday by a long shot.

All the same, I am amazed at how much Faldo appeared like a rabbit in the headlights yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

To be fair me and my old man could have beat Stricker and Curtis (he had a shocker) yesterday.

Its all gonna change today though, europe get 7 points today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Jaysoose wrote: »
    I said it another thread, would put 50p on him holing a 6 footer of any importance. Straight uphiller for 1/2 a point!!
    That isn't even true, the Americans had a fairly certain birdie on that hole and his putt was largely irrelevant.
    To be fair me and my old man could have beat Stricker and Curtis (he had a shocker) yesterday.
    Is it possible for you to rise above this petty childish rubbish wrt Poulter. We'll all accept some mightn't want him to be playing but the fact is he is and he proved in the fourballs he can bring something to the team. Curtis and Stricker were very poor but Rose and himself did the job they had to well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

any more childish abuse of players without a semblance of rational articulate consideration will result in month long bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Poulter in the first couple of holes so far this morning on day 2 of the foursomes has justified his selection. He's playing well and is obviously trying to prove a point.

On the other hand Harrington needs to start to show a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

In reply to the OP

Yes without a doubt!

Poulter and McDowell have been excellent so far...

And all this Poulter bottling putting has gone very quite as he has held some real pressure putts both days and for me has been the top performer for Europe...

Casey who I taught would be a strong player for us has reall not got going at all seems to be down on himself all day and really looks like he needs to be pulled aside to try and get him into the game..

Casey's putting hasn't been great recently and that's what's letting him down. Compare that with Poulter and McDowell who have been outstanding.

stockdam wrote: »
    Casey's putting hasn't been great recently and that's what's letting him down. Compare that with Poulter and McDowell who have been outstanding.

That match is birdie to half type golf.. Am so so impressed with Poulter and McDowell this evening

Great up and down by Poulter and under the highest of pressure....

Himself and McDowell have been top drawer and fully deserve the point they got...

Now come on Stenson/Karlsson !!!!!!!

YES YES YES

Poulter sinks the winning putt on the last.

He's been Europe's top player. Rose and McDowell aren't far behind.

There have been too many European's who haven't performed. Let's hope Karlsson and Stenson win the last to win their match to bring it to one behind.

Yes Karlsson......drat he missed his putt.

Good half though.

I said it another thread, would put 50p on him holing a 6 footer of any importance.
    Yeah, totally agree. A hopeless player. Wouldn't put a cent on him holing a putt to win any match. What was Faldo thinking? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

As i said before lets all get behind the team and stop going on about the picks.Come on Europe. By the way met Poults at the British open and he is a gentleman and could not have been nicer to my nephew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭matt cork

wonder what odds for poulter to make the winning putt....;)

in the face of all the media / journalistic criticism you have to admit that it is all set up for a fairy tale ending:D

all set now for the next 8 hrs of fun!!!

Marshy wrote: »
    Yeah, totally agree. A hopeless player. Wouldn't put a cent on him holing a putt to win any match. What was Faldo thinking? :rolleyes:

Thats twice you have replied to the same quote of mine, poulter played well and he deserves all the credit he is getting. I got it wrong lads get over it and to be fair there were not to many disagreeing with me originally...hindsight is 20/20 and all that.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Plenty disagreed with you because the original comment to call him hopeless was so stupid.

Whats the point in getting personal? I admitted i was wrong, certainly not stupid to get annoyed with the guy missing a short putt and starting a thread.

Funnily enough i dont see your name anywhere in the thread disagreeing with my original post...hindsight is wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

debate the post not the poster people.

back on topic.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Crossed wires...
    I have said here several times that I am a fan of poulter and that I would have picked him and clarke, left casey behind.

Thats twice you have replied to the same quote of mine, poulter played well and he deserves all the credit he is getting. I got it wrong lads get over it and to be fair there were not to many disagreeing with me originally...hindsight is 20/20 and all that.
    Is replying twice against the rules? You were wrong alright and ya gotta live and die by the sword I'm afraid. Should've waited till after the competition to criticise Poulter.